Vol. 150, No. 17 -- August 24, 2016

Registration

SI/2016-49 August 24, 2016

SPECIES AT RISK ACT

Order Acknowledging Receipt of the Assessments Done Pursuant to Subsection 23(1) of the Act

P.C. 2016-745 August 5, 2016

His Excellency the Governor General in Council, on the recommendation of the Minister of the Environment, acknowledges receipt, on the making of this Order, of the assessments done pursuant to subsection 23(1) of the Species at Risk Act (see footnote a) by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) with respect to the species set out in the annexed schedule.

SCHEDULE

Endangered Species

Mammals

Seal Lacs des Loups Marins subspecies, Harbour (Phoca vitulina mellonae)

Phoque commun de la sous-espèce des Lacs des Loups Marins

Whale, Beluga (Delphinapterus leucas) St. Lawrence Estuary population

Béluga population de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent

Reptiles

Sea Turtle, Leatherback (Dermochelys coriacea) Atlantic population

Tortue luth population de l’Atlantique

Sea Turtle, Leatherback (Dermochelys coriacea) Pacific population

Tortue luth population du Pacifique

Sea Turtle, Loggerhead (Caretta caretta)

Tortue caouanne

Fish

Bluefin Tuna, Atlantic (Thunnus thynnus)

Thon rouge de l’Atlantique

Dace, Redside (Clinostomus elongatus)

Méné long

Threatened Species

Mammals

Whale, Beluga (Delphinapterus leucas) Cumberland Sound population

Béluga population de la baie Cumberland

Fish

Rockfish, Yellowmouth (Sebastes reedi)

Sébaste à bouche jaune

Sucker, Mountain (Catostomus platyrhynchus) Milk River populations

Meunier des montagnes populations de la rivière Milk

Molluscs

Atlantic Mud-piddock (Barnea truncata)

Pholade tronquée

Special Concern

Fish

Dolly Varden (Salvelinus malma malma) Western Arctic populations

Dolly Varden populations de l’ouest de l’Arctique

Sculpin, Rocky Mountain (Cottus sp.) Westslope populations

Chabot des montagnes Rocheuses populations du versant ouest

Sucker, Mountain (Catostomus platyrhynchus) Pacific populations

Meunier des montagnes populations du Pacifique

Removing Listed Species

Fish

Trout, Aurora (Salvelinus fontinalis timagamiensis)

Omble Aurora

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order.)

The Order acknowledges receipt by the Governor in Council of the assessments of the status of 15 aquatic species done pursuant to paragraph 15(1)(a) and in accordance with subsection 23(1) of the Species at Risk Act (SARA) by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC).

The 15 aquatic species that are the subject of the Order are species that the Minister of the Environment, in consultation with the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, is considering for the purpose of recommending to the Governor in Council whether to amend the List of Wildlife Species at Risk set out in Schedule 1 to SARA (the List) in accordance with subsections 27(1.1) and (1.2) by adding, reclassifying or removing the species. Fourteen of these species were assessed and classified as being endangered, threatened or of special concern, and one species was determined as being ineligible for assessment. These assessments were made at various COSEWIC meetings held between 2004 and 2014.

For species that are not currently on the List, under subsection 27(1.1) of SARA, the Governor in Council, within nine months after receiving COSEWIC’s assessment of the status of a species, must review the assessment and, on the recommendation of the Minister of the Environment, may accept the assessment and add the species to the List, decide not to add the species to the List, or refer the matter back to COSEWIC for further information or consideration. The Governor in Council must also decide, on the recommendation of the Minister of the Environment, whether to remove one species from the List which was determined not to be eligible for assessment and, with respect to one other species currently on the List, whether also to remove it from the List and replace it by adding two separate designatable units to the List.

Under subsection 27(2) of SARA, before making a recommendation to the Governor in Council, the Minister of the Environment must take into account COSEWIC’s assessment of the status of a species; consult the competent minister or ministers; and, if the species is found in an area in respect of which a wildlife management board is authorized by a land claims agreement to perform functions in respect of a wildlife species, consult the wildlife management board. Of the 15 species subject to this Order, the Minister of the Environment consulted with Wildlife Management Boards on 2 aquatic species: Dolly Varden (Western Arctic populations) and Beluga Whale (Cumberland Sound population).

Vol. 150, no 17 -- Le 24 août 2016

Enregistrement

TR/2016-49 Le 24 août 2016

LOI SUR LES ESPÈCES EN PÉRIL

Décret accusant réception des évaluations faites conformément au paragraphe 23(1) de la Loi

C.P. 2016-745 Le 5 août 2016

Sur recommandation de la ministre de l’Environnement, Son Excellence le Gouverneur général en conseil accuse réception, par la prise du présent décret, des évaluations faites conformément au paragraphe 23(1) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (voir référence a) par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) relativement aux espèces mentionnées à l’annexe ci-après.

ANNEXE

Espèces en voie de disparition

Mammifères

Béluga (Delphinapterus leucas) population de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent

Whale, Beluga St. Lawrence Estuary population

Phoque commun de la sous-espèce des Lacs des Loups Marins (Phoca vitulina mellonae)

Seal Lacs des Loups Marins subspecies, Harbour

Reptiles

Tortue caouanne (Caretta caretta)

Sea Turtle, Loggerhead

Tortue luth (Dermochelys coriacea) population de l’Atlantique

Sea Turtle, Leatherback Atlantic population

Tortue luth (Dermochelys coriacea) population du Pacifique

Sea Turtle, Leatherback Pacific population

Poissons

Méné long (Clinostomus elongatus)

Dace, Redside

Thon rouge de l’Atlantique (Thunnus thynnus)

Bluefin Tuna, Atlantic

Espèces menacées

Mammifères

Béluga (Delphinapterus leucas) population de la baie Cumberland

Whale, Beluga Cumberland Sound population

Poissons

Meunier des montagnes (Catostomus platyrhynchus) populations de la rivière Milk

Sucker, Mountain Milk River populations

Sébaste à bouche jaune (Sebastes reedi)

Rockfish, Yellowmouth

Mollusques

Pholade tronquée (Barnea truncata)

Atlantic Mud-piddock

Espèces préoccupantes

Poissons

Chabot des montagnes Rocheuses (Cottus sp.) populations du versant ouest

Sculpin, Rocky Mountain Westslope populations

Dolly Varden (Salvelinus malma malma) populations de l’ouest de l’Arctique

Dolly Varden Western Arctic populations

Meunier des montagnes (Catostomus platyrhynchus) populations du Pacifique

Sucker, Mountain Pacific populations

Radiation d’une espèce inscrite

Poissons

Omble Aurora (Salvelinus fontinalis timagamiensis)

Trout, Aurora

NOTE EXPLICATIVE

(Cette note ne fait pas partie du Décret.)

Par le Décret, le gouverneur en conseil accuse réception des évaluations de la situation de 15 espèces aquatiques faites par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) en vertu de l’alinéa 15(1)a) et conformément au paragraphe 23(1) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP).

Les 15 espèces aquatiques visées par le Décret sont des espèces que la ministre de l’Environnement, en consultation avec le ministre des Pêches et des Océans, prend en compte en vue de recommander au gouverneur en conseil de modifier la Liste des espèces en péril figurant à l’annexe 1 de la LEP (la Liste) conformément aux paragraphes 27(1.1) et (1.2) par l’inscription, la reclassification ou la radiation des espèces. Quatorze de ces espèces ont été évaluées et classées comme espèces en voie de disparition, menacées ou préoccupantes, et une espèce a été jugée non admissible à l’évaluation. Ces évaluations ont été effectuées lors de diverses réunions du COSEPAC tenues entre 2004 et 2014.

Pour toute espèce qui ne figure pas actuellement sur la Liste, le paragraphe 27(1.1) de la Loi prévoit que, dans les neuf mois suivant la réception de l’évaluation de la situation d’une espèce faite par le COSEPAC, le gouverneur en conseil doit examiner l’évaluation et, sur recommandation de la ministre de l’Environnement, confirmer l’évaluation et inscrire l’espèce sur la Liste, décider de ne pas inscrire l’espèce sur la Liste ou renvoyer la question au COSEPAC pour renseignements supplémentaires ou pour réexamen. Sur la recommandation de la ministre de l’Environnement, le gouverneur en conseil doit aussi décider s’il faut retirer de la Liste l’espèce qui a été jugée non admissible à l’évaluation et, en ce qui concerne une autre espèce actuellement sur la Liste, s’il faut également la retirer pour la remplacer par deux unités désignables sur la Liste.

Conformément au paragraphe 27(2) de la LEP, avant de faire une recommandation au gouverneur en conseil, la ministre de l’Environnement doit tenir compte de l’évaluation de la situation d’une espèce faite par le COSEPAC; consulter tout ministre compétent; et, si l’espèce se trouve dans une aire à l’égard de laquelle un conseil de gestion des ressources fauniques est habilité par un accord sur des revendications territoriales à exercer des attributions à l’égard d’une espèce sauvage en question, consulter le conseil de gestion des ressources fauniques. Sur les 15 espèces visées par le présent décret, la ministre de l’Environnement a consulté les conseils de gestion des ressources fauniques à propos de 2 espèces aquatiques : le Dolly Varden (populations de l’ouest de l’Arctique) et le Béluga (populations de la baie Cumberland).