The Greater Sage-Grouse

side profile of male Greater Sage-Grouse
Photo: © Environment Canada, Gordon Court

PDF version - 550 KB

What is a Greater Sage-Grouse?

The Greater Sage-Grouse is a large ground-dwelling bird that has finely marked brown, black, beige and white upper parts, a black belly, and a long pointed tail. It is the largest grouse species found in North America. Within the white breast feathers of the male Greater Sage-Grouse, there are two large air sacs that are inflated and deflated as part of a spectacular mating display.

Greater Sage-Grouse are found in Canada’s southernmost native prairies where sagebrush grows. Specifically, they are found in southwestern Saskatchewan and southeastern Alberta. There are also populations found in the grasslands of the United States.

artistic rendition of a Greater Sage-Grouse facing right, tail feathers in the foreground

Image: © Environment Canada, Gordon Court

Why are they at risk?

Greater Sage-Grouse are listed as endangered under the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA). Sage grouse now occupy only about 7% of their historical range in Canada. The estimated number of Greater Sage-Grouse in Canada has fallen to an all-time low level. As of 2012, only 93–138 individuals are thought to remain in Canada.

Populations in Canada are currently threatened by a number of factors, such as habitat loss and degradation, extreme weather conditions, industrial disturbance, predation, and disease. Habitat changes that reduce or degrade the size and quality of sagebrush vegetation can have negative consequences for the Greater Sage-Grouse.

Population estimates for Greater Sage-Grouse in Canada

Graph depicting the estimation of the Greater Sage-Grouse population in Canada: 2491 birds in 1980, 968 in 1990, 743 in 2000 and 138 in 2012

What is SARA?

The Species at Risk Act (SARA) is a federal act that takes a collaborative approach to working with landowners and provincial and territorial governments to protect species at risk and their habitats. The purposes of the Act are:

  1. to prevent wildlife species from becoming extinct or extirpated (gone from the wild in Canada);
  2. to help recover extirpated, endangered or threatened species; and
  3. to ensure that species of special concern do not become endangered or threatened.

How does SARA protect Greater Sage-Grouse?

Greater Sage-Grouse are protected on federal lands from killing, harming, harassing, capturing, taking, possessing, collecting, buying, selling or trading of individuals of the species. The Act also protects their eggs and nests. The provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan have laws that protect sage grouse on provincial and private lands.

SARA also recognizes that protecting the habitat of species at risk is key to their conservation. Critical habitat is defined as the habitat necessary for the survival or recovery of a species at risk. Following the identification of critical habitat within a recovery strategy or action plan, the intent of SARA is to protect the critical habitat. Voluntary actions and stewardship programs are the preferred approaches to conserving habitat. The federal government has established the Habitat Stewardship Program to assist in such actions.

In the event that stewardship does not protect the critical habitat, prohibitions against destruction of critical habitat can come into play. When critical habitat is located on private or provincial lands and is not protected through stewardship arrangements, conservation agreements or provincial laws, the Government of Canada may make it an offence to destroy critical habitat. Under SARA, the Government of Canada is responsible for ensuring critical habitat is protected from destruction.

What is recovery planning?

For endangered species, such as the Greater Sage-Grouse, SARA requires that a Recovery Strategy be prepared. This strategy outlines the general approach for supporting the recovery of a species. It also provides background information on a species, and sets goals and objectives to guide recovery efforts. Following the Recovery Strategy, an Action Plan is developed, which outlines the specific actions needed to meet the recovery goals.

What is the process for recovery planning for Greater Sage-Grouse?

As a first step in the recovery planning process under SARA, the Recovery Strategy for the Greater Sage-Grouse in Canada was completed in January 2008, with a replacement section published in October 2009 that partially identified critical habitat in Alberta and Saskatchewan.

The Government of Canada has now amended the Recovery Strategy by completing the identification of the critical habitat needed for the recovery of the species, and providing additional information on examples of activities that might destroy it. The critical habitat identified within the amended Recovery Strategy includes active breeding habitat (known as leks or dancing grounds), as well as important nesting, brood-rearing and wintering habitat within the recent range of Greater Sage-Grouse in Canada. In general, this critical habitat is characterized by areas with patches of sagebrush, relatively little bare ground and minimal human disturbance.

This is an important step towards the recovery of the Greater Sage-Grouse in Canada. In cooperation with provincial governments, and in consultation with landowners and other people who are directly affected, the Government of Canada will work to ensure appropriate measures are in place to protect critical habitat, including stewardship approaches. A multi-species action plan involving Greater Sage-Grouse in Saskatchewan is currently under way, and an action plan specific to Alberta will be developed in the future.

Endangered:
a wildlife species that is facing imminent risk of extirpation (being lost from the wild) or extinction.


photo of rolling native prairie

Photo: © Environment Canada, Gordon Court

How might the Recovery Strategy affect me?

If you are a landowner with Greater Sage-Grouse on your land, it means that the activities you are currently carrying out are generally compatible with the Greater Sage-Grouse’s habitat needs. For example, Greater Sage-Grouse have demonstrated that they can survive and reproduce on native mixed grass prairie with livestock production and light to moderate grazing as a primary land use. In some cases current grazing management may not be optimal for Greater Sage-Grouse. In such instances advice, assistance or incentives may be available to assist you in adjusting stocking rates, timing or distribution of livestock.

General locations of potential critical habitat for the Greater Sage-Grouse in Alberta and Saskatchewan

A map that shows two separate areas where Greater Sage-Grouse are found.

The section on critical habitat in the amended Recovery Strategy also includes examples of activities that can destroy critical habitat. Examples of such activities include (but are not limited to):

  • Removing, reducing or degrading sagebrush-grassland habitat;
  • Altering the natural hydrology of the area;
  • Creating chronic noise conditions within critical habitat; and
  • Constructing, installing or planting vertical structures.

Activities may have an effect if occurring directly on critical habitat, and may also have negative impacts if they occur some distance away. For example, Greater Sage-Grouse are known to be sensitive to loud noises and may abandon critical habitat as the result of noisy activity.

Greater Sage-Grouse recovery will depend, in part, on preventing the destruction of critical habitat. SARA seeks to prevent the destruction of critical habitat through a number of different approaches including careful stewardship. As a last resort, prohibitions of certain types of activities that would destroy their habitat or cause excessive disturbance to the birds may be considered.

How can I become involved?

If you have Greater Sage-Grouse or Greater Sage-Grouse habitat on or near your land, you are an important steward and have an opportunity to play an important role in the recovery of these endangered birds. There are a number of conservation programs available to assist you in developing and implementing conservation plans for wildlife on your land.

The next steps in the recovery planning process for the Greater Sage-Grouse will be the development of action plans, which will include appropriate activities to aid the recovery of the Greater Sage-Grouse in Canada. The Government of Canada is committed to working with all interested parties in the development of these action plans. You can play an important role in the recovery of the Greater Sage-Grouse. Over the next few years, we will be seeking your comments and suggestions on the amended Recovery Strategy and upcoming action plans.

How do I find out more?

To find out more about what is being done to protect plants and animals that are in danger of disappearing from the wild in Canada including the Greater Sage-Grouse, please visit the Species at Risk Public Registry.

Contact info:

E-mail address.
Environment Canada: 1-855-245-0331

Le Tétras des armoises

Vue de profil d'un Tétras des armoises mâle
Photo : © Environnement Canada, Gordon Court

Version PDF - 550 Ko

Qu’est-ce que le Tétras des armoises?

Le Tétras des armoises est un grand oiseau qui vit au sol. La partie supérieure de son corps est finement marquée de brun, de noir, de beige et de blanc; son flanc est noir et sa longue queue,  pointue. Il s’agit du plus gros des tétras en Amérique du Nord. À l’intérieur du plumage blanc de la poitrine du Tétras des armoises mâle se dissimulent deux grands sacs aériens qui se gonflent et se dégonflent au moment de sa spectaculaire parade nuptiale.

Le Tétras des armoises se trouve dans les prairies indigènes situées le plus au sud du Canada, là où pousse l’armoise. Plus précisément, on le rencontre dans le sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan et le sud-est de l’Alberta. Il existe également des populations dans les prairies des États-Unis.

Représentation artistique d'un Tétras des armoises regardant à droite; ses plumes rectrices sont mises en premier plan

Dessin : © Environnement Canada, Gordon Court

Pourquoi cet oiseau est-il en péril?

Le Tétras des armoises est inscrit comme espèce en voie de disparition sous le régime de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) du gouvernement fédéral. Aujourd’hui, le Tétras des armoises occupe seulement environ 7 % de son aire de répartition historique au Canada. Le nombre estimé de Tétras des armoises au Canada a chuté au niveau le plus bas jamais atteint. En 2012, on estime qu’il ne reste que de 93 à 138 individus au Canada.

Plusieurs facteurs, comme la perte et la dégradation de l’habitat, les conditions météorologiques extrêmes, les perturbations industrielles, la prédation et la maladie, menacent actuellement les populations du Canada. Les changements dans l’habitat, qui diminuent la taille ou dégradent la qualité des armoises, peuvent avoir une incidence néfaste sur le Tétras des armoises.

Estimations de la population du Tétras des armoises au Canada

Graphique illustrant l'effectif estimatif du Tétras des armoises au Canada :  2 491 oiseaux en 1980, 968 en 1990, 743 en 2 000 et 138 en 2012

Qu’est-ce que la Loi sur les espèces en péril?

La Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) est une loi fédérale qui appuie une approche de travail axée sur la collaboration avec les propriétaires fonciers et les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux en vue de protéger les espèces en péril et leurs habitats. Les objectifs de la Loi sont les suivants :

  1. empêcher la disparition d’espèces sauvages de la planète et du pays (n’existant plus à l’état sauvage au Canada);
  2. aider au rétablissement des espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparation ou menacées;
  3. s’assurer que les espèces préoccupantes ne deviennent pas en voie de disparition ou menacées.

Comment la LEP protège-t-elle le Tétras des armoises?

Le Tétras des armoises est une espèce protégée sur le territoire domanial. Il est défendu de tuer, de blesser, de harceler, de capturer, de prendre, de posséder, de collectionner, d’acheter et de vendre des individus de cette espèce, de leur nuire ou d’en faire le commerce. La Loi protège en outre leurs œufs et leurs nids. L’Alberta et la Saskatchewan ont adopté des lois protégeant le Tétras des armoises sur les terres provinciales et privées.

La LEP considère que la protection de l’habitat d’une espèce en péril est indispensable à sa conservation. L’habitat essentiel est défini comme l’habitat nécessaire à la survie ou au rétablissement d’une espèce en péril. À la suite de la désignation de l’habitat essentiel dans le cadre d’un programme de rétablissement ou d’un plan d’action, l’objectif de la LEP est de protéger l’habitat essentiel. Les mesures volontaires et les mesures d’intendance constituent les approches privilégiées pour conserver l’habitat. Le gouvernement fédéral a mis sur pied le Programme d’intendance de l’habitat afin de faciliter la mise en œuvre de telles mesures.

Lorsque l’intendance ne parvient pas à assurer la protection de l’habitat essentiel, des interdictions de destruction de cet habitat peuvent être imposées. Si l’habitat essentiel se trouve sur des terres privées ou provinciales et n’est pas protégé par des accords en matière d’intendance ou de conservation ou des lois provinciales, le gouvernement du Canada peut, après consultation des gouvernements provinciaux, rendre illégale la destruction de l’habitat essentiel. Aux termes de la LEP, le gouvernement du Canada doit s’assurer que l’habitat essentiel est protégé contre la destruction.

Qu’est-ce que la planification du rétablissement?

Pour chaque espèce en péril, comme le Tétras des armoises, la LEP requiert l’élaboration d’un programme de rétablissement. Ce programme donne un aperçu de l’approche générale au soutien du rétablissement de l’espèce. Il fournit également des renseignements généraux au sujet de l’espèce et énonce des buts et des objectifs qui guident les activités de rétablissement. Une fois le programme élaboré, on établit un plan d’action qui trace les grandes lignes des mesures précises à prendre pour atteindre les objectifs de rétablissement.

Quel est le processus de planification du rétablissement du Tétras des armoises?

Comme première étape du processus de planification du rétablissement en vertu de la LEP, on a terminé l’élaboration du Programme de rétablissement du Tétras des armoises au Canada en janvier 2008, dont une partie a été mise à jour en octobre 2009 pour désigner partiellement l’habitat essentiel en Alberta et en Saskatchewan.

Le gouvernement du Canada a maintenant modifié le Programme de rétablissement en mettant au point la désignation de l’habitat essentiel nécessaire au rétablissement de l’espèce et en donnant des exemples supplémentaires d’activités pouvant contribuer à sa destruction. L’habitat essentiel désigné dans le programme de rétablissement modifié comprend, dans l’aire de répartition récente du Tétras des armoises au Canada, les habitats de reproduction utilisés (connus sous le nom de leks, ou arènes de parade) de même que d’importants habitats de nidification, d’élevage des couvées et d’hivernage. En général, cet habitat essentiel est caractérisé par des îlots d’armoises, relativement peu de sol dénudé et des perturbations anthropiques minimales.

Il s’agit d’une étape importante vers le rétablissement du Tétras des armoises au Canada. En collaborant avec les gouvernements provinciaux et en consultant les propriétaires fonciers et d’autres personnes directement touchées, le gouvernement du Canada cherchera à s’assurer que les mesures adéquates sont prises pour la protection de l’habitat essentiel, y compris les approches d’intendance. Un plan d’action visant plusieurs espèces dont le Tétras des armoises en Saskatchewan est en cours, et un plan d’action propre à la province de l’Alberta sera élaboré à l’avenir.

En voie de disparition :
espèce sauvage qui, de façon imminente, risque de disparaître (être introuvable dans la nature) du pays ou de la planète

image d'un profil vallonné d'une prairie indigène

Photo : © Environnement Canada, Gordon Court

Comment le programme de rétablissement peut-il me toucher?

S’il y a des Tétras des armoises sur vos terres, les activités que vous menez actuellement sont dans l’ensemble compatibles avec les besoins en matière d’habitat du Tétras des armoises. Par exemple, il a été démontré que le Tétras des armoises peut survivre et se reproduire dans la prairie indigène mixte où il y a élevage de bétail et où la principale utilisation des terres est le pâturage d’intensité légère à modérée. Dans certains cas, la gestion actuelle du pâturage n’est peut-être pas optimale pour le Tétras des armoises. Dans de tels cas, des mesures incitatives, de l’aide et des conseils visant à aider les gestionnaires des terres quant à l’ajustement de la charge de bétail, la planification et la distribution du bétail sont disponibles.

Emplacement général de l’habitat essentiel potentiel du Tétras des armoises en Alberta et en Saskatchewan

 Carte montre deux régions distinctes où l'on retrouve des Tétras des armoises

La partie du programme de rétablissement modifié portant sur l’habitat essentiel comprend également des exemples d’activités qui pourraient contribuer à la destruction de l’habitat essentiel. De telles activités comprennent :

  • l’élimination, la réduction ou la dégradation des habitats de prairies ou d’armoises;
  • la modification de l’hydrologie naturelle de la zone;
  • la création de conditions de bruit chronique dans l’habitat essentiel;
  • la construction, l’installation ou la plantation de structures verticales.

Les activités humaines peuvent avoir une incidence néfaste si elles touchent directement l’habitat essentiel ou si elles se produisent à une certaine distance de l’habitat essentiel. Par exemple, on sait que le Tétras des armoises est sensible aux bruits intenses et qu’il peut abandonner son habitat essentiel en raison d’une activité bruyante.

Le rétablissement du Tétras des armoises dépend en partie de la capacité à prévenir la destruction de l’habitat essentiel. La LEP vise à prévenir la destruction de l’habitat essentiel par l’intermédiaire de différentes approches, y compris l’intendance rigoureuse. En dernier recours, l’interdiction de certains types d’activités susceptibles de détruire l’habitat ou causer des perturbations excessives aux oiseaux peut être envisagée.

Comment puis-je contribuer au programme de rétablissement?

S’il y a des Tétras des armoises ou des habitats de Tétras des armoises sur vos terres ou à proximité de celles-ci, vous pouvez jouer un important rôle d’intendant dans le rétablissement de cet oiseau en voie de disparition. Il existe un certain nombre de programmes de conservation susceptibles de vous aider à élaborer et à mettre en œuvre des plans de conservation pour les espèces sauvages vivant sur vos terres.

La prochaine étape du processus de planification du rétablissement du Tétras des armoises sera l’élaboration de plans d’action, lesquels comprendront des activités permettant de faciliter le rétablissement de cette espèce au Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à collaborer avec toutes les parties intéressées dans le cadre de l’élaboration de ces plans d’action. Vous pouvez jouer un rôle important dans le rétablissement du Tétras des armoises. Au cours des prochaines années, nous solliciterons vos commentaires et vos suggestions concernant le programme de rétablissement modifié et les plans d’action à venir.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour en savoir davantage sur les mesures prises en vue de protéger les plantes et les animaux en danger de disparition au Canada, consultez  le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Coordonnées :

Courriel
Environnement Canada : 1-855-245-0331