Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Incurved Grizzled Moss (Ptychomitrium incurvum) in Canada (Proposed)

Incurved grizzled moss: Reproduced, with permission, from Crum & Anderson (1981).

Incurved Grizzled Moss

 

July 2007

 

Declaration
Responsible Jurisdictions
Authors
Acknolwedgements
Strategic Environmental Assessment
Residence
Preface

About the Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series

What is the Species at Risk Act (SARA)?

SARA is the Act developed by the federal government as a key contribution to the common national effort to protect and conserve species at risk in Canada. SARA came into force in 2003 and one of its purposes is“to provide for the recovery of wildlife species that are extirpated, endangered or threatened as a result of human activity.”

What is recovery?

In the context of species at risk conservation, recovery is the process by which the decline of an endangered, threatened, or extirpated species is arrested or reversed and threats are removed or reduced to improve the likelihood of the species’ persistence in the wild. A species will be considered recovered when its long-term persistence in the wild has been secured.

What is a recovery strategy?

A recovery strategy is a planning document that identifies what needs to be done to arrest or reverse the decline of a species. It sets goals and objectives and identifies the main areas of activities to be undertaken. Detailed planning is done at the action plan stage.

Recovery strategy development is a commitment of all provinces and territories and of three federal agencies -- Environment Canada, Parks Canada Agency, and Fisheries and Oceans Canada -- under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk. Sections 37–46 of SARA outline both the required content and the process for developing recovery strategies published in this series.

Depending on the status of the species and when it was assessed, a recovery strategy has to be developed within one to two years after the species is added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk. Three to four years is allowed for those species that were automatically listed when SARA came into force.

What’s next?

In most cases, one or more action plans will be developed to define and guide implementation of the recovery strategy. Nevertheless, directions set in the recovery strategy are sufficient to begin involving communities, land users, and conservationists in recovery implementation. Cost-effective measures to prevent the reduction or loss of the species should not be postponed for lack of full scientific certainty.

The series

This series presents the recovery strategies prepared or adopted by the federal government under SARA. New documents will be added regularly as species get listed and as strategies are updated.

To learn more

To learn more about the Species at Risk Act and recovery initiatives, please consult the SARA Public Registry and the Web site of the Recovery Secretariat (http://www.speciesatrisk.gc.ca/recovery/).

Recommended citation:

Environment Canada. 2007. Recovery Strategy for the Incurved Grizzled Moss (Ptychomitrium incurvum) in Canada [Proposed]. Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series. Environment Canada. Ottawa. iv + 9 pp.


Additional copies:

Additional copies can be downloaded from the SARA Public Registry.

Cover illustrations: Incurved grizzled moss: Reproduced, with permission, from Crum & Anderson (1981).

Également disponible en français sous le titre :

« Programme de rétablissement du ptychomitre à feuilles incurvées (Ptychomitrium incurvum) au Canada [Proposition] »

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Environment, 2007. All rights reserved.

ISBN to come

Catalogue no. to come

Content (excluding the illustrations) may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.

Declaration

This recovery strategy has been prepared in cooperation with the jurisdictions responsible for the incurved grizzled moss. Environment Canada has reviewed and accepts this document as its recovery strategy for the incurved grizzled moss, as required under the Species at Risk Act. This recovery strategy also constitutes advice to other jurisdictions and organizations that may be involved in recovering the species.

It was determined that the recovery of the incurved grizzled moss in Canada is not technically or biologically feasible at this time. The species still may benefit from general conservation programs in the same geographic area, and will receive protection through SARA and other federal, and provincial or territorial, legislation, policies, and programs.

The feasibility determination will be re-evaluated at a minimum, every five years as part of the report on implementation of the recovery strategy, or as warranted in response to changing conditions and/or knowledge.

In the spirit of the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk, the Minister of the Environment invites all responsible jurisdictions and Canadians to join Environment Canada in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the incurved grizzled moss and Canadian society as a whole.

Responsible Jurisdictions

  • Canadian Wildlife Service – Ontario Region, Environment Canada
  • Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources

Authors

This recovery strategy was developed by Angela McConnell, Canadian Wildlife Service – Ontario Region, Environment Canada.

Acknolwedgements

The author would like to thank Jennifer Doubt, Michael Oldham and Carolyn Seburn for providing information for this strategy. The author would like to thank Alain Branchaud for clearing up the mysteries of the Quebec records. The author would also like to thank Aissa Feldmann of the New York Natural Heritage Program for attempting to find information on the New York occurrences. Thanks also go to Kate Hayes and Barbara Slezak for providing guidance in the development of this document.

Strategic Environmental Assessment

A strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is conducted on all SARA recovery planning documents, in accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals. The purpose of a SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally sound decision-making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits. The planning process based on national guidelines directly incorporates consideration of all environmental effects, with a particular focus on possible impacts on non-target species or habitats. The results of the SEA are incorporated directly into the strategy itself, but are also summarized below.

This recovery strategy indicates that recovery of the incurved grizzled moss is not considered feasible at this time. The SEA concluded that this strategy will have no impact on the environment and will not entail any significant adverse effects, as no recovery efforts will be undertaken.

Residence

SARA defines residence as:

a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or hibernating [Subsection 2(1)].

Residence descriptions, or the rationale for why the residence concept does not apply to a given species, are posted on the SARA public registry.

Preface

Incurved grizzled moss is under the management jurisdiction of the Ontario provincial government. The Species at Risk Act (SARA, Section 37) requires the competent minister to prepare recovery strategies for listed extirpated, endangered or threatened species. Incurved grizzled moss was listed as Extirpated under SARA in June 2003. The Canadian Wildlife Service – Ontario Region, Environment Canada, developed this recovery strategy. The Province of Ontario reviewed and acknowledged receipt of the strategy. The proposed strategy meets SARA requirements in terms of content and process (Sections 39–41).

Introduction

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du ptychomitre à feuilles incurvées (Ptychomitrium incurvum) au Canada (Proposition)

Ptychomitre à feuilles incurvées : reproduite, avec permission, de Crum & Anderson (1981).

Ptychomitre à feuilles incurvées

 

Juillet 2007

Déclaration
Compétences responsables
Auteurs
Remerciements
Évaluation environnementale stratégique
Résidence
Préface

 

La série de Programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Qu'est-ce que la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)?

La LEP est la loi fédérale qui constitue l'une des pierres d'assise de l'effort national commun de protection et de conservation des espèces en péril au Canada. Elle est en vigueur depuis 2003 et vise, entre autres, àpermettre le rétablissement des espèces qui, par suite de l'activité humaine, sont devenues des espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées.

Qu'est-ce que le rétablissement?

Dans le contexte de la conservation des espèces en péril, le rétablissement est le processus par lequel le déclin d'une espèce en voie de disparition, menacée ou disparue du pays est arrêté ou inversé et par lequel les menaces à sa survie sont éliminées ou réduites de façon à augmenter la probabilité de survie de l'espèce à l'état sauvage. Une espèce sera considérée comme rétablie lorsque sa survie à long terme à l'état sauvage aura été assurée.

Qu'est-ce qu'un programme de rétablissement?

Un programme de rétablissement est un document de planification qui identifie ce qui doit être réalisé pour arrêter ou inverser le déclin d'une espèce. Il établit des buts et des objectifs et indique les principaux champs des activités à entreprendre. La planification plus élaborée se fait à l'étape du plan d'action.

L'élaboration de programmes de rétablissement représente un engagement de toutes les provinces et de tous les territoires ainsi que de trois organismes fédéraux -- Environnement Canada, l'Agence Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada -- dans le cadre de l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril. Les articles 37 à 46 de la LEP décrivent le contenu d'un programme de rétablissement publié dans la présente série ainsi que le processus requis pour l'élaborer.

Selon le statut de l'espèce et le moment où elle a été évaluée, un programme de rétablissement doit être préparé dans un délai de un à deux ans après l'inscription de l'espèce à la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP. Pour les espèces qui ont été inscrites à la LEP lorsque celle-ci a été adoptée, le délai est de trois à quatre ans.

Et ensuite?

Dans la plupart des cas, un ou plusieurs plans d'action seront élaborés pour définir et guider la mise en oeuvre du programme de rétablissement. Cependant, les recommandations contenues dans le programme de rétablissement suffisent pour permettre la participation des collectivités, des utilisateurs des terres et des conservationnistes à la mise en oeuvre du rétablissement. Le manque de certitude scientifique ne doit pas être prétexte à retarder la prise de mesures efficientes visant à prévenir la disparition ou le déclin d'une espèce.

La série de Programmes de rétablissement

Cette série présente les programmes de rétablissement élaborés ou adoptés par le gouvernement fédéral dans le cadre de la LEP. De nouveaux documents s'ajouteront régulièrement à mesure que de nouvelles espèces seront inscrites à la Liste des espèces en péril et que les programmes de rétablissement existants seront mis à jour.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour en savoir plus sur la Loi sur les espèces en péril et les initiatives de rétablissement, veuillez consulter le Registre public de la LEP et le site Web du Secrétariat du rétablissement (http://www.especesenperil.gc.ca/recovery/).


Référence recommandée :

Environnement Canada. 2007. Programme de rétablissement du ptychomitre à feuilles incurvées (Ptychomitrium incurvum) au Canada [Proposition], Série de Programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, Environnement Canada, Ottawa, iv + 9 p.


Exemplaires supplémentaires

Il est possible de télécharger des exemplaires de la présente publication à partir du Registre public de la Loi sur les espèces en péril.

Illustration de la couverture: Ptychomitre à feuilles incurvées : reproduite, avec permission, de Crum & Anderson (1981).

Also available in English under the title:

“Recovery Strategy for the Incurved Grizzled Moss (Ptychomitrium incurvum) in Canada [Proposed]”

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de l'Environnement, 2007. Tous droits réservés.

ISBN : À venir

Numéro de catalogue : À venir

Le contenu (à l'exception des illustrations) peut être utilisé sans permission, mais en prenant soin d'indiquer la source.

Déclaration

Le présent programme de rétablissement a été préparé en collaboration avec les compétences responsables du ptychomitre à feuilles incurvées. Environnement Canada a revu le document et l'accepte comme son programme de rétablissement du ptychomitre à feuilles incurvées tel que l'exige la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Ce programme de rétablissement représente également un avis à l'intention des autres compétences et organisations qui pourraient participer au rétablissement de l'espèce.

Il a été établi que le rétablissement du ptychomitre à feuilles incurvées au Canada n'était pas réalisable actuellement sur le plan technique ou biologique. Néanmoins, l'espèce peut bénéficier de programmes de conservation généraux mis en œuvre dans la même zone géographique et être protégée en vertu de la LEP ou d'autres lois, politiques et programmes fédéraux, provinciaux ou territoriaux.

Le caractère réalisable du rétablissement sera réévalué au moins tous les cinq ans dans le cadre du rapport sur la mise en œuvre du programme de rétablissement ou tel que justifié pour répondre aux changements dans les conditions et/ou les connaissances.

Dans l'esprit de l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril, le ministre de l'Environnement invite toutes les compétences responsables ainsi que les Canadiennes et les Canadiens à se joindre à Environnement Canada pour appuyer le programme et le mettre en œuvre, pour le bien du ptychomitre à feuilles incurvées et de l'ensemble de la société canadienne.

Compétences responsables

  • Service canadien de la faune, Région de l'Ontario, Environnement Canada
  • Ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario

Auteurs

Le présent programme de rétablissement a été élaboré par Angela McConnell, Service canadien de la faune, Région de l'Ontario, Environnement Canada.

Remerciements

L'auteure aimerait remercier Jennifer Doubt, Michael Oldham et Carolyn Seburn qui ont fourni des renseignements pour le présent programme. Elle aimerait également remercier Alain Branchaud, pour avoir élucidé les mystères des mentions du Québec. Elle remercie aussi Aissa Feldmann, du New York Natural Heritage Program, qui a tenté de trouver des renseignements sur les occurrences locales. Merci enfin à Kate Hayes et Barbara Slezak pour avoir prodigué des conseils utiles pendant l'élaboration du présent document.

Évaluation environnementale stratégique

Une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est effectuée dans le cadre de tous les documents de planification du rétablissement en vertu de la LEP conformément à la Directive du Cabinet de 1999 sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes. L'objet de l'EES est d'incorporer les considérations environnementales à l'élaboration des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes publics pour appuyer une prise de décisions éclairées du point de vue de l'environnement.

La planification du rétablissement vise à favoriser les espèces en péril et la biodiversité en général. Il est cependant reconnu que des programmes peuvent, par inadvertance, produire des effets environnementaux qui dépassent les avantages prévus. Le processus de planification fondé sur des lignes directrices nationales tient directement compte de tous les effets environnementaux, notamment des incidences possibles sur les espèces ou les habitats non ciblés. Les résultats de l'EES sont directement inclus dans le programme lui-même, mais également résumés ci-dessous.

Le présent programme de rétablissement indique que le rétablissement du ptychomitre à feuilles incurvées est considéré comme étant non réalisable en ce moment. L'évaluation environnementale stratégique permet de conclure que le programme n'aura pas d'impact sur l'environnement et n'entraînera pas d'effets négatifs significatifs étant donné qu'aucune mesure de rétablissement ne sera prise.

Résidence

La LEP définit la résidence comme suit :

Gîte -- terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable -- occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l'élevage, les haltes migratoires, l'hivernage, l'alimentation ou l'hibernation [Paragraphe 2(1)].

Les descriptions de la résidence ou les raisons pour lesquelles le concept de résidence ne s'applique pas à une espèce donnéesont publiées dans le Registre public de la LEP.

Préface

La gestion du ptychomitre à feuilles incurvées relève de la compétence du gouvernement provincial de l'Ontario. Conformément à la Loi sur les espèces en péril (La LEP, article 37), le ministre compétent doit préparer des programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces inscrites comme étant disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées. Le ptychomitre à feuilles incurvées a été inscrit en tant qu'espèce disparue du pays en vertu de la LEP en juin 2003. Le Service canadien de la faune, Région de l'Ontario, Environnement Canada, a élaboré le présent programme de rétablissement. La province de l'Ontario a examiné le programme et en a accusé réception. Le programme proposé satisfait aux exigences de la LEP quant au contenu et au processus (articles 39 à 41).

Information sur le document