Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Wood-poppy (Stylophorum diphyllum)

Recovery Strategy for the

Wood-poppy (Stylophorum diphyllum)

 in Canada [Proposed]

Wood-poppy

Jane M. Bowles

June 2006

 

 

 

Recovery Strategy for the Wood-poppy

(Stylophorum diphyllum)

in Canada

 

Under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk (1996), the federal, provincial, and territorial governments agreed to work together on legislation, programs, and policies to protect wildlife species at risk throughout Canada.

In the spirit of cooperation of the Accord, the Government of Ontario has given permission to the Government of Canada to adopt the Recovery strategy for the Wood-poppy (Stylophorum diphyllum) in Canada under Section 44 of the Species at Risk Act (SARA). Details are provided in the addenda of this document.

Following this 60-day comment period starting in February 2007, and until the federal Minister of the Environment determines otherwise or the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources formally amends this document, this recovery strategy will be the recovery strategy of the Minister of the Environment of Canada for this species.

 


RECOMMENDED CITATION

Bowles, Jane M.  2006. Recovery Strategy for Wood-poppy (Stylophorum diphyllum) in Canada. 24 pp.

 

Additional copies can be downloaded from the SARA Public Registry (www.sararegistry.gc.ca/)

Cover Sketch : Jane Bowles

Également disponible en français sous le titre « Programme de rétablissement du stylophore à deux feuilles (Stylophorum diphyllum) au Canada [Proposition] »

Content (excluding the illustrations) may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.

RESPONSIBLE JURISDICTIONS

Wood-poppy occurs in the province of Ontario, and the recovery strategy was developed by the province.  The Canadian Wildlife Service - Ontario Region, on behalf of the competent minister (the Minister of the Environment), cooperated in the development of the recovery strategy.

AUTHORS

The recovery strategy was developed by Jane M. Bowles under the direction of the following Recovery Team members:  

Dan Shaefer (Former Chair), Middlesex Stewardship Council

Bonnie Bergsma, City of London

David Galbraith, Royal Botanical Gardens

Elaine Gosnell, Ecologistics Ltd.

Dave Jolly, Earthquest (Canada) for the Environment

Cathy Quinlan, Upper Thames River Conservation Authority

Joyce and Everett Robson

David Stephenson, Natural Resources Solutions

Dan Vanhie

Ann White, McIlwraith Field Naturalists of London, Inc.

Allen Woodliffe, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources

ACKNOWLEGMENTS

The following people and organizations have contributed in various ways including giving financial support, supplying background information, helping with field work and commenting on earlier drafts: Mike Oldham, Bill Draper, Mary Gartshore, Peter Duenk, Caroline Rasenberg,  Mark McCormack, Peter Moc, Jim Phipps, Ian Wilcox, Brenda Gallagher, Karen Pugh, Sandra Mackin, Karen Hartley, Hal Schraeder, Paul Prevett, Brad White, The London Community Foundation, the Agricultural Adaptation Council, the Community Wildlife Involvement Program, the Committee on the Status of Species at Risk in Ontario (COSSARO), Wildlife Habitat Canada, The Middlesex Stewardship Council and the University of Western Ontario Environmental Sciences Field Station.

PREFACE

Wood-poppy is under the management jurisdiction of the Ontario provincial government. 

The Species at Risk Act (SARA, Section 37) requires the competent Minister to prepare a recovery strategy for all listed extirpated, endangered or threatened species.  SARA Section 44(1) allows the Minister to adopt an existing plan for the species if it meets the requirements under SARA for content and process (Sections 39-41).

Wood-poppy was listed as Endangered by COSEWIC in May 2000, and was added to Schedule 1 of SARA in June 2003.  The Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources led the development of this recovery strategy for the species in cooperation with the Canadian Wildlife Service – Ontario Region, Environment Canada.  All responsible jurisdictions reviewed and acknowledged receipt of the strategy. 

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

Wood-poppy is a long-lived, herbaceous, spring-flowering perennial.  There are only three known populations of the species in Canada, comprising about: 24; 250; and, 150 mature plants each.  The species is listed as N1, Endangered in Canada (COSEWIC, 2004), listed under Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act, ranked S1 in Ontario, listed as Endangered in Ontario and is ranked G5 globally.   It was regulated as Endangered under Ontario’s Endangered Species Act in 1994.  The centre of its range is western Virginia, Kentucky and southern Illinois.

In 1997 a Wood-poppy Recovery team was formed in response to immediate threats to the Wood-poppy and its habitat.  Seven years of recovery action have resulted in 1) the discovery of an additional site; 2) co-operation with private landowners of Wood-poppy sites; 3) establishment of two ex-situ populations of known maternal lines; 4) information about the breeding biology of Wood-poppy in Canada, including identification of seed predation and possible lack of germination sites as important factors limiting recruitment; 5) collection and preparation of material from Canadian and US populations for genetic studies; and 6) articles and newspaper columns to raise awareness about the species.

Critical habitat has been identified in this recovery strategy and includes the current area that the populations occupy plus the surrounding polygon of the same Ecological Land Classification (ELC) vegetation type.  This identification will be refined following the completion of the Schedule of Studies. 

The goals of the Recovery Strategy are to ensure that extant populations of Wood-poppy are protected with no loss of numbers of mature individuals, to secure the habitat, and to restore populations at all known localities to numbers and demographic structures that are self sustaining.  This will be achieved through improving degraded habitat, increasing landowner commitment through stewardship incentives, monitoring to determine viable population numbers and demographics, out-planting ex situ progeny at the smallest population, continuing studies on seed dispersal and survivorship, and assessment of genetic variability within and between populations.

Table of Contents

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Stylophore à deux feuilles (Stylophorum diphyllum)

Programme de rétablissement du

stylophore à deux feuilles

(Stylophorum diphyllum)

au Canada [Proposition]

 

stylophore à deux feuilles

Jane M. Bowles

Juin 2006

 

 

 

Programme de rétablissement du

stylophore à deux feuilles

(Stylophorum diphyllum) au Canada [Proposition]

  

En vertu de l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril (1996), les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ont accepté de travailler ensemble pour établir des mesures législatives, des programmes et des politiques pour assurer la protection des espèces en péril au Canada.

Dans l’esprit de collaboration de l’Accord, le gouvernement de l'Ontario a donné au gouvernement du Canada la permission d'adopter le Programme de rétablissement du stylophore à deux feuilles (Stylophorum diphyllum) au Canada en vertu de l'article 44 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). Les détails sont disponibles dans l'addenda du présent document.

Suivant la période d'appel de commentaires de 60 jours débutant en février 2007, et jusqu'à ce que le ministre de l'Environnement en décide autrement ou que le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario modifie officiellement le présent document, ce programme de rétablissement tiendra lieu de programme de rétablissement du ministre de l'Environnement du Canada pour la présente espèce.


RÉFÉRENCE RECOMMANDÉE

Bowles, Jane M. 2006. Programme de rétablissement du stylophore à deux feuilles (Stylophorum diphyllum) au Canada, 27 p.

 

Il est possible de télécharger des exemplaires de la présente publication à partir du Registre public de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (www.registrelep.gc.ca).

Illustration de la couverture : Jane Bowles

Also available in English under the title:

“Recovery Strategy for the Wood-poppy (Stylophorum diphyllum) in Canada [Proposed]”

Le contenu (à l’exception des illustrations) peut être utilisé sans permission, mais en prenant soin d’indiquer la source.

COMPÉTENCES RESPONSABLES

Le stylophore à deux feuilles se trouve en Ontario, et son programme de rétablissement a été élaboré par cette province. Le Service canadien de la faune, Région de l’Ontario, au nom du ministre compétent (le ministre de l’Environnement), a collaboré à l’élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement.

AUTEURS

Le programme de rétablissement a été élaboré par Jane M. Bowles sous la direction des membres de l’équipe de rétablissement suivants :

Dan Shaefer (ancien président), Middlesex Stewardship Council

Bonnie Bergsma, Ville de London

David Galbraith, Jardins botaniques royaux

Elaine Gosnell, Ecologistics Ltd.

Dave Jolly, Earthquest (Canada) for the Environment

Cathy Quinlan, Upper Thames River Conservation Authority

Joyce et Everett Robson

David Stephenson, Natural Resources Solutions

Dan Vanhie

Ann White, McIlwraith Field Naturalists of London, Inc.

Allen Woodliffe, Ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario

REMERCIEMENTS

Les personnes et organisations suivantes ont contribué de diverses façons au présent programme, notamment en offrant du soutien financier, en fournissant des renseignements, en travaillant sur le terrain et en commentant les ébauches précédentes : Mike Oldham, Bill Draper, Mary Gartshore, Peter Duenk, Caroline Rasenberg, Mark McCormack, Peter Moc, Jim Phipps, Ian Wilcox, Brenda Gallagher, Karen Pugh, Sandra Mackin, Karen Hartley, Hal Schraeder, Paul Prevett, Brad White, la London Community Foundation, le Conseil de l’adaptation agricole, le Programme de participation communautaire à la gestion de la faune, le Comité de détermination du statut des espèces en péril en Ontario (CDSEPO), Habitat faunique Canada, le Middlesex Stewardship Council et la Environmental Sciences Field Station de la University of Western Ontario.

PRÉFACE

La gestion du stylophore à deux feuilles relève de la compétence du gouvernement de l’Ontario.

En vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP, article 37), le ministre compétent est tenu d’élaborer un programme de rétablissement à l’égard de toute espèce inscrite comme disparue du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacée. Conformément au paragraphe 44(1) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, le ministre peut adopter un plan existant pour l’espèce qui répond aux exigences de la LEP en termes de contenu et de processus (articles 39 à 41).

Le stylophore à deux feuilles a été désigné espèce en voie de disparition par le COSEPAC en mai 2000 et a été inscrit à l’annexe 1 de la LEP en juin 2003. Le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario a dirigé la rédaction du présent programme de rétablissement de l’espèce en collaboration avec le Service canadien de la faune, Région de l’Ontario, Environnement Canada. Toutes les compétences responsables ont examiné le présent programme et en ont accusé réception.

SOMMAIRE

Une équipe de rétablissement a été mise sur pied en 1997 dans le but de réagir aux menaces directes pesant sur le stylophore à deux feuilles et sur son habitat. Les mesures de rétablissement mises de l’avant durant ces sept années ont apporté les résultats suivants : 1) la découverte d'un site additionnel, 2) le travail en coopération avec les propriétaires des terres abritant des stylophores à deux feuilles, 3) l'implantation de deux populations ex situ à partir de lignées  connues, 4) la collecte d'information sur la biologie de la reproduction de l’espèce au Canada, notamment l'identification de la prédation des graines et du manque possible de sites de germination comme facteurs importants limitant le recrutement, 5) la récolte et la préparation d'échantillons provenant des populations canadiennes et américaines afin de mener des études génétiques, 6) la rédaction d'articles et de chroniques dans les journaux dans le but d'accroître la sensibilisation à l’espèce.

L’habitat essentiel est désigné dans le présent programme de rétablissement et inclut le territoire actuellement occupé par les populations ainsi que le territoire formé par le polygone entourant ce territoire et dans lequel se trouve le même type de végétation selon la Classification écologique des terres. Cette désignation sera précisée une fois les études prévues au calendrier des études finalisées.

Les buts du programme de rétablissement sont les suivants : assurer la protection des populations existantes du stylophore à deux feuilles de façon à empêcher la perte d’individus matures; protéger l’habitat; remettre en état les populations de tous les emplacements connus jusqu'à un niveau où les effectifs et les structures démographiques seront autosuffisants. Pour atteindre ces buts, il faudra améliorer l’habitat dégradé, accroître l’engagement des propriétaires fonciers grâce à des mesures incitatives d’intendance, effectuer le suivi nécessaire pour déterminer l'effectif d'une population viable et en évaluer l’évolution, introduire des descendants de la culture ex situ dans la plus petite population, poursuivre les études sur la dispersion et la survie des graines, évaluer la variabilité génétique au sein des populations et d’une population à l’autre.

Table des Matières