Order Acknowledging Receipt of the Assessments Done Pursuant to Subsection 23(1) of the Act

Vol. 139, No. 15 -- July 27, 2005

Registration
SI/2005-71 July 27, 2005

SPECIES AT RISK ACT

Order Acknowledging Receipt of the Assessments Done Pursuant to Subsection 23(1) of the Act

P.C. 2005-1341 July 14, 2005

Her Excellency the Governor General in Council, on the recommendation of the Minister of the Environment, hereby acknowledges receipt of the assessments done pursuant to subsection 23(1) of the Species at Risk Act (see footnote a) by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) with respect to the species enumerated in the Annex to this Order.

ANNEX

ENDANGERED SPECIES

MAMMALS

Whale, Northern Bottlenose (Hyperoodon ampullatus) Scotian Shelf population
Baleine à bec commune population du plateau néo-écossais

FISH

Cod, Atlantic (Gadus morhua) Newfoundland and Labrador population
Morue franche population de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Salmon, Coho (Oncorhynchus kisutch) Interior Fraser population
Saumon coho population du Fraser intérieur

MOLLUSCS

Snail, Lake Winnipeg Physa (Physa sp.)
Physe du lac Winnipeg

THREATENED SPECIES

FISH

Cod, Atlantic (Gadus morhua) Laurentian North population
Morue franche population nord-laurentienne

Bocaccio (Sebastes paucispinis)
Bocaccio

Darter, Channel (Percina copelandi)
Fouille-roche gris

Cisco, Shortjaw (Coregonus zenithicus)
Cisco à mâchoires égales

Cusk (Brosme brosme)
Brosme

SPECIES OF SPECIAL CONCERN

MAMMALS

Porpoise, Harbour (Phocoena phocoena) Northwest Atlantic population
Marsouin commun population de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest

FISH

Cod, Atlantic (Gadus morhua) Maritimes population
Morue franche population des Maritimes

Cod, Atlantic (Gadus morhua) Arctic population
Morue franche population de l'Arctique

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order.)

The Order acknowledges receipt by the Governor in Council of 12 aquatic species done pursuant to subsection 23(1) of the Species at Risk Act (SARA) by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC). The purpose of SARA is to prevent wildlife species from being extirpated or becoming extinct, to provide for the recovery of wildlife species that are extirpated, endangered or threatened as a result of human activity and to manage species of special concern to prevent them from becoming endangered or threatened.

SARA provides for assessments of the status of indigenous Canadian wildlife species by establishing COSEWIC as an independent scientific body. COSEWIC meets once or twice annually to review information collected on species and assigns each species to one of seven categories -- Extinct, Extirpated, Endangered, Threatened, Special Concern, Data Deficient or Not at Risk. Under subsection 27(1.1) of SARA, the Governor in Council, within nine months after receiving an assessment of the status of a species by COSEWIC, may review that assessment and may, on the recommendation of the Minister of the Environment, accept the assessment and add the species to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk set out in Schedule 1 to SARA, decide not to add the species to that List or refer the matter back to COSEWIC for further information or consideration. Before making a recommendation in respect of aquatic species, the Minister of the Environment must consult with the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans.

The Order of the Governor in Council acknowledging receipt of COSEWIC's assessment on the recommendation of the Minister of the Environment is the first step in this process. The 12 aquatic species that are the subject of this Order are species that the Minister of the Environment is considering for the purpose of their possible listing in Schedule 1 of SARA by the Governor in Council (GIC). These species were assessed as being endangered, threatened or of special concern at COSEWIC's May 2002, November 2002 and May 2003 meetings.

The Minister of the Environment will take into account the assessments of these species and will consult with the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans as competent Minister for aquatic species, as well as provincial and territorial governments, Aboriginal peoples, Wildlife Management Boards, stakeholders, and the Canadian public. Consultation documents have been prepared and circulated to stakeholder groups as well as posted on the Public Registry of the Species at Risk website (www.sararegistry.gc.ca). Once the consultation process is complete, the Minister of Environment will make recommendations to the Governor in Council for the purpose of decisions made under subsection 27(1.1) of SARA.

Footnote a

S.C. 2002, c. 29

Décret accusant réception des évaluations faites conformément au paragraphe 23(1) de la Loi

Vol. 139, no 15 -- Le 27 juillet 2005

Enregistrement
TR/2005-71 Le 27 juillet 2005

LOI SUR LES ESPÈCES EN PÉRIL

Décret accusant réception des évaluations faites conformément au paragraphe 23(1) de la Loi

C.P. 2005-1341 Le 14 juillet 2005

Sur recommandation du ministre de l'Environnement, Son Excellence la Gouverneure générale en conseil accuse réception des évaluations faites conformément au paragraphe 23(1) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (voir référence a) par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) relativement aux espèces mentionnées à l'annexe ci-après.

ANNEXE

ESPÈCES EN VOIE DE DISPARITION

MAMMIFÈRES

Baleine à bec commune (Hyperoodon ampullatus) population du plateau néo-écossais
Whale, Northern Bottlenose Scotian Shelf population

POISSONS

Morue franche (Gadus morhua) population de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Cod, Atlantic Newfoundland and Labrador population

Saumon coho (Oncorhynchus kisutch) population du Fraser intérieur
Salmon, Coho Interior Fraser population

MOLLUSQUES

Physe du lac Winnipeg (Physa sp.)
Snail, Lake Winnipeg Physa

ESPÈCES MENACÉES

POISSONS

Morue franche (Gadus morhua) population nord-laurentienne
Cod, Atlantic Laurentian North population

Bocaccio (Sebastes paucispinis)
Bocaccio

Fouille-roche gris (Percina copelandi)
Darter, Channel

Cisco à mâchoires égales (Coregonus zenithicus)
Cisco, Shortjaw

Brosme (Brosme brosme)
Cusk

ESPÈCES PRÉOCCUPANTES

MAMMIFÈRES

Marsouin commun (Phocoena phocoena) population de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest
Porpoise, Harbour Northwest Atlantic population

POISSONS

Morue franche (Gadus morhua) population des Maritimes
Cod, Atlantic Maritimes population

Morue franche (Gadus morhua) population de l'Arctique
Cod, Atlantic Arctic population

NOTE EXPLICATIVE

(La présente note ne fait pas partie du décret.)

Le décret accuse réception par la gouverneure en conseil des évaluations de la situation d'espèces sauvages effectuées par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) conformément au paragraphe 23(1) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). La LEP vise à prévenir la disparition -- de la planète ou du Canada seulement -- des espèces sauvages, à permettre le rétablissement de celles qui, par suite de l'activité humaine, sont devenues des espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées et à favoriser la gestion des espèces préoccupantes pour éviter qu'elles ne deviennent des espèces en voie de disparition ou menacées.

La LEP prévoit l'évaluation de la situation des espèces sauvages indigènes du Canada en établissant le COSEPAC comme entité scientifique indépendante. Le COSEPAC se réunit une ou deux fois par année afin d'examiner l'information recueillie sur les espèces et de classifier chaque espèce dans l'une de sept catégories -- disparue, disparue du pays, en voie de disparition, menacée, préoccupante, données insuffisantes ou non en péril. Au titre du paragraphe 27(1.1) de la LEP, dans les neuf mois suivant la réception de l'évaluation de la situation d'une espèce effectuées par le COSEPAC, la gouverneure en conseil peut examiner l'évaluation et peut, sur recommandation du ministre de l'Environnement, confirmer l'évaluation et inscrire l'espèce sur la Liste des espèces en péril figurant à l'annexe 1 de la LEP, décider de ne pas inscrire l'espèce sur la Liste ou renvoyer la question au COSEPAC pour renseignements supplémentaires ou pour réexamen. Avant de faire une recommandation à l'égard des espèces aquatiques, le ministre de l'Environnement doit consulter le ministre des Pêches et des Océans.

Le décret de la gouverneure en conseil accusant réception des évaluations du COSEPAC sur recommandation du ministre de l'Environnement est la première étape du processus. Les 12 espèces aquatiques énumérées dans le décret sont celles que le ministre de l'Environnement prend en compte en vue d'une inscription possible par la gouverneure en conseil sur la Liste figurant à l'annexe 1 de la LEP. Ces espèces ont été évaluées par le COSEPAC comme étant en voie de disparition, menacées ou préoccupantes lors des réunions de mai 2002, de novembre 2002 et de mai 2003.

Le ministre de l'Environnement prendra en compte les évaluations de la situation de ces espèces et consultera à la fois le ministre des Pêches et des Océans en tant que ministre compétent pour les espèces aquatiques, les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, les peuples autochtones, les conseils de gestion des ressources fauniques, les intervenants et le public canadien. Des documents de consultation ont été préparés et distribués aux groupes d'intervenants; ils ont aussi été versés au Registre public du site Web sur les espèces en péril (www.registrelep.gc.ca). Lorsque le processus de consultation sera terminé, le ministre de l'Environnement fera une recommandation à la gouverneure en conseil en vue d'une décision aux termes du paragraphe 27(1.1) de la LEP.

Référence a

L.C. 2002, ch. 29