Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Description of Residence for Piping Plover (Charadrius Melodus, Circumcinctus and Melodus Subspecies) in Canada

Section 33 of the Species at Risk Act (SARA) prohibits damaging or destroying the residence of a listed threatened, endangered, or extirpated species. SARA defines residence as: “a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or hibernating” [s.2(1)].

The prohibition comes into effect immediately upon listing for all threatened, endangered, and extirpated species on federal lands, and for species under pre-existing federal jurisdiction on all lands. Species under pre-existing federal jurisdiction are aquatic species (a wildlife species that is a fish, as defined in section 2 of the Fisheries Act, or a marine plant, as defined in section 47 of that Act) or migratory birds protected under the Migratory Birds Convention Act. SARA also contains a provision to prohibit the destruction of non-federal species’ residences on provincial, territorial, and private lands by way of an Order by the Governor in Council (GIC), if the Minister of the Environment recommends it necessary to do so [s.34(2), 35(2)].

The following is a description of residence for the Piping Plover (Charadrius melodus –circumcinctus and melodus subspecies), created for the purposes of increasing public awareness and aiding enforcement of the above prohibition. As a migratory bird protected under the MBCA, the Piping Plover is under federal jurisdiction and thus the residence prohibition is in effect on all lands where the species occurs. Piping Plovers are known to have one type of residence – a nest.

Species Information:

Common Name – Piping Plover

Scientific Name – Charadrius melodus (circumcinctus and melodus subspecies)

Current COSEWIC Status & Year of Designation – Endangered (2001)

Occurrence in Canada – circumcinctus subspecies: Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba (Figure 1) and Ontario; melodus subspecies: Québec, Newfoundland, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island (Figure 2)

Rationale for Designation – Predation, habitat loss and human disturbance

Known distribution of the Piping Plover circumcinctus subspecies in Prairie Canada

Figure 1. Known distribution of the Piping Plover circumcinctus subspecies in Prairie Canada. An extra-limital breeding record exists for Lake Athabasca in northern Saskatchewan. In Ontario, Piping Plovers breed only at Lake of the Woods, northwest of Rainy River. This location is about 210 km southeast of Winnipeg, Manitoba.

 

Piping Plover melodus subspecies Range Map


Figure 2. Known distribution of the Piping Plover melodus subspecies in Eastern Canada and St. Pierre et Miquelon, France.

1) The Nest

Photo (by J. Paul Gossen): typical Piping Plover nest

Physical Appearance and Context

The residence of the Piping Plover is defined as the nest. The nest is a small (9-10 cm in diameter and 1-2 cm deep) bowl-shaped depression (a “scrape”), usually lined with small, light-coloured pebbles (Figure 3)5 or shell fragments. Multiple scrapes may be constructed within a breeding territory and it may take several days for the pair to settle on one nest. Nests are rarely, if ever, reused3.

 

Photo (by J. Paul Gossen): typical Piping Plover breeding habitat at an alkalia like. Note gravel habitat near the middle of the picture.

Circumcinctus subspecies:  Piping Plovers establish their nests on beaches, islands and sand spits of alkali3 (Figure 4) and freshwater2 lakes, river sand bars3 and occasionally on artificial habitats such as parking lots or dyke roads2. Wide, sparsely vegetated sand or mixed sand and gravel beaches are preferred. Nests are rarely located in dense alkali areas of beaches3. Nests are sometimes found beside small rocks. The annual suitability of the plover's nesting habitat may be unpredictable from year to year because precipitation and drought influence wetland conditions2. River and reservoir nesting habitats are affected primarily by the timing and amount of water from mountain snow melt and secondarily by heavy precipitation events and water management operations.

Melodus subspecies: Piping Plovers establish their nests onsand, pebble, gravel and cobble beaches, barrier islands, sandspits or peninsulas found in marine coastal areas. Occupied beaches are generally wide and most often with sparse vegetation. Artificial habitats such as those created by deposition of dredge spoils and gravel parking areas located near coastal zones are occasionally used. Winter storms may create new nesting habitat in previously unsuitable coastal areas.

Function

Piping Plovers normally use nests from early May to late July. Most first clutches are initiated during the first two weeks of May3. Nests with eggs in April or August are a rare occurrence. Each nest is exclusively used by one pair of Piping Plovers and their chicks. The most frequent clutch size is four eggs which are laid in 7 days4. The eggs are pale buff marked with fine splotches of black, brownish-black, or purplish black and measure approximately 32 mm x 24 mm3. Both male and female incubate the eggs for about 28 days. The hatching period usually occurs over several hours but may extend to two or three days1. After hatching, the precocial young remain in the nest until dry. Chicks are mobile within a few hours of hatching and make foraging forays away from the nest but return to the nest to be brooded by the adult3. Parents and chicks abandon the nest within a day of the last egg hatching and do not use the nest during the remainder of the breeding season. Parents and young may remain within the territory where the nest was built unless disturbed3 or move beyond the territory for other reasons. In Canada, young are capable of sustained flight at 22-25 days of age.

Damage and Destruction of the Residence

Damage or destruction to the nest includes loss of access, function and/or structure of the nest. Of concern to SARA are direct and indirect anthropogenic effects on the residence. This includes, but is not limited to, water management (flooding), cattle management (trampling nests), recreational activities (e.g. beach activities, pets, all terrain vehicles or other motorized or non-motorized vehicles), sand mining and extraction, discharge of oil and industrial, cottage and landscape developments or modification activities (beach cleaning, trampling, leveling, or dumping).

Period and Frequency of Occupancy

Active nests should be protected annually during 1 May through to 15 August. Piping Plovers normally produce only one brood per year, however renesting is possible if the eggs are lost. Adults exhibit high fidelity to breeding sites, regularly returning to previously used habitats in subsequent years. Protection should include nest building, egg laying, incubation, hatching, and immediate post-hatching periods – a total time frame of approximately 40 days.

References

1Boyne, A.W. 2001. Updated COSEWIC status report Piping Plover Charadrius melodus. Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Ottawa, Ontario.

2Goossen, J.P., D.L. Amirault, J. Arndt, R. Bjorge, S. Boates, J. Brazil, S. Brechtel, R. Chiasson, G.N. Corbett, R. Curley, M. Elderkin, S.P. Flemming, W. Harris, L. Heyens, D. Hjertaas, M. Huot, B. Johnson, R. Jones, W. Koonz, P. Laporte, D. McAskill, R.I.G. Morrison, S. Richard, F. Shaffer, C. Stewart, L. Swanson and E. Wiltse. 2002. National Recovery Plan for the Piping Plover (Charadrius melodus). National Recovery Plan No. 22. Recovery of Nationally Endangered Wildlife. Ottawa.

3Haig, S.M. 1992. Piping Plover. In The Birds of North America, No. 2 (A. Poole, P. Stettenheim, and F. Gill, Eds.). Philadelphia: The Academy of Natural Sciences; Washington, DC: The American Ornithologists' Union.

4Murphy, R.K., B.G. Root, P.M. Mayer, J.P. Goossen and K.A. Smith. 1999. A draft protocol for assessing Piping Plover reproductive success on Great Plains alkali lakes. Pages 90-107 in K.F. Higgins, M.R. Brashier and C.D. Kruse (eds.), Proceedings, Piping Plovers and Least Terns of the Great Plains and nearby. Brookings: South Dakota State University. 132 pp.

5Whyte, A.J. 1985. Breeding ecology of the Piping Plover (Charadrius melodus) in central Saskatchewan. M.Sc. thesis, University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. 153 pp.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Description de la résidence du pluvier siffleur (charadrius melodus, sous-espèces circumcinctus et melodus) au Canada

L'article 33 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) interdit d'endommager ou de détruire la résidence d’une espèce inscrite comme menacée, en voie de disparition ou disparue du pays. La LEP définit la résidence comme suit : « Gîte -- terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable -- occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l'élevage, les haltes migratoires, l'hivernage, l'alimentation ou l'hibernation » [paragr. 2(1)].

L'interdiction entre en vigueur dès l'inscription pour toutes les espèces menacées, en voie de disparition et disparues du pays se trouvant sur le territoire domanial et pour les espèces relevant de la compétence fédérale déjà en place se trouvant sur tout le territoire. Les espèces relevant de la compétence fédérale déjà en place sont des espèces aquatiques (une espèce sauvage de poissons, au sens de l'article 2 de la Loi sur les pêches, ou de plantes marines, au sens de l'article 47 de cette même loi) ou des oiseaux migrateurs protégés par la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs (LCOM). La LEP renferme aussi une disposition interdisant la destruction des résidences des espèces qui ne relèvent pas de la compétence fédérale et se trouvant sur les terres provinciales, territoriales et privées par décret du gouverneur en conseil si le ministre de l'Environnement le juge nécessaire [paragr. 34(2), 35(2)].

Ce qui suit est une description de la résidence du Pluvier siffleur (Charadrius melodus -- sous‑espèces circumcinctus et melodus), créée afin d’accroître la sensibilisation publique et d’aider à l'application de l'interdiction décrite ci‑dessus. Comme oiseau migrateur protégé par la LCOM, le Pluvier siffleur relève de la compétence fédérale et donc l'interdiction relative à la résidence est en vigueur sur tout le territoire où se trouve cette espèce. On sait que les Pluviers siffleurs ont une résidence : le nid.

Information sur l'espèce :

Nom commun -- Pluvier siffleur

Nom scientifique -- Charadrius melodus (sous‑espèces circumcinctus et melodus)

Statut actuel selon le COSEPAC et année de la désignation -- En voie de disparition (2001)

Présence au Canada-- sous-espèce circumcinctus : Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba (figure 1) et Ontario; sous-espèce melodus : Québec, Terre‑Neuve, Nouveau‑Brunswick, Nouvelle‑Écosse, Île‑du‑Prince‑Édouard (figure 2)

Justification de la désignation -- Prédation, perte d'habitat et perturbation humaine

 

Distribution connue de la sous-espèce circumcinctusFigure 1. Distribution connue de la sous‑espèce circumcinctus du Pluvier siffleur dans les Prairies du Canada. Un dossier de reproduction au‑delà des limites de l'aire de répartition habituelle a été établi pour le lac Athabasca dans le nord de la Saskatchewan. En Ontario, les Pluviers siffleurs se reproduisent seulement au lac des Bois, au nord‑ouest de la rivière Rainy. Cet endroit se trouve à environ 210 km au sud‑est de Winnipeg (Manitoba).

 

Répartition connue de la sous-espèce melodus


Figure 2. Répartition connue de la sous‑espèce melodus du Pluvier siffleur dans l'est du Canada et à Saint‑Pierre‑et‑Miquelon (France).


1) Le nid

Aspect physique et contexte

Photo (J. Paul Gossen) : Nid typique du Pluvier siffleur

La résidence du Pluvier siffleur est définie comme étant le nid. Le nid est petit (de 9 à 10 cm de diamètre et de 1 à 2 cm de profondeur), une dépression en forme de bol (une coupe), habituellement entourée de petits cailloux (figure 3)5 ou de fragments de coquillages. De multiples coupes peuvent être construites dans un territoire de reproduction et il peut falloir plusieurs jours au couple pour choisir un nid. Les nids sont rarement, voire jamais, réutilisés3.

 

Photo (J.Paul Gossen : Habitat de reproduction typique du Pluvier siffleur à un lac alcalin. Remarquez l'habitat de gravier près du centre de la photographie

Sous‑espèce circumcinctus : Les Pluviers siffleurs établissent leurs nids sur des plages, des îles et des langues de sable de lacs alcalins3 (figure 4) et d'eau douce2, de langues de sables3 de rivières et, parfois, dans des habitats artificiels tels que des aires de stationnement ou des routes des digues2. Le Pluvier siffleur préfère des plages de sable larges ou de sable mélangé au gravier, ayant peu de végétation. Les nids sont rarement situés dans des zones alcalines denses des plages3. Les nids se trouvent parfois à côté de petites roches. Il est difficile de prévoir si l'habitat de nidification du Pluvier siffleur sera convenable d'une année à l'autre étant donné que les précipitations et la sécheresse influent sur les conditions des terres humides2. Les habitats de nidification des rivières et des réservoirs sont principalement touchés par le volume d'eau et le moment où l’eau arrive de la fonte de la neige des montagnes et, deuxièmement, par les grandes pluies ainsi que les opérations de gestion de l'eau.


Sous‑espèce melodus : Les Pluviers siffleurs établissent leurs nids sur les plages de sable, de cailloux, de gravier et de galets, sur les cordons d’îles, les sablières ou les péninsules qui se trouvent dans les zones côtières marines. Les plages occupées sont en général larges et, le plus souvent, elles ont peu de végétation. Les habitats artificiels tels que ceux créés par le dépôt du matériel dragué et par les zones de stationnement de gravier situées près des zones côtières sont parfois utilisés. Les tempêtes d'hiver peuvent créer un nouvel habitat de nidification dans des zones côtières qui étaient préalablement impropres à cette fonction.

Fonction

Les Pluviers siffleurs se servent normalement des nids à partir du début de mai jusqu'à la fin de juillet. La plupart des premières couvées se font au cours des deux premières semaines de mai3. Les nids ayant des œufs en avril ou en août sont rares. Chaque nid est exclusivement utilisé par un couple de Pluviers siffleurs et leurs oisillons. Une couvée comprend en général quatre œufs, qui sont pondus dans un délai de sept jours4. Les œufs sont beige pâle marqués de petites taches noires, brun‑noir ou mauve-noir et ils mesurent environ 32 mm x 24 mm3. Le mâle comme la femelle incube les œufs pendant environ 28 jours. La période d'éclosion a normalement lieu pendant plusieurs heures, mais elle peut durer de deux à trois jours1. Après l'éclosion, les jeunes à développement précoce (capables de se déplacer et de s'alimenter par eux‑mêmes dès le jour de leur éclosion et qui quittent leurs nids avec leurs parents dans un délai d'un jour ou deux après l'éclosion) restent dans le nid jusqu'à ce qu'ils soient secs. Les oisillons peuvent se déplacer quelques heures après leur éclosion et vont à la recherche de nourriture à une certaine distance du nid, mais y retournent pour être couvés par l'adulte3. Les parents et les oisillons abandonnent le nid dans un délai d'un jour après l'éclosion du dernier œuf et ne se servent plus du nid du reste de la saison de reproduction. Les parents et les jeunes peuvent rester dans le territoire où le nid a été construit, à moins que celui‑ci subisse des perturbations3, ou ils peuvent, pour d'autres raisons, changer de territoire. Au Canada, les oisillons sont capables de vols soutenus de 22 à 25 jours après leur naissance.

Endommagement et destruction de la résidence

Toute activité qui détruit la fonction du nid constituerait un dommage à la résidence ou une destruction de celle-ci. Cela comprend la perte de l'accès, de la fonction et/ou de la structure du nid. Les effets directs et indirects anthropiques sur la résidence sont d’intérêt pour la LEP. Cela comprend, mais sans y être limité, la gestion de l'eau (inondations), la gestion du bétail (piétinement des nids), les activités de loisir (p. ex. les activités sur les plages, les animaux de compagnie, les véhicules tout terrain ou les autres véhicules motorisés ou non motorisés), l’exploitation et l'extraction du sable, le déversement d'hydrocarbures et les aménagements industriels, de chalets et de paysages ou des activités de modification (nettoyage de la plage, piétinement, nivellement ou déchargement).

Période et fréquence d'occupation

Les nids actifs devraient être protégés tous les ans au cours de la période du 1er mai jusqu'au 15 août. Normalement, les Pluviers siffleurs ne produisent qu'une couvée par année, cependant, il est possible qu'ils nidifient à nouveau si les œufs sont détruits. Les adultes font preuve d'une grande fidélité aux sites de reproduction, revenant régulièrement aux habitats préalablement utilisés au cours des années subséquentes. La protection devrait comprendre la période de construction des nids, de ponte des œufs, d'incubation, d'éclosion et les périodes tout de suite après l'éclosion -- une période de temps totale d'environ 40 jours.

Références

1Boyne, A.W. 2001. Mise à jour du Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Pluvier siffleur Charadrius montanus, Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada, Ottawa, Ontario.

2Goossen, J.P., D.L. Amirault, J. Arndt, R. Bjorge, S. Boates, J. Brazil, S. Brechtel, R. Chiasson, G.N. Corbett, R. Curley, M. Elderkin, S.P. Flemming, W. Harris, L. Heyens, D. Hjertaas, M. Huot, B. Johnson, R. Jones, W. Koonz, P. Laporte, D. McAskill, R.I.G. Morrison, S. Richard, F. Shaffer, C. Stewart, L. Swanson et E. Wiltse. 2002. Plan national de rétablissement pour le Pluvier siffleur (Charadrius melodus), Plan national de rétablissement no 22, Rétablissement des espèces canadiennes en péril, Ottawa.

3Haig, S.M. 1992. « Piping Plover », dans The Birds of North America, no 2 (A. Poole, P. Stettenheim, et F. Gill, éd), Philadelphia, The Academy of Natural Sciences, Washington, DC, The American Ornithologists' Union.

4Murphy, R.K., B.G. Root, P.M. Mayer, J.P. Goossen et K.A. Smith. 1999. A draft protocol for assessing Piping Plover reproductive success on Great Plains alkali lakes, pages 90‑107 (K.F. Higgins, M.R. Brashier et C.D. Kruse, éd), Proceedings, Piping Plovers and Least Terns of the Great Plains and nearby, Brookings, South Dakota State University, 132 pages.

5Whyte, A.J. 1985. Breeding ecology of the Piping Plover (Charadrius melodus) in central Saskatchewan, thèse de maîtrise, University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon (Saskatchewan), 153 pages.