Description of critical habitat of the Golden-winged Warbler in Riding Mountain National Park of Canada

The Golden-winged Warbler (Vermivora chrysoptera) is a migratory bird protected under the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994, and listed on Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act as threatened. In Canada, the Golden-winged Warbler is found in forest edge habitat exhibiting early successional characteristics, usually with a patchy mixture of shrubs, saplings, herbaceous openings and widely spaced tall trees.

The Recovery Strategy for the Golden-winged Warbler (Vermivora chrysoptera) in Canada identifies critical habitat for the species in a number of areas across Canada, including Riding Mountain National Park of Canada.

Notice is hereby given, pursuant to subsection 58(2) of the Species at Risk Act, that 90 days after the date of publication of this notice, subsection 58(1) of the Act will apply to the critical habitat of the Golden-winged Warbler, as identified in the recovery strategy for that species, which is included in the Species at Risk Public Registry, and that is located within Riding Mountain National Park of Canada, the boundaries of which are described in Schedule 1 of the Canada National Parks Act.

Richard Dupuis
Acting Field Unit Superintendent
Riding Mountain Field Unit

Description de l’habitat essentiel de la Paruline à ailes dorées dans le parc national du Canada du Mont-Riding

La Paruline à ailes dorées (Vermivora chrysoptera) est un oiseau migrateur protégé en vertu de la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs et inscrit à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril en tant qu’espèce menacée. Au Canada, la Paruline à ailes dorées vit dans des habitats de lisière forestière présentant les caractéristiques d’un habitat de début de succession, habituellement un mélange hétérogène d’arbustes, de gaules, de clairières herbacées et de grands arbres très espacés les uns des autres.

Le Programme de rétablissement de la Paruline à ailes dorées (Vermivora chrysoptera) au Canada décrit l’habitat essentiel pour l’espèce dans un certain nombre de régions au Canada, notamment dans le parc national du Canada du Mont-Riding.

Avis est par la présente donné que, en vertu du paragraphe 58(2) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, 90 jours après la date de publication du présent avis, le paragraphe 58(1) de la Loi s’appliquera à l’habitat essentiel de la Paruline à ailes dorées tel qu’il est décrit dans le Programme de rétablissement de la Paruline à ailes dorées (Vermivora chrysoptera) au Canada figurant au Registre public des espèces en péril, cet habitat étant situé dans le parc national du Canada du Mont-Riding dont les limites sont décrites à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada.

Le directeur d’unité de gestion par intérim
Unité de gestion du Mont-Riding
Richard Dupuis