Order Acknowledging Receipt of the Assessments Done Pursuant to Subsection 23(1) of the Act

P.C. 2016-845 September 30, 2016

His Excellency the Governor General in Council, on the recommendation of the Minister of the Environment, acknowledges receipt, on the making of this Order, of assessments conducted under subsection 23(1) of the Species at Risk Act (see footnote a) by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) with respect to the species set out in the annexed schedule.

SCHEDULE

Extirpated Species

Amphibians

Salamander, Spring (Gyrinophilus porphyriticus) Carolinian population

Salamandre pourpre population carolinienne

Arthropods

Burying Beetle, American (Nicrophorus americanus)

Nécrophore d’Amérique

Endangered Species

Amphibians

Salamander, Jefferson (Ambystoma jeffersonianum)

Salamandre de Jefferson

Salamander, Northern Dusky (Desmognathus fuscus) Carolinian population

Salamandre sombre du Nord population carolinienne

Reptiles

Gartersnake, Butler’s (Thamnophis butleri)

Couleuvre à petite tête

Arthropods

Clubtail, Skillet (Gomphus ventricosus)

Gomphe ventru

Crawling Water Beetle, Hungerford’s (Brychius hungerfordi)

Haliplide de Hungerford

Emerald, Hine’s (Somatochlora hineana)

Cordulie de Hine

Threatened Species

Amphibians

Salamander, Spring (Gyrinophilus porphyriticus) Adirondack / Appalachian population

Salamandre pourpre population des Adirondacks et des Appalaches

Plants

Baccharis, Eastern (Baccharis halimifolia)

Baccharis à feuilles d’arroche

Twayblade, Purple (Liparis liliifolia)

Liparis à feuilles de lis

Special Concern

Plants

Goldencrest (Lophiola aurea)

Lophiolie dorée

Iris, Dwarf Lake (Iris lacustris)

Iris lacustre

Thistle, Pitcher’s (Cirsium pitcheri)

Chardon de Pitcher

Lichens

Lichen, Blue Felt (Degelia plumbea)

Dégélie plombée

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order.)

Proposal

Order to acknowledge receipt of the assessments from the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) regarding the status of 15 wildlife species under paragraph 15(1)(a) and in accordance with subsection 23(1) of the Species at Risk Act (SARA).

Objective

The objective of this Order is for the Governor in Council (GIC), on the recommendation of the Minister of the Environment, to acknowledge receipt of the assessments undertaken pursuant to subsection 23(1) of the Species at Risk Act by the COSEWIC with respect to the wildlife species set out in the annexed schedule of the Order.

Background

The purpose of SARA is to prevent wildlife species from being extirpated or becoming extinct; to provide for the recovery of wildlife species that are extirpated, endangered, or threatened as a result of human activity; and to manage species of special concern to prevent them from becoming endangered or threatened. COSEWIC was formed as an independent scientific body in 1977 with a mandate to provide a single, official, scientifically sound, national classification of wildlife species at risk in Canada. The Committee provides the Minister of the Environment with assessments of the status of Canadian wildlife species.

Of the 15 wildlife species COSEWIC assessments included in this Order, 2 are assessed as extirpated, 6 as endangered, 3 as threatened and 4 as special concern.

Implications

Under subsection 27(1.1) of SARA, the GIC may, on the recommendation of the Minister of the Environment, within nine months after receiving COSEWIC’s assessment of the status of a species, review the COSEWIC assessment, accept the assessment and add the species to the List of species at risk, decide not to add the species to the List, or refer the matter back to COSEWIC for further information or consideration. Under subsection 27(1) of SARA, the GIC may also, on the recommendation of the Minister of the Environment, reclassify or remove a listed species.

In addition, under subsection 27(2) of SARA, before making a recommendation in respect of a wildlife species or a species at risk, the Minister of the Environment must take into account the assessment of COSEWIC in respect of the species, consult the competent minister or ministers and, if a species is found in an area in respect of which a wildlife management board is authorized by a land claims agreement to perform functions in respect of a wildlife species, consult the wildlife management board.

Under subsection 27(3) of SARA, if the GIC has not taken a course of action under subsection 27(1.1) of SARA within nine months after receiving a COSEWIC assessment, the Minister of the Environment must, by order, amend the List in accordance with COSEWIC’s assessment. However, this nine-month timeline does not apply to the assessments recommending reclassification, as these species are already on the List.

Consultation

Initial consultations with interested stakeholders and members of the public took place from December 2011 to February 2012 for 11 species and from January 2013 to March 2013 for 4 species. These consultations will be summarized in the Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement that will accompany the proposed Order to amend Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act.

Departmental contact

Mary Jane Roberts
Director
SARA Management and Regulatory Affairs
Canadian Wildlife Service
Department of the Environment
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0H3
Telephone: 819-938-4289

Décret accusant réception des évaluations faites conformément au paragraphe 23(1) de la Loi

C.P. 2016-845 Le 30 septembre 2016

Sur recommandation de la ministre de l’Environnement, Son Excellence le Gouverneur général en conseil accuse réception, par la prise du présent décret, des évaluations faites conformément au paragraphe 23(1) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (voir référence a) par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) relativement aux espèces mentionnées à l’annexe ci-après.

ANNEXE

Espèces disparues du pays

Amphibiens

Salamandre pourpre (Gyrinophilus porphyriticus) population carolinienne

Salamander, Spring Carolinian population

Arthropodes

Nécrophore d’Amérique (Nicrophorus americanus)

Burying Beetle, American

Espèces en voie de disparition

Amphibiens

Salamandre de Jefferson (Ambystoma jeffersonianum)

Salamander, Jefferson

Salamandre sombre du Nord (Desmognathus fuscus) population carolinienne

Salamander, Northern Dusky Carolinian population

Reptiles

Couleuvre à petite tête (Thamnophis butleri)

Gartersnake, Butler’s

Arthropodes

Cordulie de Hine (Somatochlora hineana)

Emerald, Hine’s

Gomphe ventru (Gomphus ventricosus)

Clubtail, Skillet

Haliplide de Hungerford (Brychius hungerfordi)

Crawling Water Beetle, Hungerford’s

Espèces menacées

Amphibiens

Salamandre pourpre (Gyrinophilus porphyriticus) population des Adirondacks et des Appalaches

Salamander, Spring Adirondack/ Appalachian population

Plantes

Baccharis à feuilles d’arroche (Baccharis halimifolia)

Baccharis, Eastern

Liparis à feuilles de lis (Liparis liliifolia)

Twayblade, Purple

Espèces préoccupantes

Plantes

Chardon de Pitcher (Cirsium pitcheri)

Thistle, Pitcher’s

Iris lacustre (Iris lacustris)

Iris, Dwarf Lake

Lophiolie dorée (Lophiola aurea)

Goldencrest

Lichens

Dégélie plombée (Degelia plumbea)

Lichen, Blue Felt

NOTE EXPLICATIVE

(Cette note ne fait pas partie du Décret.)

Proposition

Décret accusant réception des évaluations réalisées par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) sur la situation de 15 espèces sauvages en vertu de l’alinéa 15(1)a) et conformément au paragraphe 23(1) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP).

Objectif

Le présent décret vise à reconnaître que Son Excellence le Gouverneur général en conseil, sur la recommandation de la ministre de l’Environnement, a bien reçu les évaluations effectuées par le COSEPAC en vertu du paragraphe 23(1) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril en ce qui concerne les espèces sauvages inscrites à l’annexe jointe au Décret.

Contexte

L’objectif de la Loi sur les espèces en péril est d’empêcher les espèces sauvages de disparaître du pays ou de devenir des espèces disparues, de permettre le rétablissement des espèces sauvages disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées à la suite d’activités humaines et de gérer les espèces préoccupantes afin de les empêcher de devenir des espèces en voie de disparition ou menacées. Le COSEPAC, dont la création à titre d’organisme scientifique indépendant remonte à 1977, a pour mandat de fournir une classification nationale unique, reposant sur des données scientifiques solides et officielles, des espèces sauvages en péril au Canada. Le Comité fournit au ministre de l’Environnement des évaluations de la situation des espèces sauvages canadiennes.

Deux des 15 espèces sont évaluées comme étant disparues du pays, 6 sont en voie de disparition, 3 sont menacées et 4 sont préoccupantes.

Répercussions

Le paragraphe 27(1.1) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril prévoit que, dans les neuf mois suivant la réception de l’évaluation de la situation d’une espèce faite par le COSEPAC, le gouverneur en conseil peut examiner l’évaluation et, sur recommandation de la ministre de l’Environnement, confirmer l’évaluation et inscrire l’espèce sur la liste des espèces en péril, décider de ne pas inscrire l’espèce sur la liste ou renvoyer la question au COSEPAC pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires ou pour demander un réexamen. Le paragraphe 27(1) de la Loi prévoit que le gouverneur en conseil peut aussi, sur recommandation de la ministre de l’Environnement, reclassifier ou radier une espèce inscrite sur la liste.

En outre, avant de faire une recommandation à l’égard d’une espèce sauvage ou d’une espèce en péril au gouverneur en conseil, la ministre de l’Environnement, conformément au paragraphe 27(2) de la Loi, doit prendre en compte l’évaluation de la situation d’une espèce faite par le COSEPAC, consulter tout ministre compétent et, si une espèce se trouve dans une aire à l’égard de laquelle un Conseil de gestion des ressources fauniques est habilité par un accord sur des revendications territoriales à exercer des attributions à l’égard d’espèces sauvages, la ministre doit consulter le Conseil.

Le paragraphe 27(3) de la Loi prévoit que, si le gouverneur en conseil n’a pas pris de mesures aux termes du paragraphe 27(1.1) dans les neuf mois après avoir reçu une évaluation faite par le COSEPAC, la ministre de l’Environnement doit modifier par décret la liste en conformité avec l’évaluation. Cependant, le délai de neuf mois ne s’applique pas aux évaluations recommandant la reclassification, puisque les espèces en cause sont déjà inscrites sur la liste.

Consultation

Les consultations initiales engagées avec des intervenants concernés et des membres du public ont eu lieu entre décembre 2011 et février 2012 pour 11 espèces et entre janvier 2013 et mars 2013 pour 4 espèces. Les résultats de ces consultations seront présentés dans le Résumé de l’étude d’impact de la réglementation, lequel sera annexé au décret proposé visant des modifications à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril.

Personne-ressource du ministère

Mary Jane Roberts
Directrice
Gestion de la LEP et affaires réglementaires
Service canadien de la faune
Ministère de l’Environnement
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 0H3
Téléphone : 819-938-4289