PARKS CANADA AGENCY

SPECIES AT RISK ACT

Description of critical habitat of American Water-willow in Point Pelee National Park of Canada

American Water-willow (Justicia americana) is a species listed on Schedule 1 to the Species at Risk Act as threatened. American Water-willow is an aquatic plant that occurs at one site within Point Pelee National Park of Canada. Critical habitat for American Water-willow is identified within the final Recovery Strategy for the American Water-willow (Justicia americana) in Canada.

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to subsection 58(2) of the Species at Risk Act, critical habitat of American Water-willow in Point Pelee National Park of Canada (see Figure 1) is described based on individual occupancy and unoccupied suitable habitat, save and except existing anthropogenic features (e.g. sidewalks, wharves and bridges) and unnatural vegetation types (e.g. monocultures of Common Reed).

Critical habitat parcel numbers are based on the unique Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) species identification number for American Water-willow (206) and parcel number. Further details regarding American Water-willow critical habitat (including maps) can be found in the Recovery Strategy for the American Water-willow in Canada, posted on the Species at Risk Public Registry Web site.

Within the geographical boundaries presented within Figure 1, the biophysical attributes of critical habitat include the following: the eastern sand / fine gravel high water mark along the shore of Lake Pond into the pond where the water reaches a depth of 1.1 m.

Figure 1*

Pelee National Park of Canada

* Location and extent of critical habitat parcel No. 206_11 for American Water-willow in Point Pelee National Park of Canada. Critical habitat does not include existing anthropogenic features and unnatural vegetation types. Please refer to the Species at Risk Public Registry Web site for more details on American Water-willow critical habitat.

June 16, 2011

GEOFFREY HANCOCK
Field Unit Superintendent
Southwestern Ontario Field Unit

AGENCE PARCS CANADA

LOI SUR LES ESPÈCES EN PÉRIL

Description de l’habitat essentiel de la carmantine d’Amérique dans le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée du Canada

La carmantine d’Amérique (Justicia americana) est une espèce inscrite à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril à titre d’espèce menacée. La carmantine d’Amérique est une plante aquatique qui se retrouve à un site au sein du parc national de la Pointe-Pelée du Canada. L’habitat essentiel de la carmantine d’Amérique est défini dans le programme de rétablissement de la carmantine d’Amérique (Justicia americana) au Canada.

Avis est donné, conformément au paragraphe 58(2) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, que l’habitat essentiel de la carmantine d’Amérique dans le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée du Canada (voir figure 1) est décrit en fonction de l’occupation individuelle et de l’absence de l’occupation d’habitat potentiel, à l’exception de tous les éléments anthropiques existants (par exemple les sentiers, les quais, les ponts) et les types de végétation non naturels (par exemple les monocultures de roseau commun).

Les numéros des parcelles de l’habitat essentiel sont composés du numéro d’identification spécifique utilisé par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) pour la carmantine d’Amérique (206) et du numéro de parcelle. Pour plus de détails sur l’habitat essentiel de la carmantine d’Amérique (y compris des cartes), consultez le programme de rétablissement pour la carmantine d’Amérique au Canada, sur le site Web du Registre public des espèces en péril.

À l’intérieur des limites géographiques présentées à la figure 1, les attributs biophysiques de l’habitat essentiel incluent les éléments suivants : la ligne des hautes eaux sur le littoral sablonneux et de gravier fin le long de la rive de l’étang Lake jusque dans l’eau là où la profondeur de l’eau atteint 1,1 m.

Figure 1*

Park national de la Pointe-Pelée du Canada

* Localisation et étendue de la parcelle de l’habitat essentiel no 206_11 de la carmantine d’Amérique dans le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée du Canada. L’habitat essentiel n’inclut pas les structures anthropiques existantes et les types de végétation non naturels. Pour plus de détails sur l’habitat essentiel de la carmantine d’Amérique, consultez le site Web du Registre public des espèces en péril.

Le 16 juin 2011

Le directeur d’unité de gestion
Unité de gestion du Sud-Ouest de l’Ontario
GEOFFREY HANCOCK