Description of Critical Habitat of Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus in Point Pelee National Park of Canada

Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus (Opuntia humifusa) is a species listed on Schedule 1 to the Species at Risk Act as endangered. Critical habitat for Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus is identified within the final Recovery Strategy for the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus (Opuntia humifusa) in Canada.

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to subsection 58(2) of the Species at Risk Act, critical habitat of Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus in Point Pelee National Park of Canada, as identified on the National Topographic System (NTS) Map 40G/15 (Edition 7, printed 2001), is described as three primary successional Lake Erie Sand Spit Savanna vegetation types, according to the Ecological Land Classification (ELC), in which the cactus is currently found. These types are (1) Little Bluestem-Switchgrass-Beachgrass Open Graminoid Sand Dunes, (2) Hoptree Shrub Sand Dunes, and (3) Red Cedar Treed Sand Dunes. The remaining parts of the species’ critical habitat within Point Pelee National Park of Canada are identified as a circle with a radius of 25 m from the centre point of each of the following two groups of Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus microsites (one or more groups of cacti less than 1.0 m from other groups): (1) those found in secondary ELC vegetation types that are degraded Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannas, and (2) those found in sites that have succeeded beyond optimal conditions for the species, such that the cactus is considered to be a relict of past conditions.

Existing anthropogenic features, including, but not limited to, parking lots, roads, trails, footpaths, cemeteries and septic fields, are excluded from the species’ critical habitat. Areas where all Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus microsites have been planted or transplanted, where records remain unverified or where its location or origin is uncertain, are not considered critical habitat. Two areas within Point Pelee National Park of Canada currently fit within this category. Complete geographical descriptions of these two areas are housed at Point Pelee National Park of Canada.

Precise geographic locations for Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus critical habitat are not presented here to protect the species from the threat of collection. Further details regarding Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus critical habitat can be found at the Species at Risk Public Registry Web site.

March 11, 2011

GEOFFREY HANCOCK
Superintendent
Southwestern Ontario Field Unit

| Introductory Page |

Description de l'habitat essentiel de l'oponce de l'Est dans le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée du Canada

L’oponce de l’Est (Opuntia humifusa) est une espèce inscrite à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril à titre d’espèce en voie de disparition. L’habitat essentiel de l’oponce de l’Est est décrit dans la version définitive du Programme de rétablissement de l’oponce de l’Est (Opuntia humifusa) au Canada.

Avis est donné, conformément au paragraphe 58(2) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, qu’une partie de l’habitat essentiel de l’oponce de l’Est dans le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée du Canada, comme l’indique la carte 40G/15 (7e édition, impression 2001) du Système national de référence cartographique (SNRC), est constituée des trois communautés végétales de succession primaire des savanes des flèches de sable du lac Érié, selon la classification écologique des terres (CET), où pousse actuellement l’oponce de l’Est. Il s’agit des communautés végétales suivantes : 1) herbaçaies dunaires à graminoïdes, type à barbon à balais, à panic raide et à ammophile à ligule courte, 2) arbustaies dunaires à ptéléa trifolié et 3) arboraies dunaires à genévrier de Virginie. Les autres parcelles de l’habitat essentiel de l’espèce dans le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée du Canada sont définies par un cercle ayant un rayon de 25 m à partir du centre de chacun des deux microsites d’oponces de l’Est suivants (un ou plusieurs groupes d’oponces situés à moins d’un mètre d’un autre groupe) : 1) ceux se trouvant dans les communautés végétales de succession secondaire de la CET qui sont des savanes des flèches de sable du lac Érié dégradées et 2) ceux se trouvant dans les sites où l’espèce s’est maintenue en présence de conditions de croissance subobtimales, de sorte que l’oponce est considéré comme une relique.

Les éléments anthropiques existants, tels que stationnements, routes, sentiers, allées piétonnières, cimetières et champs d’épuration, entre autres, sont exclus de l’habitat essentiel. Les microsites où l’oponce de l’Est a été planté ou transplanté, les sites non validés et les sites dont l’emplacement exact ou l’origine est incertain ne constituent pas un habitat essentiel. Dans le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée du Canada, deux sites appartiennent à cette catégorie. Une description détaillée de l’emplacement de ces deux sites est conservée au parc national de la Pointe-Pelée du Canada.

L’emplacement géographique précis de l’habitat essentiel de l’oponce de l’Est n’est pas décrit dans le présent avis afin de protéger l’espèce contre les risques de cueillette. Pour plus de détails sur l’habitat essentiel de l’oponce de l’Est, consultez le site Web du Registre public des espèces en péril.

Le 11 mars 2011

Le directeur
Unité de gestion du Sud-Ouest de l’Ontario
GEOFFREY HANCOCK

| Page d'introduction |