Frequently Asked Questions – Permits Authorizing an Activity Affecting Listed Wildlife Species Regulations

The Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) below are meant to provide Canadians and Canadian businesses with basic information about the Permits Authorizing an Activity Affecting Listed Wildlife Species Regulations.

Permits Authorizing an Activity Affecting Listed Wildlife Species Regulations

  1. What is the purpose of these regulations?
  2. What are the key elements of these regulations?
  3. How do these regulations affect Canadian businesses?
  4. What is the timeline for implementation?
  5. Where can I get more information?

1. What is the purpose of these regulations?

The primary purpose of the Permits Authorizing an Activity Affecting Listed Wildlife Species Regulations is to contribute to consistency, predictability and transparency in the Species at Risk Act permitting process by providing applicants with clear and measurable service standards.

2. What are the key elements of these regulations?

The Permits Authorizing an Activity Affecting Listed Wildlife Species Regulations specify the type of information that must be included by the applicants in the permit application form when applying for a permit under section 73 of the Species at Risk Act.

These regulations also impose a 90-day time limit on the Government of Canada to either issue or refuse permits under section 73 of the Species at Risk Act authorizing a person to engage in an activity affecting a listed wildlife species, any part of its critical habitat, or the residences of its individuals.

The 90-day time limit starts on the date that the Minister of the Environment or Minister of Fisheries and Oceans notifies the applicant in writing that the application has been received. This 90-day time limit will be paused however, if the required documentation is missing. The 90-day time limit will be restarted again once all the required information has been received.

The 90-day time limit may not apply in a few circumstances:

  • where additional consultations are required (e.g. consultations with Aboriginal people);
  • where another Act of Parliament or land claim agreement requires that another decision be made before the permit can be issued or refused (e.g. where an environmental assessment needs to be completed prior to a decision being made with respect to a SARA permit application);
  • where the terms and conditions of a permit previously issued to the applicant under s. 73 of SARA have not been met (e.g. if required reports related to earlier permits have not been received by the issuing department/agency);
  • where the applicant requests or agrees that the time limit not apply; or
  • where the activity described in the permit application is modified before the permit is issued or refused.

3. How do these regulations affect Canadian businesses?

Anyone seeking a Species at Risk Act section 73 permit, including scientific researchers and proponents of resource development projects, may be affected by the regulations. These regulations are anticipated to contribute to consistency, predictability and transparency in the Species at Risk Act permitting process by providing Canadian businesses with clear and measurable service standards.

The regulations do not apply to permits or authorizations issued by the Minister of the Environment or the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans under other Federal Acts(e.g. Fisheries Act authorizations or Migratory Birds Regulations permits), which have, under section 74 of SARA, the same effect as Species at Risk Act permits.

4. What is the timeline for implementation?

The Permits Authorizing an Activity Affecting Listed Wildlife Species Regulations, made under the authority of the Species at Risk Act, came into force on June 19, 2013.

5. Where can I get more information?

For more information on Permits Authorizing an Activity Affecting Listed Wildlife Species Regulations, please visit the Permits Authorizing an Activity Affecting Listed Wildlife Species Regulations Questions and Answers on the Species at Risk Public Registry.

You can also contact Environment Canada's Canadian Wildlife Service at ec.permisscf-cwspermit.ec@canada.ca or toll free at 1-855-869-8670. The appropriate regional office may also be contacted in writing.

Environment Canada's Canadian Wildlife Service Regional Offices

Atlantic Region
SARA Permit Coordinator
Canadian Wildlife Service
Environment Canada
17 Waterfowl Lane
Sackville, NB
E4L 1G6

Quebec Region
SARA Permit Coordinator
Canadian Wildlife Service
Environment Canada
801 - 1550, avenue d'Estimauville,
Québec, QC
G1J 0C3

Ontario Region
SARA Permit Coordinator
Canadian Wildlife Service
Environment Canada
867 Lakeshore Road
Burlington, ON
L7R 4A6

Prairie and Northern Region
SARA Permit Officer
Canadian Wildlife Service
Environment Canada
Eastgate Offices, 9250 – 49th Street
Edmonton, AB
T6B 1K5

Pacific and Yukon Region
SARA Permit Officer
Canadian Wildlife Service
Environment Canada
5421 Robertson Road
Delta, BC
V4K 3N2

This document is intended to provide contextual information on the Permits Authorizing an Activity Affecting Listed Wildlife Species Regulations. It does not replace the Species at Risk Act or Permits Authorizing an Activity Affecting Listed Wildlife Species Regulations. If there are inconsistencies between this document and the Species at Risk Act or the Permits Authorizing an Activity Affecting Listed Wildlife Species Regulations, the Act and Regulations prevail.

Foire aux questions – Règlement sur les permis autorisant une activité touchant une espèce sauvage inscrite

La Foire aux questions (FAQ) ci-dessous vise à fournir aux Canadiens et Canadiennes, et aux entreprises canadiennes, des renseignements de base au sujet du Règlement sur les permis autorisant une activité touchant une espèce sauvage inscrite.

Règlement sur les permis autorisant une activité touchant une espèce sauvage inscrite

  1. Quel est le but de ce règlement?
  2. Quels sont les éléments clés de ce règlement?
  3. Quels effets ce règlement a-t-il sur les entreprises canadiennes?
  4. Quel est le calendrier de mise en œuvre?
  5. Où puis-je obtenir d'autres renseignements?

1. Quel est le but de ce règlement?

Le Règlement sur les permis autorisant une activité touchant une espèce sauvage inscrite vise principalement à assurer l'uniformité, la prévisibilité et la transparence du processus de délivrance de permis de la Loi sur les espèces en péril en fournissant aux demandeurs des normes claires et mesurables.

2. Quels sont les éléments clés de ce règlement?

Le Règlement de permis autorisant une activité touchant les espèces sauvages inscrites précise le type d'information qui doit être indiquée par les demandeurs sur leur formulaire de demande de permis en vertu de l'article 73 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril.

Le règlementimpose aussi une limite de 90 jours pour la délivrance ou le refus de la délivrance, par le gouvernement du Canada, de permis en vertu de l’article 73 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril autorisant une personne à se lancer dans une activité touchant une espèce sauvage inscrite, tout élément de son habitat essentiel ou la résidence de ses individus.

L’échéancier de 90 jours commence à la date que le ministre de l’Environnement ou le ministre des Pêches et des Océans avise le demandeur par écrit de la réception de sa demande. Lorsque des demandes incomplètes sont reçues, l’échéancier de 90 jours sera « interrompu », ou « suspendu », jusqu’à ce que toute l’information manquante soit reçue.

Dans les circonstances suivantes, la limite de 90 jours peut ne pas s’appliquer :

  • lorsque des consultations supplémentaires sont nécessaires (p. ex. auprès des peuples autochtones);
  • lorsqu'une autre loi du Parlement ou un accord sur des revendications territoriales exige qu'une décision soit prise avant qu'un permis soit délivré ou refusé (p. ex. lorsqu'une évaluation environnementale doit être effectuée avant qu'une décision soit prise en ce qui concerne une demande de permis en vertu de la LEP);
  • lorsque les conditions d'un permis délivré antérieurement au demandeur en vertu de l'article 73 de la LEP n'ont pas été respectées (p. ex. si l'organisme ou le ministère émetteur n'a pas reçu les rapports requis au titre d'un permis délivré antérieurement);
  • lorsque le demandeur réclame ou convient que la limite ne s'applique pas;
  • lorsque l'activité visée dans la demande de permis est modifiée avant que le permis soit délivré ou refusé.

3. Quels effets ce règlement a-t-il sur les entreprises canadiennes?

Quiconque demande un permis au titre de l’article 73 de la LEP, y compris les chercheurs et les promoteurs de projets de développement des ressources, peut être touché par le règlement. Il devrait contribuer à la cohérence, la prévisibilité et la transparence du processus de délivrance de permis en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril en fournissant aux demandeurs des normes de service claires et mesurables.

Le règlement ne s’applique pas aux permis ou aux autorisations délivrés par le ministre de l`Environnement ou le ministre des Pêches et des Océans au titre d’autres lois fédérales (comme les autorisations accordées en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches ou les permis délivrés en vertu du Règlement sur les oiseaux migrateurs), qui ont, selon l’article 74 de la LEP, le même effet que les permis de la Loi sur les espèces en péril.

4. Quel est le calendrier de mise en œuvre?

Le Règlement sur les permis autorisant une activité touchant une espèce sauvage inscrite, établi en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, est entré en vigueur le 19 juin 2013.

5. Où puis-je obtenir d'autres renseignements?

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le Règlement sur les permis autorisant une activité touchant une espèce sauvage inscrite, veuillez visiter les Questions et réponses sur le règlement sur les permis autorisant une activité touchant une espèce sauvage inscrite sur le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec le Service canadien de la faune d'Environnement Canada, soit par courriel, à ec.permisscf-cwspermit.ec@canada.ca, soit par téléphone, en composant le numéro sans frais 1-855-869-8670. Vous pouvez également écrire au bureau régional le plus près.

Bureaux régionaux du Service canadien de la faune d'Environnement Canada

Région de l'Atlantique
Coordonnateur des permis de la LEP
Service canadien de la faune
Environnement Canada
17, rue Waterfowl
Sackville (Nouveau-Brunswick)
E4L 1G6

Région du Québec
Coordonnateur des permis de la LEP
Service canadien de la faune
Environnement Canada
801-1550 avenue d'Estimauville
Québec (Québec)
G1J 0C3

Région de l'Ontario
Coordonnateur des permis de la LEP
Service canadien de la faune
Environnement Canada
867, rue Lakeshore
Burlington (Ontario)
L7R 4A6

Région des Prairies et du Nord
Agent responsable de la délivrance de permis
Service canadien de la faune
Environnement Canada
Bureaux Eastgate
9250 – 49e rue N-O
Edmonton (Alberta)
T6B 1K5

Région du Pacifique et du Yukon
Agent responsable de la délivrance de permis
Service canadien de la faune
Environnement Canada
5421, chemin Robertson
Delta (Colombie-Britannique)
V4K 3N2

Ce document vise à fournir de l’information contextuelle sur le Règlement sur les permis autorisant une activité touchant une espèce sauvage inscrite. Il ne remplace pas la Loi sur les espèces en péril ou le Règlement sur les permis autorisant une activité touchant une espèce sauvage inscrite. En cas d’incohérence, la Loi sur les espèces en péril et le Règlement sur les permis autorisant une activité touchant une espèce sauvage inscrite prévalent.