Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Tiny Cryptanthe

Recovery Strategy for the Tiny Cryptanthe (Cryptantha minima) in Canada

 

Tiny Cryptanthe

October 2006

 

About the Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series

What is the Species at Risk Act (SARA)? 

SARA is the Act developed by the federal government as a key contribution to the common national effort to protect and conserve species at risk in Canada. SARA came into force in 2003, and one of its purposes is “to provide for the recovery of wildlife species that are extirpated, endangered or threatened as a result of human activity.” 

What is recovery?

In the context of species at risk conservation, recovery is the process by which the decline of an endangered, threatened, or extirpated species is arrested or reversed and threats are removed or reduced to improve the likelihood of the species’ persistence in the wild. A species will be considered recovered when its long-term persistence in the wild has been secured.

What is a recovery strategy?

A recovery strategy is a planning document that identifies what needs to be done to arrest or reverse the decline of a species. It sets goals and objectives and identifies the main areas of activities to be undertaken. Detailed planning is done at the action plan stage.

Recovery strategy development is a commitment of all provinces and territories and of three federal agencies -- Environment Canada, Parks Canada Agency, and Fisheries and Oceans Canada -- under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk. Sections 37–46 of SARA (http://www.registrelep-sararegistry.gc.ca/approach/act/default_e.cfm ) outline both the required content and the process for developing recovery strategies published in this series.

Depending on the status of the species and when it was assessed, a recovery strategy has to be developed within one to two years after the species is added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk. Three to four years is allowed for those species that were automatically listed when SARA came into force.

What’s next?

In most cases, one or more action plans will be developed to define and guide implementation of the recovery strategy. Nevertheless, directions set in the recovery strategy are sufficient to begin involving communities, land users, and conservationists in recovery implementation. Cost-effective measures to prevent the reduction or loss of the species should not be postponed for lack of full scientific certainty.

The series

This series presents the recovery strategies prepared or adopted by the federal government under SARA. New documents will be added regularly as species get listed and as strategies are updated.

To learn more 

To learn more about the Species at Risk Act and recovery initiatives, please consult the SARA Public Registry (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/ ) and the Web site of the Recovery Secretariat ( http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/sar/recovery/default_e.cfm).

 

Recommended citation:

Environment Canada. 2006. Recovery Strategy for the Tiny Cryptanthe (Cryptantha minima) in Canada. Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series. Environment Canada, Ottawa. vi + 24 pp.

 

Additional copies:  

Additional copies can be downloaded from the SARA Public Registry (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/). 

Cover illustration :Tiny Cryptanthe by John R. Maywood ©

Également disponible en français sous le titre

« Programme de rétablissement de la cryptanthe minuscule (Cryptantha minima) au Canada »

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of the Environment, 2006. All rights reserved.

ISBN0-662-44252-0

Cat. no.En3-4/10-2006E-PDF

Content (excluding the illustrations) may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.

 

Declaration

This recovery strategy has been prepared in cooperation with the jurisdictions responsible for the tiny cryptanthe. Environment Canada has reviewed and accepts this document as its recovery strategy for the tiny cryptanthe, as required under the Species at Risk Act. This recovery strategy also constitutes advice to other jurisdictions and organizations that may be involved in recovering the species.

The goals, objectives and recovery approaches identified in the strategy are based on the best existing knowledge and are subject to modifications resulting from new findings and revised objectives.

This recovery strategy will be the basis for one or more action plans that will provide details on specific recovery measures to be taken to support conservation and recovery of the species. The Minister of the Environment will report on progress within five years.

Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the directions set out in this strategy and will not be achieved by Environment Canada or any other jurisdiction alone. In the spirit of the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk, the Minister of the Environment invites all responsible jurisdictions and Canadians to join Environment Canada in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the tiny criptanthe and Canadian society as a whole.

Responsible Jurisdictions

Environment Canada (Prairie and Northern Region)

Government of Alberta

Government of Saskatchewan

Authors

This strategy was prepared by Candace Elchuk (Canadian Wildlife Service – Prairie and Northern Region) and Dean Nernberg (Canadian Wildlife Service – National Capital Region).

Acknowledgments

The recovery strategy was prepared by Candace Elchuk and Dean Nernberg on behalf of the Recovery Team for Plants at Risk in the Prairie Provinces. The Recovery Team provided valuable comments on the drafts of this document. Recovery Team members, as of January 2006, included Candace Elchuk (Secretary and Acting Chair; Environment Canada), Jason Greenall (Manitoba Conservation), Robin Gutsell (Alberta Sustainable Resource Development), Lisa Matthias (Alberta Sustainable Resource Development; temporarily acting for Robin Gutsell), Sue McAdam (Saskatchewan Environment), Chris Nykoluk (Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration), and Peggy Strankman (Canadian Cattlemen’s Association). Recovery Team participants, as of January 2006, included Cheryl Ann Beckles (Department of National Defence, 17-Wing Detachment Dundurn), Delaney Boyd (Department of National Defence, Canadian Forces Base (CFB) Suffield), Joel Nicholson (Alberta Sustainable Resource Development), and Sherry Lynn Punak (Department of National Defence, CFB Shilo). Dean Nernberg (Environment Canada) was the Recovery Team chair until August 2005. Helpful comments were also provided by Dave Duncan, Renee Franken, Ray Poulin, and staff from Canadian Wildlife Service, Habitat Conservation Section and Canadian Wildlife Service, Recovery Section. We thank Cheryl Bradley, who provided her expertise as well as updated information on the species. The Saskatchewan Conservation Data Centre and the Alberta Natural Heritage Information Centre provided updated element occurrences for this species. We would also like to thank all the landowners, lessees, and land managers who allowed us access to their land to do tiny cryptanthe surveys. The cover illustration was graciously provided by the artist, John Maywood.

Strategic Environmental Assessment

In accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals, a strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is conducted on all SARA recovery planning documents. The purpose of a SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally sound decision-making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits. The planning process based on national guidelines directly incorporates consideration of all environmental effects, with a particular focus on possible impacts on non-target species or habitats. The results of the SEA are incorporated directly into the strategy itself, but are also summarized below.

This recovery strategy will clearly benefit the environment by promoting the recovery of tiny cryptanthe. The potential for the strategy to inadvertently lead to adverse effects on other species was considered. The SEA concluded that this strategy will clearly benefit the environment and will not entail any significant adverse effects. The reader should refer to the following sections of the document in particular: 1.3 Needs of Tiny Cryptanthe; 1.5 Threats to the Survival of Tiny Cryptanthe and its Habitat; 2.3 Recovery Objectives; 2.4 Research and Management Activities Recommended to Meet Objectives; 2.6 Critical Habitat; and 2.7 Effects on Non-target Species.

Residence

SARA defines residence as: a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or hibernating [Subsection 2(1)].

Residence descriptions, or the rationale for why the residence concept does not apply to a given species, are posted on the SARA public registry: . http://www.registrelep-sararegistry.gc.ca/sar/recovery/residence_e.cfm

Preface

The Species at Risk Act (SARA, Section 37) requires the competent minister to prepare recovery strategies for listed Extirpated, Endangered, or Threatened species. Tiny cryptanthe was listed as endangered under SARA in June 2003. The Canadian Wildlife Service – Prairie and Northern Region, Environment Canada, led the development of this recovery strategy. All responsible jurisdictions (Saskatchewan and Alberta) reviewed and approved the strategy. The strategy meets SARA requirements in terms of content and process (Sections 39–41). It was developed in cooperation or consultation with:

·         provincial jurisdictions in which the species occurs -- Saskatchewan and Alberta;

·         industry stakeholders -- Canadian Cattlemen’s Association; and

·         federal land managers -- Department of National Defence (CFB Suffield, 17-Wing Detachment Dundurn), Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration). 

This will be the first recovery strategy for tiny cryptanthe posted on the SARA Public Registry.

Executive Summary

  • Tiny cryptanthe is a small, bristly-haired annual plant that has minuscule white flowers with yellow centres. It is associated with river valleys and grows on sandy, rolling upland, valley slopes, or terraces in xeric to subxeric environments. In Canada, tiny cryptanthe has been found in 28 areas in Alberta and four in Saskatchewan.
  • Currently identified threats to tiny cryptanthe include habitat loss and degradation as a result of cultivation, residential development, oil and gas activities, and sand/gravel extraction. Additional threats are modifications to natural processes through altered hydrological regimes and lack of grazing and/or fire, invasion by exotic species, and climate change.
  • The overall recovery goal for tiny cryptanthe is to maintain the persistence of all naturally occurring populations in Canada. The population and distribution objective is to ensure the maintenance or the natural increase of existing populations while maintaining habitat to support their distribution.
  • Four objectives have been identified for the recovery of tiny cryptanthe:

1)      Increase knowledge of the species’ distribution and population size by 2008 to the point where critical habitat can be identified and natural population fluctuations are understood (Priority – Urgent).

2)      Manage habitat on an ongoing basis, using a landscape approach, to support the distribution of the Canadian population and maintain a minimum of 50% of the largest recorded abundance for each population in at least one in 10 years under the natural range of environmental conditions (Priority – Urgent).

3)      Increase knowledge of the biology of tiny cryptanthe by 2011 to the point where population demographics, reproductive ecology, and genetic variability are understood (Priority – Necessary).

4)      On an ongoing basis, increase landowner, land manager, stakeholder, and industry (e.g., oil and gas) awareness of tiny cryptanthe and its needs so that by 2011, stewardship activities and beneficial management practices are being implemented (Priority – Beneficial).

  • Research and management activities needed to achieve these objectives include establishing standardized monitoring and surveying guidelines, continuing to monitor and survey for tiny cryptanthe, evaluating effects of threats, developing beneficial management practices to reduce threats and promoting them to land managers, developing and initiating stewardship agreements with land managers to protect habitat, completing population viability analyses, and initiating additional research to increase knowledge of the biology of this species.
  • Owing to a lack of knowledge on the species’ abundance, distribution, and habitat requirements/associations, critical habitat is not identified in this recovery strategy.

Critical habitat for tiny cryptanthe will be identified in one or more upcoming action plans.

Table of Contents

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Cryptanthe minuscule

Programme de rétablissement de la cryptanthe minuscule (Cryptantha minima) au Canada


cryptanthe minuscule

Octobre 2006

La série de Programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Qu’est-ce que la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)?

La LEP est la loi fédérale qui constitue l’une des pierres d’assise de l’effort national commun de protection et de conservation des espèces en péril au Canada. Elle est en vigueur depuis 2003 et vise, entre autres, àpermettre le rétablissement des espèces qui, par suite de l'activité humaine, sont devenues des espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées.

Qu’est-ce que le rétablissement?

Dans le contexte de la conservation des espèces en péril, le rétablissement est le processus par lequel le déclin d’une espèce en voie de disparition, menacée ou disparue du pays est arrêté ou inversé et par lequel les menaces à sa survie sont éliminées ou réduites de façon à augmenter la probabilité de survie de l’espèce à l’état sauvage. Une espèce sera considérée comme rétablie lorsque sa survie à long terme à l’état sauvage aura été assurée.

Qu’est-ce qu’un programme de rétablissement?

Un programme de rétablissement est un document de planification qui identifie ce qui doit être réalisé pour arrêter ou inverser le déclin d’une espèce. Il établit des buts et des objectifs et indique les principaux champs des activités à entreprendre. La planification plus élaborée se fait à l’étape du plan d’action.

L’élaboration de programmes de rétablissement représente un engagement de toutes les provinces et de tous les territoires ainsi que de trois organismes fédéraux -- Environnement Canada, l’Agence Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada -- dans le cadre de l’Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril. Les articles 37 à 46 de la LEP décrivent le contenu d’un programme de rétablissement publié dans la présente série ainsi que le processus requis pour l’élaborer

(http://www.registrelep-sararegistry.gc.ca/approach/act/default_f.cfm).

Selon le statut de l’espèce et le moment où elle a été évaluée, un programme de rétablissement doit être préparé dans un délai de un à deux ans après l’inscription de l’espèce à la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP. Pour les espèces qui ont été inscrites à la LEP lorsque celle-ci a été adoptée, le délai est de trois à quatre ans.

Et ensuite?

Dans la plupart des cas, un ou plusieurs plans d’action seront élaborés pour définir et guider la mise en oeuvre du programme de rétablissement. Cependant, les recommandations contenues dans le programme de rétablissement suffisent pour permettre la participation des collectivités, des utilisateurs des terres et des conservationnistes à la mise en oeuvre du rétablissement. Le manque de certitude scientifique ne doit pas être prétexte à retarder la prise de mesures efficientes visant à prévenir la disparition ou le déclin d’une espèce.

La série de Programmes de rétablissement

Cette série présente les programmes de rétablissement élaborés ou adoptés par le gouvernement fédéral dans le cadre de la LEP. De nouveaux documents s’ajouteront régulièrement à mesure que de nouvelles espèces seront inscrites à la Liste des espèces en péril et que les programmes de rétablissement existants seront mis à jour.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour en savoir plus sur la Loi sur les espèces en péril et les initiatives de rétablissement, veuillez consulter le Registre public de la LEP (http://www.registrelep.gc.ca)et le site Web du Secrétariat du rétablissement (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/sar/recovery/default_f.cfm).

Référence recommandée :

Environnement Canada. 2006. Programme de rétablissement de la cryptanthe minuscule (Cryptantha minima) au Canada, Série de Programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, Environnement Canada, Ottawa, vii + 25 p.

Exemplaires supplémentaires :

Il est possible de télécharger des exemplaires de la présente publication à partir du Registre public de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (http://www.registrelep.gc.ca).

Illustration de la couverture :Cryptanthe minuscule, par John R. Maywood ©

Also available in English under the title:

“Recovery Strategy for the Tiny Cryptanthe (Cryptantha minima) in Canada”

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de l’Environnement, 2006. Tous droits réservés.

ISBN 0-662-72697-9

No de cat. En3-4/10-2006F-PDF

Le contenu (à l’exception des illustrations) peut être utilisé sans permission, mais en prenant soin d’indiquer la source.

 

Déclaration

Le présent programme de rétablissement a été préparé en collaboration avec les compétences responsables de la cryptanthe minuscule. Environnement Canada a revu le document et l’accepte comme son programme de rétablissement de la cryptanthe minusculetel que l’exige la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Ce programme de rétablissement représente également un avis à l’intention des autres compétences et organisations qui pourraient participer au rétablissement de l’espèce.

Les buts, objectifs et approches de rétablissement présentés dans ce programme sont fondés sur les meilleures connaissances existantes et peuvent faire l’objet de modifications découlant de nouveaux résultats et d’objectifs révisés.

Le présent programme de rétablissement constituera la base d’un ou plusieurs plans d’action qui présenteront en détail les mesures de rétablissement précises qui doivent être prises pour appuyer la conservation et le rétablissement de l’espèce. Le ministre de l’Environnement rendra compte des progrès réalisés d’ici cinq ans.

La réussite du rétablissement de l’espèce dépendra de l’engagement et de la collaboration d’un grand nombre de parties concernées qui participeront à la mise en œuvre des recommandations formulées dans le présent programme. Cette réussite ne pourra reposer seulement sur Environnement Canada ou toute autre compétence. Dans l’esprit de l’Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril, le ministre de l’Environnement invite toutes les compétences responsables ainsi que les Canadiennes et les Canadiens à se joindre à Environnement Canada pour appuyer le programme et le mettre en œuvre, pour le bien de la cryptanthe minuscule et de l’ensemble de la société canadienne.

Compétences responsables

  • Environnement Canada (Région des Prairies et du Nord)
  • Gouvernement de l'Alberta
  • Gouvernement de la Saskatchewan 

Auteurs

Le programme de rétablissement a été préparé par Candace Elchuk (Service canadien de la faune, Région des Prairies et du Nord) et Dean Nernberg (Service canadien de la faune, Région de la capitale nationale).

Remerciements

Le programme de rétablissement a été préparé par Candace Elchuk et Dean Nernberg, pour l’Équipe de rétablissement des plantes en péril des Prairies canadiennes. L’équipe de rétablissement a formulé de précieux commentaires sur les versions préliminaires du présent document. Au mois de janvier 2006, l’équipe de rétablissement était composée des personnes suivantes : Candace Elchuk (secrétaire et présidente intérimaire; Environnement Canada), Jason Greenall (Manitoba Conservation), Robin Gutsell (Alberta Sustainable Resource Development), Lisa Matthias (Alberta Sustainable Resource Development; en remplacement temporaire de Robin Gutsell), Sue McAdam (Saskatchewan Environment), Chris Nykoluk (Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada - Administration du rétablissement agricole des Prairies) et Peggy Strankman (Canadian Cattlemen’s Association). En janvier 2006, les personnes suivantes participaient aux activités de l’équipe de rétablissement : Cheryl Ann Beckles (ministère de la Défense nationale,17e Escadre, Détachement de Dundurn), Delaney Boyd (ministère de la Défense nationale, Base des forces canadiennes (BFC) Suffield), Joel Nicholson (Alberta Sustainable Resource Development), Sherry Lynn Punak (ministère de la Défense nationale, BFC Shilo). Dean Nernberg (Environnement Canada) a été président de l’équipe de rétablissement jusqu’en août 2005.Dave Duncan, Renee Franken, Ray Poulin et le personnel de la Section de la conservation des habitats du Service canadien de la faune et la Section du rétablissement du Service canadien de la faune ont également formulé d’utiles commentaires. Les auteurs remercient Cheryl Bradley, qui a offert son expertise ainsi que de l’information récente sur l’espèce. LeSaskatchewan Conservation Data Centreet le Alberta Natural Heritage Information Centreont fourni des occurrences d’élément à jour sur l’espèce. Les auteurs tiennent également à remercier tous les propriétaires fonciers, les locataires et les gestionnaires des terres qui ont autorisé l’accès à leurs terres pour les relevés de cryptanthe minuscule. L’illustration en couverture est reproduite avec l’aimable autorisation de l’artiste, John Maywood.

Évaluation environnementale stratégique

Une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est effectuée dans le cadre de tous les documents de planification du rétablissement en vertu de la LEP conformément à la Directive du Cabinet de 1999 sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes. L’objet de l’EES est d’incorporer les considérations environnementales à l’élaboration des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes publics pour appuyer une prise de décisions éclairées du point de vue de l’environnement.

La planification du rétablissement vise à favoriser les espèces en péril et la biodiversité en général. Il est cependant reconnu que des programmes peuvent, par inadvertance, produire des effets environnementaux qui dépassent les avantages prévus. Le processus de planification fondé sur des lignes directrices nationales tient directement compte de tous les effets environnementaux, notamment des incidences possibles sur les espèces ou les habitats non ciblés. Les résultats de l’EES sont directement inclus dans le programme lui-même, mais également résumés ci-dessous.

Le présent programme de rétablissement favorisera clairement l’environnement en encourageant le rétablissement de la cryptanthe minuscule. La possibilité que le programme produise par inadvertance des effets négatifs sur d’autres espèces a été envisagée. L’EES a permis de conclure que le présent programme sera clairement favorable à l’environnement et n’entraînera pas d’effets négatifs significatifs. Le lecteur devrait consulter plus particulièrement les sections suivantes du document : 1.3 Besoins de la cryptanthe minuscule; 1.5 Menaces à la survie de lacryptanthe minuscule et à son habitat; 2.3 Objectifs du rétablissement; 2.4 Activités de recherche et de gestion recommandées pour l’atteinte des objectifs; 2.6 Habitat essentiel; et 2.7 Effets sur les espèces non ciblées.

Résidence

La LEP définit la résidence comme suit : Gîte -- terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable -- occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l’élevage, les haltes migratoires, l’hivernage, l’alimentation ou l’hibernation [Paragraphe 2(1)].

Les descriptions de la résidence ou les raisons pour lesquelles le concept de résidence ne s'applique pas à une espèce donnée sont publiées dans le Registre public de la LEP : http://www.registrelep-sararegistry.gc.ca/sar/recovery/residence_f.cfm

Préface

Selon les dispositions de l’article 37 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP), le ministre compétent doit élaborer un programme de rétablissement pour toute espèce sauvage inscrite comme disparue du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacée. La cryptanthe minuscule a été inscrite à titre d’espèce en voie de disparition en juin 2003. La Région des Prairies et du Nord du Service canadien de la faune (Environnement Canada) a dirigé l’élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement.Les deux compétences responsables (la Saskatchewan et l’Alberta) ont examiné et approuvé le présent programme. Le programme est conforme aux exigences de la LEP en termes de contenu et de processus (articles 39 à 41). Il a été élaboré en collaboration ou en consultation avec :

·        les compétences provinciales où l’espèce est présente – la Saskatchewan et l’Alberta;

·        une partie intéressée de l’industrie – la Canadian Cattlemen’s Association;

·        les gestionnaires des terres fédérales visées – le ministère de la Défense nationale (BFC Suffield, 17e Escadre, Détachement deDundurn) et Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada – Administration du rétablissement agricole des Prairies.

Il s’agit du premier programme de rétablissement de la cryptanthe minuscule qui sera versé au Registre public de la LEP.

Sommaire

  • La cryptanthe minuscule est une petite plante annuelle à poils rigides produisant de minuscules fleurs blanches à centre jaune. Elle est associée aux vallées fluviales et croît dans les terrains élevés sableux et vallonnés, les pentes des vallées et les terrasses, dans des milieux quasi-xériques à xériques. Au Canada, on trouve la cryptanthe minuscule dans 28 localités de l’Alberta et 4 localités de la Saskatchewan.
  • Les menaces actuellement connues pour l’espèce sont la perte et la détérioration de son habitat par l’agriculture, l’expansion résidentielle, les activités liées à l’exploitation pétrolière et gazière, et l’extraction de sable et de gravier. La modification des processus naturels par l’altération des régimes hydrologiques, l’absence de broutage et/ou de feux de brousse, l’envahissement par des espèces exotiques et les changements climatiques constituent des menaces additionnelles.
  • Le but global du rétablissement de la cryptanthe minuscule est de permettre la persistance de toutes les populations naturellement présentes au Canada. L’objectif en matière de population et de répartition est d'assurer le maintien ou la croissance naturelle des populations existantes tout en conservant l’habitat que requiert le maintien de leur répartition.
  • Quatre objectifs du rétablissement ont été énoncés pour la cryptanthe minuscule :

1.     Approfondir les connaissances sur la répartition de l’espèce et la taille de ses populations, d’ici 2008, à un niveau qui permettra de désigner son habitat essentiel et de comprendre les fluctuations naturelles de ses populations (priorité : urgent);

2.     Gérer l’habitat de manière continue, à l’aide d’une approche axée sur le paysage, pour soutenir la répartition des populations canadiennes et maintenir au minimum 50 % de l’effectif maximal relevé dans chaque population, au moins un an sur dix, dans les conditions environnementales normales (priorité : urgent);

3.     Approfondir les connaissances sur la biologie de la cryptanthe minuscule, d’ici 2011, à un niveau qui permettra de comprendre la démographie, l’écologie reproductive et la variabilité génétique des populations canadiennes (priorité : nécessaire);

4.     De manière continue, augmenter le niveau de sensibilisation à la cryptanthe minuscule et à ses besoins des propriétaires fonciers, des gestionnaires des terres, des industries (p. ex. celles du pétrole et du gaz) et des autres parties intéressées, de manière à ce que soient mises en œuvre d’ici 2011 des activités d’intendance et de saines pratiques de gestion (priorité : bénéfique).

  • Les activités de recherche et de gestion nécessaires à l’atteinte de ces objectifs sont les suivantes : établir des lignes directrices normalisées de relevé et de suivi pour la cryptanthe minuscule; poursuivre ces activités de relevé et de suivi; évaluer les effets des menaces; élaborer de saines pratiques de gestion permettant d’atténuer les menaces et en faire la promotion auprès des gestionnaires des terres; élaborer et conclure avec les propriétaires fonciers des accords d’intendance visant à protéger l’habitat; terminer les analyses de viabilité des populations; entreprendre des recherches additionnelles en vue d’approfondir les connaissances sur la biologie de l’espèce.
  • Faute de connaissances suffisantes sur l’abondance, la répartition, les besoins en habitat et les espèces associées à la cryptanthe minuscule, l’habitat essentiel de l'espèce n’est pas défini dans le présent programme de rétablissement.

L’habitat essentiel de la cryptanthe minuscule sera défini dans un ou plusieurs plans d’action à venir.

Table des Matières