Vol. 137, No. 13 -- June 18, 2003

Registration
SI/2003-111 18 June, 2003

SPECIES AT RISK ACT

Order Fixing the Dates of the Coming into Force of Certain Sections of the Act

P.C. 2003-763 29 May, 2003

Her Excellency the Governor General in Council, on the recommendation of the Minister of the Environment, pursuant to section 142 of the Species at Risk Act, assented to on December 12, 2002, being chapter 29 of the Statutes of Canada, 2002, hereby fixes

  • (a) June 5, 2003 as the day on which sections 2 to 31, 37 to 56, 62, 65 to 76, 78 to 84, 120 to 133 and 137 of that Act come into force; and
    (b) June 1, 2004 as the day on which sections 32 to 36, 57 to 61, 63, 64, 77 and 85 to 119 of that Act come into force.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order.)

The order fixes June 5, 2003 and June 1, 2004 as the days on which all the provisions still not in force of the Species at Risk Act, assented to on December 12, 2002, being chapter 29 of the Statutes of Canada, 2002, come into force.

The Act aims to prevent wildlife species from becoming extirpated or extinct, to provide for the recovery of species at risk as a result of human activity and to prevent species of special concern from becoming endangered or threatened. The Act covers all wildlife species other than bacteria or viruses.

The provisions of the Act that come into force on June 5, 2003 provide for independent assessments of wildlife species by the establishment of the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC), a listing process for species based on the assessment and a Governor in Council decision, a comprehensive process for planning and implementing recovery actions for listed species and the encouragement of stewardship activities through conservation and funding agreements, the making of emergency orders with respect to listed wildlife species and the establishment of a public registry for the purpose of facilitating access to documents relating to matters under the Act.

The definition of "environmental effect" in the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act has also been updated to explicitly include a listed species, its critical habitat or its residence as defined in the Species at Risk Act.

The provisions of the Act that come into force on June 1, 2004 will create prohibitions, amongst other things, against the killing, harming, harassing, possessing, buying or selling an individual of a species listed as an extirpated species, an endangered species or a threatened species. They will create prohibitions against damaging or destroying residences of individuals or the critical habitat of a listed endangered or threatened species or listed extirpated species if a recovery strategy has recommended the reintroduction of the extirpated species into the wild in Canada.

The provisions that come into force on June 1, 2004 will require that the federal departments consider the impact on species' critical habitat before issuing authorizations for certain activities and, finally, they will set out provisions for effective enforcement measures and significant penalties where needed to serve as a deterrent.

Vol. 137, no 13 -- Le 18 juin 2003

Enregistrement
TR/2003-111 18 juin 2003

LOI SUR LES ESPÈCES EN PÉRIL

Décret fixant les dates d'entrée en vigueur de certains articles de la Loi

C.P. 2003-763 29 mai 2003

Sur recommandation du ministre de l'Environnement et en vertu de l'article 142 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, sanctionnée le 12 décembre 2002, chapitre 29 des Lois du Canada (2002), Son Excellence la Gouverneure générale en conseil fixe :

  • a) au 5 juin 2003 la date d'entrée en vigueur des articles 2 à 31, 37 à 56, 62, 65 à 76, 78 à 84, 120 à 133 et 137 de cette loi;
    b) au 1er juin 2004 la date d'entrée en vigueur des articles 32 à 36, 57 à 61, 63, 64, 77 et 85 à 119 de cette loi.

NOTE EXPLICATIVE

(La présente note ne fait pas partie du décret.)

Le décret fixe au 5 juin 2003 et au 1er juin 2004 les dates d'entrée en vigueur de toutes les dispositions qui n'ont pas encore pris effet de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, qui a reçu la sanction royale le 12 décembre 2002, chapitre 29 des Lois du Canada (2002).

La Loi vise à prévenir la disparition -- de la planète ou du Canada -- des espèces sauvages, à permettre le rétablissement des espèces qui deviennent en péril par suite de l'activité humaine et à éviter que les espèces préoccupantes ne deviennent des espèces en voie de disparition ou menacées. La Loi vise toutes les espèces sauvages sauf les bactéries ou les virus.

Les dispositions de la Loi qui entrent en vigueur le 5 juin 2003 prévoient des évaluations indépendantes des espèces sauvages par la constitution du Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC); un processus d'inscription des espèces fondé sur l'évaluation et sur une décision du gouverneur en conseil; un processus exhaustif pour la conception et la mise en oeuvre de mesures de rétablissement pour les espèces inscrites ainsi que des mesures visant à encourager les activités d'intendance par le truchement d'accords de conservation et de financement; la prise de décrets d'urgence à l'égard d'espèces sauvages inscrites et l'établissement d'un registre afin de faciliter l'accès aux documents traitant de questions régies par la Loi.

La définition de « effets environnementaux » dans la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale a également été mise à jour afin d'inclure de manière explicite une espèce sauvage inscrite, son habitat essentiel ou ses résidences, tels qu'ils sont définis dans la Loi sur les espèces en péril.

Les dispositions de la Loi qui entrent en vigueur le 1er juin 2004 créent notamment des interdictions de tuer un individu d'une espèce inscrite comme espèce disparue du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacée, de lui nuire, de le harceler, de le posséder, de l'acheter ou de le vendre. Elles créent des interdictions d'endommager ou de détruire la résidence d'individus ou l'habitat essentiel d'une espèce inscrite comme espèce en voie de disparition ou menacée, ou d'une espèce inscrite comme espèce disparue du pays pour laquelle un programme de rétablissement a recommandé la réintroduction à l'état sauvage au Canada.

Les dispositions qui entrent en vigueur le 1er juin 2004 exigent que les ministères fédéraux tiennent compte des incidences sur l'habitat essentiel d'espèces avant d'accorder des autorisations pour certaines activités. Finalement, ces dispositions prévoient des mesures efficaces d'application de la Loi ainsi que des sanctions importantes servant de moyen de dissuasion, au besoin.