Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery strategy for the Nooksack dace in Canada

Photograph of Nooksack Dace © Mike Pearson.
Photo by Mike Pearson.

Species at Risk Act
Recovery Strategy Series

July 2007

 


About the Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series

What is the Species at Risk Act (SARA)?

SARA is the Act developed by the federal government as a key contribution to the common national effort to protect and conserve species at risk in Canada. SARA came into force in 2003 and one of its purposes is “to provide for the recovery of wildlife species that are extirpated, endangered or threatened as a result of human activity.”

What is recovery?

In the context of species at risk conservation, recovery is the process by which the decline of an endangered, threatened, or extirpated species is arrested or reversed and threats are removed or reduced to improve the likelihood of the species’ persistence in the wild. A species will be considered recovered when its long-term persistence in the wild has been secured.

What is a recovery strategy?

A recovery strategy is a planning document that identifies what needs to be done to arrest or reverse the decline of a species. It sets goals and objectives and identifies the main areas of activities to be undertaken. Detailed planning is done at the action plan stage.

Recovery strategy development is a commitment of all provinces and territories and of three federal agencies -- Environment Canada, Parks Canada Agency, and Fisheries and Oceans Canada -- under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk. Sections 37–46 of SARA (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/the_act/) outline both the required content and the process for developing recovery strategies published in this series.

Depending on the status of the species and when it was assessed, a recovery strategy has to be developed within one to two years after the species is added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk. Three to four years is allowed for those species that were automatically listed when SARA came into force.

What’s next?

In most cases, one or more action plans will be developed to define and guide implementation of the recovery strategy. Nevertheless, directions set in the recovery strategy are sufficient to begin involving communities, land users, and conservationists in recovery implementation. Cost-effective measures to prevent the reduction or loss of the species should not be postponed for lack of full scientific certainty.

The series

This series presents the recovery strategies prepared or adopted by the federal government under SARA. New documents will be added regularly as species get listed and as strategies are updated.

To learn more

To learn more about the Species at Risk Act and recovery initiatives, please consult the SARA Public Registry (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/) and the Web site of the Recovery Secretariat (http://www.speciesatrisk.gc.ca/recovery/).


Recovery Strategy for the Nooksack Dace (Rhinichthys cataractae) in Canada

July 2007


Recommended citation:

Pearson, M.P., T. Hatfield, J.D. McPhail, J.S. Richardson, J.S. Rosenfeld, H. Schreier, D. Schluter, D.J. Sneep, M. Stejpovic, E.B. Taylor, and P.M. Wood. 2007. Recovery Strategy for the Nooksack Dace (Rhinichthys cataractae) in Canada. Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Vancouver. vi + 31 pp.

Additional copies:

You can download additional copies from the SARA Public Registry (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/)

Cover illustration: M. Pearson

Egalement disponible en français sous le titre :

« Programme de rétablissement pour le naseux de Nooksack (Rhinichthys cataractae) au Canada »

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, 2007. All rights reserved.

ISBN 978-0-662-45387-1

Cat. no. En3-4/19-2007E-PDF

Content (excluding the cover illustration) may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.

Declaration

This final recovery strategy for Nooksack dace has been prepared by Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the British Columbia Ministry of Environment. Fisheries and Oceans Canada has reviewed and accepts this document as its recovery strategy for Nooksack dace as required by the Species at Risk Act. The British Columbia Ministry of Environment has reviewed and accepts this document as scientific advice.

This document identifies the recovery strategies that are deemed necessary, based on the best available scientific and biological information, to recover Nooksack dace populations in Canada. Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the directions set out in this strategy and will not be achieved by Fisheries and Oceans Canada or any other jurisdiction alone. In the spirit of the National Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans invites all Canadians to join Fisheries and Oceans Canada in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the Nooksack dace and Canadian society as a whole. Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the BC Ministry of Environment will support implementation of this strategy to the extent possible, given available resources and its overall responsibility for species at risk conservation. The Minister will report on progress within five years.

This strategy will be complemented by one or more action plans that will provide details on specific recovery measures to be taken to support conservation of the species. The Minister will take steps to ensure that, to the extent possible, Canadians interested in or affected by these measures will be consulted.

Responsible jurisdictions

The responsible jurisdiction for Nooksack dace under the Species at Risk Act is Fisheries and Oceans Canada. The Province of British Columbia co-led development of this recovery strategy.

Authors

DFO and the Province of British Columbia cooperated in the development of this recovery strategy. A recovery team was assembled to provide science-based recommendations to government with respect to the recovery of Nooksack dace. Members of the Recovery Team for Nooksack Dace are listed below:

Todd Hatfield, Solander Ecological Research (Coordinator)
Don McPhail, University of British Columbia
Mike Pearson, Pearson Ecological (Writer)
John Richardson, University of British Columbia
Jordan Rosenfeld, British Columbia Ministry of Environment (Co-Chair)
Hans Schreier, University of British Columbia
Dolph Schluter, University of British Columbia
Dan Sneep, Fisheries and Oceans Canada (Co-Chair)
Marina Stejpovic, Township of Langley
Eric Taylor, University of British Columbia
Paul Wood, University of British Columbia

Acknowledgments

Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the Province of BC are grateful to the technical experts involved in drafting this strategy, for their time and effort in attending meetings and reviewing the document. Financial support for the development of the recovery strategy was provided by the Habitat Conservation Trust Fund and the Province of British Columbia.

Strategic environmental assessment statement

In accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals, the purpose of a Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA) is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally-sound decision making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits. The planning process based on national guidelines directly incorporates consideration of all environmental effects, with a particular focus on possible impacts on non-target species or habitats.

While this recovery strategy will clearly benefit the environment by promoting the recovery of Nooksack dace, some potentially adverse effects on other species were also considered. The strategy calls for the protection, creation, and enhancement of riffle habitat, which could require control of beavers and their dams, and which might eliminate some of the deep pool and marsh habitat of Salish sucker, another species listed as Endangered under SARA. The strategy recommends cooperation with local stewardship groups and agency staff on beaver management, and proposes to address potential conflicts with recovery of Salish sucker by coordinating recovery activities for both species in watersheds where they coexist through the development of a joint Action Plan. The recovery strategy also calls for minimization of impacts of introduced predators, through documenting their occurrence and educating the public on their impacts. Further information on potential interactions with other species is presented in the Recovery section of the document, in particular under the headings Broad Strategies to Reduce Threats and Effects on Other Species. Taking these approaches into account, it was concluded that the benefits of this recovery strategy far outweigh any adverse effects that may result.

Residence

SARA defines residence as: “a dwelling -place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or hibernating” [SARA S2 (1)].

Residence descriptions, or the rationale for why the residence concept does not apply to a given species, are posted on the SARA public registry: http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/plans/residence_e.cfm

Preface

The Nooksack dace is a freshwater fish, under the jurisdiction of the federal government. The Species at Risk Act(SARA, Section 37) requires the competent minister to prepare recovery strategies for listed Extirpated, Endangered or Threatened species. The Nooksack dace was listed as Endangered under SARA in June 2003. Fisheries and Oceans Canada - Pacific Region co-led the development of this recovery strategy with the British Columbia Ministry of Environment. The final strategy meets SARA requirements in terms of content and process (Sections 39-41). It was developed in cooperation or consultation with:

o The University of British Columbia

o The Township Of Langley

Executive summary

Background

The Nooksack dace is a small (<15 cm) stream-dwelling cyprinid (minnow). It is considered a subspecies of the widespread and common longnose dace Rhinichthys cataractae. Within Canada it is known from four lowland streams in British Columbia’s Fraser Valley. The global distribution includes approximately 20 additional streams in north-west Washington (McPhail 1997). The Nooksack dace is extirpated from some tributaries in Canadian watersheds where it was abundant in the 1960s (McPhail 1997). Its current status in Washington State is unknown.

Nooksack dace are strongly associated with riffle habitats (McPhail 1997) and the proportion of riffle in a reach is the strongest predictor of their presence (Pearson 2004a). Young-of-the-year fish require shallow pool habitats in close proximity to the riffles inhabited by adults (McPhail 1997). Home range size is typically very small (<50 m of channel) although a few individuals venture for at least hundreds of metres (Pearson 2004a). This suggests that clusters of riffles may contain semi-isolated subpopulations and that metapopulation dynamics may be important at the watershed scale (Pearson 2004a).

Threats

Nooksack dace populations appear to be most vulnerable to seasonal lack of water, habitat loss to drainage activities, sediment deposition, and riffle loss to beaver ponds. Introduced predators are widespread in the range but probably have minimal impacts on Nooksack dace because of lack of habitat overlap. Hypoxia and toxicity are significant threats in some sections of at least one watershed, but do not threaten the species throughout its range.

Critical Habitat

Attributes of critical habitat for Nooksack dace have been defined but not mapped or designated in this recovery strategy. Potential critical habitat for Nooksack dace consists of reaches in their native creeks that contain or are known to have previously contained more than 10% riffle by length. It includes all aquatic habitat and riparian reserve strips of native vegetation on both banks for the entire length of the reach. Reserve strips should be continuous with width requirements based on reach-scale assessments as described in Pearson (2007: in review through PSARC). A detailed rationale for the definition is included in the main text. A quantity of proposed critical habitat sufficient to ensure the survival and recovery of the species will be designated through the action planning process, which will include socioeconomic analysis and consultation with affected interests. The Recovery Team has compiled scientific data that will provide the basis for an official designation of critical habitat (Pearson 2007, in review through PSARC). Further studies are required to confirm the presence of other Nooksack dace populations and their critical habitats, and to characterize specific threats. Designating critical habitat will contribute to the refinement of recovery objectives and the management of activities that impact the species.

Recovery

Recovery of Nooksack dace populations is both technically and biologically feasible. It will involve the establishment and/or maintenance of sufficient high quality riffle habitat in each creek to maintain a population. Specific requirements will vary, but will generally include in-stream flow protection, restoration of riffle habitat and, in some circumstances, restriction of beaver impoundment. Some management will be required in all watersheds.

The goal of recovery is:

To ensure long-term viability of Nooksack dace populations throughout their natural distribution in Canada.

The recovery strategy has three objectives, each of which is discussed in detail in the text.

  1. For all currently and historically suitable habitats in native streams to be occupied by 2015.
  2. To increase Nooksack dace abundance to target levels in all watersheds by 2015.
  3. To ensure that at least one reach in each watershed supports a high density of Nooksack dace.

Eight broad strategies have been identified in support of these objectives:

  1. ProtectFootnote 1, create and enhance riffle habitat in habitat reaches with high potential productivity.
  2. Establish or maintain adequate baseflow in all habitats with high potential productivity.
  3. Reduce sediment entry to creeks.
  4. Ensure the integrity and proper functioning of riparian zones throughout watersheds.
  5. Reduce habitat fragmentation.
  6. Encourage stewardship amongst private landowners and the general public.
  7. Minimize toxic contamination of creeks.
  8. Minimize impacts of introduced predators.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Protection can be achieved through a variety of mechanisms including: voluntary stewardship agreements, conservation covenants, sale by willing vendors on private lands, land use designations, and protected areas

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Introduction

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du naseux de Nooksack au Canada

Photograph of Nooksack Dace © Mike Pearson.
Photo par Mike Pearson.

Loi sur les espèces en péril
Série de Programmes de rétablissement

Juillet 2007

 


La série de Programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Qu'est-ce que la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)?

La LEP est la loi fédérale qui constitue l'une des pierres d'assise de l'effort national commun de protection et de conservation des espèces en péril au Canada. Elle est en vigueur depuis 2003 et vise, entre autres, à « prévenir la disparition ... des espèces sauvages, à permettre le rétablissement de celles qui, par suite de l'activité humaine, sont devenues des espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées ».

Qu'est-ce que le rétablissement?

Dans le contexte de la conservation des espèces en péril, le rétablissement est le processus par lequel le déclin d'une espèce en voie de disparition, menacée ou disparue du pays, est arrêté ou inversé et par lequel les menaces à sa survie sont éliminées ou réduites de façon à augmenter la probabilité de sa survie à l'état sauvage. Une espèce sera considérée rétablie lorsque sa survie à long terme à l'état sauvage aura été assurée.

Qu'est-ce qu'un programme de rétablissement?

Un programme de rétablissement est un document de planification qui identifie ce qui doit être réalisé pour arrêter ou inverser le déclin d'une espèce. Il établit des buts et des objectifs et indique les principaux champs d'activités à entreprendre. La planification plus élaborée se fait à l'étape du plan d'action.

L'élaboration de programmes de rétablissement représente un engagement de toutes les provinces et de tous les territoires ainsi que de trois organismes fédéraux -- Environnement Canada, l'Agence Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada -- dans le cadre de l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril. Les articles 37 à 46 de la LEP décrivent le contenu d'un programme de rétablissement publié dans la présente série ainsi que le processus requis pour l'élaborer (http://www.registrelep.gc.ca/the_act/).

Selon le statut de l'espèce et le moment où elle a été évaluée, un programme de rétablissement doit être préparé dans un délai de un à deux ans après l'inscription de l'espèce à la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP. Pour les espèces qui ont été inscrites à la LEP lorsque celle-ci a été adoptée, le délai est de trois à quatre ans.

Ensuite?

Dans la plupart des cas, un ou plusieurs plans d'action seront élaborés pour définir et guider la mise en œuvre du programme de rétablissement. Cependant, les recommandations contenues dans le programme de rétablissement suffisent pour permettre la participation des collectivités, des utilisateurs des terres et des agents de protection de la nature à la mise en œuvre du rétablissement. L'absence de certitude scientifique ne doit pas servir de prétexte pour retarder la prise de mesures efficientes visant à prévenir la disparition ou le déclin d'une espèce.

La série de Programmes de rétablissement

Cette série présente les programmes de rétablissement élaborés ou adoptés par le gouvernement fédéral dans le cadre de la LEP. De nouveaux documents s'ajouteront régulièrement à mesure que de nouvelles espèces seront inscrites à la Liste des espèces en péril et que les programmes de rétablissement existants seront mis à jour.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour en savoir plus sur la Loi sur les espèces en péril et les initiatives de rétablissement, veuillez consulter le Registre public de la LEP (http://www.registrelep.gc.ca) et le site Web du Secrétariat du rétablissement (http://www.especesenperil.gc.ca/recovery/).


Programme de rétablissement du naseux de Nooksack (Rhinichthys cataractae) au Canada

Juillet 2007


Référence recommandée :

Pearson, M.P., T. Hatfield, J.D. McPhail, J.S. Richardson, J.S. Rosenfeld, H. Schreier, D. Schluter, D.J. Sneep, M. Stejpovic, E.B. Taylor, et M.P. Wood. 2007. Programme de rétablissement du naseux de Nooksack (Rhinichthys cataractae ) au Canada. Série de programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Pêches et Océans Canada, Vancouver, vi + 33 pp.

Copies additionnelles :

Des exemplaires supplémentaires peuvent être téléchargés à partir du Registre public de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (http://www.registrelep.gc.ca)

Page couverture : Photo de M. Pearson

également disponible en anglais sous le titre :

« Recovery Strategy for the Nooksack Dace (Rhinichthys cararactae) in Canada »

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de Pêches et Océans, 2007. Tous droits réservés.

ISBN 978-0-662-73731-5

Numéro de catalogue En3-4/19-2007F-PDF

Le contenu (à l'exclusion de la page couverture) peut être utilisé sans autorisation, en mentionnant la source.

Déclaration

Le programme de rétablissement du naseux de Nooksack a été préparé par Pêches et Océans Canada et par le ministère de l'Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique. Pêches et Océans Canada a étudié le présent rapport et en fait son programme de rétablissement pour le naseux de Nooksack, tel que requis par la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). Le ministère de l'Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique a examiné le document et le considère comme un avis scientifique.

Le présent document identifie les stratégies de rétablissement qui sont jugées nécessaires à partir des meilleures connaissances scientifiques et biologiques sur la population du naseux de Nooksack au Canada. La réussite dans le rétablissement de cette espèce dépend de l'engagement et de la coopération de plusieurs intervenants qui contribueront à la mise en œuvre des orientations définies dans le programme, qui ne pourra par ailleurs pas être réalisé par un seul organisme, fut-il Pêches et Océans Canada ou toute autre instance gouvernementale. Dans l'esprit de cet accord national pour la protection des espèces en péril, le ministre des Pêches et des Océans invite tous les Canadiens à donner un coup de main au personnel de son ministère dans l'appui et la mise en place de cette stratégie pour la survie du naseux de Nooksack et de la société en général. Pêches et Océans Canada et le ministère de l'Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique donneront leur appui à la mise en œuvre de cette stratégie par tous les moyens possibles, dans la limite de leurs ressources et de leurs responsabilités globales pour la conservation des espèces en péril. Le ministre doit faire rapport sur les progrès réalisés dans cinq ans.

Le présent programme de rétablissement sera suivi d'un ou plusieurs plans d'action qui fourniront des détails sur des mesures spécifiques de rétablissement à prendre pour appuyer la conservation de l'espèce. Le ministre prendra des dispositions pour s'assurer que, dans la mesure du possible, les Canadiens touchés ou intéressés par ce train de mesures puissent être consultés.

Compétences responsables

En vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, Pêches et Océans Canada est la compétence responsable pour le naseux de Nooksack. La province de la Colombie-Britannique a dirigé l'élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement.

Auteurs

Pêches et Océans Canada et la Province de la Colombie-Britannique ont coopéré à l'élaboration du programme de rétablissement. Une équipe de rétablissement a été mise sur pied pour fournir des recommandations fondées sur l'expertise scientifique en ce qui touche le rétablissement du naseux de Nooksack. Voici les membres de l'équipe de rétablissement :

Todd Hatfield, Solander Ecological Research (coordonateur)
Don McPhail, University of British Columbia
Mike Pearson, Pearson Ecological (rédacteur)
John Richardson, University of British Columbia
Jordan Rosenfeld, British Columbia Ministry of Environment coprésident)
Hans Schreier, University of British Columbia
Dolph Schluter, University of British Columbia
Dan Sneep, Fisheries and Oceans Canada (coprésident)
Marina Stejpovic, Township of Langley
Eric Taylor, University of British Columbia
Paul Wood, University of British Columbia

Remerciements

Pêches et Océans Canada et la Province de la Colombie-Britannique remercient les experts techniques qui ont contribué à la rédaction du plan et qui ont consacré temps et efforts pour assister aux rencontres et réviser le document. L'appui financier pour la mise en œuvre du programme de rétablissement a été fourni par Habitat Conservation Trust Fund et la Province de la Colombie-Britannique.

Evaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet de 1999 sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes, l'objet d'une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est d'incorporer les considérations environnementales à l'élaboration des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes publics pour appuyer une prise de décision éclairée du point de vue de l'environnement.

La planification du rétablissement vise à favoriser les espèces en péril et la biodiversité en général. Il est cependant reconnu que des programmes peuvent, par inadvertance, produire des effets environnementaux qui dépassent les avantages prévus. Le processus de planification fondé sur des lignes directrices nationales tient directement compte de tous les effets environnementaux, notamment des incidences possibles sur les espèces ou les habitats non ciblés.

Bien que ce programme de rétablissement profite sans l'ombre d'un doute à l'environnement en favorisant le rétablissement du naseux de Nooksack, certaines conséquences pernicieuses sur d'autres espèces ont également été étudiées. La stratégie fait appel à la protection, la création et à l'amélioration de l'eau trouble, ce qui pourrait exiger le contrôle des castors et de leurs barrages, and qui pourrait éliminer certains habitats en eaux profondes et marais du meunier de Salish, une autre espèce inscrite sur la liste des espèces en voie de disparition de la LEP. Dans la stratégie, on recommande la coopération avec les groupes locaux d'intendance et le personnel de l'agence sur la gestion du castor et on propose d'aborder les conflits possibles avec le rétablissement du meunier de Salish en coordonnant les activités de rétablissement des deux espèces pour les bassins hydrologiques où les deux espèces coexistent par le biais d'un plan d'action conjoint. Le programme de rétablissement fait également appel à la minimisation des répercussions des prédateurs incorporés au milieu en consignant leur apparition et en éduquant le public sur leurs répercussions. D'autres informations sur les interactions potentielles avec d'autres espèces sont présentées dans le document portant le titre Stratégies globales pour réduire les menaces et les répercussions sur les autres espèces. En tenant compte de ces approches, on en est arrivé à la conclusion que les avantages du programme de rétablissement compensaient amplement les aspects négatifs qui pourraient en résulter.

Résidence

La LEP définit la résidence de la façon suivante : « Gîte -- terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable -- occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l'élevage, les haltes migratoires, l'hivernage, l'alimentation ou l'hibernation [Paragraphe 2(1)] ».

Les descriptions de la résidence, ou les raisons pour lesquelles le concept de résidence ne s'applique pas à une espèce donnée, sont publiées dans le Registre public de la LEP : http://www.registrelep.gc.ca/plans/residence_f.cfm.

Préface

Le naseux de Nooksack est un poisson d'eau douce qui relève de la compétence du gouvernement fédéral. La Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP, article 37) exige du ministre compétent qu'il élabore un programme de rétablissement pour les espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées. Le naseux de Noooksack a été inscrit en juin 2003 comme espèce menacée aux termes de la LEP. Pêches et Océans Canada, Région du Pacifique a préparé le programme de rétablissement. Le présent programme répond aux exigences de la LEP en termes de contenu et de processus (articles 39 à 41). Le programme de rétablissement a été mis au point en collaboration et en consultation avec :

o The University of British Columbia

o The Township Of Langley

Sommaire

Historique

Le naseux de Nooksack est un petit poisson de moins de 15 cm, de la famille des cyprinidés (méné). On le considère comme une sous-espèce de l'espèce plus répandue et plus connue du naseux de rapides (Rhinichthys cataractae). Au Canada, on le retrouve dans quatre ruisseaux de la vallée du fleuve Fraser, en Colombie-Britannique. Son aire globale de répartition inclut environ 20 ruisseaux additionnels dans le nord-ouest de l'état de Washington (McPhail, 1997). Le naseux de Nooksack est disparu de certains affluents des bassins hydrologiques du Canada où on le retrouvait en abondance dans les années 1960 (McPhail, 1997). On ne connaît pas présentement son statut actuel dans l'état de Washington.

Le naseux de Nooksack est fortement associé aux habitats des courants (McPhail, 1997) et la proportion des courants dans une aire de répartition est le grand indicateur de la présence de l'espèce (Pearson 2004a). Les jeunes de moins d'un an se retrouvent en aval des plans d'eau, dans des eaux plus calmes et peu profondes, tout près des torrents habités par leurs parents (McPhail, 1997). Pour le naseux, son rayon d'éloignement de l'habitat est très limité, moins de 50 mètres du canal, bien que certains individus puissent s'aventurer à au moins des centaines de mètres (Pearson, 2004a). Cela porte à croire que des courants successifs puissent contenir des sous-populations semi-isolées et que la dynamique des métapopulations puisse être importante à l'échelle des bassins hydrologiques (Pearson 2004a).

Les menaces

Les populations de naseux de Nooksack semblent les plus vulnérables aux sécheresses saisonnières, à la perte de l'habitat suite au drainage, au dépôt de sédiments et à la destruction de courants par la construction d'étangs par les castors. L'arrivée de prédateurs est largement répandue dans l'aire de répartition du naseux mais elle a probablement des répercussions limitées sur l'espèce en raison de l'absence du chevauchement des habitats. L'hypoxie et la toxicité constituent des menaces importantes dans certaines zones, au moins à un bassin hydrologique, mais ne menacent pas l'espèce partout où elle se trouve.

Habitat essentiel

Les caractéristiques de l'habitat essentiel du naseux de Nooksack ont été définies mais ils n'ont pas été cartographiées ou désignées dans le programme de rétablissement. L'habitat essentiel du naseux de Nooksack consisterait vraisemblablement des aires de répartition qui les ont vu naître et qui contiennent ou qui sont reconnues pour avoir, dans le passé, contenu plus de 10 pour cent de rapides par longueur. Il couvre tout l'habitat aquatique et les réserves rivulaires de la végétation naturelle sur les deux côtés, sur toute la longueur de l'aire de répartition. Les réserves rivulaires devraient être continues ayant des exigences quant aux largeurs fondées sur les évaluations de portée décrites par Pearson (2007 : en révision au CEESP). Une justification détaillée de la définition se retrouve dans le corps du texte. Au cours du processus de planification, on définira un certain nombre de propositions d'habitats essentiels suffisants pour assurer la survie et le rétablissement de l'espèce ; ils comprendront des analyses socioéconomiques et des consultations avec les parties intéressées. L'équipe de rétablissement a compilé les données scientifiques qui aideront à définir l'habitat essentiel et cette information devrait servir de base pour une description officielle de l'habitat essentiel (Pearson 2007, en révision au CEESP). Des études additionnelles sont nécessaires pour confirmer la présence d'autres populations de naseux de Nooksack et leurs habitats essentiels, et pour caractériser les menaces spécifiques. La définition des habitats essentiels contribuera à l'amélioration des objectifs de rétablissement et la gestion des activités qui ont des répercussions sur les espèces.

Rétablissement

Le rétablissement des populations du naseux de Nooksack est réalisable, tant au plan technique que biologique. Pour maintenir une population, il faudra créer et maintenir un habitat de qualité suffisante pour tous les courants, dans chaque ruisseau. Des exigences spécifiques peuvent varier mais elles comprendront généralement la protection du débit d'entrée, la restauration de l'habitat des rapides et, dans certains cas, la restriction du réservoir de retenue des castors. Une certaine forme de gestion sera nécessaire dans tous les bassins hydrologiques.

L'objectif du rétablissement est de :

Garantir la viabilité à long terme des populations du naseux de Nooksack par leur répartition naturelle à travers le Canada.

Le programme de rétablissement vise trois objectifs, qui sont expliqués en détail par la suite.

  1. Pour tous les habitats convenables occupés présentement et dans le passé dans les ruisseaux originaux, l'occupation prévue d'ici 2015
  2. Hausse, d'ici 2015, de l'abondance des naseaux de Nooksack aux niveaux ciblés dans tous les bassins hydrologiques.
  3. Garantie qu'au moins une voie pour poissons dans chaque bassin hydrologique prend en charge une densité élevée du naseux de Nooksack.

Huit stratégies globales ont été dégagées en appui à ces objectifs :

  1. ProtégerFootnote 1, créer et améliorer l'habitat des courants dans les habitats ayant un potentiel de haute productivité.
  2. Établir et maintenir un débit de base adéquat dans tous les habitats ayant un potentiel de haute productivité.
  3. Diminuer l'arrivée des sédiments dans les ruisseaux.
  4. S'assurer de l'intégrité et du bon fonctionnement des zones rivulaires par l'entremise des bassins hydrologiques.
  5. Diminuer la fragmentation de l'habitat.
  6. Favoriser l'intendance entre les propriétaires fonciers privés et le public.
  7. Réduire les contaminants toxiques des ruisseaux.
  8. Atténuer au maximum les effets néfastes des prédateurs non indigènes.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

La protection peut se réaliser au moyen de divers mécanismes, y compris l’intendance volontaire et les accords, les accords sur la conservation, la vente par des vendeurs consentants sur des terres privées, les utilisations de la terre et les zones protégées.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1 referrer

Introduction