Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Information Summary on the Proposed Listing of Silver Lamprey (Great Lakes - Upper St. Lawrence populations) as Special Concern under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)

Illustration of a Silver Lamprey by E. Edmondson, New York State Department of Environmental Conservation

As part of the consultation process, the Government of Canada would like to hear your comments on the potential impacts of listing Silver Lamprey ( (Ichthyomyzon unicuspis) as “special concern” under the Species at Risk Act(SARA). Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) has prepared this summary to provide information on the status of this species in Canada.

Canada proclaimed the Species at Risk Act(SARA) in 2003 as part of a strategy to provide for the legal protection of wildlife species and the conservation of biological diversity.

An independent committee of experts, the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC), has the mandate to conduct assessments on the status of wildlife species and categorize them according to their level of risk for extinction (extinct, extirpated, endangered, threatened, or special concern).

The Government of Canada considers COSEWIC’sassessment, in addition to potential socioeconomic impacts and feedback received from Canadians themselves before deciding whether or not to include the species on the List of Wildlife Species at Risk under SARA.

Once listed, recovery strategies are prepared for extirpated, endangered, and threatened species. Management Plans are prepared for species of special concern. Species of special concern are not subject to automatic prohibitions.

About Silver Lamprey

The Silver Lamprey is an eel-shaped fish that possesses a sucking disc mouth and is without jaws or paired fins. In the larval phase, the Silver Lamprey construct shallow burrows, typically in sand or silt. The larval phase lasts four-to-seven years before they begin a metamorphosis where they also develop eyes and teeth, and may drift downstream into lakes or rivers. Adult Silver Lampreys are parasitic, feeding on the flesh and body fluid of other fishes. Length ranges in size from nine-to-39 cm.

They occur in freshwater in parts of eastern North America, with a range extending from Manitoba to Tennessee in the west, to Québec and New York in the east. Silver Lamprey in the Great Lakes-Upper St. Lawrence River population have been documented in 41 streams and 7 lakes including Lake Ontario, Lake Huron, Lake Superior, Lake Erie, Lake St. Clair, Lake Nipissing, Lac St. Pierre and Lac St. Louis.

Special Concern Status

Silver Lamprey has been assessed by (COSEWIC) as a species of "special concern". This is the lowest level of risk category and indicates that this species is not presently endangered, but is considered to be sensitive to human activities and natural events due to biological factors and/or threats. If listed under SARAas"special concern", Silver Lamprey will not be subject to prohibitions.

Threats

Key threats include control measures designed to target a specific invasive species in the Great Lakes tributaries - the Sea Lamprey. Specifically, the lampricide applications and the construction of barriers that limit the migration of Sea Lamprey to spawning areas also create threats for the native Silver Lamprey. The Silver Lamprey is also vulnerable to pollution, habitat alteration, dam construction, siltation, water fluctuations and competition from invasive species, including the Sea Lamprey.

Special Significance

Lampreys are descended from the most ancestral lineage of vertebrates and may provide insight into evolutionary pathways. Additionally, they have been used as biomonitors of containment levels and may perform important ecosystem services as filter feeders. Silver Lamprey is an important component of the predator-prey relationship for native fishes in the Great Lakes and Upper St. Lawrence River.

Protection and recovery

If Silver Lamprey is added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk as a species of "special concern", it will not be subject to prohibitions under under SARA; however Fisheries and Oceans Canada will be required to produce a Management Plan for the species in an effort to ensure that it does not become endangered due to human activity. The Management Plan will include conservation measures for the species and set goals and objectives for maintaining sustainable population levels.

Socio-Economic Impacts

An analysis of potential social and economic impacts of listing the Silver Lamprey will be conducted.

Management measures

If Silver Lamprey is listed under SARA, Fisheries and Oceans Canada will, in collaboration and consultation with stakeholders and partners, use the best available information to develop a Management Plan to address threats and help identify gaps in our knowledge of the species, so that necessary research can be undertaken to better inform future management decisions.

Your feedback is important

The Government of Canada would like your opinion on listing Silver Lamprey as "special concern"; under SARA, and on the impacts that listing would have on you, your industry, and/or the ecosystem. Your answers will be used to help decide whether or not to list the species under SARA:

  1. How would your activities be affected if Silver Lamprey was listed as "special concern" ?
  2. What would be the environmental, social, cultural, and economic impacts of listing Silver Lamprey ?
  3. Do you support listing Silver Lamprey as "special concern"? Why or why not?
  4. Do you represent an industry, community, Aboriginal community or organization, or other group? If so, which one?

To submit your responses or to receive further information, please contact:

In Ontario:
Species at Risk Management
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
501 University Crescent
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2N6
Email: fwisar@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Toll-free: 1-866-538-1609

In Quebec:
Species at Risk Management
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
P.O.Box 1000,
Mont-Joli (Quebec) G5H 3Z4
Email: lep-sara-qc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Toll-free: 1-877-775-0848

| Introductory Page|

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sommaire d’information sur la proposition d’inscription de la lamproie argentée (populations des Grands Lacs et du haut Saint-Laurent) comme espèce préoccupante en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)

Illustration de la lamproie argentée de E. Edmondson, État de New York département de la Conservation de l’environnement

Le gouvernement du Canada souhaite recueillir vos commentaires sur les répercussions potentielles de l’inscription de la lamproie argentée, populations des Grands Lacs et du haut Saint-Laurent en tant qu’espèce préoccupante en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). Pêches et Océans Canada a préparé ce sommaire afin de fournir de l’information sur la situation de cette espèce au Canada.

La Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)

En 2003, le Canada a fait de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) une des composantes de sa stratégie visant à assurer la protection des espèces sauvages et à assurer la conservation de la diversité biologique.

Un comité d’experts indépendants, le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC), a pour mandat d’évaluer la situation des espèces sauvages et de les classer en fonction de leur niveau de risque de disparition (espèce disparue, disparue du pays, en voie de disparition, menacée ou préoccupante).

Le gouvernement du Canada tient compte de l’évaluation du COSEPAC, ainsi que des répercussions socioéconomiques possibles et des commentaires des Canadiens avant de décider d’ajouter ou non une espèce à la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP.

Une fois l’espèce inscrite à la Liste des espèces en péril, des programmes de rétablissement sont élaborés pour les espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition et menacées et des plans de gestion sont élaborés pour les espèces préoccupantes. Les espèces préoccupantes ne font pas l’objet d’interdictions automatiques.

À propos de la lamproie argentée

La lamproie argentée est un poisson anguilliforme. Elle possède un disque buccal suceur, elle n’a ni mâchoires ni nageoires paires. Pendant la phase larvaire, la lamproie argentée creuse des terriers peu profonds, généralement dans le sable ou le limon. La phase larvaire dure de quatre à sept ans et est suivie d’une métamorphose au cours de laquelle se forment les yeux et les dents. La lamproie peut alors migrer vers l’aval en direction des lacs et des rivières. La lamproie argentée adulte est parasite et se nourrit de la chair et des liquides organiques d’autres poissons. Elle mesure entre neuf et trente-neuf centimètres.

La lamproie argentée se retrouve dans les eaux douces de certaines parties de l’est de l’Amérique du Nord; son aire de répartition s’étend du Manitoba au Tennessee à l’ouest, et du Québec à l’État de New York à l’est. Dans la région des Grands Lacs et du haut Saint-Laurent, la lamproie argentée est présente dans 41 ruisseaux et 7 lacs, dont le lac Ontario, le lac Huron, le lac Supérieur, le lac Érié, le lac Sainte-Claire, le lac Nipissing, le lac Saint-Pierre et le lac Saint-Louis.

Espèce préoccupante

La lamproie argentée a été désignée par le COSEPACcomme espèce « préoccupante ». Il s’agit du niveau de risque le plus faible, qui indique que cette espèce n’est pas actuellement en péril, mais qu’elle est considérée vulnérable aux activités humaines et aux phénomènes naturels en raison de facteurs biologiques ou de menaces qui pèsent sur elle. Si elle est ajoutée comme espèce préoccupante à la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP, la lamproie argentée ne sera pas soumise aux interdictions automatiques.

Menaces

Les menaces principales à cette espèce comprennent les mesures de contrôle qui ciblent la lamproie marine, une espèce envahissante retrouvée dans les affluents des Grands Lacs, plus particulièrement les applications de lampricide et la construction de barrières qui limitent sa migration vers les zones de fraie. Ces mesures affectent également les lamproies indigènes comme la lamproie argentée. Cette lamproie est également vulnérable à la pollution, à la perturbation de son habitat, à la construction de barrages, aux variations des niveaux d’eau et à la compétition des espèces envahissantes, dont la lamproie marine.

Importance spéciale

Les lamproies descendent de la lignée la plus ancienne de vertébrés et peuvent offrir, à ce titre, des indications intéressantes sur l’origine et l’évolution de ceux-ci. De plus, elles ont été utilisées comme indicateur biologique des niveaux de contaminants et peuvent remplir un rôle écologique important en tant qu’organisme filtreur. La lamproie argentée est aussi une composante importante de la relation prédateur-proie pour les poissons indigènes des Grands Lacs et du haut Saint-Laurent.

Protection et rétablissement

Si la lamproie argentée est ajoutée à la Liste des espèces en péril en tant qu’espèce préoccupante, elle ne sera pas soumise aux interdictions de la LEP. Néanmoins, Pêches et Océans Canada sera tenu d’élaborer un plan de gestion pour l’espèce afin d’empêcher que les activités humaines ne la mettent davantage en péril. Le plan de gestion comprendra des mesures de conservation et fixera des buts et des objectifs visant à assurer la pérennité des populations.

Répercussions socioéconomiques

Une analyse des répercussions socioéconomiques possibles de l’ajout de la lamproie argentée sur la Liste des espèces en péril sera effectuée.

Mesures de gestion

Si la lamproie argentée est ajoutée à la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP, Pêches et Océans Canada, en collaboration et en consultation avec les intervenants et les partenaires, utilisera la meilleure information disponible afin d’élaborer un plan de gestion qui décrira les menaces et aidera à cerner les lacunes dans les connaissances sur l’espèce. Ceci permettra d’entreprendre les recherches nécessaires pour mieux préciser les décisions en matière de gestion.

Vos commentaires sont importants

Le gouvernement du Canada aimerait connaître votre point de vue sur l’ajout de la lamproie argentée, à titre d’espèce préoccupante, à la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP, et sur les répercussions possibles que cet ajout pourrait avoir sur vous, votre secteur d’activité et l’écosystème. Vos réponses aux questions suivantes seront utilisées afin d’éclairer la prise de décision relative à l’inscription de l’espèce:

  1. Si la lamproie argentée était inscrite à la Liste des espèces en péril en tant qu’espèce « préoccupante », quelles répercussions cela aurait-il sur vos activités?
  2. Que seraient les répercussions environnementales, sociales, culturelles et économiques si cette espèce était ajoutée à la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP?
  3. Êtes-vous favorable à l’inscription de la lamproie argentée à la Liste des espèces en péril en tant qu’espèce préoccupante? Pourquoi l’êtes-vous ou pourquoi ne l’êtes-vous pas?
  4. Représentez-vous une industrie, une entité collective, un groupe autochtone ou un autre groupe? Si c’est le cas, de quelle entité ou de quel secteur d’activité ou groupe s’agit-il?

Pour soumettre vos réponses ou recevoir plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec:

En Ontario
Gestion des espèces en péril
Pêches et Océans Canada
501, University Crescent
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3T 2N6
Courriel: fwisar@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Numéro sans frais : 1-866-538-1609

Au Québec
Gestion des espèces en péril
Pêches et Océans Canada
Case postale 1000
Mont-Joli (Québec) G5H 3Z4
Courriel: lep-sara-qc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Numéro sans frais : 1-877-775-0848

| Page d'introduction |