Public Registry Notice for s.83 Exceptions - Former Camp Ipperwash

Former Camp Ipperwash

Defence Establishment:
Former Camp Ipperwash
SARA Competent Department:
Environment Canada and Parks Canada Agency (for Dwarf Hackberry)
Date of Notification:
March 21, 2013
Species:
SARA listed plant, herpetofauna and aquatic species that may be affected while conducting activities described in this notification include, but may not be limited to, the following:
Common NameScientific name
 
Bluehearts
Buchnera americana
Butternut
Juglans cinerea
Dense Blazing Star
Liatris spicata
Dwarf Hackberry
Celtis tenuifolia
Eastern Flowering Dogwood
Cornus florida
Five-lined Skink
(Carolinian)
Plestiodon fasciatus
Lake Chubsucker
Erimyson sucetta
Pugnose Shiner
Notropis anogenus
Western Chorus Frog
(Great Lakes/St. Lawrence – Canadian Shield)
Pseudacris triseriata

Exceptions

Period for the Exception:
The exceptions would apply from the date of notification until such time that the Department of National Defence (DND) has completed the Unexploded Explosive Ordinances (UXO) and contaminated sites investigations, clearance and remediation at FCI. The current anticipated completion date is in approximately 15 to 20 years.
Area where the Exception Applies:
This exception will apply to the entire FCI property.
Activity:

As per the Memorandum of Understanding between DND, Environment Canada, and the Parks Canada Agency:

6.1 c) Activities occurring on Defence Establishments that are considered necessary for public safety in accordance with paragraph a) and authorized under the National Defence Act and the Explosives Act are:

  • Remediation of contaminated sites; and
  • Securing, handling, destruction or disposal of unsafe munitions, including unexploded explosive ordnance.
Rationale for the Exception:

In addition to the Memorandum of Understanding between DND, Environment Canada, and the Parks Canada Agency, pursuant to the Treasury Board of Canada (TBC) Policy on Management of Real Property, health and safety requirements listed in 6.1.12:

“Priority must be given to sites posing the highest human health and ecological risks. Management activities (including remediation) must be undertaken to the extent required for current or intended federal use.”

Treasury Board policy on the Management of Real Property states that surplus property is not to be retained and that all environmental information must be disclosed.

The FCI is suspected to contain UXO and contaminated sites. The FCI has been declared surplus to DND and therefore is a requirement to conduct an investigation, UXO clearance, environmental remediation, and divestiture of the Property to the Department of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) (transfer Property through addition to reserve).

The planned activities* meet condition 6.1c under the Species at Risk Memorandnum of Understanding related to the section 83 exception. Further, the planned investigation activities are a requirement of an existing Investigation Agreement.

In response to requirements, DND is pursuing the following on the FCI:

  • a thorough and complete UXO and contaminated sites investigation which must be conducted to enable an assessment of human health and ecological risks and to facilitate the proper design of clearance and remediation plans; and
  • a clearance of UXO’s and environmental remediation.

* activities – refers to all actions required for the UXO and environmental investigation, UXO clearance, and environmental remediation.

Alternatives

Alternatives Considered:
Alternatives considered took into account the potential impacts to SAR, their residences and CH, as well as impacts on achieving the project requirements in accordance and existing Government of Canada commitments and national security and public safety:
  1. Do Nothing:
    No securing/handling/destruction/disposal of unsafe munitions (UXO)(i.e. investigation and clearance) or investigation/remediation of contaminated sites to take place at FCI. Potential impacts to SAR/their residences/CH: SAR, their residences of CH may be impacted by UXO and environmental contamination.

    Feasibility of Alternative: This alternative is not feasible as it does not meet the operational requirements of the TBC Policy on Management of Real Property, health and safety requirements listed in 6.1.12. Further, it does not meet the operational requirements of the Investigation Agreement (October, 2012) signed between DND and the KSFN. Further, to not take any action on identifying and addressing UXO and environmental risks would be a public safety concern.

    Treasury Board policy on the Management of Real Property states that surplus property is not to be retained and that all environmental information must be disclosed. The FCI has been declared surplus to DND and therefore there is a requirement to investigate, decommission, and divest the property to AADNC for the future use and benefit of the FN.
  2. Clear/Remediate UXO and Environmental Contamination
    Conduct a complete UXO and environmental investigation and subsequent UXO clearance and environmental remediation at FCI. Potential impacts to SAR/their residences/CH:
    • SAR may potentially be affected (i.e., harmed, harassed or killed), and their residences/CH may potentially be affected (i.e., damaged or destroyed) by activities in the instance the SAR/their residences/CH coincide with the location of a UXO or a contaminated site or necessary access to these locations.
    • Mitigation measures identified in the next section will be implemented to minimize potential impacts to SAR/their residences/CH.
    Feasibility of Alternative: Alternative is feasible as it meets the operational requirements of the TBC Policy on Management of Real Property, health and safety requirements listed in 6.1.12. Further it meets the operational requirement of the Investigation Agreement (October, 2012) signed between DND and the KSPFN and would address public safety.

    In addition to the above options identified, the following considerations were given to the required activities:
    • UXO: Limiting the extent of the UXO investigation and clearance is not viable, as the area has been agreed to formally by the Government of Canada. Different, less intrusive technologies were considered for UXO investigations. However, the evaluation of these technologies proved that they were not as dependable as the methodology selected for determining the source and nature of the anomalies and extrapolating may be required in the areas identified through the investigation process.
    • Environmental Contamination: the environmental investigations will take place in multiple locations across the property.
Mitigation Measures Implemented or to be Implemented:
The preferred option is alternative 2, since there are no other alternatives to the physical nature of these activities. This option is the best solution because the established mitigation measures (outlined below) strive to identify, and avoid or mitigate, adverse effects on the SARA Schedule 1 species where possible without compromising the integrity of the UXO and environmental investigation and clearance/remediation work. Where feasible, given the constraints of the project, SAR impacts will be mitigated by:
  1. Undertaking Work:
    • A qualified Biologist will identify SAR in planned work locations (including access routes) in advance of work proceeding.
    • If possible, activities will be conducted away from known SAR locations.
  2. Follow-up Reporting:
    • If SAR locations cannot be avoided, any known SAR impacts will be reported.

Signatures

"I, the Defence Establishment Commanding Officer, am of the opinion

  • That all reasonable alternatives to the activity that would reduce the impact on the species have been considered and the best solution has been adopted; and
  • That all feasible measures will be taken to minimize the impact of the activity on the species or its critical habitat or the residences of its individuals".

Major Jean-Claude Comeau, A/DRPM 8

Defence Establishment Commanding Officer


Date: 21 March, 2013

Avis affiché dans le Registre public concernant les exceptions en vertu de l’article 83 - Ancien camp Ipperwash

Ancien camp Ipperwash

Établissement de défense :
Ancien camp Ipperwash
Ministère compétent au titre de la Loi sur les espèces en péril :
Environnement Canada et Parcs Canada (pour le micocoulier rabougri)
Date de l'avis :
Le 21 mars 2013
Espèces :
Les plantes, l'herpétofaune et les espèces aquatiques inscrites à la liste de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) qui pourraient être touchées au moment de mener les activités décrites dans le présent avis comprennent, sans s'y limiter, ce qui suit :
Nom communNom scientifique
Buchnera d'AmériqueBuchnera americana
Noyer cendréJuglans cinerea
Liatris à épi
Liatris spicata
Micocoulier rabougri
Celtis tenuifolia
Cornouiller fleuri
Cornus florida
Scinque pentaligne
(population carolinienne)
Plestiodon fasciatus
Sucet de lac
Erimyson sucetta
Méné camus
Notropis anogenus
Rainette faux-grillon de l’Ouest
(population des Grands Lacs, du Saint Laurent et du Bouclier canadien)
Pseudacris triseriata

Exceptions

Période de l’exception :
Les exceptions seraient en vigueur à compter de la date de l'avis jusqu'à ce que le ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN) ait effectué les enquêtes, le nettoyage et l'assainissement relatifs aux munitions explosives non explosées (UXO) et aux sites contaminés de l'ancien camp Ipperwash. La date d'achèvement prévue est dans environ 15 à 20 ans.
Zone où l’exception s’applique :
Cette exception s'appliquera à l'ensemble de la propriété de l'ancien camp Ipperwash.
Activités :

Selon le Protocole d’entente entre le MDN, Environnement Canada et Parcs Canada :

6.1 c) les activités menées sur les lieux des établissements de défense qui sont considérées comme nécessaires aux fins de la sécurité publique, selon l'alinéa a) ci-dessus, et autorisées en vertu de la Loi sur la défense nationale et de la Loi sur les explosifs, sont les suivantes :

  • Assainissement des lieux contaminés;
  • Assujettissement, manutention, destruction ou élimination de munitions dangereuses, notamment de munitions non explosées.
Justification de l’exception :

Outre le protocole d'entente signé entre le MDN, Environnement Canada et Parcs Canada, et conformément aux exigences relatives à la santé et la sécurité indiquées à la section 6.1.12 de la Politique sur la gestion des biens immobiliers du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor :

  • « Une priorité doit être accordée aux sites qui posent le plus grand risque pour la santé des personnes et l'environnement. Les activités de gestion (et d’assainissement) doivent être entreprises dans la mesure requise pour l’utilisation actuelle ou prévue par le gouvernement fédéral. »

La Politique sur la gestion des biens immobiliers du Conseil du Trésor stipule que les propriétés excédentaires ne doivent pas être conservées et que toute l'information environnementale doit être divulguée.

On soupçonne la présence d'UXO et de sites contaminés à l'ancien camp Ipperwash. Ce dernier a été déclaré comme excédentaire aux besoins du MDN et nécessite la tenue d'une enquête, le nettoyage des UXO, l'assainissement de l'environnement et le dessaisissement de la propriété au profit du ministère des Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) (transfert de propriété par l'ajout à la réserve).

  • Les activités* planifiées sont conformes à la condition 6.1c du Protocole d’entente concernant les espèces en péril relatif aux exceptions de l'article 83. De plus, les activités d'enquête planifiées constituent une exigence d'une entente d'enquête existante.
  • En réponse à ces exigences, le MDN effectuera les travaux suivants à l'ancien camp Ipperwash:
    • une enquête complète sur les UXO et les sites contaminés, effectuée en vue d'une évaluation des risques pour la santé humaine et l'environnement et de la conception appropriée de plans de nettoyage et d’assainissement;
    • le nettoyage des UXO et l'assainissement de l'environnement.

* Activités – désignent toutes les mesures requises pour l'enquête sur les UXO et l'environnement, le nettoyage des UXO et l'assainissement de l'environnement.

Options

Options envisagées :
Les effets potentiels sur les espèces en péril, leurs résidences et leur habitat essentiel de même que les effets sur l'exécution des exigences du projet conformes aux engagements existants du gouvernement du Canada, de la sécurité nationale et de la sécurité publique ont été pris en compte dans les options envisagées :
  1. Ne rien faire :
    Pas d'assujettissement, de manutention, de destruction ou d'élimination de munitions dangereuses (UXO) (c.-à-d. recherche et nettoyage) ou enquête et assainissement des sites contaminés à l'ancien camp Ipperwash. Effets potentiels sur les espèces en péril, leurs résidences et leur habitat essentiel : les espèces en péril, leurs résidences et leur habitat essentiel pourraient subir des dommages causés par les UXO et la contamination environnementale.

    Faisabilité de l'option : La présente option n'est pas réalisable, car elle ne répond pas aux exigences opérationnelles et de santé et sécurité indiquées à la section 6.1.12 de la Politique sur la gestion des biens immobiliers du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. De plus, elle ne répond pas aux exigences opérationnelles de l'entente d'enquête (octobre 2012) signée entre le MDN et les Premières nations de Kettle et Stony Point (PNKSP). De plus, le fait de ne prendre aucune mesure pour identifier et gérer les UXO et les risques environnementaux représenteraient une préoccupation en matière de sécurité publique.

    La Politique sur la gestion des biens immobiliers du Conseil du Trésor stipule que les propriétés excédentaires ne doivent pas être conservées et que toute l'information environnementale doit être divulguée. L'ancien camp Ipperwash a été déclaré comme excédentaire aux besoins du MDN et, par conséquent, il est nécessaire d'effectuer une enquête et de déclasser et de céder la propriété aux AADNC, afin que les Premières Nations puissent l'utiliser et en profiter.
  2. Nettoyer/éliminer les UXO et la contamination environnementale
    Effectuer une enquête exhaustive sur les UXO et l'environnement, suivie de l'enlèvement des UXO et de l'assainissement de l'environnement à l'ancien camp Ipperwash. Effets potentiels sur les espèces en péril, leurs résidences et leur habitat essentiel :
    • Les espèces en péril pourraient être touchées (c.-à-d. blessées, harcelées ou tuées) et leurs résidences et leur habitat essentiel pourraient possiblement être touchés (c.-à-d. endommagés ou détruits) par ces activités lorsque le lieu où l'on retrouve les espèces en péril, leurs résidences et leur habitat essentiel coïncide avec le lieu où se trouvent des UXO, un site contaminé ou un accès obligatoire à ces lieux.
    • Les mesures d'atténuation identifiées dans la prochaine section seront mises en œuvre afin de réduire les effets potentiels sur les espèces en péril, leurs résidences et leur habitat essentiel.
    Faisabilité de l'option : cette option est réalisable, car elle respecte les exigences opérationnelles et de santé et sécurité indiquées à la section 6.1.12 de la Politique sur la gestion des biens immobiliers du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. De plus, elle répond aux exigences opérationnelles de l'entente d'enquête (octobre 2012) signée entre le MDN et les PNKSP et aux besoins de sécurité publique.

    Outre les options indiquées ci-dessus, les considérations suivantes ont été prises en compte dans les activités requises :
    • UXO : La restriction de la recherche et du nettoyage des UXO n'est pas une solution viable, car la zone a été établie officiellement par le gouvernement du Canada. D'autres technologies moins envahissantes ont été envisagées pour les enquêtes sur les UXO. Cependant, l'évaluation de ces technologies a démontré qu'elles n'étaient pas aussi fiables que la méthode choisie afin de déterminer la source et la nature des anomalies et qu'une extrapolation serait peut-être nécessaire dans les zones identifiées lors du processus d'enquête.
    • Contamination environnementale : Les enquêtes environnementales se dérouleront à des emplacements multiples dans l'ensemble de la propriété.
Mesures d'atténuation mises en œuvre ou devant être mises en œuvre :
L'option privilégiée est l'option 2, car il n'existe aucune autre solution de rechange concernant la nature physique de ces activités. Cette option est la meilleure parce que les mesures d'atténuation établies (décrites ci-dessous) visent à identifier, à éviter ou à atténuer dans la mesure du possible les effets indésirables sur les espèces figurant à l’annexe 1 de la LEP, sans compromettre l'intégrité du travail d'enquête environnementale, de nettoyage et d'assainissement des UXO. Lorsque cela est possible, et en raison des contraintes du projet, les effets sur les espèces en péril seront atténués comme suit :
  1. Travail entrepris :
    • Un biologiste qualifié identifiera les espèces en péril dans les lieux de travail prévus (y compris les routes d'accès) avant le début des travaux.
    • Dans la mesure du possible, les activités seront effectuées à l'extérieur des emplacements connus des espèces en péril.
  2. Rapport de suivi :
    • Lorsqu'il est impossible d'éviter les emplacements des espèces en péril, tous les effets observés sur celles-ci devront être signalés.

Signature

« Je, commandant de l’établissement de défense, suis d’avis :

  • que toutes les solutions de rechange raisonnables à l’activité qui réduiraient les répercussions sur les espèces ont été examinées et que la meilleure solution a été adoptée;
  • que toutes les mesures réalisables seront prises pour réduire au minimum les effets de l’activité sur l’espèce, son habitat essentiel ou les résidences de ses individus. ».


Major Jean-Claude Comeau, D Gest BI 8 par intérim

Commandant de l’établissement de défense


Date : Le 21 mars 2013