Eulachon (Fraser River population)

Consultations on listing under the Species at Risk Act

Information summary and survey for the consultations on adding Eulachon (Fraser River population) of to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk as Endangered – Please provide your input by November 30, 2016

Consultations

Let your opinion be heard

Canada’s Species at Risk Act (SARA) provides legal protection for wildlife species at risk to conserve biological diversity. It also acknowledges that all Canadians have a role to play in the conservation of wildlife species.

Before deciding whether the Fraser River population of Eulachon (Thaleichthys pacificus) will be added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk as Endangered, we would like to hear your opinion, comments, and suggestions regarding the possible ecological, cultural, and economic impacts of listing or not listing this species under SARA.

Adding a species to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk

The process of listing a species under SARA consists of several steps: it begins with a status assessment by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) and ends with a Government of Canada decision on whether or not to add a species to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk. Public consultations are conducted to gather the opinions of Canadians and are an important step in this process.

Facts about Eulachon

Eulachon

Eulachon are small (less than 20cm in length) anadromous fish, and are one of the 10 smelt species in the family Osmeridae. The species is also referred to as candlefish, oolichan, and ooligan, amongst other names. Eulachon have significant cultural and economic value to coastal First Nations in British Columbia (B.C.).

Eulachon are endemic to the northeastern Pacific Ocean, occurring from California to the eastern Bering Sea. Eulachon populations have declined throughout their range since the mid 1990’s.

They spend more than 95 percent of their life in the marine environment, and only enter freshwater systems during spawning, egg, and early larval stages.

Within B.C., Eulachon are believed to occur in at least 38 glacially fed rivers; with the Fraser River being the only river included in the Fraser River DU (Figure 1).

Who assigned the Endangered status to the Fraser River population of Eulachon?

Figure 1. Distribution of the three populations (DUs) of Eulachon within Canada (COSEWIC 2011).

distribution map (see long description below).

Description of Figure 1

Distribution of the three populations of Eulachon on the Canadian Pacific coast: the Fraser River population in Fraser River area, the Nass/Skeena population in northern area of the coast (north east of Haida Gwaii), and the Central Pacific Coast population between these two areas (COSEWIC 2011).

COSEWIC is an independent committee of experts that assesses which wildlife species are in some danger of disappearing from Canada and assigns a status to these species. It conducts its assessments based on the best available information including scientific data, local ecological knowledge, and Aboriginal traditional knowledge. In 2011, COSEWIC assessed Eulachon within British Columbia waters as three populations: the Central Pacific Coast and Fraser River populations as Endangered and the Nass/Skeena population as Special Concern. Under SARA, an endangered species is defined as one that is facing imminent extirpation or extinction.

Why is Eulachon (Fraser River) at risk?

COSEWIC assessed the Fraser River population as ‘Endangered’ because this population’s spawning biomass reached a historic low of only 10 tonnes in 2008. Based on the available spawning stock biomass time series, the 10-year decline rate was estimated to be 98%. The small spawning area for this population constitutes a single location.

Factors contributing to the coast-wide decline of Eulachon populations are unclear. DFO has undertaken many activities since 1995 to protect Eulachon. Threats to individuals as well as their habitat occur in both freshwater and marine environments.

Presently, commercial and recreational fisheries for Eulachon are closed within Canada. First Nation fisheries for Eulachon remain active on the Fraser River, but are significantly reduced from historic levels due to declines in runs. Eulachon are incidentally caught in commercial shrimp trawl and groundfish trawl fisheries. Activities that may lead to habitat degradation on the Fraser River include dredging, industrial and agricultural pollution, shoreline development, and forestry.

If a species is listed under the Species at Risk Act

If the Fraser River population of Eulachon is listed as Endangered, the prohibitions of SARA would immediately come into effect in Canadian waters. It would be illegal to kill, harm, harass, capture, possess, buy, sell, or trade Eulachon. However, activities that may affect the species or its critical habitat may be permitted under SARA section 73-74, or exempt under section 83, where that activity does not jeopardize the survival or recovery of the species. A recovery strategy and subsequent action plan(s) would be developed to identify measures to address known threats. Critical habitat–the habitat necessary for the survival and recovery of Eulachon–would need to be identified, to the extent possible, in a recovery strategy or action plan and protected from destruction.

We would like to receive your comments on the potential impacts of adding or not adding Eulachon (Fraser River population) to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk under SARA designated as Endangered.

Your comments are important.

Please fill out the survey: we want to hear from you.

Before completing this survey, you may wish to review the following background information found at the links below:

Thank you for completing this survey.

Species at Risk Program, Pacific Region
200-401 Burrard Street
Vancouver, British Columbia, V6C 3S4

sara@pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Eulakane (population du fleuve Fraser)

Consultations sur l’inscription en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Sommaire de l'information et sondage en vue des consultations sur l'inscription de l'eulakane (population du fleuve Fraser) dans la Liste des espèces en péril, en tant qu'espèce en voie de disparition – Veuillez faire part de vos commentaires d'ici le 30 novembre 2016

Consultation

Faites connaître votre opinion

La Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) du Canada garantit la protection juridique des espèces sauvages en péril afin de préserver la diversité biologique. En outre, elle reconnaît que tous les Canadiens ont un rôle à jouer dans la conservation des espèces sauvages.

Avant de prendre une décision concernant l'inscription ou non de l'eulakane (Thaleichthys pacificus) (population du fleuve Fraser) dans la Liste des espèces en péril, en tant qu'espèce en voie de disparition, nous aimerions avoir votre opinion, vos commentaires et vos suggestions au sujet des impacts écologiques, culturels et économiques qui pourraient découler de l'inscription ou non de cette espèce en vertu de la LEP.

Inscription d'une espèce sur la Liste des espèces en péril

Le processus d'inscription d'une espèce en vertu de la LEP comprend plusieurs étapes : il commence par une évaluation de la situation par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) et se termine avec la décision prise par le gouvernement du Canada, à savoir si l'espèce en question sera ajoutée ou non à la Liste des espèces en péril. Des consultations publiques sont menées, pour connaître l'opinion des Canadiennes et des Canadiens. Elles constituent une étape importante du processus.

Faits sur l'eulakane

eulakane

L'eulakane est un petit poisson anadrome (moins de 20 cm de longueur), et l'une des dix espèces d'éperlans de la famille des Osmeridae. Il est également appelé poisson-chandelle et eulachon. L'espèce revêt une valeur culturelle et économique importante pour les Premières Nations côtières de la Colombie-Britannique.

L'eulakane est une espèce endémique de la partie nord-est de l'océan Pacifique. Son aire de répartition s'étend de la Californie à la partie est de la mer de Béring. Depuis le milieu des années 1990, les populations d'eulakane connaissent un déclin dans l'ensemble de leur aire de répartition.

L'eulakane passe plus de 95 % de sa vie dans le milieu marin; il n'a besoin d'eau douce que pendant le frai, le stade de l'œuf et au début du stade larvaire.

En Colombie-Britannique, l'espèce serait présente dans au moins 38 cours d'eau alimentés par des glaciers. Le fleuve Fraser est le seul fleuve faisant partie de l'UD du fleuve Fraser (figure 1).

 

Figure 1. Aire de répartition des trois populations (UD) d'eulakane au Canada (COSEPAC 2011)

aire de répartition (voir description longue ci-dessous).

Description pour la figure 1

Aire de répartition des trois populations d'eulakane sur la côte du Pacifique du Canada : la population du fleuve Fraser situé près du fleuve Fraser, la population Nass/Skeena située dans la partie nord de la côte canadienne (nord-est de Haida Gwaii) et la population de la côte centrale du Pacifique située entre ces deux régions (COSEPAC 2011).

Qui a attribué à l'eulakane (population du fleuve Fraser) le statut d'espèce en voie de disparition?

Le COSEPAC est un comité d'experts indépendants qui évalue les espèces sauvages qui risquent de disparaître du Canada, et qui attribue un statut à ces espèces. Il effectue ses évaluations en fonction des meilleurs renseignements disponibles, qui comprennent des données scientifiques, des connaissances écologiques locales et le savoir traditionnel des peuples autochtones. En 2011, le COSEPAC a évalué les populations d'eulakane des eaux de la Colombie-Britannique, qu'il a divisées en trois : populations de la côte centrale du Pacifique et du fleuve Fraser (en voie de disparition) et population des rivières Nass et Skeena (préoccupante). En vertu de la LEP, une espèce en voie de disparition est une espèce exposée à une disparition imminente de la planète ou du pays.

En quoi l'eulakane (fleuve Fraser) est-il en péril?

Le COSEPAC a désigné la population du fleuve Fraser comme population « en voie de disparition », car la biomasse reproductrice de cette population a atteint un niveau historiquement bas de seulement 10 tonnes en 2008. Selon la série chronologique de la biomasse du stock reproducteur disponible, le taux de déclin sur 10 ans est estimé à 98 %. La petite zone de frai de cette population est la seule qui existe.

Les facteurs qui contribuent au déclin des populations d'eulakane sur l'ensemble de la côte sont inconnus. Depuis 1995, le MPO mène de nombreuses activités dans le but de protéger l'eulakane. Les individus et leur habitat sont menacés, tant en eau douce qu'en milieu marin.

À l'heure actuelle, les pêches commerciales et récréatives à l'eulakane sont fermées partout au Canada. Les Premières Nations pratiquent encore la pêche à l'eulakane dans le fleuve Fraser, mais de façon beaucoup moins intensive, compte tenu du déclin des montaisons. L'eulakane fait l'objet de captures accidentelles dans la pêche commerciale au chalut à la crevette et au poisson de fond. Les activités qui peuvent mener à une dégradation de l'habitat dans le fleuve Fraser comprennent le dragage, la pollution industrielle et agricole, l'aménagement du littoral et la foresterie.

Nous aimerions recevoir vos commentaires sur les conséquences éventuelles de l'inscription ou non de l'eulakane (population du fleuve Fraser) dans la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP, en tant qu'espèce en voie de disparition.

Vos commentaires sont importants.

Veuillez répondre au sondage : nous voulons connaître votre opinion.

Si l'espèce était inscrite à la liste de la Loi sur les espèces en péril...

Si l'eulakane (population du fleuve Fraser) était inscrit comme espèce en voie de disparition, les interdictions de la LEP entreraient immédiatement en vigueur dans les eaux canadiennes. Il serait interdit de tuer, de blesser, de harceler, de capturer, de posséder, d'acheter, de vendre ou d'échanger l'eulakane. Les activités qui peuvent avoir une incidence sur l'espèce ou son habitat essentiel pourraient être autorisées en vertu des articles 73 et 74 ou exemptées en vertu de l'article 83, si l'activité ne met pas en péril la survie ou le rétablissement de l'espèce. Un programme de rétablissement et des plans d'action subséquents seraient élaborés, afin de définir des mesures pour lutter contre les menaces connues. Habitat essentiel – l'habitat nécessaire à la survie et au rétablissement de l'eulakane devrait être désigné, dans la mesure du possible, dans le cadre d'un programme de rétablissement ou d'un plan d'action, et être protégé contre la destruction.

Avant de remplir ce sondage, vous pouvez consulter les liens suivants, qui renferment des renseignements généraux :

Merci de répondre à ce sondage.

Programme des espèces en péril, Région du Pacifique
401, rue Burrard, bureau 200
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)  V6C 3S4

sara@pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca