Description of critical habitat of the Sprague’s Pipit in Grasslands National Park of Canada

The Sprague’s Pipit (Anthus spragueii) is a migratory bird protected under the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994 and is listed on Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act as threatened. The Sprague’s Pipit is a small (15–17 cm, 23–25 g), ground-nesting songbird that is endemic to the Canadian Prairies and northern Great Plains of the United States. In Canada, Sprague’s Pipit breeds in west-central and southern Manitoba, southern Saskatchewan and southern and central Alberta.

The Multi-species Action Plan for Grasslands National Park of Canada identifies new critical habitat for the species in Grasslands National Park of Canada, replacing the previously identified critical habitat identified in the Amended Recovery Strategy for Sprague’s Pipit (Anthus spragueii) in Canada.

Notice is hereby given, pursuant to subsection 58(2) of the Species at Risk Act, that 90 days after the date of publication of this notice, subsection 58(1) of the Act will apply to the critical habitat of the Sprague’s Pipit, as identified in the Multi-species Action Plan for Grasslands National Park of Canada, which is included in the Species at Risk Public Registry, and that is located within Grasslands National Park of Canada, the boundaries of which are described in Schedule 1 of the Canada National Parks Act.

Kevin Moore
Field Unit Superintendent
Saskatchewan South Field Unit

Description de l’habitat essentiel du pipit de Sprague dans le parc national du Canada des Prairies

Le pipit de Sprague (Anthus spragueii) est un oiseau migrateur protégé par la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs, et il est inscrit à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril à titre d’espèce menacée. Ce petit oiseau chanteur (de 15 à 17 cm et de 23 à 25 g) niche au sol et est endémique des Prairies canadiennes et des grandes plaines du nord des États-Unis. Au Canada, le pipit de Sprague niche dans le sud et le centre-ouest du Manitoba, dans le sud de la Saskatchewan et dans le sud et le centre de l’Alberta.

Le Plan d’action visant diverses espèces du parc national du Canada des Prairies identifie un nouvel habitat essentiel pour l’espèce au parc national du Canada des Prairies et vient remplacer l’habitat essentiel désigné dans la Modification à la version finale du Programme de rétablissement du Pipit de Sprague (Anthus spragueii) au Canada.

Avis est donné par la présente que, en vertu du paragraphe 58(2) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, 90 jours après la date de publication du présent avis, le paragraphe 58(1) de la Loi s’appliquera à l’habitat essentiel du pipit de Sprague, tel qu’il est décrit dans le Plan d’action visant diverses espèces du parc national du Canada des Prairies figurant au Registre public des espèces en péril, cet habitat étant situé dans le parc national du Canada des Prairies, dont les limites sont décrites à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada.

Le directeur d’unité de gestion
Unité de gestion du Sud de la Saskatchewan
Kevin Moore