Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the dwarf woolly-heads, Southern Mountain population and Prairie population, in Canada

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report
on the
Dwarf Woolly-heads
Psilocarphus brevissimus
Southern Mountain population
Prairie population
in Canada

Dwarf Woolly-heads

Southern Mountain population – Endangered 2006
Prairie population – Special concern 2006

COSEWIC
Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada



COSEPAC
Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada

COSEWIC status reports are working documents used in assigning the status of wildlife species suspected of being at risk. This report may be cited as follows:

COSEWIC 2006. COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the dwarf woolly-heads Psilocarphus brevissimus Southern Mountain population and Prairie population, in Canada. Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Ottawa. vi + 24 pp.

Previous reports

COSEWIC 2003. COSEWIC assessment and status report on the dwarf woolly-heads Psilocarphus brevissimus in Canada. Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Ottawa. vi + 19 pp.

Douglas, G.W., J.L. Penny and K. Barton. 2003. COSEWIC status report on the dwarf woolly-heads Psilocarphus brevissimus in Canada in COSEWIC assessment and status report on the dwarf woolly-heads Psilocarphus brevissimus in Canada. Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Ottawa. 1-19 pp

Production note

COSEWIC would like to acknowledge Matt Fairbarns for writing the update status report on the dwarf woolly-heads Psilocarphus brevissimus in Canada, prepared under contract with Environment Canada, overseen and edited by Erich Haber, Co-chair (Vascular Plants), COSEWIC Plants and Lichens Species Specialist Subcommittee.

Dwarf woolly-heads Psilocarphus brevissimus was first assessed by COSEWIC as Endangered in Canada in 2003. However, because the original status report failed to note the presence of the Prairie population, which is present at numerous sites in southeastern Alberta and southwestern Saskatchewan, COSEWIC requested that a new update report be prepared for re-evaluation of the species' conservation status.

For additional copies contact:

COSEWIC Secretariat
c/o Canadian Wildlife Service
Environment Canada
Ottawa, ON
K1A 0H3

Tel.: (819) 997-4991 / (819) 953-3215
Fax: (819) 994-3684
COSEWIC E-mail
COSEWIC Website

Également disponible en français sous le titre Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le psilocarphe nain (Psilocarphus brevissimus) Population des montagnes du Sud et la population des Prairies au Canada – Mise à jour.

Cover illustration

Dwarf woolly-heads -- Illustration by J.H. Janish in Hitchcock et al. 1995, with permission.

©Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada 2006

Catalogue CW69-14/367-2006E-PDF
ISBN 0-662-43257-6

Document information

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le psilocarphe nain, Population des montagnes du Sud et la population des Prairies au Canada – Mise à jour

Mise à jour
Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
Psilocarphe nain
Psilocarphus brevissimus
Population des montagnes du Sud
Population des Prairies
au Canada

Psilocarphe nain

Population des montagnes du Sud – Espèce en voie de disparition 2006
Population des Prairies – Espèce préoccupante 2006

COSEPAC
Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada



COSEWIC
Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada

Les rapports de situation du COSEPAC sont des documents de travail servant à déterminer le statut des espèces sauvages que l’on croit en péril. On peut citer le présent rapport de la façon suivante :

COSEPAC. 2006. Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le psilocarpe nain (Psilocarphus brevissimus) - Population des montagnes du Sud et Population des Prairies au Canada  – Mise à jour.  Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada. Ottawa. vii + 28 p.

Rapports précédents

COSEPAC 2003. Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le psilocarpe nain (Psilocarphus brevissimus)au Canada. Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada. Ottawa. vi + 19 p. 

Douglas, G.W., Penny J. L. et Barton, K. 2003 Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le psilocarpe nain (Psilocarphus brevissimus) in Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le psilocarpe nain (Psilocarphus brevissimus)au Canada. Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada. Ottawa. 1 + 19 p.

Note de production

Le COSEPAC aimerait remercier Matt Fairbarns qui a rédigé la mise à jour du rapport de situation sur le psilocarpe nain(Psilocarphus brevissimus)- Population des montagnes du Sud et Population des Prairies au Canada, en vertu d’un contrat avec Environnement Canada. Erich Haber, coprésident (plantes vasculaires) du Sous-comité de spécialistes des plantes et lichens du COSEPAC, a supervisé le présent rapport et en a fait la révision.

En 2003, le Psilocarphe nain (Psilocarphus brevissimus) a d’abord été désigné par le COSEPAC comme espèce « en voie de disparition » au Canada. Toutefois, puisque le rapport de situation original ne tenait pas compte de la population des Prairies, présente dans de nombreux sites du sud-est de l’Alberta et du sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan, le COSEPAC a demandé que le rapport soit mis à jour afin de réévaluer le statut de conservation de l’espèce.

Pour obtenir des exemplaires supplémentaires, s’adresser au :

Secrétariat du COSEPAC
a/s Service canadien de la faune
Environnement Canada
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0H3

Tél. : (819) 997-4991 / (819) 953-3215
Téléc. : (819) 994-3684
Courriel du COSEPAC
Site web du COSEPAC

Also available in English under the title COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Dwarf Woolly-heads Psilocarphus brevissimus (Southern Mountain population and Prairie population) in Canada.

Illustration de la couverture

Psilocarphe nain -- Par J.H. Janish in Hitchcocket al. 1955, reproduit avec autorisation.

©Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, 2006

de catalogue CW69-14/367-2006F-PDF
ISBN0-662-71758-9

Information sur le document