Species at Risk Policies - Policy on Protecting Critical Habitat with Conservation Agreements under Section 11 of the Species at Risk Act - 2016 [Proposed]

Species at Risk Act
Policies and Guidelines Series

1.0. Preface

Section 11 of the Species at Risk Act (‘SARA’, the Act) authorizes a competent minister to enter into a conservation agreement to benefit a species at risk or enhance its survival in the wild. The agreement must provide for the taking of conservation measures consistent with the purposes of the Act, and may include measures with respect to protecting the species’ habitat, including its critical habitat. Sections 58 and 61 of the Act indicate that a section 11 agreement can serve as a mechanism to protect critical habitat.

Further to the draft Policy on the Protection of Critical Habitat on Non-Federal Lands, this document provides a policy statement, and the criteria that will be applied to determine whether or not a particular section 11 agreement protects critical habitat under sections 58 or 61 of the Act.

2.0. Policy Statement

A section 11 agreement will be considered to protect critical habitat if and only if:

  • The risk of critical habitat destruction occurring is low if the conservation measures it includes are undertaken; and
  • It remains apparent that the measures are being undertaken.

3.0. Policy Requirements

For a section 11 agreement to satisfy the policy statement, it must articulate the conservation measures required to protect the critical habitat, and must include provisions that provide assurance that those measures will continue to be taken.

A given section 11 agreement will be assessed against the policy statement by applying the following criteria, all of which must be satisfied:

  • The species at risk, and the geographical area to which the agreement applies, are specified in the agreement;
  • The habitat to which the measures apply is identified as critical habitat in the final recovery strategy or action plan for the species;
  • The conservation measures address any gaps in critical habitat protection such that there is a low level of risk that the critical habitat will be destroyed;
  • Monitoring and reporting requirements and any financial considerations are structured in a manner that provides assurance that the conservation measures in the agreement are being and will continue to be undertaken;
  • The duration of the agreement is specified, and does not exceed five years;
  • The agreement includes a provision stating that if its terms are not met, it will be concluded that the critical habitat is not being protected;
  • The “competent minister” or a federal official designated by the competent minister signs the agreement

Notwithstanding the specified duration of the agreement, undertaking the conservation measures it includes will be required only for as long as the best-available information indicates that they are needed to maintain a low level of risk that the critical habitat will be destroyed. Conversely, undertaking the conservation measures will no longer be recognized as sufficient if the best-available information indicates that undertaking them will result in a higher than low level of risk that the critical habitat will be destroyed.

The sources of best-available information are recovery documents, species status assessments by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC), and peer-reviewed information regarding the species.

Top of Page

Politiques relatives aux espèces en péril - Politique sur la protection de l’habitat essentiel au moyen d’accords de conservation en vertu de l’article 11 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril - 2016 [Proposition]

Loi sur les espèces en péril
Série de Politiques et de Lignes directrices

1.0. Avant-propos

L’article 11 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) autorise un ministre compétent à conclure un accord de conservation qui est bénéfique pour une espèce en péril ou qui améliore ses chances de survie à l’état sauvage. L’accord doit prévoir des mesures de conservation compatibles avec l’objet de la LEP, et peut prévoir des mesures en ce qui concerne la protection de l’habitat de l’espèce, notamment son habitat essentiel. Les articles 58 et 61 de la LEP indiquent qu’un accord conclu au titre de l’article 11 peut servir de mécanisme pour protéger l’habitat essentiel.

Dans la foulée de l’ébauche de Politique sur la protection de l’habitat essentiel sur le territoire non domanial, ce document présente l’énoncé de politique en question ici, de même que les critères qui seront appliqués pour déterminer si oui ou non un accord particulier conclu au titre de l’article 11 protège l’habitat essentiel aux termes des articles 58 ou 61 de la LEP.

2.0. Énoncé de politique

Un accord peut être conclu au titre de l’article 11 pour protéger l’habitat essentiel si et seulement si :

  • Le risque qu’il y ait destruction d’habitat essentiel est faible si les mesures de conservation prévues dans l’accord sont mises en œuvre;
  • Il appert que les mesures sont bel et bien mises en œuvre.

3.0. Exigences de politique

Pour qu’un accord conclu au titre de l’article 11 satisfasse à l’énoncé de politique, il doit définir les mesures de conservation requises pour protéger l’habitat essentiel, et doit comprendre des dispositions qui fournissent l’assurance que ces mesures continueront à être mises en œuvre.

Un accord donné conclu au titre de l’article 11 sera évalué en fonction de l’énoncé de politique sur la base des critères suivants, qui doivent tous être satisfaits:

  • L’espèce en péril, et la zone géographique à laquelle l’accord s’applique, sont précisées dans le texte de l’accord;
  • L’habitat auquel les mesures s’appliquent est désigné comme habitat essentiel dans le programme de rétablissement ou le plan d’action définitifs visant l’espèce;
  • Les mesures de conservation corrigent toute lacune dans la protection de l’habitat essentiel de façon à ce qu’il n’y ait qu’un faible risque que de l’habitat essentiel soit détruit;
  • Les exigences en matière de suivi et de production de rapports ainsi que les éventuels aspects financiers sont structurés de façon à fournir l’assurance que les mesures de conservation prévues dans l’accord seront mises en œuvre et continueront de l’être;
  • La durée de l’accord est précisée, et elle n’excède pas cinq ans;
  • L’accord comprend une disposition énonçant que si ses termes ne sont pas respectées, il sera conclu que l’habitat essentiel ne se trouve pas protégé;
  • Le « ministre compétent » ou un représentant fédéral désigné par le ministre compétent signe l’accord.

Sans égard à la durée de l’accord déterminée, la mise en œuvre des mesures qu’il renferme ne sera requise qu’aussi longtemps que la meilleure information accessible indique que ces mesures sont nécessaires pour faire en sorte que soit maintenu à un bas niveau le risque que de l’habitat essentiel soit détruit. En revanche, la mise en œuvre des mesures de conservation ne sera plus reconnue comme suffisante si la meilleure information accessible indique qu’elle donnera lieu à un niveau de risque de destruction d’habitat essentiel plus élevé qu’un niveau bas.

Les sources de la meilleure information accessible sont les documents de rétablissement, les évaluations de la situation de l’espèce réalisées par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC), et l’information évaluée par les pairs concernant l’espèce.