Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Mormon Metalmark (Apodemia mormo), Southern Mountain Population, in Canada [Proposed] - 2017

Species at Risk Act
Recovery Strategy Series

Adopted under Section 44 of SARA

Mormon Metalmark

Photo of Mormon Metalmark
Credit: Jennifer Heron © B.C. Ministry of Environment

Part 1 - Table of contents

List of figures

  • Figure 1. Critical habitat for Mormon Metalmark at Keremeos (location #2), Bullock Creek, N (location #9), and Keremeos, SW – Riverside Estates (location #16), B.C. is represented by the yellow shaded polygons (unit(s)), in accordance with the criteria set out in Section 7.1. The detailed polygons show a total of 328.6 ha containing critical habitat at these locations (16.7 ha at #2 and 311.8 ha at #9 & #16).
  • Figure 2. Critical habitat for Mormon Metalmark at Richter Mountain, SW (location #3) and Frank Lake, N (location #14), B.C. is represented by the yellow shaded polygons (unit(s)), in accordance with the criteria set out in Section 7.1. The detailed polygons show a total of 300.2 ha containing critical habitat at these locations (224.37 ha at #3 and 75.9 ha at #14).
  • Figure 3. Critical habitat for Mormon Metalmark at Similkameen River – Goat view, B.C. (location #5) is represented by the yellow shaded polygon (unit), in accordance with the criteria set out in Section 7.1. The detailed polygon shows a total of 130.3 ha containing critical habitat at this location.
  • Figure 4. Critical habitat for Mormon Metalmark at Keremeos-Suncatchers, B.C. (location #6) is represented by the yellow shaded polygon (unit), in accordance with the criteria set out in Section 7.1. The detailed polygon shows a total of 74.6 ha containing critical habitat at this location.
  • Figure 5. Critical habitat for Mormon Metalmark at Olalla, B.C. (location #7) is represented by the yellow shaded polygons (unit(s)), in accordance with the criteria set out in Section 7.1. The detailed polygons show a total of 94.9 ha containing critical habitat at this location.
  • Figure 6. Critical habitat for Mormon Metalmark at Keremeos – Gravel Pit (location #10) and Cawston, W of (location #13), B.C. are represented by the yellow shaded polygons (unit(s)), in accordance with the criteria set out in Section 7.1. The detailed polygons show a total of 246.2 ha containing critical habitat at these locations (75.9 ha at #10 and 170.3 ha at #13).
  • Figure 7. Critical habitat for Mormon Metalmark Southern Mountain population at Paul Creek, North, B.C. (location #12) is represented by the yellow shaded polygon (unit), in accordance with the criteria set out in Section 7.1. The detailed polygon shows a total of 61.1 ha containing critical habitat at this location.
  • Figure 8. Critical habitat for Mormon Metalmark Southern Mountain population at Spotted Lake, B.C. (location #15) is represented by the yellow shaded polygon (unit), in accordance with the criteria set out in Section 7.1. The detailed polygon shows a total of 113.7 ha containing critical habitat at this location.

List of tables

  • Table 1. Conservation status of Mormon Metalmark Southern Mountain population (from NatureServe 2015 and B.C. conservation framework 2015).
  • Table 2. Summary of Mormon Metalmark Southern Mountain population locations in Canada, as of 2015. Location numbers align with those provided by COSEWIC (2014), with the addition of location 17 (not numbered by COSEWIC); with last observation (Last Obs.) and status shown for each site.
  • Table 3. IUCN-CMP threats classification for Mormon Metalmark Southern Mountain population.
  • Table 4. Summary of ongoing recovery-related Mormon Metalmark work completed as of 2015.
  • Table 5. Recovery planning table for Mormon Metalmark Southern Mountain population in Canada. Threats are according to the IUCN-CMP classification (refer to Table 3). Priority is characterized as essential (urgent and important, needs to start immediately), necessary (important but not urgent, action can start in 2-5 years), or beneficial (action would be beneficial at any time that it was feasible to start).
  • Table 6. Schedule of studies to identify critical habitat.
  • Table 7. Activities likely to result in the destruction of critical habitat for Mormon Metalmark Southern Mountain population. IUCN threat numbers are in accordance with the IUCN-CMP (World Conservation Union–Conservation Measures Partnership) unified threats classification system (CMP 2010).

Part 2 - Table of contents

List of tables

  • Table 1. Recovery criteria used to assess the technical and ecological feasibility of recovery of the Mormon Metalmark
  • Table 2. Strategies and approaches to achieve recovery objectives
  • Table 3. Schedule of studies

List of figures

  • Figure 1. Mormon Metalmark ventral wing surface.
  • Figure 2. Mormon Metalmark dorsal wing surface.
  • Figure 3. North American range of Apodemia mormo.
  • Figure 4. Range of the Mormon Metalmark within the Southern Mountain population.
Table of contents

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du mormon (Apodemia mormo), population des montagnes du Sud, au Canada - 2017 [Proposition]

Loi sur les espèces en péril
Série de Programmes de rétablissement

Adoption en vertu de l’article 44 de la LEP

Mormon

Photo de Mormon Metalmark
Source : Jennifer Heron © B.C. Ministry of Environment

Partie 1 – Table des matières

Liste des figures

  • Figure 1. L’habitat essentiel du mormon à Keremeos (localité 2), au nord du ruisseau Bullock (localité 9) et au sud-ouest de Keremeos – Riverside Estates (localité 16), en Colombie-Britannique, est représenté par les polygones jaunes (unités), conformément aux critères établis à la section 7.1. Les polygones détaillés montrent une superficie totale de 328,6 ha renfermant de l’habitat essentiel à ces localités (16,7 ha à la localité 2 et 311,8 ha aux localités 9 et 16).
  • Figure 2. L’habitat essentiel du mormon au sud-ouest du mont Richter (localité 3) et au nord du lac Frank (localité 14), en Colombie-Britannique, est représenté par les polygones jaunes (unités), conformément aux critères établis à la section 7.1. Les polygones détaillés montrent une superficie totale de 300,2 ha renfermant de l’habitat essentiel à ces localités (224,3 ha à la localité 3 et 75,9 ha à la localité 14).
  • Figure 3. L’habitat essentiel du mormon à la rivière Similkameen – Goat View (localité 5), en Colombie-Britannique, est représenté par le polygone jaune (unité), conformément aux critères établis à la section 7.1. Le polygone détaillé montre une superficie totale de 130,3 ha renfermant de l’habitat essentiel à cette localité.
  • Figure 4.L’habitat essentiel du mormon à Keremeos – Suncatchers (localité 6), en Colombie-Britannique, est représenté par le polygone jaune (unité), conformément aux critères établis à la section 7.1. Le polygone détaillé montre une superficie totale de 74,6 ha renfermant de l’habitat essentiel à cette localité.
  • Figure 5. L’habitat essentiel du mormon à Ollala (localité 6), en Colombie-Britannique, est représenté par les polygones jaunes (unités), conformément aux critères établis à la section 7.1. Les polygones détaillés montrent une superficie totale de 94,9 ha renfermant de l’habitat essentiel à cette localité.
  • Figure 6. L’habitat essentiel du mormon à Keremeos – gravière (localité 10) et à l’ouest de Cawston (localité 13), en Colombie-Britannique, est représenté par les polygones jaunes (unités), conformément aux critères établis à la section 7.1. Les polygones détaillés montrent une superficie totale de 246,2 ha renfermant de l’habitat essentiel à ces localités (75,9 ha à la localité 10 et 170,3 à la localité 13).
  • Figure 7. L’habitat essentiel du mormon au nord du ruisseau Paul (localité 12), en Colombie-Britannique, est représenté par le polygone jaune (unité), conformément aux critères établis à la section 7.1. Le polygone détaillé montre une superficie totale de 61,1 ha renfermant de l’habitat essentiel à cette localité.
  • Figure 8. L’habitat essentiel du mormon au lac Spotted (localité 15), en Colombie-Britannique, est représenté par le polygone jaune (unité), conformément aux critères établis à la section 7.1. Le polygone détaillé montre une superficie totale de 113,7 ha renfermant de l’habitat essentiel à cette localité.

Liste des tableaux

  • Tableau 1. Cotes de conservation attribuées au mormon, population des montagnes du Sud (tirées de NatureServe [2015] et de B.C. Conservation Framework [2015]).
  • Tableau 2. Tableau sommaire des localités de la population de mormons des montagnes du Sud au Canada en date de 2015. Le tableau présente les mêmes numéros de localités que ceux présentés par le COSEPAC (COSEWIC, 2014) en y ajoutant la localité 17 (à laquelle le COSEPAC n’avait pas assigné de numéro) et en indiquant la dernière observation et le statut de la localité.
  • Tableau 3. Classification IUCN-CMP des menaces qui pèsent sur la population de mormons des montagnes du Sud.
  • Tableau 4. Résumé des travaux liés au rétablissement du mormon terminés en date de 2015.
  • Tableau 5. Tableau de planification du rétablissement du mormon, population des montagnes du Sud, au Canada. Les menaces correspondent aux catégories de la classification de l’IUCN-CMP (voir le tableau 3). La priorité est caractérisée comme essentielle (mesures urgentes et importantes, qui doivent être prises immédiatement), nécessaire (mesures importantes mais pas urgentes, qui doivent être prises d’ici 2 à 5 ans) ou bénéfique (mesures qui pourront être prises lorsque cela sera possible).
  • Tableau 6. Calendrier des études visant à désigner l’habitat essentiel.
  • Tableau 7. Activités susceptibles d’entraîner la destruction de l’habitat essentiel du mormon, population des montagnes du Sud. Les menaces sont numérotées selon le système unifié de classification des menaces de l’IUCN-CMP (Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature-Partenariat pour les mesures de conservation) (CMP, 2010).

Partie 2 – Table des matières

Liste des tableaux

  • Tableau 1. Critères servant à évaluer le caractère réalisable du rétablissement du mormon sur les plans technique et écologique.
  • Tableau 2. Stratégies et approches pour l’atteinte des objectifs de rétablissement
  • Tableau 3. Calendrier des études

Liste des figures

  • Figure 1. Dessous des ailes du mormon.
  • Figure 2. Dessus des ailes du mormon.
  • Figure 3. Aire de répartition de l'Apodemia mormo en Amérique du Nord
  • Figure 4. Aire de répartition de la population de mormons des montagnes du Sud.
Table des matières