Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Burrowing Owl (Athene cunicularia) in Canada (Proposed)

Burrowing Owl © Dr. Gordon Court

Burrowing Owl

 

July 2007

 

Declaration
Responsible Jurisdictions
Authors
Acknolwedgements
Strategic Environmental Assessment
Residence
Preface

About the Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series

What is the Species at Risk Act (SARA)?

SARA is the Act developed by the federal government as a key contribution to the common national effort to protect and conserve species at risk in Canada. SARA came into force in 2003 and one of its purposes is“to provide for the recovery of wildlife species that are extirpated, endangered or threatened as a result of human activity.”

What is recovery?

In the context of species at risk conservation, recovery is the process by which the decline of an endangered, threatened, or extirpated species is arrested or reversed and threats are removed or reduced to improve the likelihood of the species’ persistence in the wild. A species will be considered recovered when its long-term persistence in the wild has been secured.

What is a recovery strategy?

A recovery strategy is a planning document that identifies what needs to be done to arrest or reverse the decline of a species. It sets goals and objectives and identifies the main areas of activities to be undertaken. Detailed planning is done at the action plan stage.

Recovery strategy development is a commitment of all provinces and territories and of three federal agencies -- Environment Canada, Parks Canada Agency, and Fisheries and Oceans Canada -- under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk. Sections 37–46 of SARAoutline both the required content and the process for developing recovery strategies published in this series.

Depending on the status of the species and when it was assessed, a recovery strategy has to be developed within one to two years after the species is added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk. Three to four years is allowed for those species that were automatically listed when SARA came into force.

What’s next?

In most cases, one or more action plans will be developed to define and guide implementation of the recovery strategy. Nevertheless, directions set in the recovery strategy are sufficient to begin involving communities, land users, and conservationists in recovery implementation. Cost-effective measures to prevent the reduction or loss of the species should not be postponed for lack of full scientific certainty.

The series

This series presents the recovery strategies prepared or adopted by the federal government under SARA. New documents will be added regularly as species get listed and as strategies are updated.

To learn more

To learn more about the Species at Risk Act and recovery initiatives, please consult the SARA Public Registry and the Web site of the Recovery Secretariat (http://www.speciesatrisk.gc.ca/recovery/).

Recommended citation:

Environment Canada. 2007. Recovery Strategy for the Burrowing Owl (Athene cunicularia) in Canada [Proposed]. Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series. Environment Canada, Ottawa. v + 25 pp.


Additional copies:

Additional copies can be downloaded from the SARA Public Registry.

Cover illustrations: Dr. Gordon Court
Title page: Paul Geraghty

Également disponible en français sous le titre :

« Programme de rétablissement de la Chevêche des terriers (Athene cunicularia) au Canada [Proposition] »

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of the Environment, 2007. All rights reserved.

ISBN to come

Catalogue no. to come

Content (excluding the illustrations) may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.

Declaration

This recovery strategy has been prepared in cooperation with the jurisdictions responsible for the Burrowing Owl. Environment Canada has reviewed and accepts this document as its recovery strategy for the Burrowing Owl, as required under the Species at Risk Act. This recovery strategy also constitutes advice to other jurisdictions and organizations that may be involved in recovering the species.

The goals, objectives and recovery approaches identified in the strategy are based on the best existing knowledge and are subject to modifications resulting from new findings and revised objectives.

This recovery strategy will be the basis for one or more action plans that will provide details on specific recovery measures to be taken to support conservation and recovery of the species. The Minister of the Environment will report on progress within five years.

Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the directions set out in this strategy and will not be achieved by Environment Canada or any other jurisdiction alone. In the spirit of the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk, the Minister of the Environment invites all responsible jurisdictions and Canadians to join Environment Canada in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the Burrowing Owl and Canadian society as a whole.

Responsible Jurisdictions

  • Environment Canada
  • Parks Canada Agency
  • Government of Alberta
  • Government of British Columbia
  • Government of Manitoba
  • Government of Saskatchewan

Authors

This recovery strategy was prepared by Troy I. Wellicome, L. Danielle Todd, David Stepnisky, and Geoff L. Holroyd.

Acknolwedgements

This recovery strategy is the culmination of a team effort over several years. The current document was prepared by T.I. Wellicome (Chair of the National Burrowing Owl Recovery Team, Canadian Wildlife Service) and L.D. Todd (formerly of the Canadian Wildlife Service), based in part on information contained in a 2001 draft National Recovery Plan compiled by G.L. Holroyd (Canadian Wildlife Service) and D. Stepnisky (formerly of the Canadian Wildlife Service). This document benefited through input from Recovery Team members and advisors. In addition to the authors, other team members and advisors included (in alphabetical order) F. Blouin (Operation Grassland Community, Alberta Fish and Game Association), B. Bristol (Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada), D. Brodie (Burrowing Owl Conservation Society of British Columbia), M. Chutter (British Columbia Ministry of Environment), K. De Smet (Wildlife and Ecosystem Protection, Manitoba Conservation), K. Dohms (Operation Burrowing Owl, Nature Saskatchewan), K. Grisley (Operation Grassland Community, Alberta Fish and Game Association), D. Johnson (Department of Environmental Science, University of Lethbridge), M. Mackintosh (Burrowing Owl Conservation Society of British Columbia), J. Manalo (Department of Biological Sciences, University of Alberta), S. McAdam (Saskatchewan Environment), G. McMaster (Saskatchewan Watershed Authority), A. Mitchell (Department of Animal Science, University of British Columbia), R. Poulin (Department of Biological Sciences, University of Alberta), C. Sanders (Saskatchewan Burrowing Owl Interpretive Centre), D. Scobie (Avocet Environmental Inc.), D. Shyry (Sage Environmental Consulting), R. Sissons (Grasslands National Park, Parks Canada Agency), C. Skiftun (Special Areas Office, Alberta Conservation Association), P. Strankman (Canadian Cattleman's Association), J. Surgenor (British Columbia Ministry of Environment), A. Todd (Alberta Fish and Wildlife Division, Sustainable Resource Development), H. Trefry (Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment Canada), L. Veitch (Lands Branch, Saskatchewan Agriculture and Food), and P. Williams (British Columbia Wildlife Park). Thanks are also extended to R. Franken, R. Poulin, C. Seburn, D. Ewing, and D. Duncan (Canadian Wildlife Service) for reviewing various drafts or portions of this recovery strategy.

Strategic Environmental Assessment

A strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is conducted on all SARA recovery planning documents, in accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals. The purpose of a SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally sound decision-making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits. The planning process, based on national guidelines, directly incorporates consideration of all environmental effects, with a particular focus on possible impacts on non-target species or habitats. The results of the SEA are incorporated directly into the strategy itself, but are also summarized below.

The SEA concluded that this recovery strategy will clearly benefit the environment by promoting the recovery of the Burrowing Owl and associated burrowing mammals and grassland habitat, and that these benefits far outweigh any potentially adverse effects that may result. The strategy includes the possibility of using habitat management near Burrowing Owl nesting areas to modify breeding sites for common predators that have increased in abundance above historical levels. The reader should refer to the following sections of this document for details: 1.4 Needs of the Burrowing Owl; 2.4 Approaches Recommended to Address Threats and Meet Recovery Objectives; and 2.6 Potential Effects on Other Species.

Residence

SARA defines residence as:

a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or hibernating [Subsection 2(1)].

Residence descriptions, or the rationale for why the residence concept does not apply to a given species, are posted on the SARA public registry.

Preface

The Burrowing Owl was officially listed as Endangered under the Species at Risk Act (SARA) in June 2003. SARA (Section 37) requires the competent minister to prepare recovery strategies for listed extirpated, endangered, or threatened species. The Canadian Wildlife Service (Prairie and Northern Region, Environment Canada) led the development of this recovery strategy, in cooperation with the British Columbia Ministry of Environment, Alberta Sustainable Resource Development, Saskatchewan Environment, Manitoba Conservation, Parks Canada Agency, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, and the Department of National Defence (Canadian Forces Base Suffield). These agencies, along with the Blood Tribe, Siksika Nation, Piapot First Nation, Osoyoos Indian Band, Nicola Tribal Association, Okanagan Nation Alliance, Shuswap Nation Tribal Council, Upper Nicola Indian Band, and numerous non-government organizations, were invited to review drafts of this proposed strategy. This recovery strategy took into consideration the Assessment and Update Status Report on the Burrowing Owl in Canada, prepared by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC 2006), the Recovery Plan for Burrowing Owl in Alberta, prepared by the Alberta Burrowing Owl Recovery Team (2005), and the draft Recovery Action Plan for Burrowing Owl (Athene cunicularia hypugaea), prepared by the British Columbia Recovery Implementation Group (Leupin in review). This proposed strategy meets SARA requirements in terms of content and process (Sections 39–41).

Document Information

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la Chevêche des terriers (Athene cunicularia) au Canada (Proposition)

Chevêche des terries © Dr. Gordon Court

Chevêche des terriers

 

Juillet 2007

 

Déclaration
Compétences responsables
Auteurs
Remerciements
Évaluation environnementale stratégique
Résidence
Préface

La série de Programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Qu'est-ce que la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)?

La LEP est la loi fédérale qui constitue l'une des pierres d'assise de l'effort national commun de protection et de conservation des espèces en péril au Canada. Elle est en vigueur depuis 2003 et vise, entre autres, àpermettre le rétablissement des espèces qui, par suite de l'activité humaine, sont devenues des espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées.

Qu'est-ce que le rétablissement?

Dans le contexte de la conservation des espèces en péril, le rétablissement est le processus par lequel le déclin d'une espèce en voie de disparition, menacée ou disparue du pays est arrêté ou inversé et par lequel les menaces à sa survie sont éliminées ou réduites de façon à augmenter la probabilité de survie de l'espèce à l'état sauvage. Une espèce sera considérée comme rétablie lorsque sa survie à long terme à l'état sauvage aura été assurée.

Qu'est-ce qu'un programme de rétablissement?

Un programme de rétablissement est un document de planification qui identifie ce qui doit être réalisé pour arrêter ou inverser le déclin d'une espèce. Il établit des buts et des objectifs et indique les principaux champs des activités à entreprendre. La planification plus élaborée se fait à l'étape du plan d'action.

L'élaboration de programmes de rétablissement représente un engagement de toutes les provinces et de tous les territoires ainsi que de trois organismes fédéraux -- Environnement Canada, l'Agence Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada -- dans le cadre de l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril. Les articles 37 à 46 de la LEP décrivent le contenu d'un programme de rétablissement publié dans la présente série ainsi que le processus requis pour l'élaborer.

Selon le statut de l'espèce et le moment où elle a été évaluée, un programme de rétablissement doit être préparé dans un délai de un à deux ans après l'inscription de l'espèce à la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP. Pour les espèces qui ont été inscrites à la LEP lorsque celle-ci a été adoptée, le délai est de trois à quatre ans.

Et ensuite?

Dans la plupart des cas, un ou plusieurs plans d'action seront élaborés pour définir et guider la mise en oeuvre du programme de rétablissement. Cependant, les recommandations contenues dans le programme de rétablissement suffisent pour permettre la participation des collectivités, des utilisateurs des terres et des conservationnistes à la mise en oeuvre du rétablissement. Le manque de certitude scientifique ne doit pas être prétexte à retarder la prise de mesures efficientes visant à prévenir la disparition ou le déclin d'une espèce.

La série de Programmes de rétablissement

Cette série présente les programmes de rétablissement élaborés ou adoptés par le gouvernement fédéral dans le cadre de la LEP. De nouveaux documents s'ajouteront régulièrement à mesure que de nouvelles espèces seront inscrites à la Liste des espèces en péril et que les programmes de rétablissement existants seront mis à jour.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour en savoir plus sur la Loi sur les espèces en péril et les initiatives de rétablissement, veuillez consulter le Registre public de la LEP et le site Web du Secrétariat du rétablissement (http://www.especesenperil.gc.ca/recovery/).

Référence à citer

Environnement Canada. 2007. Programme de rétablissement de la Chevêche des terriers (Athene cunicularia) au Canada [Proposition]. Série de Programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, Environnement Canada, Ottawa (Ontario), vi + 32 p.


Exemplaires supplémentaires

Des exemplaires supplémentaires peuvent être téléchargés à partir du site Web du Registre public de la LEP.

Illustration de la couverture: Gordon Court (Ph.D.)
Page titre : Paul Geraghty

Also available in English under the title:

“Recovery Strategy for the Burrowing Owl (Athene cunicularia) in Canada [Proposed]”

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de l'Environnement, 2007. Tous droits réservés.

ISBN : À venir

Numéro de catalogue : À venir

Le contenu (à l'exception des illustrations) peut être utilisé sans permission, mais en prenant soin d'indiquer la source.

Déclaration

Le présent programme de rétablissement a été préparé en collaboration avec les compétences responsables de la Chevêche des terriers. Environnement Canada a revu le document et l'accepte comme son programme de rétablissement de la Chevêche des terriers tel que l'exige la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Ce programme de rétablissement représente également un avis à l'intention des autres compétences et organisations qui pourraient participer au rétablissement de l'espèce.

Les buts, objectifs et approches de rétablissement présentés dans ce programme sont fondés sur les meilleures connaissances existantes et peuvent faire l'objet de modifications découlant de nouveaux résultats et d'objectifs révisés.

Le présent programme de rétablissement constituera la base d'un ou de plusieurs plans d'action qui présenteront en détail les mesures de rétablissement précises qui doivent être prises pour appuyer la conservation et le rétablissement de l'espèce. Le ministre de l'Environnement rendra compte des progrès réalisés d'ici cinq ans.

La réussite du rétablissement de l'espèce dépendra de l'engagement et de la collaboration d'un grand nombre de parties concernées qui participeront à la mise en œuvre des recommandations formulées dans le présent programme. Cette réussite ne pourra reposer seulement sur Environnement Canada ou toute autre compétence. Dans l'esprit de l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril, le ministre de l'Environnement invite toutes les compétences responsables ainsi que les Canadiennes et les Canadiens à se joindre à Environnement Canada pour appuyer le programme et le mettre en œuvre, pour le bien de la Chevêche des terriers et de l'ensemble de la société canadienne.

Compétences responsables

  • Environnement Canada
  • Agence Parcs Canada
  • Gouvernement de l'Alberta
  • Gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique
  • Gouvernement du Manitoba
  • Gouvernement de la Saskatchewan

Auteurs

Le présent programme de rétablissement a été préparé par Troy I. Wellicome, L. Danielle Todd, David Stepnisky et Geoff L. Holroyd.

Remerciements

Le présent programme de rétablissement est le point culminant d'un travail d'équipe de plusieurs années. Le présent document a été préparé par T.I. Wellicome (président de l'équipe nationale de rétablissement de la Chevêche des terriers, Service canadien de la faune) et L.D. Todd (anciennement du Service canadien de la faune), en partie à partir de l'information contenue dans un plan national préliminaire de rétablissement (2001) compilé par G.L. Holroyd (Service canadien de la faune) et D. Stepnisky (anciennement du Service canadien de la faune). D'autres membres de l'équipe de rétablissement et des consultants ont également enrichi le présent document. En plus des auteurs, les membres de l'équipe de rétablissement et les consultants qui ont contribué au présent document sont notamment (en ordre alphabétique) : F. Blouin (Operation Grassland Community, Alberta Fish and Game Association), B. Bristol (Administration du rétablissement agricole des Prairies, ministère de l'Agriculture et de l'Agro-alimentaire du Canada), D. Brodie (Société de conservation de la Chevêche des terriers de la Colombie-Britannique), M. Chutter (Ministry of Environment de la Colombie-Britannique), K. De Smet (Wildlife and Ecosystem Protection, Manitoba Conservation), K. Dohms (Operation Burrowing Owl, Nature Saskatchewan), K. Grisley (Operation Grassland Community, Alberta Fish and Game Association), D. Johnson (Department of Environmental Science, University of Lethbridge), M. Mackintosh (Société de conservation de la Chevêche des terriers de la Colombie-Britannique), J. Manalo (Department of Biological Sciences, University of Alberta), S. McAdam (Saskatchewan Environment), G. McMaster (Saskatchewan Watershed Authority), A. Mitchell (Department of Animal Science, University of British Columbia), R. Poulin (Department of Biological Sciences, University of Alberta), C. Sanders (Saskatchewan Burrowing Owl Interpretive Centre), D. Scobie (Avocet Environmental Inc.), D. Shyry (Sage Environmental Consulting), R. Sissons (Parc national des Prairies, Agence Parcs Canada), C. Skiftun (Special Areas Office, Alberta Conservation Association), P. Strankman (Association canadienne des éleveurs de bovins), J. Surgenor (Ministry of Environment de la Colombie-Britannique), A. Todd (Alberta Fish and Wildlife Division, Sustainable Resource Development), H. Trefry (Service canadien de la faune, Environnement Canada), L. Veitch (Lands Branch, Saskatchewan Agriculture and Food), et P. Williams (British Columbia Wildlife Park). Merci également à R. Franken, R. Poulin, C. Seburn, D. Ewing et D. Duncan (Service canadien de la faune) pour avoir révisé diverses ébauches ou portions du présent programme de rétablissement.

Évaluation environnementale stratégique

Une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est effectuée dans le cadre de tous les documents de planification du rétablissement en vertu de la LEP conformément à la Directive du Cabinet de 1999 sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes. L'objet de l'EES est d'incorporer les considérations environnementales à l'élaboration des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes publics pour appuyer une prise de décisions éclairées du point de vue de l'environnement.

La planification du rétablissement vise à favoriser les espèces en péril et la biodiversité en général. Il est cependant reconnu que des programmes peuvent, par inadvertance, produire des effets environnementaux qui dépassent les avantages prévus. Le processus de planification fondé sur des lignes directrices nationales tient directement compte de tous les effets environnementaux, notamment des incidences possibles sur les espèces ou les habitats non ciblés. Les résultats de l'EES sont directement inclus dans le programme lui-même, mais également résumés ci-dessous.

L'EES a permis de conclure que le présent programme de rétablissement favorisera clairement l'environnement en encourageant le rétablissement de la Chevêche des terriers et des mammifères fouisseurs associés ainsi que de l'habitat de prairie, et que ces avantages l'emportent largement sur tout effet négatif potentiel qui pourrait en résulter. Le programme inclut la possibilité d'utiliser la gestion de l'habitat près des aires de nidification de la Chevêche des terries afin de modifier les sites de reproduction des prédateurs communs dont l'abondance a dépassé les niveaux historiques. Le lecteur devrait consulter plus particulièrement les sections suivantes : 1.4 Besoins de la Chevêche des terriers; 2.4 Activités recommandées pour s'attagque aux menaces et atteindre les objectifs; 2.6 Effets potentiels sur les espèces non ciblées.

Résidence

La LEP définit la résidence comme suit :

« Gîte -- terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable -- occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l'élevage, les haltes migratoires, l'hivernage, l'alimentation ou l'hibernation » [Paragraphe 2(1)].

Les descriptions de la résidence ou les raisons pour lesquelles le concept de résidence ne s'applique pas à une espèce donnée sont publiées dans le Registre public de la LEP.

Préface

La Chevêche des terriers a officiellement été inscrite sur la liste des espèces en voie de disparition en vertu  de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) en juin 2003. Selon les dispositions de l'article 37 de la LEP, le ministre compétent doit préparer un programme de rétablissement pour toute espèce sauvage inscrite comme disparue du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacée. Le Service canadien de la faune (Région des Prairies et du Nord, Environnement Canada) a dirigé l'élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement en collaboration avec le Ministry of Environment de la Colombie-Britannique, Alberta Sustainable Resource Development, Saskatchewan Environment, Manitoba Conservation, Agence Parcs Canada, Agriculture et Agro-alimentaire Canada et le ministère de la Défense nationale (Base des Forces canadiennes Suffield). Ces organisations, les Premières nations des Gens-du-Sang et de Siksika, Piapot First Nation, Osoyoos Indian Band, Nicola Tribal Association, Okanagan Nation Alliance, Shuswap Nation Tribal Council, Upper Nicola Indian Band, et plusieurs organismes non gouvernementaux ont été invités à examiner les ébauches du présent programme. Le présent programme de rétablissement a pris en considération l'ébauche de la mise à jour du rapport de situation sur la Chevêche des terriers au Canada, préparée par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC, 2006), le Recovery Plan for Burrowing Owl in Alberta, préparé par l'équipe de rétablissement de la Chevêche des terriers de l'Alberta (Alberta Burrowing Owl Recovery Team, 2005), et l'ébauche du Recovery Action Plan for Burrowing Owl (Athene cunicularia hypugaea), préparée par le groupe de mise en œuvre du rétablissement de la Colombie-Britannique (Leupin, en révision). Le présent programme est conforme aux exigences de la LEP en termes de contenu et de procédures (articles 39-41).

Information sur le document