Responsible Authorities

This section provides information on the roles and responsibilities of the key departments, committees, and councils tasked with carrying out activities under the Act. In general, the Minister of Environment and Climate Change is responsible for the overall administration, except when the Act gives responsibility to the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans.

Department of Environment and Climate Change

The Minister of Environment and Climate Change is responsible for the overall coordination of the federal species at risk strategy, including the implementation of federal activities in support of the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk in Canada (the Accord), the administration of the Habitat Stewardship Program for species at risk, and the Interdepartmental Recovery Fund.

The Minister of Environment and Climate Change is also responsible for the protection and recovery of migratory birds and species at risk on federal lands other than those under the responsibility of the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans or those individuals under the responsibility of Parks Canada Agency. Under the Accord, it is understood that the provinces and territories will undertake actions and enforce prohibitions for the conservation of species at risk under their jurisdiction.

In addition, the Minister of the Environment and Climate Change is responsible for the initiation and facilitation of multi-jurisdictional recovery teams, and for coordinating the development of recovery strategies for species requiring the involvement of more than one jurisdiction. The Minister of the Environment and Climate Change will attempt to enter into agreements with provinces and territories for them to develop recovery strategies for species under their management responsibility.

Visit the Environment and Climate Change Canada website >

Department of Fisheries and Oceans

The Minister of Fisheries and Oceans is responsible for the protection and recovery of aquatic species at risk under federal jurisdiction, other than individuals under the responsibility of the Minister of the Environment and Climate Change in the case of individuals found on National Wildlife Areas, and Parks Canada Agency.

The Minister is responsible for implementing the necessary conservation and protection measures under the Species at Risk Act for aquatic species on the legal protection list. Aquatic species to be protected includes fish or marine plant species defined as such under the federal Fisheries Act, and those which have been assessed against COSEWIC's classification criteria.

The Minister will work closely with both the Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Parks Canada Agency, to ensure common and consistent approaches within the federal government to protecting species at risk.

Visit the Department of Fisheries and Oceans website >

Parks Canada Agency

Parks Canada Agency is responsible for the development of recovery strategies for those species that occur in Canada primarily in national parks, national historic sites and other federal protected heritage areas under the authority of the Minister. The Minister is also responsible for the management and recovery of species found in national parks and lands administered by the Minister.

Visit the Parks Canada Agency website >

Canadian Endangered Species Conservation Council

The Canadian Endangered Species Conservation Council (CESCC) consists of the Minister of the Environment and Climate Change, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, and Ministers of the provincial / territorial governments who are responsible for the conservation and management of a wildlife species in that province or territory. The role of CESCC is to provide general direction on the activities of COSEWIC; coordinate the activities of the various governments represented on the Council relating to the protection of species at risk; and seek and consider advice and recommendations from the National Aboriginal Council on species at risk.

Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada

The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) provides advice to government on the status of wildlife species and was established for the first time as a legal entity under the Species at Risk Act. COSEWIC is composed of qualified wildlife experts drawn from the federal, provincial, and territorial governments, wildlife management boards, Aboriginal groups, universities, museums, national non-governmental organizations and others with expertise in the conservation of wildlife species in Canada. Members are appointed by the Minister of Environment and Climate Change after consultation with the Council (CESCC) and appropriate experts.

COSEWIC operates at arm's length from government in an open and transparent process, maintaining impartial scientific and expert judgement in its assessment of wildlife species. The role of COSEWIC is to assess and classify the status of wildlife species using the best available information on the biological status of a species, including scientific knowledge, community knowledge, and Aboriginal traditional knowledge. COSEWIC classifies wildlife species and reports to the CESCC.

Visit the COSEWIC website >

National Aboriginal Council on Species at Risk

The National Aboriginal Council on Species at Risk (NACOSAR) is an advisory council comprised of six representatives of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada selected by the Minister of Environment and Climate Change based upon recommendations from Aboriginal organizations that the Minister considers appropriate. The role of the Council is to advise the Minister on the Administration of the Act and provide advice and recommendations to the Canadian Endangered Species Conservation Council (CESCC) under section 8.1 of the Species at Risk Act (SARA).

Autorités responsables

La présente section fournit de l'information sur les rôles et les responsabilités des principaux ministères, comités et conseils qui sont chargés d'accomplir des activités au titre de la Loi. En général, la ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique est responsable de l'administration générale, sauf lorsque la Loi confère la responsabilité au ministre des Pêches et des Océans.

Ministère de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique

La ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique est responsable de la coordination générale de la stratégie fédérale sur les espèces en péril, y compris la mise en œuvre des activités fédérales appuyant l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril au Canada (l'Accord), l'administration du Programme d'intendance de l'habitat pour les espèces en péril et le Fonds interministériel pour le rétablissement.

La ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique est aussi responsable de la protection et du rétablissement des oiseaux migrateurs et des espèces en péril sur les terres fédérales autres que celles relevant de la responsabilité du ministre des Pêches et des Océans ou des individus relevant de la responsabilité de l'Agence Parcs Canada. Au titre de l'Accord, il est convenu que les provinces et les territoires entreprendront des mesures et appliqueront des interdictions visant la conservation des espèces en péril relevant de leur compétence.

De plus, la ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique est responsable de la mise en place et du soutien des équipes de rétablissement provenant de plusieurs compétences et de la coordination de l'élaboration de programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces qui nécessitent la participation de plus d'une compétence. La ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique tentera de conclure des accords avec les provinces et les territoires pour que ceux-ci élaborent des programmes de rétablissement concernant des espèces relevant de leur responsabilités de gestion.

Visitez le site Web d'Environnement et du Changement climatique Canada >

Ministère des Pêches et des Océans

Le ministre des Pêches et des Océans est responsable de la protection et du rétablissement des espèces aquatiques en péril relevant de la compétence fédérale, autre que les individus relevant de la responsabilité du ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique dans les cas où les individus se trouvent dans des réserves nationales de faune et ceux qui relèvent de l'Agence Parcs Canada.

Le ministre est responsable de la mise en œuvre des mesures de conservation et de protection nécessaires au titre de la Loi sur les espèces en péril pour les espèces aquatiques inscrites à la liste de protection légale. Les espèces aquatiques à protéger comprennent des poissons ou des espèces végétales marines définies comme telles au titre de la Loi sur les pêches fédérale et celles qui ont été évaluées à l'aide des critères de classification du COSEPAC.

Le ministre collaborera étroitement avec la ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique et l'Agence Parcs Canada afin d'assurer l'utilisation d'approches communes et cohérentes au sein du gouvernement fédéral pour protéger les espèces en péril.

Visitez le site Web du ministère des Pêches et des Océans >

Agence Parcs Canada

L'Agence Parcs Canada est responsable de l'élaboration des programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces qui se trouvent au Canada principalement dans des parcs nationaux, des sites historiques nationaux et d'autres aires du patrimoine protégées à l'échelle fédérale relevant de l'autorité du ministre. Le ministre est aussi responsable de la gestion et du rétablissement des espèces se trouvant dans les parcs nationaux et les terres administrées par le ministre.

Visitez le site Web de Parcs Canada >

Conseil canadien pour la conservation des espèces en péril

Le Conseil canadien pour la conservation des espèces en péril (CCCEP) se compose du ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique, du ministre des Pêches et des Océans, et des ministres des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux qui sont responsables de la conservation et de la gestion des espèces sauvages dans leur province ou leur territoire. Le rôle du CCCEP est de fournir une orientation générale aux activités du COSEPAC; de coordonner les activités des divers gouvernements représentés au Conseil en ce qui concerne la protection des espèces en péril; de demander et d'examiner des conseils et des recommandations provenant du Conseil autochtone national sur les espèces en péril.

Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada

Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) fournit des conseils au gouvernement sur la situation des espèces sauvages et a été établi pour la première fois comme entité légale au titre de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Le COSEPAC se compose d'experts compétents en matière d'espèces sauvages provenant des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux, des conseils de gestion des ressources fauniques, des groupes autochtones, des universités, des musées, des organismes non gouvernementaux nationaux et d'autres ayant des connaissances spécialisées en conservation des espèces sauvages au Canada. Les membres du Comité sont nommés par la ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique après consultation auprès du CCCEP et des experts appropriés.

Le COSEPAC fonctionne indépendamment du gouvernement au moyen d'un processus ouvert et transparent, maintenant un jugement scientifique et expert impartial dans ses évaluations des espèces sauvages. Le rôle du COSEPAC est d'évaluer et de classifier la situation des espèces sauvages à l'aide de la meilleure information disponible sur la situation biologique d'une espèce, y compris les connaissances scientifiques, les connaissances communautaires et les connaissances traditionnelles autochtones. Le COSEPAC classifie les espèces sauvages et fait rapport au Conseil canadien pour la conservation des espèces en péril.

Visitez le site Web du COSEPAC >

Conseil autochtone national sur les espèces en péril

Le Conseil autochtone national sur les espèces en péril (CANEP) est un conseil consultatif composé de six représentants des peuples autochtones du Canada choisis par le ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique sur recommandation des organisations autochtones que le ministre juge indiquées. La mission du Conseil est de conseiller le ministre en matière d’application de la Loi et de fournir, au Conseil canadien pour la conservation des espèces en péril (CCCEP), des conseils et des recommandations, en vertu des articles 8.1 et 8.2 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP).