Bull trout (Saskatchewan-Nelson rivers populations)

Consultations on listing under the Species at Risk Act

Bull trout
Photo credit: J. Stewart, DFO

The Saskatchewan-Nelson rivers populations of Bull trout have been assessed as “threatened” by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Before deciding whether these populations will be protected under the Species at Risk Act, Fisheries and Oceans Canada would like your opinion, comments and suggestions regarding the possible ecological, cultural and economic impacts of listing or not listing it. Please provide your input by July 15, 2015.

The Bull trout belongs to the salmon and trout family, and is part of the char subgroup that includes Dolly varden, Lake trout, Brook trout and Arctic char. Bull trout has a long and slender body, a large broad head and prominent upper jaw with a slightly forked tail fin. Highly colorful, its back is olive-green to bluegrey, sides are silvery with small pink, lilac, yellow-orange or red spots, the belly is pale in colour, and may become yellow, orange or red in males during spawning and the pelvic and anal fins have white leading edges with no black line. Size at maturity is dependent upon life history.

Proposed listing under SARA: Threatened

The Saskatchewan-Nelson populations of Bull trout were assessed by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) in 2012 as a threatened species. Provincially, the Bull trout is listed as special concern in Alberta, and is considered to may be at risk in the Northwest Territories.

The Canadian distribution extends throughout British Columbia and western Alberta, with a northern limit into the southern Yukon and the central portion of the Northwest Territories. Based on genetic analysis, range disjunction and distribution, Bull trout have been divided into five designated units (DU): Southcoast BC populations (DU1); Western Arctic populations (DU2); Yukon populations (DU3); Saskatchewan-Nelson populations (DU4); and Pacific populations (DU5). The Saskatchewan-Nelson populations are restricted to Alberta and are found primarily in the drainages of the North and South Saskatchewan rivers.

Habitat

The Bull trout is a coldwater species found in lakes, streams and rivers from sea level to mountainous areas. Its habitat has been described by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service as “cold, clean, complex and connected.” Sexual maturity occurs between five and seven years of age. Spawning occurs in the fall, when water temperatures fall below 10 degrees Celsius. Preferred spawning areas are cold, unpolluted moving streams with cobble or loose gravel substrates and are associated with groundwater sources.

distribution of the Bull trout
Map showing the distribution of the Bull trout (Saskatchewan-Nelson rivers populations) in Canada as described in the following paragraphs.

Threats

The greatest threats include degraded and fragmented habitat resulting from development and the introduction of non-native species. Bull trout are vulnerable to hybridization with introduced Brook trout in areas where both species now occur. Impacts from oil and gas development, forestry, mining, transportation infrastructure and hydroelectric projects affect habitat by increasing siltation and water temperatures or decreasing stream flow volumes. In turn, these changes reduce reproductive success. As well, barriers to fish movement, such as dams, weirs, and elevated stream temperatures, fragment migratory corridors required for spawning. Overfishing and poaching may also remain a threat. As Bull trout are difficult to distinguish from other char and trout being recreationally fished, the misidentification by fishers also poses a risk.

Possible management measures

If listed under SARA, Fisheries and Oceans Canada will, in collaboration and consultation with stakeholders and partners, use the best available information to develop a recovery strategy and action plan for the species.

Protection and recovery of species under SARA

If the Saskatchewan-Nelson rivers population are added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk as threatened, they will be legally protected under SARA and subject to prohibitions. It will be illegal to kill, harm, harass, capture or take individuals from this population, or possess, buy, sell or trade any part of one unless authorized by a permit issued under SARA. It will also be illegal to destroy the critical habitat of the Saskatchewan-Nelson rivers population of Bull trout– the habitat necessary for its survival and recovery - once it is identified in the recovery strategy or action plan.

The purposes of the Species at Risk Act are to prevent the disappearance of wildlife species, to provide for their recovery and to encourage the management of special concern species.

The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) has the mandate to conduct assessments on the status of wildlife species and categorize them according to their level of risk for extinction (extinct, extirpated, endangered, threatened, or special concern).

The Government of Canada considers scientific evidence, comments received from Canadians during consultations, and potential socio-economic impacts before making a decision whether or not to include the species on the List of Wildlife Species at Risk under SARA.

Recovery planning is undertaken for all listed species, and prohibitions are put in place protecting species assessed as extirpated, endangered or threatened.

The consultation process

The Government of Canada would like to hear your input on listing the Saskatchewan-Nelson rivers population of Bull trout as threatened under the Species at Risk Act, and any comments on the potential positive and negative impacts this listing would have on you, your industry, your community and/or the ecosystem.

To provide your input, please complete and return the attached survey to fwisar@dfo-mpo.gc.ca. Please note that the consultation period is now closed.

Your answers will be used to help inform the decision whether or not to list the species.

Omble à tête plate (populations des rivières Saskatchewan-Nelson)

Consultations sur l’inscription en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

ombles à tête plate
Crédit photo : J. Stewart, MPO

Les populations des ombles à tête plate été évaluée comme étant une espèce «menacée» par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC). Avant de décider si cette espèce sera protégée en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, Pêches et Océans Canada souhaite obtenir votre opinion, vos commentaires et suggestions au sujet des répercussions écologiques, culturelles et économiques possibles de son inscription ou non-inscription. Veuillez fournir vos commentaires en utilisant le questionnaire en ligne d’ici le 15 juillet 2015.

Inscription proposée en vertu de la LEP : Menacée

L’omble à tête plate (les populations des rivières Saskatchewan-Nelson) a été évalué comme spèce menacée par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) en 2012.

À l’échelle provinciale et territoriale, l’omble à ête plate a été désigné comme faisant partie des espèces préoccupantes par l’Alberta et il est considéré comme une espèce potentiellement en péril par les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

L’omble à tête plate appartient à la famille des saumons et des truites et il fait partie du sous-groupe qui comprend également le Dolly Varden, le touladi, l’omble de fontaine et l’omble chevalier. L’omble à tête plate possède un corps fin et long, une tête grande et large, ainsi qu’une âchoire supérieure proéminente, et une nageoire caudale légèrement fourchue. Très coloré, il montre un dos vert olive à gris bleuâtre, des flancs d’une couleur argentée avec de petites taches roses, lilas, jaune-orange ou rouges, et un ventre de couleur pâle et pouvant devenir jaune, orange ou rouge chez les mâles pendant le frai. Une taille à maturité variant selon le cycle biologique.

Au Canada, l’aire de répartition comprend l’ensemble de la Colombie- Britannique et l’ouest de l’Alberta ainsi que le sud du Yukon et la partie centrale des Territoires du Nord-Ouest comme limite septentrionale. En se fondant sur des analyses génétiques et la fragmentation de l’aire de répartition, on a divisé les populations d’omble à tête plate en cinq unités désignables (UD) : côte sud de la Colombie-Britannique (UD1), ouest de l’Arctique (UD2), Yukon (UD3), Saskatchewan- Nelson (UD4) et Pacifique (UD5).

Habitat

L’omble à tête plate est une espèce vivant en eau froide présente dans des lacs, des cours d’eau et des rivières aussi bien au niveau de la mer que dans les zones montagneuses. Son habitat a été décrit par le U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service comme étant « froid, propre, complexe et bien relié ». La maturité sexuelle survient à un âge entre 5 et 7 ans. Le frai a lieu en automne, quand la température de l’eau chute en dessous de 10°. Les frayères préférées sont les cours d’eau froids, non pollués avec des substrats de galets ou de gravier qui sont associés avec les sources d’eaux souterraines.

réparation de l’omble à tête plate
Carte montrant la réparation de l’omble à tête plate (les populations des rivières Saskatchewan-Nelson) au Canada comme décrit dans les paragraphes suivants.

Menaces

Parmi les menaces les plus importantes qui pèsent sur l’omble à tête plate, on peut citer un habitat dégradé et fragmenté par le développement et l’introduction d’espèces non indigènes. L’omble à tête plate est susceptible de s’hybrider avec une espèce introduite comme l’omble de fontaine, ce qui constitue une menace dans les zones où les deux espèces coexistent. Le développement pétrolier et gazier, l’exploitation forestière et minière, l’infrastructure de transport et les projets hydroélectriques ont des répercussions : ils favorisent l’envasement, l’augmentation de la température de l’eau et la diminution du débit des cours d’eau. À leur tour, ces changements ont une incidence sur le succès reproducteur. De même, les obstacles au déplacement des poissons tels que les barrages et les déversoirs causent la fragmentation des voies de migration nécessaires pour le frai. La surpêche et le braconnage constituent aussi les menaces. L’omble à tête plate est difficile à distinguer des autres espèces d’omble et de truite qui font l’objet de pêches récréatives; les erreurs d’identification de la part des pêcheurs constituent donc un autre risque.

Mesures de gestion possibles

Si l’omble à tête plate est inscrite en vertu de la LEP, Pêches et Océans Canada, en collaboration et en consultation avec les parties intéressées et ses partenaires, utilisera les meilleurs renseignements disponibles pour élaborer un programme de rétablissement et un plan d’action pour cette espèce.

Protection et rétablissement de l’espèce en vertu de la LEP

Si l’omble à tête plate (populations des rivières Saskatchewan et Nelson) est inscrit à la liste de la Loi sur les espèces en péril en tant qu’espèce menacée, il serait illégal de le tuer, de lui nuire, de le harceler, de le capturer, de le prendre, de le posséder, de le collectionner, de l’acheter, de le vendre ou de l’échanger un omble à tête plate qui vient de ces populations des rivières Saskatchewan et Nelson, ou de détruire son habitat essentiel.

La Loi sur les espèces en péril vise à prévenir la disparition des espèces, à prévoir leur rétablissement et à favoriser la gestion des espèces préoccupantes.

Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a pour mandat de mener des évaluations sur la situation des espèces sauvages et de classer ces dernières en fonction de leur niveau de risque d’extinction (espèce disparue, disparue du Canada, en voie de disparition, menacée ou préoccupante).

Avant de prendre la décision d’ajouter une espèce à la Liste des espèces en péril, le gouvernement du Canada examine les preuves scientifiques, les commentaires reçus des Canadiens et des Canadiennes au cours des consultations et les effets socioéconomiques potentiels.

La planification du rétablissement est effectuée pour l’ensemble des espèces inscrites, et des interdictions entrent en vigueur pour protéger les espèces évaluées comme étant disparues du pays, en voie de disparition, ou menacées.

Le processus de consultation

Dans le cadre du processus de consultation, le gouvernement du Canada aimerait connaître votre avis sur l’inscription de l’ombre à tête plate (populations des rivières Saskatchewan et Nelson) en tant qu’espèce menacée en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Il aimerait aussi obtenir vos commentaires sur les effets positifs et négatifs que cette inscription pourrait avoir sur vous, sur votre industrie, sur votre communauté ou sur l’écosystème.

Pour fournir vos commentaires, veuillez remplir et retourner le questionnaire ci-joint à fwisar@dfo-mpo.gc.ca. Veuillez noter que la période de consultation est maintenant terminée.

Les réponses seront prises en compte lors de la prise de décision à savoir s’il faut inscrire ou non l’espèce.