Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Atlantic Cod - Consultations on listing under the Species at Risk Act

Information summary and questionnaire for consultations on adding four Atlantic Cod populations to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk

November 1, 2013 to January 31, 2014

Populations:

  • Laurentian North
  • Laurentian South
  • Southern
  • Newfoundland and Labrador

We would like to receive your comments on the potential impacts of adding four populations of Atlantic Cod to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk.

Your comments are important.

Consultations: let your opinion be heard

The Species at Risk Act acknowledges that all Canadians have a role to play in preventing the disappearance of wildlife species.

Before deciding whether any of these Atlantic Cod populations will be added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk, we would like your opinion, comments and suggestions regarding the possible ecological, cultural and economic impacts of listing or not listing these populations under the Species at Risk Act.

Consultation on four Atlantic Cod populations

The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada divided Atlantic Cod in the Northwest Atlantic into four populations based on its guidelines. It was determined that these populations were distinct from one another due to differences in their genetics, ecology and life cycle.

Facts on Atlantic Cod

Atlantic Cod has been fished for more than 500 years in Canadian waters and it has been an economic and dietary mainstay for many Atlantic Canadian communities. It is a groundfish which feeds on a wide variety of fish and shellfish, including capelin, herring, flounder, mussels and crab. Atlantic Cod was once one of the dominant species in the Northwest Atlantic.

Water temperature is an important factor influencing the growth rates of Atlantic Cod. For example, cod in the Bay of Fundy growing in relatively warmer water can reach sexual maturity between 2 and 3 years of age, whereas cod in Newfoundland and Labrador will take 5 to 7 years to become mature.

Atlantic Cod

Why are these populations of Atlantic Cod at risk?

Using the best available information, the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada has determined that:

  • Fishing, directed and bycatch, has historically been one of the primary threats to Atlantic Cod, and remains one of the primary threats for the Laurentian North, Southern, and Newfoundland and Labrador populations of Atlantic Cod.
  • In some areas, particularly south of the Laurentian Channel, elevated natural mortality is considered to be a significant threat.
  • Alteration of the bottom habitat by fishing gear represents a potential but unevaluated threat.

This table presents the status assigned by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada and the decline in the adult abundance over the past three generations for four cod populations.  The first column identifies the populations, the second indicates the status and the third one indicates the percentage of decline. The number of years included in three generations is also shown in parentheses.

Status assigned by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife
Population (NAFO Areas)COSEWICStatusDecline in Adult Abundance
over the Past Three
Generations (# of Years)
Laurentian North (4RS3Pn3Ps)Endangered76-89% (30 years)
Laurentian South (4TWV)Endangered90% (27 years)
Southern (4X5YZ - Canadian portion)Endangered64% (22.5 years)
Newfoundland and Labrador (2GHJ3KLNO)Endangered97-99% (33 years)

This map shows the location of the four Atlantic Cod populations (or designatable units) targeted for this consultation, according to Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization (NAFO) areas. The Southern population is located in the waters adjacent to Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, extending from southern Nova Scotia and the Bay of Fundy to the Canadian portion of Georges Bank (NAFO areas 4X, the Canadian portion of 5Y and 5Zjm). The Laurentian South population extends from the Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence, through the Cabot Strait down to the Eastern Scotian Shelf (NAFO areas 4TVW). The Laurentian North population extends from the St. Pierre Bank to the Northern Gulf of St. Lawrence (NAFO areas 4RS3Pn3Ps). The Newfoundland and Labrador population extends from the northern tip of Labrador, to the inshore and offshore waters of Labrador and to eastern Newfoundland and the Grand Banks (areas 2GHJ3KLNO).

Map of Atlantic Cod populations (designatable units)under consultation (by Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization [NAFO] areas)

Map

Adding a Population to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk

The process of listing a species under the Species at Risk Act consists of several steps. It begins with an assessment by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) and ends with a government of Canada decision whether or not to add a species to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk. Consultations are conducted to gather the views of Canadians and are an important step in this process.

Who assigned an endangered status to these populations of Atlantic Cod?

COSEWICis an independent committee of experts that assesses and designates which wildlife species are in some danger of disappearing from Canada. The status of several Atlantic Cod populations in Canada was assessed in 2010. This assessment was based on the best available information, including scientific data, community knowledge and Aboriginal traditional knowledge, where available.

If a population is listed…

A recovery strategy will be developed to identify threats and measures to be implemented to address these threats. Automatic prohibitions will also apply. It will be illegal to kill, harm, harass, take, possess, capture, buy, sell or trade Atlantic Cod from these populations. Critical habitat - the habitat necessary for the survival and recovery of Atlantic Cod - will be protected.

For a copy of the COSEWICAtlantic Cod Assessment and Status Report or other information, visit the Species at Risk Public Registry

Answers to a few of your questions

Why list these Atlantic Cod populations?

According to the COSEWICassessment, the abundance of these four Atlantic Cod populations has declined significantly and they are now considered endangered. The prohibitions that would be implemented under the Species at Risk Act would offer added protection for these populations. Listing would also initiate recovery planning with key partners.

Would the directed commercial Atlantic Cod fishery continue if these populations were listed?

If these populations of Atlantic Cod were added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk, the directed Atlantic Cod commercial fishery of these populations would be prohibited.

What would happen if I captured Atlantic Cod while fishing other groundfish species?

Bycatch or retention may be allowed under certain conditions (e.g. any bycatch of Atlantic Cod may need to be released back into the water in the best possible condition). However, it would be prohibited to buy, sell or trade Atlantic Cod from these populations.

Would I be able to continue recreational fishing of Atlantic Cod if it was listed?

If these populations of Atlantic Cod were added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk, recreational fishing would likely be prohibited.

Would my Aboriginal community be able to continue to fish Atlantic Cod for food, social and ceremonial purposes if it was listed?

Under certain conditions, Aboriginal fisheries for food, social and ceremonial purposes may continue.

Questionnaire

You can make a difference: your comments are important!

The purpose of these questions is to obtain your comments on adding four Atlantic Cod populations to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk. If you cannot use our interactive PDF questionnaire (1,16 MB), please submit your comments using the comment form. Please identify the populations you are commenting on:

  • Laurentian North Population
  • Laurentian South Population
  • Southern Population
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Population

1. Do you support adding one or several Atlantic Cod populations as endangered to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk? Why?

2. What would be the positive impacts of listing one or several Atlantic Cod populations on your activities, the community, the environment, the culture and economy?

3. What would be the negative impacts of listing one or several Atlantic Cod populations on your activities, the community, the environment, the culture and economy?

4. Do you have any other comments on the listing of one or several populations of Atlantic Cod as endangered?

5. If you are answering on behalf of an Aboriginal community or organization, an industry, a small business1, an association or organization, please specify which one.

6. In what province or territory do you live? In what province or territory does your organization operate?

Your name and contact information (optional):

 


1Defined as any business, including its affiliates, that has fewer than 100 employees or between $30,000 and $5 million in annual gross revenues.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Morue franche - Consultations pour l’inscription en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Sommaire d’information et questionnaire pour la consultation au sujet de l’ajout de quatre populations de morue franche à la Liste des espèces en péril

1er novembre 2013 au 31 janvier 2014

Populations :

  • du Nord laurentien
  • du Sud laurentien
  • du Sud
  • de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Nous souhaitons recueillir vos commentaires sur les impacts possibles de l’ajout de quatre populations de morue franche à la Liste des espèces en péril.

Vos commentaires sont importants.

Consultation : faites connaître votre point de vue

La Loi sur les espèces en péril reconnaît le fait que tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes ont un rôle à jouer pour prévenir la disparition des espèces sauvages.

Avant de décider si ces populations de morue franche seront ajoutées ou non à la Liste des espèces en péril, nous souhaitons donc obtenir votre opinion, vos commentaires et suggestions au sujet des répercussions écologiques, culturelles et économiques possibles de l’inscription ou de la non-inscription de ces populations en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril.

Consultation sur quatre populations de morue franche

Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a divisé la morue franche du nord-ouest de l’Atlantique en quatre populations, selon des critères précis. Le COSEPACa déterminé que ces populations étaient distinctes l’une de l’autre en raison de différences sur le plan génétique, écologique et du cycle vital.

Quelques faits sur la morue franche

La morue franche est pêchée dans les eaux canadiennes depuis plus de 500 ans et constitue un pilier économique et alimentaire pour plusieurs communautés de l’Atlantique. C’est un poisson de fond qui se nourrit d’une grande variété de poissons et de mollusques, notamment le capelan, le hareng, la plie, les moules et le crabe. La morue franche a déjà été une des espèces dominantes du nord-ouest de l’Atlantique.

La température de l’eau est un facteur important ayant une incidence sur le taux de croissance de la morue franche. Par exemple, les eaux relativement plus chaudes de la baie de Fundy permettent à la morue d’atteindre la maturité sexuelle après 2 à 3 ans, tandis que la morue de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador prend de 5 à 7 ans pour atteindre sa maturité.

Morue franche

Pourquoi ces populations de morue franche sont-elles en péril?

À l’aide de la meilleure information disponible, le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada a déterminé que :

  • Les pêches, dirigées et accessoires, ont toujours représenté une des principales menaces pour la morue franche et demeurent une des principales menaces pour les populations de morue franche du Nord laurentien, du Sud et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.
  • Dans certaines zones, particulièrement au sud du chenal Laurentien, la mortalité naturelle élevée est considérée comme une menace importante.
  • Les perturbations de l’habitat de fond par les engins de pêche représentent une menace potentielle qui n’a pas été évaluée.

Ce tableau présente les statuts octroyés par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada et le déclin de l’abondance des adultes, et ce, pour chaque population de sébaste. La première colonne présente les populations, la deuxième colonne présente les statuts et la troisième colonne, le déclin en pourcentage.

Statuts octroyés par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada
Population (zones de l’OPANO)Statut COSEPACDéclin de l’abondance des
adultes sur 3 générations
(nombre d’années)
Nord laurentien (4RS3Pn3Ps)En voie de disparition76-89% (30 ans)
Sud laurentien (4TWV)En voie de disparition90% (27 ans)
Sud (4X5YZ - partie canadienne)En voie de disparition64% (22.5 ans)
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (2GHJ3KLNO)En voie de disparition97-99% (33 ans)

Cette carte présente la localisation des quatre populations de morues franches (ou unités désignables) ciblées pour cette consultation, selon les zones de l'Organisation des pêches de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest (OPANO). La population du Sud est située dans les eaux adjacentes à la Nouvelle-Écosse et au Nouveau-Brunswick et s'étend du sud de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de la baie de Fundy jusqu'à la partie canadienne du banc de Georges (zones 4X de l'OPANO, partie canadienne des zones 5Y et 5Z). La population du Sud laurentien s'étend du sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent, en passant par le détroit de Cabot, jusqu'à l'est du plateau néo-écossais (zones 4TVW de l'OPANO). La population du Nord laurentien s'étend du banc de Saint-Pierre jusqu'au nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent (zones 4RS3Pn3Ps de l'OPANO). La population de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador s'étend de l'extrémité nord du Labrador, aux eaux côtières et hauturières du Labrador, jusqu’à l'est de Terre-Neuve et des Grands Bancs (zones 2GHJ3KLNO).

Carte des populations (unités désignables) de morue franche visées par la consultation (selon les zones de l’Organisation des pêches de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest [OPANO])

carte

L’inscription d’une population à la liste des espèces en péril

Le processus d’inscription de la Loi sur les espèces en péril est constitué de plusieurs étapes. Il commence avec l’évaluation de la situation par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) pour se terminer par une décision du gouvernement du Canada d’ajouter ou non la population à la Liste des espèces en péril. Les consultations sont une étape importante de ce processus et visent à connaître le point de vue des Canadiennes et des Canadiens.

Qui a donné le statut d’espèce en voie de disparition à ces populations de morue franche?

Le COSEPAC, un comité indépendant composé de spécialistes, évalue et désigne les espèces sauvages qui risquent de disparaître du Canada. L’évaluation de la situation des différentes populations de morue franche du Canada a été réalisée en 2010. Cette évaluation est basée sur la meilleure information disponible, ce qui inclut les données scientifiques, les connaissances de la collectivité et le savoir traditionnel autochtone, lorsque disponibles.

Et si une population est inscrite…

Un programme de rétablissement sera élaboré dans le but de déterminer les menaces et les mesures à mettre en place. De plus, des interdictions automatiques s’appliqueront. Il sera alors interdit de tuer, nuire, harceler, prendre, posséder, capturer, acheter, vendre ou échanger des morues franches de cette population. L’habitat essentiel, c’est-à-dire l’habitat nécessaire à la survie et au rétablissement de la morue franche, sera protégé.

Pour obtenir un exemplaire de l’Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPACsur la morue franche ou pour d’autres renseignements, veuillez consulter le Registre public des espèces en péril

Quelques réponses à vos questions

Pourquoi inscrire ces populations de morue franche?

Selon l’évaluation faite par le COSEPAC, l’abondance de ces quatre populations de morue franche a connu un déclin marqué et elles sont désormais considérées en voie de disparition. Les interdictions qui seraient mises en place en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril constitueraient une protection supplémentaire pour ces populations. L’inscription permettrait également de planifier leur rétablissement avec les partenaires principaux.

Est-ce que la pêche commerciale dirigée à la morue franche se poursuivrait si ces populations étaient inscrites?

Si ces populations de morue franche étaient ajoutées à la Liste des espèces en péril, la pêche commerciale dirigée de ces populations serait interdite.

Qu’arriverait-il si je capturais accidentellement des morues franches pendant que je pêche d’autres espèces ?

Les prises accessoires de morue franche, avec ou sans rétention, pourraient être permises sous certaines conditions. Par exemple, toutes les prises accidentelles pourraient devoir être remises à l’eau dans la meilleure condition possible. Toutefois, il serait interdit d’acheter, de vendre ou d’échanger des morues franches de ces populations.

Pourrais-je continuer la pêche récréative à la morue franche si elle était inscrite?

Si ces populations de morue franche étaient ajoutées à la Liste des espèces en péril, la pêche récréative serait probablement interdite.

Est-ce que ma communauté autochtone pourrait continuer à pêcher la morue franche à des fins alimentaires, sociales et rituelles si elle était inscrite?

Sous certaines conditions, la pêche pratiquée par des Autochtones à des fins alimentaires, sociales et rituelles pourrait continuer.

Questionnaire

Vous avez un rôle à jouer : vos commentaires sont importants!

Ces questions visent à recueillir vos commentaires sur l’ajout de quatre populations de morue franche à la Liste des espèces en péril.  Si vous ne pouvez pas utiliser notre formulaire PDF interactif (1,16 Mo), veuillez soumettre vos commentaires en utilisant le formulaire pour commentaires, en mentionnant  la ou les populations qui vous concernent :

  • Population du Nord laurentien
  • Population du Sud laurentien
  • Population du Sud
  • Population de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

1. Êtes-vous en faveur de l’ajout d’une ou plusieurs populations de morue franche à la Liste des espèces en péril? Pourquoi?

2. Quels seraient les impacts positifs sur vos activités, la communauté, l’environnement, la culture et l’économie si une ou plusieurs populations de morue franche étaient inscrites?

3. Quels seraient les impacts négatifs sur vos activités, la communauté, l’environnement, la culture et l’économie si une ou plusieurs populations de morue franche étaient inscrites?

4. Avez-vous d’autres commentaires à formuler sur l’inscription d’une ou plusieurs populations de morue franche?

5. Si vous répondez au nom d’une communauté autochtone, d’une industrie, d’une petite entreprise1, d’une collectivité, d’une association ou d’un organisme, veuillez indiquer son nom.

6. Dans quelle province ou territoire résidez-vous? Dans quelle province ou territoire votre organisation mène-t-elle ses opérations?

Votre nom et vos coordonnées (optionnel) :

 


1 Une petite entreprise se définit comme étant une entreprise – incluant ses filiales – de moins de 100 employés ou ayant un revenu brut entre 30 000 et 5 millions de dollars.