Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Mexican Mosquito Fern (Azolla mexicana) in British Columbia - 2017 [Proposed]

Species at Risk Act
Recovery Strategy Series

Adopted under Section 44 of SARA

Mexican Mosquito-fern

Photo of Mexican Mosquito-fern
Credit: Paul Redfearn © Ozarks Regional Herbarium

Part 1 - Table of contents

List of figures

  • Figure 1. Critical habitat for Mexican Mosquito-fern is represented by the shaded yellow polygons where the criteria and methodology set out in Section 1.1 are met. The detailed polygons show the area containing critical habitat at Population #1: Little Fort, north of Mount Loveway (88.3 ha) and Population #3: Mount Loveway, 1.8 km southeast of (3.8 ha). The 1 km x 1 km UTM grid overlay shown on this figure is part of a standardized national grid system that is used to indicate the general geographic area within which critical habitat is found in Canada. Areas outside of the shaded yellow polygons do not contain critical habitat.
  • Figure 2. Critical habitat for Mexican Mosquito-fern is represented by the shaded yellow polygons where the criteria and methodology set out in Section 1.1 are met. The detailed polygons show the area containing critical habitat at Population #2: Little Fort, south of (20.1 ha). The 1 km x 1 km UTM grid overlay shown on this figure is part of a standardized national grid system that is used to indicate the general geographic area within which critical habitat is found in Canada. Areas outside of the shaded yellow polygons do not contain critical habitat.
  • Figure 3. Critical habitat for Mexican Mosquito-fern is represented by the shaded yellow polygons where the criteria and methodology set out in Section 1.1 are met. The detailed polygon shows the area containing critical habitat at Population #5: Chinook Creek (0.8 ha). The 1 km x 1 km UTM grid overlay shown on this figure is part of a standardized national grid system that is used to indicate the general geographic area within which critical habitat is found in Canada. Areas outside of the shaded yellow polygons do not contain critical habitat.
  • Figure 4. Critical habitat for Mexican Mosquito-fern is represented by the shaded yellow polygons where the criteria and methodology set out in Section 1.1 are met. The detailed polygons show the area containing critical habitat at Population #6: Tappen, Shuswap Lake (5.2 ha). The 1 km x 1 km UTM grid overlay shown on this figure is part of a standardized national grid system that is used to indicate the general geographic area within which critical habitat is found in Canada. Areas outside of the shaded yellow polygons do not contain critical habitat.
  • Figure 5. Critical habitat for Mexican Mosquito-fern is represented by the shaded yellow polygons where the criteria and methodology set out in Section 1.1 are met. The detailed polygons show the area containing critical habitat at Population #7: Salmon Arm (31.1 ha). The 1 km x 1 km UTM grid overlay shown on this figure is part of a standardized national grid system that is used to indicate the general geographic area within which critical habitat is found in Canada. Areas outside of the shaded yellow polygons do not contain critical habitat.
  • Figure 6. Critical habitat for Mexican Mosquito-fern is represented by the shaded yellow polygons where the criteria and methodology set out in Section 1.1 are met. The detailed polygons show the area containing critical habitat at Population #9: Cambie, 2.7 km west of (5.2 ha). The 1 km x 1 km UTM grid overlay shown on this figure is part of a standardized national grid system that is used to indicate the general geographic area within which critical habitat is found in Canada. Areas outside of the shaded yellow polygons do not contain critical habitat.
  • Figure 7. Critical habitat for Mexican Mosquito-fern is represented by the shaded yellow polygons where the criteria and methodology set out in Section 1.1 are met. The detailed polygons show the area containing critical habitat at Population #10: Vernon (10.9 ha). The 1 km x 1 km UTM grid overlay shown on this figure is part of a standardized national grid system that is used to indicate the general geographic area within which critical habitat is found in Canada. Areas outside of the shaded yellow polygons do not contain critical habitat.

List of tables

  • Tables 1. Summary of essential biophysical features, functions, and attributes of Mexican Mosquito-fern habitat in British Columbia.
  • Tables 2. Examples of activities likely to result in the destruction of critical habitat for Mexican Mosquito-fern. Associated threat numbers are in accordance with the IUCN-CMP unified threats classification system (CMP 2010).

Part 2 - Table of contents

List of figures

  • Figure 1. Mexican mosquito fern, Little Fort, B.C. (Jamie Fenneman).
  • Figure 2. North American distribution of Mexican mosquito fern (COSEWIC 2008).
  • Figure 3. Distribution of Mexican mosquito fern in British Columbia. Subpopulations are grouped within the populations for ease of viewing (B.C. Conservation Data Centre 2015).

List of tables

  • Table 1. Summary of Mexican mosquito fern populations in British Columbia (B.C. Conservation Data Centre 2015).
  • Table 2. Summary of essential features, functionsand attributes of Mexican mosquito fern habitat in British Columbia (compiled by Environment and Climate Change Canada 2015).
  • Table 3. Threat classification table for Mexican mosquito fern in British Columbia.
  • Table 4. Recovery actions for Mexican mosquito fern.
Table of contents

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l’azolle du Mexique (Azolla mexicana) au Canada - 2017 [Proposition]

Loi sur les espèces en péril
Série de Programmes de rétablissement

Adoption en vertu de l’article 44 de la LEP

Azolle du Mexique

Photo of Azolle du Mexique
Source : © Ozarks Regional Herbarium, photo de Paul Redfearn

Partie 1 – Table des matières

Liste des figures

  • Figure 1. L’habitat essentiel de l’azolle du Mexique se trouve dans les polygones ombrés en jaune, là où les critères et la méthodologie énoncés à la section 1.1 sont respectés. Les polygones jaunes détaillés montrent les zones renfermant l’habitat essentiel de la population no 1 – Little Fort, au nord du mont Loveway (88,3 ha), et de la population no 3 – 1,8 km au sud-est du mont Loveway (3,8 ha). Les carrés du quadrillage UTM de 1 km × 1 km superposés sur cette carte font partie du système de quadrillage national de référence utilisé au Canada et mettent en évidence l’emplacement géographique général de l’habitat essentiel. Les zones à l’extérieur des polygones jaunes ne renferment pas d’habitat essentiel.
  • Figure 2. L’habitat essentiel de l’azolle du Mexique se trouve dans les polygones ombrés en jaune, là où les critères et la méthodologie énoncés à la section 1.1 sont respectés. Les polygones jaunes détaillés montrent les zones renfermant l’habitat essentiel de la population no 2 – au sud de Little Fort (20,1 ha). Les carrés de 1 km × 1 km du quadrillage UTM superposés sur cette carte font partie du système de quadrillage national de référence utilisé au Canada et mettent en évidence l’emplacement géographique général de l’habitat essentiel. Les zones à l’extérieur des polygones jaunes ne renferment pas d’habitat essentiel.
  • Figure 3. L’habitat essentiel de l’azolle du Mexique se trouve dans les polygones ombrés en jaune, là où les critères et la méthodologie énoncés à la section 1.1 sont respectés. Le polygone jaune détaillé montre la zone renfermant l’habitat essentiel de la population no 5 – ruisseau Chinook (0,8 ha). Les carrés du quadrillage UTM de 1 km × 1 km superposés sur cette carte font partie du système de quadrillage national de référence utilisé au Canada et mettent en évidence l’emplacement géographique général de l’habitat essentiel. Les zones à l’extérieur du polygone jaune ne renferment pas d’habitat essentiel.
  • Figure 4. L’habitat essentiel de l’azolle du Mexique se trouve dans les polygones ombrés en jaune, là où les critères et la méthodologie énoncés à la section 1.1 sont respectés. Les polygones jaunes détaillés montrent les zones renfermant l’habitat essentiel de la population no 6 – Tappen, lac Shuswap (5,2 ha). Les carrés du quadrillage UTM de 1 km × 1 km superposés sur cette carte font partie du système de quadrillage national de référence utilisé au Canada et mettent en évidence l’emplacement géographique général de l’habitat essentiel. Les zones à l’extérieur des polygones jaunes ne renferment pas d’habitat essentiel.
  • Figure 5. L’habitat essentiel de l’azolle du Mexique se trouve dans les polygones ombrés en jaune, là où les critères et la méthodologie énoncés à la section 1.1 sont respectés. Les polygones jaunes détaillés montrent les zones renfermant l’habitat essentiel de la population no 7 – Salmon Arm (31,1 ha). Les carrés du quadrillage UTM de 1 km ×1 km superposés sur cette carte font partie du système de quadrillage national de référence utilisé au Canada et mettent en évidence l’emplacement géographique général de l’habitat essentiel. Les zones à l’extérieur des polygones jaunes ne renferment pas d’habitat essentiel.
  • Figure 6. L’habitat essentiel de l’azolle du Mexique se trouve dans les polygones ombrés en jaune, là où les critères et la méthodologie énoncés à la section 1.1 sont respectés. Le polygone jaune détaillé montre la zone renfermant l’habitat essentiel de la population no 9 – 2,7 km à l’ouest de Cambie (5,2 ha). Les carrés du quadrillage UTM de 1 km × 1 km superposés sur cette carte font partie du système de quadrillage national de référence utilisé au Canada et mettent en évidence l’emplacement géographique général de l’habitat essentiel. Les zones à l’extérieur du polygone jaune ne renferment pas d’habitat essentiel.
  • Figure 7. L’habitat essentiel de l’azolle du Mexique se trouve dans les polygones ombrés en jaune, là où les critères et la méthodologie énoncés à la section 1.1 sont respectés. Les polygones jaunes détaillés montrent les zones renfermant l’habitat essentiel de la population no 10 – Vernon (10,9 ha). Les carrés du quadrillage UTM de 1 km × 1 km superposés sur cette carte font partie du système de quadrillage national de référence utilisé au Canada et mettent en évidence l’emplacement géographique général de l’habitat essentiel. Les zones à l’extérieur des polygones jaunes ne renferment pas d’habitat essentiel.

Liste des tableaux

  • Tableau 1. Résumé des éléments biophysiques, des fonctions et des attributs essentiels de l’habitat de l’azolle du Mexique en Colombie-Britannique.
  • Tableau 2. Exemples d’activités susceptibles d’entraîner la destruction de l’habitat essentiel de l’azolle du Mexique. Les numéros des menaces correspondent aux catégories du système unifié de classification des menaces IUCN-CMP (CMP, 2010).

Partie 2 – Table des matières

Liste des tableaux

  • Tableau 1. Sommaire des populations d'azolle du Mexique en Colombie-Britannique (B.C. Conservation Data Centre, 2015).
  • Tableau 2. Sommaire des éléments, des fonctions et des attributs essentiels de l'habitat de l'azolle du Mexique en Colombie-Britannique (données regroupées par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, 2015).
  • Tableau 3. Tableau de classification des menaces pour l'azolle du Mexique en Colombie-Britannique.
  • Tableau 4. Mesures de rétablissement de l'azolle du Mexique.

Liste des figures

  • Figure 1. Azolle du Mexique, Little Fort, Colombie-Britannique (Jamie Fenneman).
  • Figure 2. Aire de répartition nord-américaine de l’azolle du Mexique (COSEWIC, 2008).
  • Figure 3. Aire de répartition de l’azolle du Mexique en Colombie-Britannique. Les sous-populations sont regroupées à l’intérieur des populations par souci de visibilité (B.C. Conservation Data Centre, 2015).
Introduction