Description of residence for Roseate Tern (Sterna dougallii) in Canada

Section 33 of the Species at Risk Act (SARA) prohibits damaging or destroying the residence of a listed threatened, endangered, or extirpated species. SARA defines residence as: “a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or hibernating” [s. 2(1)].

The prohibition comes into effect in different ways depending on the jurisdiction responsible for the species. As a migratory bird protected under the Migratory Bird Convention Act, the Roseate Tern is under federal jurisdiction. This means the residence prohibition is in effect on all lands on which the species occurs immediately upon its addition to the legal list of species at risk. 

The following description of residence for the Roseate Tern (Sterna dougallii) was created for the purposes of increasing public awareness and aiding enforcement of the above prohibition. Roseate Terns are known to have one type of residence – the nest.

Species Information

Common Name - Roseate Tern

Scientific Name - Sterna dougallii

Current Committee on the status of endangered wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) Status & Year of Designation - Endangered (1999)

Occurrence in Canada - Nova Scotia, Québec, New Brunswick (Figure 1)

Rationale for Designation - Predation, competition, human disturbance.

Figure 1. Known breeding distribution of the Roseate Tern (Sterna dougallii ) in Canada.
Triangles indicate sites where terns have nested since 1982.

Known breeding distribution (See long description below)
Description of Figure 1

Global range: Breeds worldwide, usually on marine islands. In North America, a northeastern population breeds from the Gulf of St. Lawrence (Magdalen Islands) to New York; a disjunct Caribbean population breeds from Florida and the Bahamas to the Lesser Antilles.

Canadian range: Since 1982, have bred at about 28 sites, most of which are coastal islands in Nova Scotia, and of which 12 or fewer sites are occupied in any given year. The location of colonies changes unpredictably among years, and may not always be known even with extensive searches. Only three colonies are known to have had more than 20 pairs in the last 10 years: The Brothers (33-86 pairs), Grassy Island (0-30 pairs), and Country Island (0-53 pairs). In some years, have bred at a variable subset of other sites, including three of the Magdalen Islands, Québec, Machias Seal Island, NB, and about 21 other sites in Nova Scotia (Whittam 1999, Leonard et al. 2004; Appendix B).

Percentage of global distribution in Canada: Pairs breeding in Canada constitute 3-4% of the northwestern Atlantic population, and less than 1% of the (poorly) estimated world population (Gochfeld et al. 1998).

1) The Nest

Physical Appearance and Context

The residence of a Roseate Tern is the nest. Terns usually breed on coastal islands1. The nest is built on the ground, often hidden in a tuft of vegetation, under a rock pile or beach debris, or in the case of managed colonies, in specially provided nest shelters. When used, these structures would be considered part of a residence. It breeds in mixed colonies with Common Terns (Sterna hirundo) and Arctic Terns (Sterna paradisaea).1

The clutch usually consists of one or two eggs1. The eggs, approximately 43 mm x 29 mm, are various shades of brown, with blackish-brown spots and streaks1. At hatching, the chicks are covered with down and are capable of walking. If left undisturbed, they may remain in or near the nest (within 10 cm) throughout the brood-rearing period. If they are forced to leave, they will hide nearby in vegetation or under a pile of debris, and may move up to 60 m to denser cover1.

Function

The nest residence is essential to the sheltering, incubation, and hatching of eggs, and the rearing and feeding of young.

Damage and Destruction of the Residence

Any activity that destroys the function of the nest would constitute damage or destruction of the residence. This includes, but is not limited to, moving or otherwise disturbing the eggs; changing the microclimate of the nest (such as the amount of light or internal temperature); blocking access to the nest; or, in the case of colonies where nest shelters are used, affecting the functionality of nest shelters. Roseate Terns rely on large colonies of Arctic and Common Terns because the additional number of terns provides protection from predators. Therefore any actions or activities that have an impact on the colony could impair the functionality of a Roseate Tern residence through decreasing nest success.

Period and Frequency of Occupancy

The species is present at breeding colonies from mid-May to late August2. Since the nest may be used by the young for a prolonged period, it must be protected not only during nest building, laying, incubation and hatching, but also during brood rearing, or roughly during at least 60 days following nest construction.

Additional Information

For more information on the Roseate Tern

For more information on SARA.

References

1 J. Burger and I.C.T Nisbet. 1998. Roseate Tern (Sterna dougallii) In The Birds of North America, Number 370 (A. Poole and F.Gills, Editors). The Birds of North America,Inc., Philadelphia, PA.

2 Kirkham, I.R. and D.N. Nettleship. 1986. Status of the Roseate Tern Sterna dougallii in Canada. Committee on the status of endangered wildlife in Canada, Ottawa, Ontario

Description de la résidence de la sterne de Dougall (Sterna dougallii) au Canada

L'article 33 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) interdit d'endommager ou de détruire la résidence d’une espèce inscrite comme menacée, en voie de disparition ou disparue du pays. La LEP définit la résidence comme suit : « Gîte -- terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable -- occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l'élevage, les haltes migratoires, l'hivernage, l'alimentation ou l'hibernation » [paragraphe 2(1)].

L'interdiction relative à la résidence prend effet de différentes façons selon la compétence responsable de l’espèce. Étant un oiseau migrateur protégé par la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs (LCOM), la Sterne de Dougall relève de la compétence fédérale. Cela signifie que les interdictions relatives à la résidence sont en vigueur sur tout le territoire canadien dès que l’espèce est ajoutée à la liste officielle des espèces en péril. 

La description ci-après de la résidence de la Sterne de Dougall (Sterna dougallii) a été produite afin d’accroître la sensibilisation publique et d’aider à l'application de l'interdiction mentionnée précédemment. On sait que les Sternes de Dougall ont une résidence : leur nid.

Information sur l'espèce

Nom commun - Sterne de Dougall

Nom scientifique - Sterna dougallii

Statut COSEPAC actuel et année de désignation - En voie de disparition (1999)

Présence au Canada - Nouvelle-Écosse, Québec, Nouveau-Brunswick (figure 1)

Justification de la désignation - Prédation, compétition, perturbation d’origine humaine

Figure 1. Aire de reproduction connue de la Sterne de Dougall (Sterna dougallii) au Canada.
Les triangles indiquent les sites où l’espèce nidifie depuis 1982.

Aire de reproduction connue de la Sterne de Dougall. (Voir description longue ci-dessous.)
Description longue de la figure 1

Aire de répartition mondiale : Se reproduitpartout dans le monde, habituellement sur des îles marines. En Amérique du Nord, la population du Nord–Est se reproduit du golfe du Saint–Laurent (îles de la Madeleine) jusqu’à l’État de New York; une population isolée des Caraïbes se reproduit de la Floride et des Bahamas jusqu’aux Petites Antilles.

Aire de répartition au Canada : Depuis 1982, l’espèce a niché à environ 28 endroits, pour la plupart des îles côtières de la Nouvelle–Écosse; 12 au plus de ces endroits ont été fréquentés année après année . L’emplacement des colonies change de façon imprévisible au fil des ans et ne peut pas toujours être précisé, malgré des recherches intensives. Au cours des dix dernières années, seulement trois colonies ont accueilli plus de 20 couples; il s’agit des îles Brothers (de 33 à 86 couples), de l’île Grassy (de 0 à 30 couples) et de l’île Country (de 0 à 53 couples). Certaines années, l’espèce a niché dans un sous-ensemble variable d’autres sites, dont les îles de la Madeleine (Québec) (trois sites), l’île Machias Seal (Nouveau–Brunswick) et environ 21 autres endroits en Nouvelle–Écosse (Whittam, 1999; Leonard et al., 2004; annexe B).

Pourcentage de l’aire de répartition mondiale au Canada : Les couples qui nichent au Canada représentent de 3 à 4 % de la population du nord–ouest de l’Atlantique et moins de 1 % de la population mondiale (dont l’estimation est cependant imprécise) (Gochfeld et al., 1998).

1) Le nid

Aspect physique et contexte

La résidence de la Sterne de Dougall est son nid. Les sternes se reproduisent normalement dans les îles côtières1. Le nid est construit sur le sol, souvent caché par une touffe de végétation, sous une pile de pierres ou de débris de plage, ou dans le cas des colonies gérées, dans des nichoirs spécialement installés. Lorsqu'elles sont utilisées, ces structures seraient considérées comme un élément de la résidence. La sterne se reproduit dans des colonies mixtes avec les Sternes pierregarins (Sterna hirundo) et les Sternes arctiques (Sterna paradisaea)1.

La couvée comprend normalement un ou deux oeufs1. Les œufs, mesurant environ 43 mm x 29 mm, ont diverses teintes de brun, avec des taches noir-brun et des stries1.  À l'éclosion, les oisillons sont couverts de duvet et sont capables de marcher. Si elles ne sont pas dérangées, les sternes peuvent rester dans leur nid ou à proximité (dans un rayon de 10 cm) pendant toute la période d'élevage de la couvée. Si elles sont forcées à quitter le nid, elles se cacheront à proximité dans la végétation ou sous une pile de débris et peuvent parcourir jusqu'à 60 m pour rejoindre une couverture plus épaisse1.

Fonction

Le nid résidence offre les fonctions essentielles d’abri pour l’incubation et l'éclosion des œufs et pour l'élevage et l'alimentation des oisillons. 

Endommagement et destruction de la résidence

Toute activité qui détruit la fonction du nid constituerait un acte d’endommagement ou de destruction de la résidence. Les exemples comprennent, entre autres, déplacer les œufs ou les déranger autrement; modifier le microclimat du nid (par exemple en changeant l’éclairage ou la température interne); empêcher l'accès au nid ou, dans le cas de colonies installées dans des nichoirs, modifier la fonction des nichoirs. Les Sternes de Dougall dépendent des grandes colonies de Sternes arctiques et de Sternes pierregarins pour la protection offerte par le nombre contre les prédateurs. Toute action ou activité qui a une incidence sur la colonie pourrait donc nuire à la fonctionnalité de la résidence de la Sterne de Dougall, en empêchant la réussite de la nidification.

Période et fréquence d'occupation

L'espèce est présente dans les colonies de reproduction de la mi-mai à la fin-août2. Puisque les nids peuvent être utilisés par les jeunes pendant une période prolongée, ils doivent être protégés non seulement durant la construction du nid, la ponte, l'incubation et l'éclosion, mais aussi pendant l'élevage de la couvée, soit une période minimale de 60 jours environ après la construction du nid.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour obtenir d’autres renseignements sur la Sterne de Dougall.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la LEP.

Bibliographie

1 Burger, J., et I.C.T Nisbet. 1998. « Roseate Tern (Sterna dougallii), », in The Birds of North America, Numéro 370 (A. Poole et F. Gills, éditeurs), Philadelphia, PA.

2 Kirkham, I.R., et D.N. Nettleship. 1986. Situation de la Sterne de Dougall (Sterna dougallii) au Canada, Comité sur le statut des espèces menacées de disparition au Canada, Ottawa (Ontario).