Cutlip Minnow

Consultations on listing under the Species at Risk Act

Illustration of Cutlip Minno
Source: E. Edmonson, New York State Department of Environmental Conservation

The Cutlip Minnow has been assessed by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) as a species of special concern. A species of special concern is a species that is at risk of becoming threatened or endangered because of a combination of biological characteristics and identified threats.

Before deciding whether this species will be added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk of the Species at Risk Act(SARA), Fisheries and Oceans Canada would like your opinion, comments and suggestions regarding the possible environmental, cultural and economic impacts of listing or not listing this species. The purposes of SARA are to prevent wildlife species from becoming extinct, to provide for their recovery and to conserve biological diversity.

Please provide your input by February 27, 2015.

 

view of the tri-lobed lower lip of a Cutlip Minnow
Credit: Nate Tessler

The Cutlip Minnow is a small freshwater fish in the Cyprinidea family (minnow). It can reach a length of about 160 mm. It can be distinguished from all other fish species by its stout body, silvery sides with a greenish purple sheen and tri-lobed lower lip.

In Canada, the Cutlip Minnow is found in the St. Lawrence River watershed, from Ivy Lea, Ontario to Saint-Pascal, Quebec. In Ontario, the species is now found in only three of the seven waterbodies where it was historically present. The species is more widespread in Quebec but, since 2002, it has been collected in only 79 of 206 waterbodies where it was historically present. It is difficult to determine if this is the result of a decline in the species, of a lack of sampling in more recent times, or a combination thereof.

 

Distribution map of the Cutlip Minnow in Canada

Description

Map of the distribution of Cutlip Minnow. In Canada, the Cutlip Minnow is found in the St. Lawrence River watershed, from Ivy Lea, Ontario, in the west to Saint-Pascal, Quebec in the east.

Map

WHAT HAPPENS IF THE SPECIES IS ADDED TO THE LIST OF WILDLIFE SPECIES AT RISK?

In 2013, the Cutlip Minnow was assessed by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) as a species of special concern. This committee of specialists assesses Canadian wildlife species based on the best available information, which includes scientific data, community knowledge and Aboriginal traditional knowledge.

If the species is added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk of the Species at Risk Act, a management plan will be developed. The plan will define the measures to be implemented to reduce the threats caused by human activities. Given the special concern status of the Cutlip Minnow, automatic prohibitions (for example, killing, harming, catching) in the Species at Risk Act do not apply.

PROVINCIAL STATUS

In Ontario, the Cutlip Minnow is designated as a threatened species under the Endangered Species Act, 2007, and a provincial recovery strategy has been prepared. In Quebec, the species is not on the province’s list of threatened or vulnerable species under the Act respecting threatened or vulnerable species.

For more information about the Cutlip Minnow

Habitat and Life Cycle

The Cutlip Minnow is found primarily in clear rivers and streams with slow current and channel substrate composed of cobbles, gravel, sand, mud and aquatic vegetation. During the spawning period, in spring or early summer, the male builds a nest by moving small stones one by one. When the nest is ready, he lets one female lay her eggs, which he simultaneously fertilizes. After spawning, he maintains the nest and defends his eggs and fry. The Cutlip Minnow is a bottom feeder, consuming a variety of aquatic invertebrates.

Threats

Little is known about threats that are specific to the Cutlip Minnow. The species may be intolerant of persistent turbidity and excessive siltation, both potential consequences of some agricultural and urban activities. The Round Goby and the Tench, two invasive species known to negatively impact native fishes, may also have adverse effects on the Cutlip Minnow.

Special Significance

The Cutlip Minnow possesses several characteristics that make it unique. For example, it is the only North American minnow to have a tri-lobed lower lip, and one of the few minnows that demonstrate post-hatching care of fry. It is also known to attack and consume the eyes of other species of fish, which is the source of its slang common name, “eye picker.”

Cutlip Minnow in a hand
During a survey, this fish was captured and then released unharmed back into the water. (Photo credit: Nate Tessler)


Questionnaire on the listing of Cutlip Minnow under the Species at Risk Act

The purpose of this questionnaire is to obtain your comments on adding the Cutlip Minnow to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk included under the federal Species at Risk Act.

  1. Do you support adding the Cutlip Minnow to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk? Why?
    Yes
    No

  2. What would be the positive impacts of listing the Cutlip Minnow on your activities, the community, the environment,
    the culture and economy?

  3. What would be the negative impacts of listing the Cutlip Minnow on your activities, the community, the environment,
    the culture and economy?

  4. Do you have any other comments on listing the Cutlip Minnow?

  5. Indicate your background (e.g. fisheries, environment). If you are answering on behalf of an Aboriginal community, an industry, a small business1, a community or organisation, please specify.

  6. In what province or territory do you live? In what province or territory does your organization operate?

  7. If the Cutlip Minnow is listed, do you want to help with its recovery or survival?

 

Your name, your email address (optional − if you want a follow-up from us).

 

The purpose of these questions is to obtain your comments on adding the Cutlip Minnow to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk. If you cannot use our interactive questionnaire (413,5 KB), please submit your comments using the comment form.

 

Do not hesitate to contact us for any inquiries.

Quebec
Species at Risk Management
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Maurice Lamontagne Institute
850 route de la Mer, P.O. Box 1000
Mont-Joli, Quebec, G5H 3Z4
Phone: 1-877-775-0848
Email: lep-sara-qc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Ontario
Species at Risk Program
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Freshwater Institute
501 University Crescent
Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3T 2N6
Phone: 204-984-0599 or 1-866-538-1609
Email: fwisar@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Le bec-de-lièvre

Consultations sur l’inscription en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Illustration d'un bec-de-lièvre.  Source: E. Edmonson, New York State Department of Environmental Conservation
Source: E. Edmonson, New York State Department of Environmental Conservation

Le bec-de-lièvre a été évalué comme espèce préoccupante par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC). Une espèce préoccupante est une espèce qui risque de devenir menacée ou en voie de disparition en raison d’une conjugaison de facteurs biologiques et de menaces reconnues.

Avant de décider si cette espèce sera ajoutée à la Liste des espèces en péril de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP), Pêches et Océans Canada souhaite obtenir votre opinion, vos commentaires et suggestions au sujet des répercussions écologiques, culturelles et économiques possibles de son inscription ou de sa non-inscription. La LEP vise à prévenir la disparition des espèces sauvages, à prévoir leur rétablissement et à assurer la conservation de la diversité biologique.

Veuillez SVP fournir vos commentaires d’ici le 27 février 2015.

 

Vu de la lèvre inférieure à trois lobes
Crédit : Nate Tessler

Le bec-de-lièvre est un petit poisson d’eau douce de la famille des cyprins (ou ménés). Il peut atteindre une longueur d’environ 160 mm. Il se distingue des autres espèces de poisson par son corps trapu, ses flancs argentés aux teintes violet verdâtre et sa lèvre inférieure à trois lobes.

Au Canada, le bec-de-lièvre vit dans le bassin versant du fleuve Saint-Laurent, depuis Ivy Lea, en Ontario, jusqu’à Saint-Pascal au Québec. En Ontario, l’espèce occupe maintenant trois des sept plans d’eau où elle se trouvait autrefois. Au Québec, l’espèce est plus répandue, mais depuis 2002, sa présence a été confirmée seulement dans 79 plans d’eau sur les 206 où elle était présente autrefois. Il est difficile de déterminer si cette baisse résulte d’un déclin de l’espèce ou d’un manque d’activités d’échantillonnages récentes, ou des deux.

 

La répartition du bec-de-lièvre au Canada

Description

Carte de l’aire de répartition du bec-de-lièvre. Au Canada, le bec-de-lièvre vit dans le bassin versant du fleuve Saint-Laurent, depuis Ivy Lea, en Ontario à l’ouest, jusqu’à Saint-Pascal au Québec à l’est.

Carte

ET SI L’ESPÈCE EST AJOUTÉE À LA LISTE DES ESPÈCES EN PÉRIL ?

En 2013, le bec-de-lièvre a été évalué comme étant une espèce à statut préoccupant par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC). Ce comité, composé de spécialistes, évalue les espèces sauvages du Canada en se basant sur la meilleure information disponible, ce qui inclut les données scientifiques, les connaissances de la collectivité et le savoir traditionnel autochtone.

Si l’espèce est ajoutée à la Liste des espèces en péril de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, un plan de gestion sera élaboré. Ce document décrira les mesures à mettre en place pour réduire les menaces dues aux activités humaines. Étant donné le statut préoccupant du bec-de-lièvre, les interdictions automatiques (par exemple, interdit de tuer, nuire, capturer) prévues à la Loi sur les espèces en péril ne s’appliquent pas.

STATUT PROVINCIAL

En Ontario, le bec-de-lièvre est désigné espèce menacée en vertu de la Loi de 2007 sur les espèces en voie de disparition et un programme de rétablissement provincial a été rédigé. Au Québec, l’espèce ne figure pas sur la Liste des espèces désignées menacées ou vulnérables en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces menacées ou vulnérables.

Pour en savoir plus sur le bec-de-lièvre

Habitat et cycle de vie

Le bec-de-lièvre vit principalement dans des ruisseaux ou des rivières à l’eau claire, au courant lent, au fond composé de galet, gravier, sable, boue, et généralement couvert de végétation aquatique. Pendant la période de fraie, au printemps ou au début de l’été, le mâle construit un nid en transportant un à un de petits cailloux. Lorsque le nid est prêt, il laisse une femelle y déposer ses oeufs qu’il fertilise au même moment. Après la fraie, il entretient le nid et défend les oeufs et les alevins qui s’y trouvent. Le bec-de-lièvre se nourrit sur le fond des cours d’eau d’une variété d’invertébrés aquatiques.

Menaces

Les menaces spécifiques pesant sur le bec-de-lièvre sont peu connues. L’espèce tolère probablement mal la turbidité persistante et l’envasement excessif, deux conséquences possibles de certaines activités agricoles et urbaines. Le gobie à taches noires et la tanche, deux espèces envahissantes réputées pour nuire aux poissons indigènes, pourraient aussi avoir des effets néfastes sur le bec-de-lièvre.

Importance de l'espèce

Le bec-de-lièvre possède plusieurs caractéristiques qui le rendent unique. Par exemple, il est le seul méné d’Amérique du Nord à posséder une lèvre inférieure à trois lobes et l’un des rares à s’occuper de ses alevins après l’éclosion. L’espèce est aussi réputée pour attaquer et manger les yeux des autres espèces de poissons, ce qui est à l’origine de son nom familier en anglais « eye picker ».

Photo d'un bec-de-lièvre dans un main

Dans le cadre d’un inventaire, ce poisson a été capturé et remis à l’eau vivant. (Crédit photo : Nate Tessler)


Questionnaire sur l’inscription du bec-de-lièvre en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Ce questionnaire vise à recueillir vos commentaires sur l’ajout du bec-de-lièvre à la Liste des espèces en péril de la Loi sur les espèces en péril.

  1. Êtes-vous en faveur de l’ajout du bec-de-lièvre à la Liste des espèces en péril ? Pourquoi ?
    Oui
    Non

  2. Quels seraient les impacts positifs sur vos activités, votre communauté, l’environnement, la culture et l’économie si le
    bec-de-lièvre était inscrit ?

  3. Quels seraient les impacts négatifs sur vos activités, votre communauté, l’environnement, la culture et l’économie si
    le bec-de-lièvre était inscrit ?

  4. Avez-vous d’autres commentaires à formuler sur l’inscription du bec-de-lièvre ?

  5. Veuillez indiquer votre secteur d’activité (p. ex. pêche, environnement). Si vous répondez au nom d’une communauté
    autochtone, d’une industrie, d’une petite entreprise1, d’une collectivité, d’une association ou d’un organisme, veuillez
    indiquer son nom.

  6. Dans quelle province ou territoire résidez-vous ? Dans quelle province ou territoire votre organisation mène-t-elle ses
    opérations ?

  7. Si le bec-de-lièvre était inscrit, seriez-vous intéressés à participer à son rétablissement ?

 

Votre nom, votre adresse courriel (optionnel − si vous souhaitez un suivi de notre part).

 

Ces questions visent à recueillir vos commentaires sur l’ajout du bec-de-lièvre à la Liste des espèces en péril. Si vous ne pouvez pas utiliser notre formulaire PDF interactif (414,16 Ko), veuillez soumettre vos commentaires en utilisant le formulaire pour commentaires.

 

N’hésitez pas à nous contacter pour toute demande de renseignements.

Québec
Gestion des espèces en péril
Pêches et Océans Canada
Institut Maurice-Lamontagne
850, route de la Mer, C.P. 1000
Mont-Joli (Québec) G5H 3Z4
Tél. : 1-877-775-0848
Courriel : lep-sara-qc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Ontario
Programme des espèces en péril
Pêches et Océans Canada
Institut des eaux douces
501, University Crescent
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3T 2N6
Tél. : 204-984-0599 ou 1-866-538-1609
Courriel : fwisar@dfo-mpo.gc.ca