Northern Bottlenose Whale, Scotian Shelf population: Critical Habitat Protection Statement

This is a statement explaining how the critical habitat of the Northern bottlenose whale (Hyperoodon ampullatus) located in Shortland and Haldimand canyons on the Scotian shelf is legally protected. This statement is pursuant to, and in compliance with, section 58(5) of the Species at Risk Act (SARA), S. C. 2002, c. 29. Critical habitat for the Northern bottlenose whale was identified in the Final Recovery Strategy for this species, and posted on the SARA Public Registry in May 2010. Please refer to the Recovery Strategy for details about the identified critical habitat, and note that the portion of the Northern bottlenose whale critical habitat located in the Gully Marine Protected Area (MPA) Zone 1 was described in the Canada Gazette 1 on August 14, 2010. The prohibition in section 58(1) of SARA will apply within the Gully MPA Zone 1 area on November 11, 2010.

Human activities which are likely to result in the destruction of critical habitat for this species, as well as the threats that arise from these activities, have been identified in the Final Recovery Strategy. They are listed below, together with the federal legislation which will be used to provide protection against such destruction.

Examples of such human activities include large scale industrial development, such as oil and gas extraction, that could result in the following threats:

  1. The alteration of habitat resulting from physical changes to bathymetry or oceanography, and/or the development of fixed structures;
  2. Acoustic disturbance resulting from the production of persistent intense noise (e.g. machinery, ship, aircraft, seismic, or sonar);
  3. Contamination resulting from ocean dumping and/or release of chemical or physical pollutants into the marine environment.

1.0 The alteration of habitat resulting from physical changes to bathymetry or oceanography, and/or the development of fixed structures.

Depending on the specific nature of the project and the works/undertakings or associated activities, large scale industrial development, such as oil and gas extraction, can result in the destruction of critical habitat. Specifically, activities that cause physical changes to bathymetry or oceanography and/or involve the development of fixed structures can alter habitat and/or impede access to foraging habitat to an extent that would be considered the destruction of critical habitat.
Legal Protection against these threats is provided by the following Acts of Parliament:

  1. Section 35 of the Fisheries Act prohibits the carrying on of any work or undertaking that results in the harmful alteration, disruption or destruction of fish habitat unless authorized by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans;

  2. Section 140 of the Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Accord Implementation Act prohibits the carrying on of a work or activity related to the exploration or drilling for or the production, conservation, processing or transportation of petroleum in the offshore area unless the person is the holder of an authorization issued under paragraph 142(1)(b).

2.0 Accoustic disturbance resulting from the production of persistent intense noise (e.g. machinery, ship, aircraft, seismic, sonar).

Noise that is persistent and intense enough to exclude whales from feeding areas for an extended period of time could destroy critical habitat.
Legal protection against this threat is provided by the following Acts of Parliament:

  1. Section 32 of the Species at Risk Act offers protection to critical habitat. It prohibits the killing, harming or harassing of individuals of a listed species. Threats such as persistent noise can affect both individuals and their critical habitat, thus critical habitat can be protected through the prohibitions set out in s. 32;

  2. Section 7 of the Marine Mammal Regulations prohibits the disturbance of a marine mammal except when fishing for marine mammals under the authority of these regulations. Any activity producing a level of acoustic disturbance sufficiently persistent and intense enough to destroy critical habitat is also likely to disturb individuals within the manner contemplated by section 7. Therefore, critical habitat can be protected through the prohibition set out in section 7.

3.0 Contamination resulting from ocean dumping and/or the release of pollutants (chemical and physical) into the marine environment.

Releasing toxic substances into critical habitat could result in its destruction by reducing the habitat quality to a level unsuitable for northern bottlenose whales or their prey.

Legal protection against this threat is provided by the following Acts of Parliament:

  1. Section 36(3) of the FA prohibits the deposit of deleterious substances into fish habitat except where the activity has been prescribed through regulation pursuant to section 36 (5);

  2. Ocean dumping is controlled by Division 3 of Part 7 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA). Section 125 of the CEPA prohibits the disposal of waste substances at sea;

  3. Vessel discharge is controlled through regulations passed pursuant to the Canada Shipping Act, 2001. The Ballast Water Control and Management Regulations (SOR/2006-129) and the Regulations for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships and for Dangerous Chemicals (SOR/2007-86) both prohibit discharges that could result in the contamination of critical habitat;

  4. Section 32 of the Species at Risk Act offers additional protection to critical habitat. It prohibits the killing, harming or harassing of individuals of a listed species. Threats such as persistent contamination can affect both individuals and their critical habitat, thus critical habitat can be protected through the prohibitions set out in section 32.

| Introductory Page |

Baleine à bec commune, population du plateau néo-écossais : déclaration de protection de l'habitat essentiel

La présente déclaration énonce comment est protégé légalement l’habitat essentiel de la baleine à bec commune (Hyperoodon ampullatus) dans les canyons Shortland et Haldimand du plateau néo-écossais. Cette déclaration est faite en application du paragraphe 58(5) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP), L.C. 2002, c. 29, et lui est conforme. L’habitat essentiel de la baleine à bec commune a été désigné dans le programme de rétablissement final affiché en mai 2010 sur le Registre public des espèces en péril. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l’habitat essentiel désigné, veuillez consulter le programme de rétablissement. De plus, prenez note que la portion de l’habitat essentiel de la baleine à bec commune située dans la zone de protection marine (ZPM) du Gully a été décrite dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 14 août 2010. À compter du 11 novembre 2010, l’interdiction prévue au paragraphe 58(1) de la LEP s’appliquera à la zone 1 de la ZPM du Gully.

Le programme de rétablissement dresse la liste des activités humaines susceptibles de détruire l’habitat essentiel de la baleine à bec commune et des menaces que ces activités posent. On trouvera ci-dessous la liste de ces activités, ainsi que la législation fédérale qui servira à assurer une protection contre une telle destruction.

Ces activités humaines comprennent des activités industrielles à grande échelle, par exemple l’extraction de pétrole et de gaz, qui pourraient donner lieu aux menaces suivantes :

  1. La détérioration de l’habitat par suite de la modification des caractéristiques bathymétriques ou océanographiques et/ou de la construction de structures fixes.
  2. Les perturbations sonores découlant de la production de bruits intenses et persistants (p. ex., machines, navires, aéronefs, relevés sismiques, sonars).
  3. La contamination résultant d’un rejet en mer et/ou du déversement de polluants chimiques ou physiques dans le milieu marin.

1.0 - La détérioration de l’habitat par suite de la modification des caractéristiques bathymétriques ou océanographiques et/ou de la construction de structures fixes.

Selon la nature du projet, des travaux ou des ouvrages, ou des activités connexes, certaines activités industrielles à grande échelle, par exemple l’extraction de pétrole et de gaz, peuvent entraîner la destruction de l’habitat essentiel. Plus particulièrement, des activités qui modifient les caractéristiques bathymétriques ou océanographiques et/ou qui comprennent la construction de structures fixes peuvent modifier l’habitat et/ou entraver l’accès à des aires d’alimentation dans une telle mesure qu’il faille considérer que ces activités détruisent l’habitat essentiel.
Les lois sanctionnées qui fournissent une protection juridique contre ces menaces sont les suivantes :

  1. l’article 35 de la Loi sur les pêches interdit d’exploiter des ouvrages ou entreprises entraînant la détérioration, la destruction ou la perturbation de l’habitat du poisson, à moins d’une autorisation du ministre des Pêches et des Océans;

  2. l’article 140 de la Loi de mise en œuvre de l’Accord Canada – Nouvelle-Écosse sur les hydrocarbures extracôtiers interdit à quiconque d’exercer des activités liées à la recherche, notamment par forage, à la production, à la rationalisation de l’exploitation, à la transformation et au transport d’hydrocarbures dans la zone extracôtière, à moins d’être titulaire d’une autorisation visée à l’alinéa 142(1)b).

2.0 - Les perturbations sonores découlant de la production de bruits intenses et persistants (p. ex., machines, navires, aéronefs, relevés sismiques, sonars).

Le bruit dont la persistance et l’intensité sont suffisamment importantes pour éloigner les baleines des aires d’alimentation pendant une période prolongée pourrait détruire l’habitat essentiel.
Les lois sanctionnées qui fournissent une protection juridique contre cette menace sont les suivantes :

  1. l’article 32 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril protège l’habitat essentiel. Il interdit de tuer des individus d’une espèce inscrite à la Liste des espèces en péril, de leur nuire ou de les harceler. Des menaces comme le bruit persistant peuvent avoir des effets tant sur des individus de l’espèce que sur leur habitat essentiel; les interdictions énoncées à l’article 32 permettent donc de protéger l’habitat essentiel;

  2. l’article 7 du Règlement sur les mammifères marins interdit d’importuner les mammifères marins, sauf lors de la pêche des mammifères autorisée par ce règlement. Toute activité qui produit une perturbation sonore suffisamment persistante et intense pour détruire l’habitat essentiel est également susceptible d’importuner des individus de l’espèce de la manière indiquée à l’article 7; l’interdiction énoncée à l’article 7 permet donc de protéger l’habitat essentiel.

3.0 - Contamination résultant d’un rejet en mer et/ou du déversement de polluants (chimiques ou physiques) dans le milieu marin.
Le rejet de substances toxiques dans l’habitat essentiel pourrait causer la destruction de cet habitat en réduisant sa qualité au point qu’il devienne inapproprié pour les baleines à bec communes ou leurs proies.

Les lois sanctionnées qui fournissent une protection juridique contre cette menace sont les suivantes :

  1. le paragraphe 36(3) de la Loi sur les pêches interdit d’immerger des substances nocives dans l’habitat du poisson, sauf lorsque l’activité est autorisée en vertu du paragraphe 36(5);

  2. le rejet en mer est régi par la section 3 de la partie 7 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (LCPE). L’article 125 de la LCPE interdit de procéder à l’immersion en mer de déchets;

  3. les rejets effectués par les navires sont régis par la réglementation relative à la Loi sur la marine marchande du Canada, 2001. Le Règlement sur le contrôle et la gestion de l’eau de ballast (DORS/2006-129) et le Règlement sur la prévention de la pollution par les navires et sur les produits chimiques dangereux (DORS/2007-86) interdisent les rejets qui pourraient contaminer l’habitat essentiel;

  4. l’article 32 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril fournit une protection additionnelle à l’habitat essentiel. Il interdit de tuer des individus d’une espèce inscrite à la Liste des espèces en péril, de leur nuire ou de les harceler. Des menaces comme la contamination persistante peuvent avoir des effets tant sur des individus de l’espèce que sur leur habitat essentiel; les interdictions énoncées à l’article 32 permettent donc de protéger l’habitat essentiel.

| Page d'introduction |