Summary of the Action Plan for the Roseate Tern (Sterna Dougallii) in Canada

1. Opening Statement

The Action Plan for the Roseate Tern (Sterna dougallii) in Canada was due for posting on the Species at Risk (SAR) Public Registry by October 25, 2007, for a 60-day public comment period. A draft of the action plan has been completed and circulated to the recovery team and jurisdictions. Further consultations with key stakeholders and landowners are required before the posting on the SAR Public Registry. Environment Canada is leading the development of this action plan and will continue to work with the provinces of Nova Scotia and Quebec to ensure the action plan is completed and posted on the SAR Public Registry at the earliest opportunity.

2. Summary

2.1 Scope of the Action Plan

The overall recovery goal for the Roseate Tern is to prevent the Canadian population from declining. Specifically, the goal of the strategy is to have at least 150 pairs of Roseate Terns nesting in at least three colonies in Canada by 2014.

This action plan, which will be implemented in all provinces where Roseate Terns occur in Canada, will address all of the short-term recovery objectives set out in the Recovery Strategy for the Roseate Tern (Sterna dougallii) in Canada.

2.2 Critical Habitat

Critical habitat for the Roseate Tern was identified in the Recovery Strategy for the Roseate Tern (Sterna dougallii) in Canada and covers the actual locations of Roseate Tern nesting sites (colonies).

Roseate Tern critical habitat identified on North Brother Island, South Brother Island and Sable Island is protected by provincial and federal legislation. Environment Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, and the Government of Quebec are working to establish protection of critical habitat identified on Chenal Island, Deuxième Îlet, Paquet Island and Country Island.

Further scientific research, combined with the implementation of the action plan, will contribute to determining whether additional critical habitat will be identified.

2.3 Actions to Achieve Recovery Objective(s)

The actions outlined in this plan reflect the approaches set out in the Recovery Strategy for the Roseate Tern (Sterna dougallii) in Canada to meet the recovery objectives. The actions will emphasize: monitoring population size, distribution, movement and productivity; enhancement of nesting habitat; management of additional colonies; protection of habitat; identification of limiting factors at managed colonies; and monitoring threats.

Since 2004, the federal government has invested over $167,000 in Roseate Tern recovery actions through the Habitat Stewardship Program. It has also funded recovery projects for over $34,000 since 2003 with the Interdepartmental Recovery Fund.

2.4 Monitoring

The methods to monitor the recovery of the Roseate Tern will be described in the action plan. Monitoring population size, distribution, movement and productivity of Roseate Terns in Canada is ongoing.

2.5 Socio-economic Considerations

The socio-economic implications of the Action Plan for the Roseate Tern (Sterna dougallii) in Canada on the following sectors are being examined: recreational activities and private land development. A summary of the results will be included in the action plan.

Sommaire du plan d'action pour la Sterne de Dougall (Sterna Dougallii) au Canada

1. Avant-propos

Le Plan d’action pour la Sterne de Dougall (Sterna dougallii) au Canada devait être affiché dans le Registre public des espèces en péril au plus tard le 25 octobre 2007 pour une période de consultation publique de 60 jours. Une version provisoire du plan d’action a été achevée et transmise à l’équipe de rétablissement et aux compétences. Des consultations additionnelles auprès d’intervenants clés et de propriétaires fonciers doivent toutefois être menées avant l’affichage du plan d’action dans le Registre public des espèces en péril. Environnement Canada dirige l’élaboration du plan d’action et continuera de travailler avec les provinces de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du Québec afin de s’assurer que le plan d’action soit terminé et affiché dans le Registre public des espèces en péril dans les plus brefs délais.

2. Sommaire

2.1 Portée du plan d’action

Le but global du rétablissement de la Sterne de Dougall est d’empêcher le déclin de la population canadienne. Plus précisément, le but du rétablissement est d’avoir au moins 150 couples de Sternes de Dougall nichant dans au moins trois colonies au Canada d’ici 2014.

Le plan d’action, qui sera mis en œuvre dans toutes les provinces du Canada où vit la Sterne de Dougall, abordera tous les objectifs de rétablissement à court terme présentés dans le Programme de rétablissement de la Sterne de Dougall (Sterna dougallii) au Canada.

2.2 Habitat essentiel

L’habitat essentiel de la Sterne de Dougall a été désigné dans le Programme de rétablissement de la Sterne de Dougall (Sterna dougallii) au Canada et couvre les emplacements actuels des aires de nidification de la Sterne de Dougall (colonies).

L’habitat essentiel de la Sterne de Dougall désigné sur l’île Brother Nord, l’île Brother Sud et l’île de Sable est protégé en vertu des lois provinciales et fédérales. Environnement Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada et le gouvernement du Québec travaillent à établir la protection de l’habitat essentiel désigné sur l’île du Chenal, le Deuxième Îlet, l’île Paquet et l’île Country.

D’autres recherches scientifiques, jumelées à la mise en œuvre du plan d’action, aideront à déterminer si d’autre habitat essentiel sera désigné.

2.3 Activités pour l’atteinte des objectifs du rétablissement

Les activités mentionnées dans le plan d’action reflètent les approches présentées dans le Programme de rétablissement de la Sterne de Dougall (Sterna dougallii) au Canada en vue d’atteindre les objectifs du rétablissement. Elles mettront l’accent sur : le suivi de la taille, de la répartition, des déplacements et de la productivité des populations; l’amélioration de l’habitat de nidification; la gestion d’autres colonies; la protection de l’habitat; l’identification des facteurs limitatifs dans les colonies gérées et le suivi des menaces.

Depuis 2004, le gouvernement fédéral a investi plus de 167 000 $ dans des activités de rétablissement de la Sterne de Dougall par le truchement du Programme d’intendance de l’habitat. Il a également financé des projets liés au rétablissement pour une somme de plus de 34 000 $ dans le cadre du Fonds interministériel pour le rétablissement.

2.4 Suivi

Les méthodes de suivi du rétablissement de la Sterne de Dougall seront décrites dans le plan d’action. Le suivi de la taille, de la répartition, des déplacements et de la productivité des populations de la Sterne de Dougall au Canada est en cours.

2.5 Considérations socioéconomiques

L’étude des répercussions socioéconomiques du Plan d’action pour la Sterne de Dougall (Sterna dougallii) au Canada sur les secteurs suivants est en cours : activités récréatives et exploitation des terres privées. Un sommaire des résultats de l’étude sera inclus dans le plan d’action.