Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Species at Risk Act- Legal Listing Consultation Workbook, Pacific Region (2004)

Legal listing consultation workbooklegal listing consultation workbook

legal listing consultation workbooklegal listing consultation workbooklegal listing consultation workbook

Consultation Workbook

1.0 Objective of this Consultation

Your views are being sought to assist the government of Canada in making an informed decision on whether to add any or all of the following five aquatic species to Schedule 1 (the List of Wildlife Species at Risk) of the Species at Risk Act (SARA).  The species are currently designated by the Committee on the Status of Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC), and include: White Sturgeon (Endangered), Grey Whale, Harbour Porpoise, Steller Sea Lion, and Rocky Mountain Ridged Mussel (all Special Concern).

This workbook provides background information on SARA and the five species being considered for legal listing.  At the end of this workbook questions are provided to stimulate discussion.  Please complete any or all of the questions starting on page 18 and provide any additional comments you feel are relevant. Your ideas, knowledge, and advice are important to this process and will help the Government of Canada assess the impacts of adding any or all of these five species to the SARA legal list (Schedule 1).

A downloadable workbook, additional background information, references and contact information available at:

http://www-comm.pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/pages/consultations/consultation2004/main_e.htm , under: New Proposed SARA Legal Listings.  For further information on how to submit your workbook please see page 18.

To make sure your comments are considered, please send in your submission by Friday, December 10 2004.  Please note: the consultation period for white sturgeon may be extended.

2.0 What is the Species at Risk Act?

The Species at Risk Act was created to ensure the survival of wildlife species and the protection of our natural heritage. It requires Canada to provide for the recovery of species at risk due to human activity, and to manage species of special concern to make sure they don’t become endangered or threatened. It provides for the protection of the species, their residences and critical habitat.

Environment Canada is responsible for implementing SARA and Fisheries and Oceans Canada is responsible for aquatic species.  Parks Canada is also responsible for all species that occur in National Parks (land and water), National Historic Sites, and National Marine Conservation Areas.  Government agencies (federal, provincial, territorial, municipal), Aboriginal peoples, wildlife management boards, non-governmental organizations, landowners, resource users, and individuals across Canada must work together to ensure the survival of species at risk. In fact, the Act was designed to encourage such cooperation.

More information about SARA can be found at: www.speciesatrisk.gc.ca

2.1 The Role of COSEWIC

The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) is the independent body that assesses the status of wildlife species in Canada. Based on the scientific information compiled in a status report, COSEWIC classifies the species as being extinct, extirpated, endangered, threatened, of special concern, data deficient, or not at risk (see glossary for definitions). COSEWIC’s Species Specialist Subcommittees (SSC) provide expertise on particular groups of plants and animals and make recommendations as to the appropriate status designation of a species to the entire Committee.

Members of COSEWIC do not formally represent the agency, group, or region from which they are drawn. They are appointed on the basis of their expertise, and to the best of their ability provide independent and impartial scientific advice and recommendations. 

COSEWIC assesses the biological status of a species using the best available information. It reviews research, considers community and Aboriginal traditional knowledge, and applies strict assessment criteria based on criteria developed by the International Union for the Conservation of Nature. COSEWIC sends its assessment of the species to the Minister of the Environment to initiate the legal listing process.

More information about COSEWIC can be found at: www.cosewic.gc.ca

2.2 Legal Listing – What does this mean?

A species is not protected under SARA unless it is legally listed, which means included in the List of Wildlife Species at Risk (Schedule 1 of the Act).

Following receipt of COSEWIC assessments and public consultations, the federal government must do one of the following:

  1. Accept the assessment and add the species to the List,
  2. Decide not to add the species to the List, or
  3. Refer the current assessment back to COSEWIC for further information or consideration.

The decision on whether to add the species to the list takes into account the COSEWIC assessment, information received from consultations like these and other factors such as potential social and economic impacts of the listing.

Once a species is legally listed as extirpated, endangered, or threatened, specific protection measures come into effect barring any harmful actions against the species and their residences.  In addition, a recovery process must be completed within prescribed timelines.

SARA prohibitions only apply to species listed as extirpated, endangered and threatened and not to species of special concern; however existing protections and prohibitions, such as those authorized by the Fisheries Act, Migratory Birds Convention Act and the Canada National Parks Act, continue to be in force.

2.3 Protection

Once species are legally listed as extirpated, endangered or threatened, automatic prohibitions apply. SARA has general prohibitions against killing, harming, taking, possessing, capturing, collecting and damaging or destroying residences that are legally listed. SARA defines residences as: a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or hibernating.  There will be a need to define more explicitly what a residence is in the case of aquatic species, and to determine whether the term applies to each species.

Prohibitions apply to migratory birds and aquatic species listed as extirpated, endangered or threatened, as well as species found on federal lands in Canada’s exclusive economic zone and in continental shelf areas.  In certain cases prohibitions may apply to provincial and territorial lands.  Prohibitions do not apply to species of special concern.

2.4 Recovery and Management Planning

The recovery process is designed to improve the status of species at risk. There are two parts to the recovery planning process: 1)the development of a recovery strategy, which identifies threats to the species and describes recovery objectives for that species; 2) and the development of an action plan, which describes activities to be carried out to promote the recovery of the species. Action plans are the method used to implement the recovery strategies. Recovery strategies and action plans are only developed for species listed as extirpated, endangered or threatened.  Management plans outlining conservation measures will be developed (or existing plans may be adopted if adequate) for species listed as special concern and their habitats.  Most often, recovery teams are formed to develop a recovery strategy based on the data gathered by COSEWIC as well as other available information. Recovery strategies, action plans, and management plans must be developed in cooperation and consultation with affected parties, and the public will be welcome to comment on any strategy via the Public Registry. Recovery planning is a continuous process -- recovery strategies must be updated every five years until the species is considered recovered.

Recovery strategies and action plans will, to the extent possible, identify the species’ critical habitat and describe examples of activities that are likely to result in its destruction and measures that are proposed to protect it. Where available information is inadequate, a schedule of studies will be included with the objective of identifying the species’ critical habitat. Once critical habitat of a listed endangered or threatened species has been identified in a recovery strategy or action plan, destroying any part of it will be prohibited.

For these 5 species and in the future, the timeline for recovery strategies will be one year from the time of legal listing for endangered species, two years for species listed as extirpated or threatened, and three years for species of special concern.

2.5 Public Registry

The SARA Public Registry is a comprehensive web-based source of information that allows for timely access to public documents relating to SARA. It is a key instrument in fulfilling the government’s commitment to encourage public participation in environmental decision-making.  The Public Registry can be viewed at: www.sararegistry.gc.ca.  

The Registry includes documents such as regulations, orders, agreements, guidelines, standards, and codes of practice. In addition, it provides species assessments and status reports, recovery strategies, action plans, and management plans for the recovery of wildlife species. 

Anyone may provide written comments on a proposed recovery strategy, action plan, or management plan for a wildlife species. The general public has 60 days after the strategy or plan is posted on the Registry to provide feedback.

Table of Contents

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Loi sur les espèces en péril- Cahier de consultation, région du Pacifique (2004)

cahier de consultation sur la liste officiellecahier de consultation sur la liste officielle

cahier de consultation sur la liste officiellecahier de consultation sur la liste officiellecahier de consultation sur la liste officielle

Cahier de consultation

1.0 Objectif de cette consultation

Nous désirons recueillir votre point de vue pour aider le gouvernement fédéral à décider de manière éclairée lesquelles des cinq espèces aquatiques suivantes devraient être ajoutées à l’Annexe 1 (liste des espèces en péril) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LPE). Ces espèces, qui font actuellement l’objet d’une désignation du Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPA), sont : l’esturgeon blanc (en voie de disparition), ainsi que la baleine grise, le marsouin commun, l’otarie de Steller et la gonidée des Rocheuses (toutes espèces préoccupantes).

Ce cahier de consultation présente des renseignements de fond sur la LEP et sur les cinq espèces qu’on envisage d’inscrire sur la liste officielle. À la fin du cahier, on trouvera des questions destinées à animer les discussions. Veuillez répondre au plus grand nombre possible des questions posées à partir de la page 18, et nous communiquer tout commentaire supplémentaire que vous jugerez utile. Vos idées, vos connaissances et vos conseils sont importants pour ce processus, et ils aideront le gouvernement du Canada à évaluer les conséquences de l’ajout d’une ou plusieurs de ces cinq espèces à la liste officielle de la LEP (Annexe 1).

Le cahier (téléchargeable), des informations générales supplémentaires, des références et les noms des personnes contact se trouvent à l’adresse :

http://www-comm.pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/pages/consultations/consultation2004/main_e.htm, sous le titre : Nouvelles inscriptions proposées à la liste de la LEP. Pour de plus amples informations sur la façon de soumettre votre cahier, veuillez vous reporter à la page 18.

2.0 Qu’est-ce que la Loi sur les espèces en péril?

La Loi sur les espèces en péril a été promulguée pour assurer la survie des espèces sauvages et la protection de notre patrimoine naturel. Elle exige que le gouvernement canadien gère le rétablissement des espèces mises en péril par les activités humaines, et qu’il gère les espèces menacées de manière qu’elles ne deviennent pas en péril. La Loi prévoit la protection des espèces, de leurs résidences et de leurs habitats essentiels.

Environnement Canada est responsable de l’application de la LEP, et Pêches et Océans Canada du volet concernant les espèces aquatiques. Parcs Canada a de son côté la responsabilité de toutes les espèces présentes dans les parcs nationaux (terrestres et marins), les lieux historiques nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation. Les diverses instances(fédérales, provinciales, territoriales, municipales), les Autochtones, les conseils de gestion de la faune, les organisations non gouvernementales, les propriétaires fonciers, les utilisateurs des ressources et les particuliers de tout le Canada doivent participer à cet effort pour assurer la survie des espèces en péril. D’ailleurs, la Loi a été conçue pour encourager une telle collaboration.

Vous pourrez trouver plus de renseignements sur la LEP à l’adresse :  http://www.speciesatrisk.gc.ca/default_f.cfm

2.1 Le rôle du COSEPAC

Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) est l’organisme indépendant chargé d’évaluer le statut des espèces sauvages au Canada. En se basant sur les informations scientifiques rassemblées dans les rapports de situation, le COSEPAC classe les espèces comme éteintes, disparues du Canada, en voie de disparition, menacées, préoccupantes, faisant l’objet de données insuffisantes ou non en péril (voir les définitions dans le glossaire). Les sous-comités de spécialistes des espèces (SSE) du COSEPAC offrent leur expertise sur des groupes particuliers de plantes et d’animaux, et formulent à l’attention du Comité des recommandations pour ce qui est du statut à adopter pour chaque espèce.

Les membres du COSEPAC ne représentent pas officiellement l’organisme, le groupe ou la région d’où ils sont issus. Ils sont nommés en fonction de leur expertise et fournissent, dans la mesure du possible, des recommandations et des conseils scientifiques indépendants et impartiaux.

Le COSEPAC évalue le statut biologique des espèces en analysant les meilleures informations dont il dispose. Le Comité examine les résultats des différentes études, tient compte des connaissances traditionnelles des communautés et des Autochtones et applique des critères d’évaluation stricts basés sur ceux développés par l’Union mondiale pour la nature. Le COSEPAC envoie ensuite son évaluation au ministre de l’Environnement afin d’amorcer le processus d’inscription à la liste officielle des espèces protégées.

Pour de plus amples informations sur le COSEPAC, veuillez consulter le site Web de l’organisme, à l’adresse : www.cosewic.gc.ca

2.2 Qu’est-ce que la liste officielle?

Pour qu’une espèce bénéficie de la protection de la LPE, il faut qu’elle figure officiellement sur la « liste des espèces en péril », qui constitue l’annexe 1 de la Loi.

Après avoir reçu l’évaluation du COSEPAC et les résultats des consultations publiques, le gouvernement fédéral peut :

  1. accepter l’évaluation et ajouter l’espèce en question à la liste officielle;
  2. décider de ne pas ajouter l’espèce à la liste officielle;
  3. demander au COSEPAC de lui fournir des informations ou une analyse plus approfondies.

Pour décider d’inclure ou non une espèce à la liste, le gouvernement tient compte de l’évaluation fournie par le COSEPAC, des informations reçues grâce à des consultations comme celle-ci et d’autres facteurs tels que les impacts sociaux et économiques que pourrait avoir l’ajout de l’espèce sur la liste.

Une fois qu’une espèce a été ajoutée à la liste officielle avec le statut d’espèce disparue, en voie de disparition ou menacée, des mesures de protection spécifiques entrent en vigueur pour empêcher toute action qui pourrait porter atteinte à l’espèce et à ses lieux de résidence. Un processus de rétablissement doit en outre être mené à bien dans les délais prescrits.

Les interdictions formulées dans la LEP ne s’appliquent qu’aux espèces déclarées disparues, en voie de disparition ou menacées, et non à celles qui ont été classées préoccupantes; cependant, les mesures de protection et interdictions existantes, telles que celles autorisées par la Loi sur les pêches, la Loi sur la Convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs et la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada, restent en vigueur.

2.3 Protection

Une fois qu’une espèce est officiellement déclarée disparue, en voie de disparition ou menacée, elle fait automatiquement l’objet de certaines interdictions. La LEP comporte des interdictions générales de tuer, blesser, capturer, posséder et récolter les espèces figurant sur la liste officielle, ainsi que d’endommager ou détruire leurs lieux de résidence. Elle définit les résidences des espèces comme : « Gîte -- terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable -- occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l'élevage, les haltes migratoires, l'hivernage, l'alimentation ou l'hibernation ». Il y aura lieu de définir plus précisément ce qu’on entend par « résidence » pour les espèces aquatiques, et de déterminer si le terme s’applique à chaque espèce.

Des interdictions s’appliquent aux oiseaux migrateurs et aux espèces aquatiques classés disparus, en voie de disparition ou menacés, ainsi qu’aux espèces présentes sur le territoire fédéral dans la zone économique exclusive du Canada et dans les régions de la plate-forme continentale. Dans certains cas, des interdictions peuvent s’appliquer sur des zones relevant des provinces ou des territoires. Les interdictions ne visent pas les espèces classées préoccupantes.

2.4 Planification du rétablissement et de la gestion

Le processus de rétablissement, conçu pour améliorer le statut de l’espèce en péril visée, comporte deux étapes : 1) l’élaboration d’une stratégie de rétablissement, qui consiste à identifier les menaces qui pèsent sur l’espèce et à décrire les objectifs de son rétablissement; 2) l’élaboration d’un plan d’action décrivant les activités à mettre en œuvre pour faciliter le rétablissement de l’espèce. Le plan d’action est la méthode utilisée pour mettre en œuvre la stratégie de rétablissement. On n’élabore des stratégies de rétablissement et des plans d’action que pour les espèces qui ont reçu le statut de disparue, en voie de disparition ou menacée. Des plans de gestions définissant des mesures de conservation seront élaborés (ou des plans existants adoptés s’ils conviennent) pour les espèces classées préoccupantes et leurs habitats. Le plus souvent, on constitue des équipes de rétablissement pour élaborer la stratégie de rétablissement à partir des informations recueillies par le COSEPAC et des autres informations disponibles. Les stratégies de rétablissement, plans d’action et plans de gestion doivent être élaborés en collaboration et consultation avec les parties concernées, et le public sera encouragé à formuler ses commentaires par l’intermédiaire du registre public. La planification du rétablissement est un processus continu, puisque les stratégies doivent être mises à jour tous les cinq ans jusqu’à ce que l’espèce soit considérée comme rétablie.

Les stratégies de rétablissement et plans d’action devront, dans la mesure du possible, identifier les habitats essentiels de l’espèce concernée et donner des exemples d’activités susceptibles de le détruire et de mesures proposées pour le protéger. Si l’information disponible n’est pas adéquate, on inclura un calendrier d’études visant à identifier les habitats essentiels de l’espèce. Une fois identifiés dans la stratégie de rétablissement ou le plan d’action visant une espèce en voie de disparition ou menacée, il sera interdit d’en détruire ne serait-ce qu’une partie.

Pour les cinq espèces présentées ici, et à l’avenir, l’échéancier des stratégies de rétablissement sera d’un an à partir de l’inscription sur la liste officielle des espèces en voie de disparition, deux ans pour les espèces classées disparues ou menacées, et trois ans pour les espèces classées préoccupantes.

2.5 Registre public

Le registre public de la LEP est une vaste source d’information basée sur le Web qui permet d’avoir accès rapidement aux documents publics concernant la Loi. C’est un instrument essentiel pour concrétiser l’engagement du gouvernement de faire participer le public aux prises de décisions en matière d’environnement. Le registre public peut être consulté à l’adresse : www.sararegistry.gc.ca.

Le registre inclut des documents tels que des règlements, des ordonnances, des ententes, des lignes directrices, des normes et des codes de pratique. On y trouve aussi des évaluations d’espèces et des rapports de situation, des stratégies de rétablissement, des plans d’action et des plans de gestion pour le rétablissement de diverses espèces sauvages.

Tous peuvent fournir des commentaires écrits sur des projets de stratégies de rétablissement, de plans d’action ou de plans de gestion concernant une espèce sauvage donnée. Les membres du public disposent de 60 jours après la publication de la stratégie ou du plan dans le registre pour faire part de leur rétroaction.

Table des Matières