Service standards and performance for permitting decisions under the Species at Risk Act

Quality and predictability of service are legitimate expectations of Canadians when interacting with the Government of Canada. A public commitment to a measurable level of performance that clients can expect under normal circumstances (i.e., regular day-to-day operations) is referred to as a service standard.

Service standards are integral to good client service and are important for effective management of performance. They help to clarify expectations (both internally and externally), drive improvement to services being provided and contribute to results-based management. Under Section 73 of the Species at Risk Act (SARA), the competent minister may enter into an agreement or issue a permit authorizing a person to engage in an activity that could affect a wildlife species listed on Schedule 1 of SARA, as extirpated, endangered, or threatened. SARA permits are also required for activities that could affect the listed species critical habitat or its residences. For more information on SARA permits please visit the SARA Public Registry.

Service standards

The Permits Authorizing an Activity Affecting Listed Wildlife Species Regulations, which came into effect on June 19th 2013, impose a 90-day timeline on the government to either issue or refuse to issue a permit under section 73 of the Species at Risk Act (SARA) to authorize activities that may affect listed wildlife species. The 90-day timeline may not apply in certain circumstances. These regulations support the implementation of the Government of Canada’s Responsible Resource Development Plan and it is anticipated that they will contribute to consistency, predictability and transparency in the SARA permitting process by providing applicants with clear and measurable service standards.

When incomplete applications are received, Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) will notify the applicant and the time limit will be “paused” or “suspended” until all missing information is received. ECCC will ensure timely communication with applicants with regard to any missing information required for the assessment of their applications. The SARA Public Registry has more information on applying for a SARA permit.

Performance target for permits under the Species at Risk Act

100% of decisions regarding permit applications must be made within the 90-day service standard, unless the time limit is not applicable due to one of the prescribed exceptions.

Performance information

ECCC measures its service performance annually for SARA section 73 permits and performance information is posted on the web no later than June 1st for the preceding fiscal year. During the 2016-2017 fiscal year, ECCC issued 41 SARA permits; however, the service standard did not apply to one permit as per subsection 3(3) of the Permits Authorizing an Activity Affecting Listed Wildlife Species Regulations. Of the 40 permits for which service standards applied, 37 were issued within the 90-day standard set out in the regulation, resulting in a 93% performance against service standards. ECCC will continue to identify and address internal issues in order to improve processing times for SARA permits.

Performance reporting
Permit type2013-20142014-20152015-20162016-20172017-2018
SARA permitsNote a of Table 179% of permits issued within service standard97% of permits issued within service standard93% of permits issued within service standard93% of permits issued within service standardPerformance data to be provided by June 1st, 2018

Notes of table 1

Note a of table 1

Service Standard: Permit decisions made under the Species at Risk Act (SARA) are made within 90 calendar days after the date of the notice indicating that the application has been received.

Return to footnote a referrer of table 1

Service feedback

Any feedback on these service standards or on any issue related to permits issued under the Species at Risk Act should be directed to ec.permisscf-cwspermit.ec@canada.ca.

Applying for a permit for terrestrial species under the Species at Risk Act

ECCC’s e-permitting system allows applicants to complete a SARA permit application online. Once applicants have created an account and have logged on, the e-permitting system will lead applicants through a step by step process where they will be prompted to fill in all necessary information. The information required to complete a SARA permit application may vary depending on the proposed activity. Required information includes, but is not limited to:

  • The name, civic and mailing addresses, email address, and contact information such as telephone or fax number of the applicant(s);
  • The qualifications of the applicant(s);
  • A list of species that could be affected by activity;
  • A detailed description of proposed activity and how it could affect species at risk, their residences or critical habitat;
  • A detailed description of the location where the proposed activity will take place;
  • A detailed description of methods (as applicable): field collection methods, survey types, project design and animal handling techniques;
  • Appropriate authorization or documentation for access to reserve or aboriginal lands (if applicable);
  • The results of any Environmental Assessments under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act (if applicable); and
  • Any other information relevant to the activity being authorized.

Applicants must ensure that the proposed activities comply with the applicable provisions of the Species at Risk Act. Specifically, applicants must demonstrate, pursuant to subsection 73(2) of the Act, that the proposed activity either:

  • Constitutes scientific research relating to the conservation of the species conducted by qualified persons;
  • Benefits the species or is required to enhance its chance of survival in the wild; or
  • Affects the species only in an incidental manner.

Likewise, pursuant to subsection 73(3), applicants must also provide certain information on all the following points in order to be considered complete. Specifically, this information must demonstrate that:

  • All reasonable alternative to the activity that would reduce the impact on the species have been considered and the best solution has been adopted;
  • All feasible measures will be taken to minimize the impact of the activity on the species, its critical habitat or the residences of its individuals; and
  • The activity will not jeopardize the survival or recovery of the species.

Once the application has been submitted to the appropriate Canadian Wildlife Service (CWS) regional office, ECCC will complete an administrative review to ensure that the application is complete and that it contains all required supporting documents. If complete, the application will then undergo a scientific review to ensure that the proposed activities comply with the Species at Risk Act. If there is any missing information, or if it becomes apparent that further information about the proposed activity is required, ECCC staff will communicate with the applicant in a timely manner in order to obtain the additional information.

Once approved, SARA permits will be posted on the SARA Public Registry. The public registry lists all SARA permits approved by ECCC and partner organizations (the Department of Fisheries and Oceans and the Parks Canada Agency) as well as detailed information about each permit including a description of the activities undertaken by the applicant, the species that could be affected, the rationale for issuing the permit and the terms and conditions that must be respected by the applicant.

ECCC is presently developing additional guidelines and best practices documents for SARA permitting activities. These documents will be posted on the SARA Public Registry shortly. If you have questions relating to a SARA permit application, please contact your CWS regional office. Comments and feedback regarding the e-permitting system should be directed to: ec.sarapermithelp.ec@canada.ca

For more information

To learn about upcoming or ongoing consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit the Canada Gazette and Consulting with Canadians websites.

Normes de service et rendement pour les décisions en matière de permis en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

La qualité et la prévisibilité du service constituent des attentes légitimes des Canadiens lorsqu'ils interagissent avec le gouvernement du Canada. Un engagement public envers un niveau mesurable de rendement auquel les clients peuvent s'attendre dans des circonstances normales (c.-à-d. des opérations quotidiennes régulières) constitue une norme de service.

Les normes de service font partie intégrante d'un bon service à la clientèle et sont importantes pour une gestion efficace du rendement. Elles aident à clarifier les attentes (aussi bien à l'interne qu'à l'externe), stimulent les améliorations apportées aux services fournis et contribuent à la gestion basée sur les résultats. En vertu de l’article 73 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP), le ministre responsable peut conclure un accord ou émettre un permis à une personne pour permettre à cette personne d’entreprendre des activités qui pourraient toucher une espèce sauvage inscrite dans l’annexe I de la LEP comme étant une espèce disparue du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacée. Un permis est également requis où les activités pourraient toucher à l’habitat essentiel ou aux résidences des espèces inscrites. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le registre public de la LEP.

Norme de service

Le Règlement sur les permis autorisant une activité touchant une espèce sauvage inscrite, qui est entré en vigueur le 19 juin 2013, impose une norme de service de 90 jours au gouvernement pour émettre ou refuser un permis en vertu de l’article 73 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril(LEP) pour autoriser le demandeur à entreprendre des activités qui pourraient toucher une espèce sauvage inscrite. La limite de 90 jours peut ne pas s’appliquer dans certaines circonstances. Ce règlement soutient la mise en oeuvre du plan de développement responsable des ressources du gouvernement du Canada et il est prévu qu’il contribuera à assurer la cohérence, la prévisibilité et la transparence dans le processus de demande de permis en vertu de la LEP en fournissant aux demandeurs des normes de services claires et mesurables.

Lorsque des demandes incomplètes sont reçues, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC) avertit le demandeur et le délai est « mis en attente » ou « suspendu » jusqu'à ce que tous les renseignements manquants soient fournis. ECCC assurera une communication opportune avec les demandeurs en ce qui a trait à tout renseignement manquant requis pour l'évaluation de leurs demandes. Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet du processus de demande de permis, veuillez visiter le registre public de la LEP. Des outils supplémentaires visant à aider les demandeurs à effectuer leurs demandes de permis en vertu de la LEP seront établis et publiés sous peu.

Cible de rendement pour tous les permis délivrés en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

100% des décisions concernant des demandes de permis sont prises dans le cadre de la norme de service, à moins que la limite ne s’applique pas en raison d’une exception prescrite.

Renseignements sur le rendement

ECCC mesure son rendement de service annuel sur les permis délivré en vertu de l’article 73 de la LEP de façon annuelle et les renseignements sur le rendement sont publiés sur le Web au plus tard le 1er juin, pour l'exercice financier précédent. Pendant l'exercice financier 2016-2017 ECCC a délivré 41 permis LEP; cependant, la norme de service ne s’appliquait pas à un permis de ces permis en vertu du paragraphe 3(3) du Règlement sur les permis autorisant une activité touchant une espèce sauvage inscrite. Parmi les 40 permis auxquels la norme de service s’appliquait, 37 ont été délivrés dans un délai de 90 jours ou moins tel que prescrit par le règlement, ce qui se traduit par un taux de rendement de 93% des permis qui ont respecté la norme de service. Comme le tableau ci-dessous démontre, ECCC continuera à identifier et à résoudre des problèmes internes afin d’améliorer les délais de traitement pour les permis LEP.

Renseignements sur le rendement
Type de permis2013-20142014-20152015-20162016-20172017-2018
Permis LEPNote a du tableau 179% des permis délivrés respectent la norme de service97% des permis délivrés respectent la norme de service93% des permis délivrés respectent la norme de service93% des permis délivrés respectent la norme de serviceRenseignements sur le rendement seront fournis au plus tard le 1er juin 2018.

Note du tableau 1

Note a du tableau 1

Norme de Service : Les décisions en matière de permis délivrés en vertu de l’article 73 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) seront prises dans les 90 jours civils qui suivent la date de l’avis indiquant que la demande a été reçue.

Retour à la référence de la note adu tableau 1

Commentaires sur les normes de service

Tout commentaire sur ces normes de service ou sur toute question liée aux permis délivrés en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril doit être adressé à ec.permisscf-cwspermit.ec@canada.ca.

Demande de permis en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Le système électronique de délivrance des permis permet aux demandeurs de compléter leur demande pour un permis en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) en ligne. Une fois que les demandeurs ont accédé au site après avoir créé un compte, le système électronique guidera les demandeurs, étape par étape, et leur demandera de remplir les informations nécessaires. Les informations nécessaires pour compléter une demande de permis LEP peuvent varier selon l’activité proposée. Ces informations incluent notamment :

  • Le nom, l'adresse municipale ou postale, l'adresse courriel et les autres coordonnées, tel qu'un numéro de téléphone ou de télécopieur, de chaque demandeur ;
  • Les qualifications de chaque demandeur ;
  • Une liste des espèces qui pourraient être touchées par l’activité proposée ;
  • Une description détaillée de l’activité proposée et une explication de comment cette activité pourrait toucher les espèces en péril, leur habitat essentiel ou leurs résidences ;
  • Une description détaillé du lieu où le demandeur a l’intention d’entreprendre l’activité proposée ;
  • Une description détaillée des méthodes (le cas échant) de : méthodes de prélèvement sur le terrain, types de sondage, conception de projet, techniques de manipulation d’animaux ;
  • L'autorisation ou la documentation nécessaire pour obtenir accès aux réserves ou terres autochtones (le cas échéant) ;
  • Le résultat d’une évaluation environnementale complétée en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (le cas échéant);
  • Toute autre information pertinente par rapport à l'activité autorisée.

Les demandeurs doivent s’assurer que les activités proposées sont conformes aux dispositions de la LEP. Plus précisément, les demandeurs doivent démontrer, en vertu du paragraphe 73(2) de la loi, que l’activité proposée :

  • Constitue des recherches scientifiques sur la conservation des espèces menées par des personnes compétentes
  • Constitue une activité qui profite à l’espèce ou qui est nécessaire à l’augmentation des chances de survie de l’espèce à l’état sauvage; ou
  • ne touche l’espèce que d’une façon incidente.

De la même façon, en vertu du paragraphe 73(3), les demandeurs doivent fournir certaines informations sur les points suivants pour que leurs demandes soient considérées comme étant complètes. Plus précisément, les demandeurs doivent fournir des informations qui démontrent que :

  • toutes les solutions de rechange susceptibles de minimiser les conséquences négatives de l’activité pour l’espèce ont été envisagée et la meilleure solution a été retenue ;
  • toutes les mesures possibles seront prises afin de minimiser les conséquences négatives de l’activité pour l’espèce, son habitat essentiel ou la résidence de ses individus; et
  • l’activité ne mettre pas en péril la survie ou le rétablissement de l’espèce.

Une fois que la demande et tous les documents justificatifs ont été soumis au bureau régional approprié du Service canadien de la faune (SCF), ECCC procédera à l’analyse administrative de la demande pour s’assurer qu’elle est complète et que les documents justificatifs nécessaires sont joints à la demande. Si la demande est complète, elle sera soumise à un examen scientifique pour assurer que les activités proposées sont en conformité avec la LEP. S’il y a des informations manquantes ou s’il s’avère que des renseignements supplémentaires au sujet de l’activité proposée sont nécessaires, le personnel d’ECCC assurera une communication opportune avec le demandeur en ce qui a trait aux renseignements supplémentaires requis pour l’évaluation de la demande.

Une fois approuvé, les permis LEP seront affichés sur le registre public de la LEP. Le registre public énumère tous les permis LEP approuvé par ECCC et ses organisations partenaires (le Ministère de Pêches et Océans et l’Agence Parcs Canada) ainsi que des informations détaillées sur chaque permis tel qu’une description des activités effectuées par le demandeur, les espèces qui pourraient être touchées, la justification pour l’émission du permis et les modalités du permis que le demandeur doit respecter.

ECCC élabore, à présent, des outils supplémentaires tels que les lignes directrices et les documents sur les pratiques exemplaires par rapport aux activités qui pourraient nécessiter un permis LEP. Ces documents seront affichés sur le registre public de la LEP sous peu. Si vous avez des questions par rapport à une demande de permis LEP, veuillez communiquer avec votre bureau régional SCF. Les commentaires et questions liés au système électronique de délivrance des permis doivent être adressés à ec.sarapermithelp.ec@canada.ca.

Pour plus d'information

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les consultations actuelles ou à venir sur les projets de règlement fédéraux, veuillez consulter la Gazette du Canada ou le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens.