Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery strategy for the Eastern ribbonsnake (Thamnophis sauritus), Atlantic population in Canada

Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series Recovery Strategy for the Eastern Ribbonsnake, Atlantic population in Canada.

Species at Risk Act
Recovery Strategy Series

Eastern Ribbonsnake

2012

 

Recommended citation:

Parks Canada Agency. 2012. Recovery strategy for the Eastern ribbonsnake (Thamnophis sauritus), Atlantic population in Canada. Species at Risk Act Recovery strategy series. Parks Canada Agency, Ottawa. x + 46 pp.

Additional copies:

Additional copies can be downloaded from the SARA Public Registry.

Cover illustration:

Eastern ribbonsnake at Grafton Lake, Nova Scotia © Tom Herman.

Également disponible en français sous le titre « Programme de rétablissement de la couleuvre mince de l’Est (Thamnophis sauritus), population de l’Atlantique, au Canada ».

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of the Environment, 2012. All rights reserved.
ISBN 978-1-100-17286-6
Cat. no. En3-4/81-2010E-PDF

Content (excluding the cover illustration) may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.


Declaration

Under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk (1996), the federal, provincial, and territorial governments agreed to work together on legislation, programs, and policies to protect wildlife species at risk throughout Canada. The Species at Risk Act (S.C. 2002, c.29) (SARA) requires that federal competent ministers prepare recovery strategies for listed Extirpated, Endangered and Threatened species.

The Minister of the Environment presents this document as the recovery strategy for the eastern ribbonsnake, Atlantic population, as required under SARA. It has been prepared in cooperation with the jurisdictions responsible for the species, as described in the Preface. The Minister invites other jurisdictions and organizations that may be involved in recovering the species to use this recovery strategy as advice to guide their actions.

The goals, objectives and recovery approaches identified in the strategy are based on the best existing knowledge and are subject to modifications resulting from new findings and revised objectives.

This recovery strategy will be the basis for one or more action plans that will provide further details regarding measures to be taken to support protection and recovery of the species. Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the actions identified in this strategy. In - the - spirit of the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk, all Canadians are invited to join in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the species and of Canadian society as a whole. The Minister of the Environment will report - on progress within five years.


Contributors

This strategy was prepared by Jennifer McNeil, in collaboration with the Eastern Ribbonsnake Recovery Team, and includes a special contribution from the Native Council of Nova Scotia (section 1.5).


Recovery team members

Mark Elderkin (Co-Chair)
Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources, Wildlife Division
Stephen Flemming (Co-Chair)
Parks Canada, Atlantic Service Centre
Steve Mockford (Co-Chair)
Biology Department, Acadia University
Sarah Bell
Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology, Dalhousie University
John Gilhen
Nova Scotia Museum of Natural History
Tom Herman>
Biology Department, Acadia University
Shalan Joudry
L’sitkuk Department of Environment, Bear River First Nation
Chris McCarthy
Parks Canada, Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site
Joshua McNeely
Maritime Aboriginal Peoples Council
Jeffie McNeil
Parks Canada, Atlantic Service Centre
Jonathan Shepard
Parks Canada, Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site
Duncan Smith
Parks Canada, Atlantic Service Centre
Richard Wassersug
Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology, Dalhousie University

 


Acknowledgements

The editors wish to recognize that recovery team members continually contribute to the science and communications for the recovery of the eastern ribbonsnake. They have also spent much time defining the strategic direction for this recovery strategy. The editors and members of the Recovery Team also wish to acknowledge the contributions of Brennan Caverhill, Simon Gadbois, Troy Frech, Tara Imlay, Jose Lefebvre, Delphine Mousse, JoAnne Phillips, Jesse Saroli, Josie Todd, Rachel Thibodeau, Brad Toms and the many other students, field assistants, interns and volunteers who helped with ribbonsnake projects. Their field work and participation in recovery team meetings is much appreciated. The assistance of Abbey Camaclang and Samara Eaton in finalizing this recovery strategy is also acknowledged. Finally, the editors and Recovery Team would like to thank the many volunteers who have reported sightings of ribbonsnakes and who have participated in research activities. We would also like to acknowledge the larger information base that lead to this recovery strategy, including Mi’kmaq perspectives, some of which are posted on Nova Scotia's Species at Risk website.


Strategic environmental assessment statement

In accordance with The Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2004), a strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is conducted on all Species at Risk Act recovery strategies. The purpose of the SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally-sound decision making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond their intended benefits. Environmental effects, including impacts to non-target species and the environment, were considered during recovery planning. The SEA is incorporated directly into the strategy and also summarized below.

Recovery objectives will focus primarily on addressing knowledge gaps (Section 4 of the recovery strategy). The need for further research into demography, habitat requirements, threats, and population trends was identified. This information will benefit eastern ribbonsnake (Thamnophis sauritus) recovery in Nova Scotia, and may also aid conservation of other ribbonsnake populations, including those in southern Ontario and southwestern Quebec. Increased knowledge and protection of habitat (Section 1.8 of the recovery strategy) will also benefit other species at risk (e.g., Blanding’s turtle [Emydoidea blandingii] and Redroot [Lachnanthes caroliana]). To minimize overlap and maximize recovery efforts, recovery of eastern ribbonsnake will be coordinated with the recovery efforts for Blanding’s turtle and Atlantic Coastal Plain Flora. The recovery strategy also proposes collaboration with Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) and Nova Scotia Fisheries and Aquaculture to monitor exotic and introduced fish (e.g., smallmouth bass [Micropterus dolomieui] and chain pickerel [Esox niger]). This will benefit competing native fish species (e.g., trout [Salvelinus sp.]) as well as trophic dynamics, including amphibian abundance. Actions aimed at stewardship and education may also benefit other snake species, in addition to commonly associated vegetation and other terrestrial and aquatic organisms. The potential impacts to other species as a result of eastern ribbonsnake management are provided in Section 6.6 of the recovery strategy. This recovery strategy will have several positive effects on other species and the environment, and no important negative effects are anticipated.


Residence

SARA defines residence as: a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or hibernating [Subsection 2(1)].

Residence descriptions, or the rationale for why the residence concept does not apply to a given species, are posted on the SARA Public Registry.


Preface

This Recovery Strategy addresses the recovery of the eastern ribbonsnake (Atlantic population). In Canada, the species ranges in southern Ontario, southwestern Quebec and southwest Nova Scotia. The Atlantic population occurs only in Nova Scotia.

Section 37 of SARA requires the competent minister to prepare recovery strategies for listed extirpated, endangered, or threatened species, and Section 47 states that one or more action plans based on the recovery strategy must be prepared. This strategy complies with federal legislative requirements under SARA and largely meets the requirements for recovery planning under the Nova Scotia Endangered Species Act (S.N.S. 1998, c.11) (NS ESA) (Section 15).

The Parks Canada Agency led the development of this recovery strategy in collaboration with the Eastern Ribbonsnake Recovery Team and the Province of Nova Scotia. This recovery strategy was developed in cooperation or consultation with numerous additional individuals and agencies, including Acadia University, Dalhousie University, L’sitkuk Department of Environment, environmental non-government organizations, industry stakeholders, Aboriginal groups, and private landowners.


Recommendation and approval statement

The Parks Canada Agency led the development of this federal recovery strategy, working together with the other competent minister(s) for this species under the Species at Risk Act. The Chief Executive Officer, upon recommendation of the relevant Park Superintendent(s) and Field Unit Superintendent(s), hereby approves this document indicating that Species at Risk Act requirements related to recovery strategy development (sections 37-42) have been fulfilled in accordance with the Act.

image of signature block

All competent ministers have approved posting of this recovery strategy on the Species at Risk Public Registry.


Executive summary

The eastern ribbonsnake (Thamnophis sauritus) is a small, slender, semi-aquatic snake typically found in slow flowing wetlands with abundant aquatic and terrestrial vegetation. Like several other species in the province, eastern ribbonsnakes occur near the northern limit of their range in Nova Scotia and are isolated from the species’ main range. Within the province, eastern ribbonsnakes appear to have a limited distribution in the southwest interior and are only known to occur in scattered wetlands of three watersheds. The isolation, restricted distribution, and apparently small population size have resulted in the listing of the Atlantic population as Threatened under both the federal Species At Risk Act (S.C. 2002, c.29) and the Nova Scotia Endangered Species Act (S.N.S. 1998, c.11).

Since the formation of the Recovery Team in 2003, a number of projects have endeavoured to fill knowledge gaps and encourage public involvement through outreach and stewardship initiatives. However, efforts to obtain long-term data have been hampered by the lack of reliable marking and tracking techniques. Despite the existing knowledge gaps, a number of potential threats have been identified. To assess these threats and to identify the scale(s) at which recovery should be initiated, more information is needed on the population structure, habitat requirements, life history traits, limiting factors, and range extent of eastern ribbonsnakes in Nova Scotia.

Critical habitat has also been identified based on known currently occupied locations (e.g. the entire lake, fen or bog, or selected portions of a river or stream) with at least one recent, confirmed ribbonsnake sighting. Critical habitat will encompass all wetlands found within the location as well as the terrestrial and aquatic zones that extend 100 m around each wetland. Due to uncertainties surrounding the extent of terrestrial habitat use by ribbonsnakes, only a partial identification of critical habitat is possible at this time. Other critical habitats may be identified in the future following additional surveys and studies on overwintering habitat use, overland movements and population viability.

At the present time, recovery of the population is considered feasible. The long-term recovery goal is to ensure a self-sustaining population with a 95% probability of persistence across its range. In the absence of a quantitative population recovery target, the two intermediate goals have been identified: 1) maintain populations of eastern ribbonsnake at known locations; and 2) gain a sufficient understanding of distribution, demography, population structure, and habitat associations in order to conduct a realistic assessment of population viability. A number of recovery objectives have been set to achieve these goals; these objectives are described in this strategy along with a list of recommended strategies and approaches. At this time, it is believed that the recovery approaches outlined will have a beneficial impact on non-target species, ecological processes, and the environment. Where habitats overlap, efforts will be made to coordinate the recovery efforts aimed at other species at risk to avoid potential conflict and ensure that actions are mutually beneficial.

One or more actions plans will be completed by December, 2014.

Introduction

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la population de l'Atlantique des couleuvres minces (Thamnophis sauritus) au Canada

Loi sur les espèces en péril, Série des programmes de rétablissement. Programme de rétablissement de la population de l’Atlantique des couleuvres minces au Canada.

Loi sur les espèces en péril
Série des programmes de rétablissement

Couleuvres minces

2012

 

Notation bibliographique conseillée :

Agence Parcs Canada. 2012. Programme de rétablissement de la population de l’Atlantique des couleuvres minces (Thamnophis sauritus) au Canada. Série des programmes de rétablissement des espèces en péril. Agence Parcs Canada, Ottawa. x + 68 pp.

Copies supplémentaires :

Il est possible de télécharger des exemplaires supplémentaires de la présente publication à partir du Registre public de la de la Loi sur les espèces en péril.

Illustration de couverture :

Une couleuvre mince au lac Grafton, en Nouvelle-Écosse © Tom Herman

Also available in English under the title "Recovery strategy for the Eastern ribbonsnake (Thamnophis sauritus), Atlantic population.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de l’Environnement, 2012. Tous droits réservés.
ISBN Attribution prochaine d’un numéro
No de catalogue : Attribution prochaine d’un numéro

Le contenu (à l’exception des illustrations) peut être utilisé sans permission, mais en prenant soin d’indiquer la source.


Déclaration

Dans le cadre de l’Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril (1996), les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ont convenu de travailler ensemble aux règlements, programmes et politiques visant à protéger les espèces sauvages en péril au Canada. Selon la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP), L.C. 2002, ch. 29, les ministres fédéraux compétents doivent élaborer des programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces désignées disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées.

Le ministre de l’Environnement présente ici le programme de rétablissement de la couleuvre mince, population de l’Atlantique, requis par la LEP. Ce programme a été rédigé en collaboration avec les instances responsables de l’espèce (voir l’avant-propos). Le ministre invite les autres instances et organisations qui peuvent être concernées par le rétablissement de l’espèce à utiliser ce programme pour orienter leurs initiatives.

Les objectifs et les approches définis dans le programme sont basés sur les meilleures connaissances disponibles et peuvent être modifiés pour tenir compte de l’apport de nouvelles données ou de la révision de certains objectifs.

Le présent programme de rétablissement formera la base d’un ou plusieurs plans d’action qui exposeront de manière plus détaillée les mesures à prendre pour appuyer la protection et le rétablissement de l’espèce. Le succès du rétablissement de l’espèce dépend de l’engagement et de la collaboration d’un grand nombre d’organismes qui participeront à la mise en œuvre des mesures définies dans ce programme. Dans son esprit, l’Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril invite tous les Canadiens à participer à l’appui et à la mise en œuvre de ce programme qui bénéficiera à l’espèce et à la société canadienne dans son ensemble. Le ministre de l’Environnement préparera tous les cinq ans un rapport faisant état des progrès accomplis.


Auteurs

La présente stratégie a été préparée par Jennifer McNeil, en collaboration avec l’Équipe de rétablissement de la couleuvre mince; elle contient aussi une contribution spéciale du Nova Scotia Native Council (section 1.5).


Membres de l'équipe chargée du rétablissement

Mark Elderkin (Coprésident)
Ministère des Ressources naturelles de la Nouvelle-Écosse, Division de la faune
Stephen Flemming (Coprésident)
Parcs Canada, Centre de service de l'Atlantique
Steve Mockford (Coprésident)
Département de biologie, Université Acadia
Sarah Bell
Département d'anatomie et de neurobiologie, Université Dalhousie
John Gilhen
Musée d'histoire naturelle de la Nouvelle-Écosse
Tom Herman>
Département de biologie, Université Acadia
Shalan Joudry
L’sitkuk Department of Environment, Première Nation de Bear River
Chris McCarthy
Parcs Canada, Parc national et lieu historique national du Canada Kejimkujik
Joshua McNeely
Maritime Aboriginal Peoples Council
Jeffie McNeil
Parcs Canada, Centre de service de l'Atlantique
Jonathan Shepard
Parcs Canada, Parc national et lieu historique national du Canada Kejimkujik
Duncan Smith
Parcs Canada, Centre de service de l'Atlantique
Richard Wassersug
Département d'anatomie et de neurobiologie, Université Dalhousie


Remerciements

Les membres de l’équipe de rétablissement contribuent sans arrêt à l’acquisition et à la dissémination de nouvelles connaissances scientifiques facilitant le rétablissement de la couleuvre mince orientale. Ils consacrent aussi beaucoup de temps à définir les orientations stratégiques à adopter dans le cadre de ce programme de rétablissement. L’équipe de rétablissement souhaite remercier Guillaume Bourque, James Brunt, Josianne Caron, Brennan Caverhill, Troy Frech, Tara Imlay, Jose Lefebvre, Robby Marrotte, JoAnne Phillips, Josie Todd et Chris Wagner pour leur contribution à ces travaux. Leurs efforts sur le terrain et leur participation aux réunions de l’équipe de rétablissement sont très appréciés. L’équipe de rétablissement tient aussi à remercier Abbey Camaclang et Samara Eaton pour l’aide qu’elles ont fournie lors de la préparation de la version finale du présent programme de rétablissement. Finalement, l’équipe de rétablissement souhaite remercier les nombreux bénévoles qui ont documenté leurs observations de couleuvres minces et qui ont participé aux activités de recherche. Nous désirons aussi exprimer notre gratitude au vaste bassin d’informateurs qui ont rendue possible cette stratégie de rétablissement, y compris aux Mi’kmaq pour leurs perspectives dont certaines peuvent être consultées dans le site Espèces en péril en Nouvelle-Écosse.


Évaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à La directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes (2004), une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) doit être effectuée pour tous les programmes de rétablissement élaborés en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. L’objet de l’EES est de faire en sorte que l’élaboration des politiques, des plans et des programmes publics tiennent compte des réalités environnementales de manière à favoriser un processus décisionnel qui respect l’environnement.

La planification du rétablissement a pour objectif de bénéficier aux espèces en péril et à la biodiversité en général. Il est cependant connu que tout programme de rétablissement peut également s’accompagner d’effets environnementaux qui dépassent les objectifs fixés. Les effets environnementaux, notamment les éventuels impacts sur des espèces non ciblées ou sur l’environnement, ont été pris en compte durant la planification du rétablissement. L’EES est incorporée au présent programme et elle est résumée ci-dessous.

Les objectifs de rétablissement visent principalement la question des lacunes au niveau des connaissances (chapitre 4 du programme de rétablissement). Les auteurs ont mis à jour la nécessité d’étudier plus en détail la démographie de l’espèce, notamment les tendances démographiques, ses exigences en matière d’habitat et les menaces qui pèsent sur elle. Les données obtenues aideront au rétablissement de la couleuvre mince orientale (Thamnophis sauritus) en Nouvelle-Écosse et contribueront peut-être aussi à la conservation d’autres populations de ce serpent, notamment dans le sud de l’Ontario et le sud-ouest du Québec. L’acquisition de nouvelles connaissances et une meilleure protection de l’habitat (paragraphe 1.8 du présent programme de rétablissement) devraient également bénéficier à d’autres espèces en péril telles que la tortue de Blanding (Emydoidea blandingii) et le céanothe d’Amérique (Lachnanthes caroliana). Pour minimiser le dédoublement des activités et maximiser leur rendement, l’équipe de rétablissement travaillera de près avec les équipes de rétablissement des tortues de Blanding et de la flore de la plaine côtière de l’Atlantique. Le programme de rétablissement propose également une collaboration avec Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) et le ministère provincial responsable des pêches pour surveiller les poissons exotiques et introduits (p. ex. l’achigan à petite bouche [Micropterus dolomieui] et le brochet maillé [Esox niger]). De tels efforts devraient avoir des retombées bénéfiques sur les poissons indigènes (p. ex. la truite [Salvelinus sp.]) ainsi que sur la dynamique trophique, notamment l’abondance des amphibiens. Les mesures prises en faveur de l’intendance et de l’éducation bénéficieront peut-être aussi à d’autres espèces de serpents ainsi qu’aux végétaux et aux autres organismes terrestres et aquatiques communément rencontrés dans l’habitat de ces reptiles. Les impacts potentiels de la gestion des couleuvres minces orientales sur d’autres espèces sont énumérés dans le paragraphe 6.6 du programme de rétablissement. Le présent programme de rétablissement aura plusieurs effets positifs sur d’autres espèces et sur l’environnement. Aucun impact négatif n’est anticipé.


Résidence

La LEP définit la résidence ainsi : Gîte -- terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable -- occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l’élevage, les haltes migratoires, l’hivernage, l’alimentation ou l’hibernation. [paragraphe 2(1)].

Les résidences, ou les raisons pour lesquelles le concept de « résidence » ne s’applique pas à une espèce en particulier, sont décrites sur le site Web du Registre public de la LEP.


Préface

Le présent programme vise le rétablissement de la couleuvre mince, population de l’Atlantique. Au Canada, l’espèce se rencontre dans le sud de l’Ontario, le sud ouest du Québec et le sud-ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse. La population de l’Atlantique ne se trouve qu’en Nouvelle-Écosse.

L'article 37 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril stipule que le ministre compétent est tenu d'élaborer des programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces disparues du Canada, en voie de disparition ou menacées, et l'article 47 stipule qu'il faut élaborer un ou plusieurs plans d'action sur le fondement des programmes de rétablissement. Le présent programme de rétablissement satisfait aux exigences fédérales prescrites par la Loi sur les espèces en péril et satisfait en grande partie aux exigences pour la planification du rétablissement qui sont prescrites par la Nova Scotia Endangered Species Act (Loi sur les espèces en voie de disparition de la Nouvelle-Écosse) (S.N.S. 1998, chap. 11) (NS ESA) (article 15).

L’agence Parcs Canada a dirigé l’élaboration du programme avec le concours de l’Équipe de rétablissement de la couleuvre mince et en collaboration avec les autorités de la Nouvelle-Écosse.Ce programme a été élaboré en coopération ou en consultation avec de nombreux autres organismes et collaborateurs, notamment Acadia University, Dalhousie University, le ministère de l’Environnement de la Première nation Bear River (L’sitkuk), des organisations non gouvernementales de l’environnement, les parties intéressées de l’industrie, des groupes d’Autochtones et des propriétaires fonciers.


Énoncé de recommandation et d’approbation

L’Agence Parcs Canada a dirigé l’élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement du gouvernement fédéral, en collaboration avec l’autre ministre compétent (ou les autres ministres compétents) dont l’espèce relève en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Le directeur général, suivant la recommandation du directeur ou des directeurs de parc et du directeur ou des directeurs d’unité de gestion (Parcs Canada), approuve par les présentes le document en indiquant que les exigences relatives à la Loi sur les espèces en péril liées à l’élaboration d’un programme de rétablissement (articles 37 à 42) ont été satisfaites conformément à la Loi.

Photo de l'espace de signature

Tous les ministres compétents ont approuvé l'affichage du présent programme de rétablissement dans le Registre public des espèces en péril.


Sommaire

La couleuvre mince orientale (Thamnophis sauritus) est un petit serpent semi-aquatique d’aspect fin, qui fréquente habituellement les zones humides où l’eau s’écoule lentement et qui recèlent une abondante végétation terrestre et aquatique. Comme c’est le cas pour plusieurs autres espèces de la province, les zones d’occupation de la couleuvre mince orientale en Nouvelle-Écosse se situent près de la limite septentrionale de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce et sont séparées de son aire de répartition principale. Ces zones limitées semblent se situer dans le sud-ouest de l’intérieur et correspondent à des zones humides faisant partie de seulement trois bassins hydrographiques. Cet isolement, cette distribution restreinte et la taille apparemment réduite de la population ont motivé l’ajout de la population à la liste des espèces menacées aux termes de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (L.C. 2002, ch. 29), au niveau fédéral, et de la Endangered Species Act (S.N.S. 1998, ch. 11).

Depuis la mise sur pied de l’équipe de rétablissement en 2003, un certain nombre de projets ont eu pour objectif de palier au manque de données et d’encourager la participation du public par l’intermédiaire de programmes de sensibilisation et d’intendance. Les efforts déployés pour obtenir des données à long terme ont cependant été gênés par l’absence de techniques fiables pour le marquage et le suivi des spécimens. Malgré les multiples lacunes au niveau des connaissances, un certain nombre de menaces potentielles ont pu être définies dans le présent programme. Il serait nécessaire d’obtenir des données supplémentaires concernant la structure de la population, les exigences en matière d’habitat, les caractéristiques du cycle biologique, les facteurs limitatifs et l’étendue de l’aire de répartition des couleuvres minces orientales en Nouvelle-Écosse pour évaluer correctement ces menaces et définir l’échelle à laquelle les mesures de rétablissement devraient être mises en œuvre.

L'habitat essentiel a aussi été déterminé d'après les emplacements occupés actuellement (par exemple, le lac entier, le marais ou la tourbière, ou des sections données d'une rivière ou d'un ruisseau) à partir d'au moins une observation récente et confirmée d'une couleuvre mince. L'habitat essentiel comprendra toutes les zones humides existantes dans les limites de ces emplacements, de même que les zones terrestres et aquatiques qui s'étendent jusqu'à 100 m autour de chaque zone humide. En raison des incertitudes entourant l'étendue de l'habitat terrestre utilisé par les couleuvres minces, seule une détermination partielle de l'habitat essentiel est possible à l'heure actuelle. D'autres habitats essentiels pourraient être déterminés plus tard après des études additionnelles sur les aires de concentration hivernale, les mouvements terrestres et la viabilité de la population.

On considère qu’il est présentement possible de rétablir la population. L’objectif de rétablissement à long terme est de faire en sorte que la population soit autosuffisante et qu’elle ait 95 % de chance de subsister dans l’ensemble de son aire de répartition. En l’absence d’objectifs quantitatifs pour le rétablissement de la population, l’équipe a défini deux objectifs intermédiaires : 1) Préserver les populations de couleuvres minces orientales dans les zones fréquentées connues. 2) Acquérir des connaissances suffisantes sur la distribution et la structure démographiques ainsi que sur l’association de l’espèce à son habitat afin de conduire une évaluation sensible de la viabilité de la population. Pour y parvenir, un certain nombre d’objectifs de rétablissement ont été fixés. Ces objectifs sont décrits dans le présent programme, avec les mesures associées recommandées. Les mesures de rétablissement décrites devraient avoir un impact bénéfique sur plusieurs espèces non ciblées, certains processus écologiques et l’environnement en général. Lorsque les habitats de différentes espèces en péril se chevauchent, on s’efforcera de coordonner les mesures de rétablissement de manière à éviter tout conflit potentiel et de faire en sorte que toutes les mesures soient mutuellement bénéfiques. Au moins un plan d’action pour le rétablissement de la couleuvre mince orientale sera élaboré au plus tard 2016.

Introduction