Species at Risk Policies - Approach to the Identification of Critical Habitat under the Species at Risk Act when Habitat Loss and Degradation is Not Believed to be a Significant Threat to the Survival or Recovery of the Species. - 2016 [Proposed]

Species at Risk Act
Policies and Guidelines Series

Recommended citation:

Government of Canada. 2016. Approach to the Identification of Critical Habitat under the Species at Risk Act when Habitat Loss and Degradation is Not Believed to be a Significant Threat to the Survival or Recovery of the Species. - [Proposed]. Species at Risk Act: Policies and Guidelines Series. Government of Canada, Ottawa. 2 pp.

Unless otherwise specified, you may not reproduce materials in this publication, in whole or in part, for the purposes of commercial redistribution without prior written permission from Environment and Climate Change Canada's copyright administrator. To obtain permission to reproduce Government of Canada materials for commercial purposes, apply for Crown Copyright Clearance by contacting:

Environment and Climate Change Canada
Public Inquiries Centre
7th Floor, Fontaine Building
200 Sacré-Coeur Boulevard
Gatineau QC K1A 0H3
Telephone: 819-997-2800
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca

Aussi disponible en français


The Government of Canada considers the following factors when identifying critical habitat in situations where habitat loss and degradation is not believed to be a significant threat to the survival or recovery of the species:

  1. The Federal Species at Risk Act requires an identification of critical habitat to the extent possible, based on the best available information, for all listed extirpated, endangered and threatened species.
  2. Critical habitat is the habitat that is necessary for the survival or recovery of a listed wildlife species (endangered, threatened and extirpated), and, as such, constitutes the habitat that if destroyed would prevent survival or recovery of a species.  In practice, critical habitat is the habitat required to meet the population and distribution objectives set in the recovery strategy for the species.
  3. In carrying out its responsibilities under SARA, the Government of Canada will apply precaution, consistent with the Framework for the Application of Precaution in Science-based Decision Making about Risk (Government of Canada, 2003); and the preamble and section 38 of SARA which state that if there are threats of serious or irreversible damage to a wildlife species, cost-effective measures to prevent the reduction or loss of the species should not be postponed for a lack of full scientific certainty.
  4. Even in situations where habitat quantity and quality are not currently limiting species recovery, proactively identifying the habitat required for survival or recovery may prevent the need for reactive measures in the future.
  5. In situations where habitat quantity and quality are not currently limiting species recovery, recovery efforts should focus on the primary threats to the species(e.g. disease or harvest). However, in these cases there may still be habitat-related recovery measures that are appropriate in the context of recovery for the species. The recovery strategy will explain the context for setting the population and distribution objectives, including habitat related considerations.
  6. If it is not possible to identify the habitat necessary for the survival or recovery of the species when the recovery strategy is prepared, a schedule of studies is included in the recovery strategy to identify those studies that are required to complete the identification of critical habitat.
  7. Examples of Activities Likely to Destroy Critical Habitat are provided in recovery strategies taking into account the nature and significance of the threats to the species and its habitat. In situations where there is an abundance of habitat to support species recovery (i.e., more than required to achieve the population and distribution objectives) or where habitat-related threats are not significant, management of Activities Likely to Destroy Critical Habitat will focus on maintaining habitat of sufficient quantity and quality to support survival or recovery and may not be particularly restrictive. However, the level of restriction will be specific to the species biology and the significance of the threats.
  8. Socio-economic impacts may be considered in the identification of critical habitat in a recovery strategy or action plan in situations where there is more habitat available than is necessary to achieve the population and distribution objectives identified in the recovery strategy. In these circumstances it may be possible to identify critical habitat in a manner that reduces socio-economic impacts. This is directly applicable to the identification of anthropogenic structures as critical habitat; where there is sufficient natural habitat to support the species’ recovery, anthropogenic structures will not be identified as critical habitat.

Supplementary Information

Species at Risk Act

Critical Habitat definition:

“the habitat that is necessary for the survival or recovery of a listed wildlife species and that is identified as the species’ critical habitat in the recovery strategy or in an action plan for the species.”

Habitat definition:

(a) in respect of aquatic species, spawning grounds and nursery, rearing, food supply, migration and any other areas on which aquatic species depend directly or indirectly in order to carry out their life processes, or areas where aquatic species formerly occurred and have the potential to be reintroduced; and

(b) in respect of other wildlife species, the area or type of site where an individual or wildlife species naturally occurs or depends on directly or indirectly in order to carry out its life processes or formerly occurred and has the potential to be reintroduced.

Section 41(1)(c) requires that recovery strategies include:

an identification of the species’ critical habitat, to the extent possible, based on the best available information, including the information provided by COSEWIC, and examples of activities that are likely to result in its destruction

Top of Page

Politiques relatives aux espèces en péril - L’approche en matière de désignation de l’habitat essentiel en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril lorsque la perte et la dégradation d’habitat ne semblent pas constituer une menace significative à la survie ou au rétablissement de l’espèce - 2016 [Proposition]

Loi sur les espèces en péril
Série de Politiques et de Lignes directrices

Référence recommandée :

Gouvernement du Canada. 2016. L’approche en matière de désignation de l’habitat essentiel en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril lorsque la perte et la dégradation d’habitat ne semblent pas constituer une menace significative à la survie ou au rétablissement de l’espèce [Proposition]. Loi sur les espèces en péril : Série de Politiques et de Lignes directrices. Gouvernement du Canada, Ottawa. 3 p.

À moins d'avis contraire, il est interdit de reproduire le contenu de cette publication, en totalité ou en partie, à des fins de diffusion commerciale sans avoir obtenu au préalable la permission écrite de l'administrateur du droit d'auteur d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Si vous souhaitez obtenir du gouvernement du Canada les droits de reproduction du contenu à des fins commerciales, veuillez demander l'affranchissement du droit d'auteur de la Couronne en communiquant avec :

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada
Centre de renseignements à la population
7e étage, édifice Fontaine
200, boulevard Sacré-Cœur
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H3
Téléphone : 819-997-2800
Ligne sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca

Also available in English


Le gouvernement du Canada considère les facteurs suivants lorsqu’il désigne de l’habitat essentiel dans les situations où la perte et la dégradation de l’habitat ne semblent pas constituer une menace significative à la survie ou au rétablissement de l’espèce :

  1. La Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) exige la désignation de l’habitat essentiel dans la mesure du possible, en se fondant sur la meilleure information accessible, pour toutes les espèces inscrites comme étant disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées.
  2. L’habitat essentiel est l’habitat nécessaire à la survie ou au rétablissement d’une espèce sauvage inscrite (en voie de disparition, menacée ou disparue du pays), et constitue ainsi l’habitat dont la destruction empêcherait la survie ou le rétablissement d’une espèce. En pratique, l’habitat essentiel est l’habitat requis pour atteindre les objectifs en matière de population et de répartition établis dans le programme de rétablissement de l’espèce.
  3. En s’acquittant de ses responsabilités en vertu de la LEP, le gouvernement du Canada se montrera prudent, conformément au Cadre d’application de la précaution dans un processus décisionnel scientifique en gestion du risque (Gouvernement du Canada, 2003); et au préambule et à l’article 38 de la LEP qui énoncent que s’il existe une menace d’atteinte grave ou irréversible à une espèce sauvage, le manque de certitude scientifique ne soit pas prétexte à retarder la prise de mesures efficientes pour prévenir sa disparition ou sa décroissance.
  4. Même dans les situations où la quantité et la qualité de l’habitat ne limitent pas actuellement le rétablissement de l’espèce, la désignation proactive de l’habitat nécessaire à la survie ou au rétablissement peut prévenir le recours à des mesures réactives dans l’avenir.
  5. Dans les situations où la quantité et la qualité de l’habitat ne limitent pas actuellement le rétablissement de l’espèce, les efforts de rétablissement devraient porter sur les principales menaces qui pèsent sur l’espèce (p. ex. maladie ou récolte). Cependant, dans ces cas, il peut encore y avoir des mesures de rétablissement liées à l’habitat qui sont appropriées dans le contexte du rétablissement de l’espèce. Le programme de rétablissement décrira le contexte de l’établissement des objectifs en matière de population et de répartition, dont les considérations liées à l’habitat.
  6. S’il n’est pas possible de désigner l’habitat qui est nécessaire à la survie ou au rétablissement de l’espèce lors de l’élaboration d’un programme de rétablissement, un calendrier des études est inclus dans le programme de rétablissement afin de déterminer les études qui sont nécessaires pour compléter la désignation de l’habitat essentiel.
  7. Les exemples d’activités susceptibles d’entraîner la destruction de l’habitat essentiel sont présentés dans les programmes de rétablissement et tiennent compte de la nature et de l’importance des menaces qui pèsent sur l’espèce et son habitat. Dans les situations où il y a abondance de l’habitat pour soutenir le rétablissement de l’espèce (c.-à-d. plus d’habitat que requis pour l’atteinte des objectifs en matière de population et de répartition) ou là où les menaces liées à l’habitat ne sont pas significatives, la gestion des activités susceptibles d’entraîner la destruction de l’habitat essentiel portera sur le maintien de l’habitat en quantité suffisante et en qualité adéquate pour soutenir la survie ou le rétablissement et peut ne pas être particulièrement restrictive. Cependant, le degré de restriction sera propre à la biologie de l’espèce et à l’importance des menaces.
  8. Les répercussions socioéconomiques peuvent être prises en considération dans la désignation de l’habitat essentiel dans un programme de rétablissement ou un plan d’action dans les situations où il y a plus d’habitat disponible que requis pour l’atteinte des objectifs en matière de population et de répartition établis dans le programme de rétablissement. Dans ces circonstances, il peut être possible de désigner l’habitat essentiel de façon à réduire les répercussions socioéconomiques. Cela s’applique directement à la désignation de structures anthropiques comme habitat essentiel. Là où il y a suffisamment d’habitat naturel pour soutenir le rétablissement de l’espèce, les structures anthropiques ne seront pas désignées comme habitat essentiel.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Loi sur les espèces en péril

Définition de l’habitat essentiel :

L’habitat nécessaire à la survie ou au rétablissement d’une espèce sauvage inscrite, qui est désigné comme tel dans un programme de rétablissement ou un plan d’action élaboré à l’égard de l’espèce.

Définition de l’habitat :

a) S’agissant d’une espèce aquatique, les frayères, aires d’alevinage, de croissance et d’alimentation et routes migratoires dont sa survie dépend, directement ou indirectement, ou aires où elle s’est déjà trouvée et où il est possible de la réintroduire;

b) S’agissant de toute autre espèce sauvage, l’aire ou le type d’endroit où un individu ou l’espèce se trouvent ou dont leur survie dépend directement ou indirectement ou se sont déjà trouvés, et où il est possible de les réintroduire.

L’alinéa 41(1)(c) stipule qu’un programme de rétablissement doit comprendre :

la désignation de l’habitat essentiel de l’espèce dans la mesure du possible, en se fondant sur la meilleure information accessible, notamment les informations fournies par le COSEPAC, et des exemples d’activités susceptibles d’entraîner sa destruction.

Haut de la page