SUMMARY OF THE ACTION PLAN FOR THE PIPING PLOVER (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) IN MANITOBA

1. Opening Statement

The Action Plan for the Piping Plover (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) in Manitoba was due for posting on the Species at Risk (SAR) Public Registry by December 31, 2007, for a 60-day public comment period. A draft action plan has been prepared, but it still requires revisions and consultations with key stakeholders and landowners before posting on the SAR Public Registry. The Province of Manitoba is leading the development of the Action Plan for the Piping Plover (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) in Manitoba, and Environment Canada will take the lead role in the consultation process in cooperation with Manitoba. Once completed, Environment Canada will adopt the action plan under section 51 of the Species at Risk Act and post it on the SAR Public Registry. Environment Canada will continue to work in cooperation with the Province of Manitoba to ensure the action plan is posted on the SAR Public Registry at the earliest opportunity.

2. Summary

2.1 Scope of the Action Plan

The Action Plan for the Piping Plover (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) in Manitoba is one of four actions plans which will implement the Recovery Strategy for the Piping Plover (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) in Canada and the Addendum to the Final Recovery Strategy for the Piping Plover (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) in Canada, Re: Identification of Critical Habitat. The three others are for Alberta, Saskatchewan and Ontario.

This action plan addresses the recovery goal of achieving “a viable, self-sustained and broadly distributed population” of Piping Plover (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus), following the population objective of at least 120 adults over three consecutive international censuses” in Manitoba.

The recovery objectives of the action plan are to minimize human disturbance of the Piping Plover habitat in Manitoba, sustain a fledging rate of 1.25 fledged chicks/pair at managed sites, provide public awareness, monitor management progress and use adaptive management.

2.2 Critical Habitat

Critical habitat will be identified for the Piping Plover (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) based on criteria established in the Action Plan for the Piping Plover (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) in Manitoba. Critical habitat criteria in the Action Plan for Piping Plover (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) in Manitoba differ from that in the recovery strategy. It is anticipated that the criteria will be consistent with the Addendum to the Final Recovery Strategy for the Piping Plover (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) in Canada, Re: Identification of Critical Habitat.

2.3 Actions to Achieve Recovery Objective(s)

Actions listed in the Action Plan for the Piping Plover (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) in Manitoba will be implemented using five strategies for recovery. These five strategies are: habitat protection and management; productivity enhancement; public awareness and education; population monitoring and research; and evaluation.

In the three Prairie provinces, the federal government has invested over $450,000 in Piping Plover recovery actions since 2004 through the Habitat Stewardship Program. It has also funded recovery projects for over $360,000 since 2002 under the Interdepartmental Recovery Fund.

2.4 Monitoring

The Manitoba Piping Plover provincial population is monitored every five years as part of the International Piping Plover Census. To date four international censuses have been carried out. Annual monitoring is carried out at key sites to assess population size, population trend and productivity.

2.5 Socio-economic Considerations

The socio-economic implications of the Action Plan for the Piping Plover (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) in Manitoba will be examined in the context of the following activities: recreation, commercial fishing and hydroelectric generation. A summary of the results will be included in the action plan.

SOMMAIRE DU PLAN D’ACTION POUR LE PLUVIER SIFFLEUR (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) AU MANITOBA

1. Avant-propos

Le Plan d’action pour le Pluvier siffleur (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) au Manitoba devait être affiché dans le Registre public des espèces en péril au plus tard le 31 décembre 2007 pour une période de consultation publique de 60 jours. Une version provisoire du plan d’action a été préparée, mais le plan d’action nécessite encore des révisions et des consultations avec des intervenants clés et des propriétaires fonciers avant son affichage dans le Registre public des espèces en péril. La province du Manitoba dirige l’élaboration du Plan d’action pour le Pluvier siffleur (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) au Manitoba et Environnement Canada sera responsable du processus de consultation conjointement avec la province du Manitoba. Une fois le plan d’action terminé, Environnement Canada l’adoptera, en vertu de l’article 51 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, et l’affichera dans le Registre public des espèces en péril. Environnement Canada poursuivra sa collaboration avec la province du Manitoba pour s’assurer que le plan d’action soit affiché dans le Registre public des espèces en péril dans les plus brefs délais.

2. Sommaire

2.1 Portée du plan d’action

Le Plan d’action pour le Pluvier siffleur (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) au Manitoba est l’un des quatre plans d’action qui mettront en œuvre le Programme de rétablissement du Pluvier siffleur (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) au Canada et l’Addenda à la version finale du Programme de rétablissement du Pluvier siffleur (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) au Canada portant sur la désignation de l’habitat essentiel. Les trois autres plans sont pour l’Alberta, la Saskatchewan et l’Ontario.

Ce plan d’action vise l’atteinte du but du rétablissement, lequel consiste à « établir une population viable, autosuffisante et largement disséminée » de Pluviers siffleurs (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus), avec un objectif de population d’au moins 120 adultes au cours de trois recensements internationaux consécutifs au Manitoba.

Les objectifs du rétablissement visés par le plan d’action sont de réduire au minimum les perturbations anthropiques sur l’habitat du Pluvier siffleur au Manitoba, de maintenir un taux d’envol du nid de 1,25 oisillon par couple pour les sites gérés, de sensibiliser le public, de faire le suivi du progrès de la gestion et d’utiliser une gestion adaptative.

2.2 Habitat essentiel

L’habitat essentiel sera désigné pour le Pluvier siffleur (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) en se fondant sur les critères établis dans le Plan d’action pour le Pluvier siffleur (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) au Manitoba. Les critères relatifs à l’habitat essentiel dans le Plan d’action pour le Pluvier siffleur (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) au Manitoba diffèrent de ceux présentés dans le programme de rétablissement. Il est attendu que les critères seront compatibles avec le contenu de l’Addenda à la version finale du Programme de rétablissement du Pluvier siffleur (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) au Canada portant sur la désignation de l’habitat essentiel.

2.3 Activités pour l’atteinte des objectifs du rétablissement

Les activités énoncées dans le Plan d’action pour le Pluvier siffleur (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) au Manitoba seront mises en œuvre en utilisant cinq stratégies de rétablissement. Ces cinq stratégies sont : la protection et la gestion de l’habitat, l’amélioration de la productivité, la sensibilisation et l’éducation du public, le suivi et la recherche en matière de population, et l’évaluation.

Dans les trois provinces des Prairies, le gouvernement fédéral a investi, depuis 2004, plus de 450 000 $ dans des activités de rétablissement du Pluvier siffleur par le truchement du Programme d’intendance de l’habitat. Depuis 2002, il a également financé des projets liés au rétablissement pour une somme de plus de 360 000 $ dans le cadre du Fonds interministériel pour le rétablissement.

2.4 Suivi

La population provinciale de Pluviers siffleurs au Manitoba fait l’objet d’un suivi tous les cinq ans dans le cadre du recensement international du Pluvier siffleur. À ce jour, quatre relevés internationaux ont été réalisés. Un suivi annuel est effectué dans des sites clés en vue d’évaluer la taille, les tendances et la productivité de la population.

2.5 Considérations socioéconomiques

L’étude des répercussions socioéconomiques du Plan d’action pour le Pluvier siffleur (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) au Manitoba sera faite dans le contexte des activités suivantes : loisirs, pêche commerciale et production d’énergie hydroélectrique. Un sommaire des résultats de l’étude sera inclus dans le plan d’action.