Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

SARA Parliamentary Review
Piping Plover, Circumcinctus subspecies Case Study

Challenges with Identification of Critical Habitat

Introduction

This case study provides a brief overview of the challenges involved in critical habitat identification under the Species at Risk Act (SARA). It uses the example of the Piping Plover (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) and focuses particularly on issues pertaining to scale and criteria, workload and time frames, the need to identify specific geographic locations for critical habitat, and consultation and timelines.

The Piping Plover is a small migratory shorebird that blends into its setting and is found on sparsely vegetated sand or gravel beaches where it nests and raises its young. The circumcinctus subspecies breeds on beaches of both freshwater and alkali wetlands, and its breeding range in Canada extends from central Alberta to southern Saskatchewan, southern Manitoba, Lake of the Woods (Ontario portion) and Lake Huron in southern Ontario.

The Piping Plover was initially designated as threatened by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) in April 1978 and was the first species in Canada to be upgraded to endangered, in 1985. It was reassessed by COSEWIC in 2001 as two units, the circumcinctus subspecies and the melodus subspecies; both were designated as endangered and included among the 233 species on Schedule 1 when SARA came into force.

Recovery Strategies and Critical Habitat

For each wildlife species listed under SARA for which the competent minister determines that recovery is feasible, paragraph 41 (1) (c) of the Act requires that the recovery strategy include the identification of the species’ critical habitat, to the extent possible, and based on the best available information, including the information provided by COSEWIC. Examples of activities that are likely to result in the destruction of critical habitat are also to be included in the recovery strategy.

Critical habitat is defined under SARA as “the habitat that is necessary for the survival or recovery of a listed wildlife species and that is identified as the species’ critical habitat in the recovery strategy or in an action plan for the species.” This broad definition requires consideration on a species-by-species basis as to what habitat features are necessary for each species and where that habitat is located. Habitat is an area with unique physical and biological attributes that provide necessary elements to support key functions for a species, such as shelter, reproduction, the production of food or movement during its life cycle. The purpose of identifying critical habitat is to ensure that human activities are managed in a way that is consistent with maintaining the functional attributes of the habitat necessary for the survival or recovery of the species.

The critical habitat identification and protection provisions of SARA have added important new federal responsibilities for the management of species at risk. These include the authority to prohibit destruction of critical habitat on both federal and non-federal lands (i.e. the SARA critical habitat “safety net”; section 61). Through the use of the “safety net” the Minister is to ensure that the laws of the province or territory effectively protect critical habitat of listed endangered or threatened species when found in a province or territory outside of federal lands. The critical habitat provisions have potential implications for Aboriginal communities, landowners, lessees and other sectors of Canadian society, such as industry.

Section 39 requires cooperation and consultation in preparing a recovery strategy. The competent minister must, to the extent possible, cooperate and consult with various persons, landowners, wildlife management boards, Aboriginal organizations, appropriate provincial/territorial governments and other federal ministers and any other person or organization that the competent minister considers appropriate when preparing a recovery strategy, including the identification of critical habitat. These requirements involve making the parties aware of the implications associated with critical habitat identification under SARA.

Landowners, lessees and land managers want to know, first and foremost, how SARA recovery strategies might affect them. The greatest effect on these parties is critical habitat identification that leads to protection, possibly by way of a SARA prohibition; critical habitat identification and protection may impact land use and peoples’ livelihoods. This is an important matter in many parts of Canada where much of the habitat of species at risk occurs on privately owned or managed lands. Identification of critical habitat can create anxiety among landowners and land users because of the uncertainty about how the identification will limit activities on the land.

Critical Habitat Identification for the Piping Plover, circumcinctus subspecies

The habitat for the Piping Plover is relatively specific, as it is restricted primarily to freshwater and alkali beaches and river sandbars. From surveys carried out in the Prairie Provinces, it was possible to determine the location of specific wetlands used by plovers. To identify and physically reference the specific critical habitat for the Piping Plover required knowledge of the species’ habitat requirements, as well as site-specific referencing from mapping or geo-referencing sources. With this background, it was possible to develop a framework for defining, describing and referencing critical habitat for this species.

Providing specific criteria for identifying critical habitat

Every place where an individual Piping Plover, circumcinctus subspecies has been sighted is not necessarily critical habitat. Variability in environmental conditions from year to year can also change the availability and use of critical habitat. Thus, a set of criteria for determining which areas were necessary for the survival and recovery of this subspecies needed to be developed. These criteria related to identifying areas where the birds occurred in sufficient numbers over a sufficient number of years. The development of these criteria resulted in a critical habitat identification that is defendable and transparent. To narrow down specific wetlands that were likely to contain critical habitat required setting specific criteria for plover numbers seen on surveys, the minimum number and timing of these surveys and a time frame over which to determine the status of the site. Once the specific wetlands were identified, critical habitat was then identified on a quarter-section basis, depending on the number of adults or nests observed over a defined time frame.

Workload and time required to properly identify critical habitat

At the time of posting of the original recovery strategy, Environment Canada did not have access to many of the data needed to identify critical habitat. Various provincial government agencies and environmental non-governmental organizations had information about plovers. However, these data were in a variety of formats, including important information only available on hard-copy maps. These data sets had to be collated from the various sources, standardized and digitized to enable analyses as to what areas met the criteriaFootnote1 established to define critical habitat for this species.

Providing specific geographic locations of critical habitat

Early thinking about critical habitat for the Piping Plover, circumcinctus subspecies led the recovery team to identify entire basins (typically lakes). After further consideration, it was concluded that identifying basins did not provide adequately specific detail on where critical habitat was located because large portions of many basins contain unsuitable habitat for plovers. This inability to specifically identify critical habitat made it difficult to consult because the appropriate landowners and land managers could not be determined. Furthermore, the coarse-scale identification of entire basins precluded the required subsequent analyses of whether the critical habitat was protected or not.

In order to refine the identification of critical habitat, the recovery team adopted a hierarchical approach. Initially, a general set of “basin criteria” was applied to determine which basins within the range of the Piping Plover, circumcinctus subspecies were likely to contain critical habitat. A second criterion, the “quarter section criterion” was then used to determine precisely which portions of each basin’s shore constitutes critical habitat. Quarter sections were selected as the typical basis for identifying the location of critical habitat, using occurrence and time-frame criteria, because rural land in western Canada is generally owned and managed at the quarter-section level, and land ownership can easily be tracked at that level.

Judicial review

On November 6, 2006, the final recovery strategy was posted on the Species at Risk Public Registry. In the circumstances, Environment Canada held that the species’ critical habitat could not be identified. The recovery strategy indicated that although several attributes and criteria had been described to assist in identifying critical habitat, there was a lack of knowledge of the specific locations that met these criteria. The recovery strategy provided that the identification of critical habitat sites would be done within subsequent action plans. However, the recovery strategy did not identify a schedule of studies indicating when critical habitat would be identified.

On December 4, 2006, an application for judicial review was filed by Sierra Legal Defence Fund on behalf of several environmental non-governmental organizations, including Nature Canada and the David Suzuki Foundation. The application alleged that the recovery strategy did not comply with the requirements of SARA because it failed to identify the Plover’s critical habitat--notwithstanding that SARA requires it to be identified “to the extent possible”.

On March 16, 2007, Environment Canada posted an addendum to the recovery strategy. The addendum amended the recovery strategy by identifying certain critical habitat for the Piping Plover and by providing a clear explanation of what information was outstanding and why.

On August 7, 2007, the application for judicial review was dismissed by the court as a result of the Applicants’ failure to respond to a Notice of Status Review.

Consultation and timelines

The Piping Plover experience illustrates the challenges that can arise in meeting the time frames for the posting of proposed recovery strategies, together with the cooperation and consultation requirements of section 39. These challenges include preparing relevant criteria for spatially identifying critical habitat, collating and sorting data to determine units that meet the specified criteria, collaborating with various jurisdictions, determining land ownership and contact information, contacting landowners, and arranging and carrying out consultation meetings. In the case of the Piping Plover, circumcinctus subspecies, the recovery strategy was posted within the required time frame without any critical habitat being identified because it was not possible to meet all of these challenges within that time frame.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

The specific criteria for defining these areas were as follows: “Quarter sections (or comparable units) with critical habitat are those where use has been documented by ≥ 2 Piping Plover pairs (or ≥ 2 nests, or ≥ 4 adults) in ≥ 2 breeding seasons over a floating 15-year window.”

Return to footnote1referrer

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Examen de la LEP
Étude de cas du Pluvier siffleur de la sous-espèce circumcinctus

Défis dans la désignation de l’habitat essentiel

Introduction

La présente étude de cas constitue un bref aperçu des défis que pose la désignation de l’habitat essentiel en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). Elle prend comme exemple le Pluvier siffleur (Charadrius melodus circumcinctus) et porte particulièrement sur les questions concernant l’étendue et les critères, la charge de travail et les échéanciers, la nécessité de déterminer des emplacements géographiques précis pour l’habitat essentiel, les consultations et les calendriers.

Le Pluvier siffleur est un petit oiseau de rivage migrateur qui se fond dans son environnement et que l’on trouve sur les rives clairsemées sablonneuses ou de gravier où il niche et élève ses petits. La sous-espèce circumcinctus se reproduit sur les rives des milieux humides aux eaux douces et alcalines, et son aire de reproduction au Canada s’étend du centre de l’Alberta jusqu’au sud de la Saskatchewan et couvre également, le sud du Manitoba, le lac des Bois (portion ontarienne) et le lac Huron dans le sud de l’Ontario.

Le Pluvier siffleur a été désigné menacé par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC), en avril 1978, et par la suite, il a été la première espèce au Canada pour laquelle le statut fut porté au niveau d’espèce en voie de disparition en 1985. L’espèce a été réévaluée par le COSEPAC en 2001 en deux unités : la sous-espèce circumcinctus et la sous-espèce melodus. Ces deux sous-espèces ont été désignées en voie de disparition et ajoutées à la liste de l’annexe 1 qui comportait 233 espèces au moment où la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) a été promulguée.

Programmes de rétablissement et habitat essentiel

Pour chacune des espèces sauvages inscrites sur la liste de la LEP dont le rétablissement est considéré comme réalisable par le ministre compétent, l’article 41 (1) (c) de la Loirequiert que l’habitat essentiel soit identifié dans le cadre d’un programme de rétablissement, dans la mesure du possible et selon la meilleure information existante, y compris selon les renseignements fournis par le COSEPAC. Ce programme de rétablissement comprendra aussi des exemples d’activités qui pourraient engendrer la destruction de l’habitat essentiel.

En vertu de la LEP, l’habitat essentiel est défini comme « l’habitat nécessaire à la survie ou au rétablissement d’une espèce sauvage inscrite, qui est désigné comme tel dans un programme de rétablissement ou un plan d’action élaboré à l’égard de l’espèce. » Cette définition générale doit être examinée espèce par espèce pour connaître quelles sont les caractéristiques de l’habitat nécessaires à chaque espèce et l’emplacement de cet habitat. L’habitat est une aire possédant des caractéristiques physiques et biologiques uniques et qui fournit les éléments nécessaires au soutien des principales fonctions d’une espèce, comme l’abri, la reproduction, la production d’aliments ou les déplacements durant le cycle de vie. La désignation de l’habitat essentiel vise à assurer que les activités humaines sont gérées de façon à ce que soient maintenus les attributs fonctionnels de l’habitat nécessaires à la survie ou au rétablissement de l’espèce.

Les dispositions de la LEP sur la désignation et la protection de l’habitat essentiel ont ajouté d’importantes nouvelles responsabilités fédérales relativement à la gestion des espèces en péril. Celles-ci comportent le pouvoir d’interdire la destruction de l’habitat essentiel sur le territoire domanial et les autres terres (voir les « filets de sécurité » de la LEP pour l’habitat essentiel, article 61). En vertu de la LEP, le ministre doit s’assurer que les lois provinciales et territoriales protègent l’habitat essentiel des espèces en voie de disparition ou menacées de la liste lorsqu’il est situé dans une province ou un territoire en dehors des terres fédérales.. Les dispositions sur l’habitat essentiel comportent des conséquences possibles pour les communautés autochtones, les propriétaires fonciers, les locataires et d’autres secteurs de la société canadienne, comme l’industrie.

Conformément à l’article 39, le programme de rétablissement doit être élaboré en faisant appel à la collaboration et aux consultations. Le ministre compétent doit, dans la mesure du possible, collaborer et consulter diverses personnes, propriétaires fonciers, conseils de gestion des ressources fauniques, organisations autochtones, les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux concernés et d’autres ministres fédéraux ou toute autre personne ou organisation que le ministre compétent considère comme appropriée lors de l’élaboration d’un programme de rétablissement, y compris la désignation de l’habitat essentiel. Dans le cadre de ces dispositions, les parties doivent être informées des conséquences liées à la désignation de l’habitat essentiel en vertu de la LEP.

Les propriétaires fonciers, les locataires et les gestionnaires des terres souhaitent savoir, d’abord et avant tout, de quelle façon ils seront touchés par les programmes de rétablissement élaborés en vertu de la LEP. Ce qui peut avoir le plus d’impact sur ces intervenants est la désignation de l’habitat essentiel à des fins de protection, possiblement par le truchement d’une interdiction en vertu de la LEP; la désignation et la protection de l’habitat essentiel peuvent influer sur l’utilisation des terres et sur les moyens de subsistance des personnes. Cette question revêt de l’importance dans de nombreuses régions du Canada où une grande partie de l’habitat essentiel des espèces en péril est située sur des propriétés privées ou des propriétés entretenues par des particuliers. La désignation de l’habitat essentiel peut créer une certaine anxiété chez les propriétaires fonciers et les utilisateurs des terres en raison de l’incertitude entourant la façon dont la désignation limitera les activités sur les terres.

Désignation de l’habitat essentiel du Pluvier siffleur de la sous-espèce circumcinctus

L’habitat du Pluvier siffleur est relativement particulier, du fait qu’il se limite aux rives des eaux douces et alcalines et aux barres de sable des cours d’eau. À l’aide de relevés menés dans les provinces des Prairies, on a pu déterminer l’emplacement précis des milieux humides utilisés par le Pluvier siffleur. Pour déterminer et citer l’emplacement physique de l’habitat essentiel particulier du Pluvier siffleur, il est nécessaire de connaître les exigences liées à l’habitat de cette espèce ainsi que l’emplacement précis du site selon les cartes ou les sources géoréférencées. À l’aide de ces renseignements, il a été possible d’élaborer un cadre visant à définir, à décrire et à situer l’habitat essentiel de cette espèce.

Critères précis pour la désignation de l’habitat essentiel

Tout emplacement où le Pluvier siffleur de la sous-espèce circumcinctus a été observé ne constitue pas nécessairement son habitat essentiel. La diversité des conditions environnementales peut modifier d’une année à l’autre la disponibilité et l’utilisation de l’habitat essentiel. C’est pourquoi un ensemble de critères pour déterminer les aires nécessaires à la survie et au rétablissement de cette sous-espèce devait être créé. Ces critères devaient servir à déterminer les aires où les oiseaux habitaient en nombre suffisant au cours d’un nombre satisfaisant d’années. L’élaboration de ces critères a permis de désigner de façon défendable et transparente l’habitat essentiel. Pour circonscrire les milieux humides où se trouvait probablement l’habitat essentiel, il a été nécessaire d’établir des critères particuliers sur le plan du nombre de Pluviers siffleurs observés dans le cadre des relevés, un nombre minimal de relevés, le calendrier de ces relevés ainsi qu’une période de temps au cours de laquelle effectuer l’évaluation de l’état du site. Une fois que les milieux humides ont été identifiés, l’habitat essentiel a alors été désigné par quart de section, selon le nombre d’adultes ou de nids observés au cours d’une période de temps définie.

Charge de travail et temps requis pour désigner adéquatement l’habitat essentiel

Au moment où le programme de rétablissement initial a été publié, Environnement Canada possédait peu des données nécessaires pour désigner l’habitat essentiel. Divers organismes gouvernementaux provinciaux et organismes non gouvernementaux environnementaux possédaient des renseignements sur le Pluvier siffleur. Toutefois, ces données étaient présentées en divers formats, et certains renseignements importants n’existaient qu’en format de cartes sur papier. Ces ensembles de données ont dû être obtenus de diverses sources, et les données ont été normalisées et numérisées pour permettre les analyses visant à déterminer les aires satisfaisant aux critèresNote de bas de page1 établis pour définir l’habitat essentiel de l’espèce.

Emplacements géographiques particuliers de l’habitat essentiel

La prise en compte préliminaire de la situation du Pluvier siffleur de la sous-espèce circumcinctus orchestrée par l’équipe de rétablissement l’a amené à désigner des bassins entiers (surtout des lacs). Après mûre réflexion, il a été conclu que la désignation des bassins ne fournissait pas assez de détails sur les emplacements de l’habitat essentiel, de grandes parties de nombreux bassins étant des habitats inadéquats pour le Pluvier siffleur. Cette incapacité à désigner précisément l’habitat essentiel a rendu difficile le respect des exigences de la LEP en matière de consultation puisqu’il était impossible de déterminer les propriétaires fonciers et les gestionnaires des terres concernés. De plus, la désignation générique de bassins entiers ne se prêtait pas aux analyses subséquentes requises visant à établir si l’habitat essentiel était protégé ou non.

Dans le but de préciser davantage la désignation de l’habitat essentiel, l’équipe de rétablissement a adopté une approche hiérarchique. Au départ, un ensemble général de « critères de bassin » a été appliqué pour déterminer quels bassins au sein de l’aire de répartition du Pluvier siffleur de la sous-espèce circumcinctus étaient susceptibles de renfermer un habitat essentiel. Un deuxième critère, le « critère du quart de section » a alors été utilisé pour déterminer précisément quelles parties des rives de chaque bassin constituaient un habitat essentiel. Les quarts de section ont été choisis comme base à la détermination des emplacements de l’habitat essentiel, à l’aide de critères sur l’occurrence et le cadre temporel puisque les terres rurales dans l’ouest du Canada sont en règle générale possédées et gérées selon la méthode des quarts de section et que la propriété des terres peut facilement faire l’objet d’un suivi à ce niveau.

Examen judiciaire

Le 6 novembre 2006, le programme définitif de rétablissement a été publié dans le registre de la LEP. Dans les circonstances, Environnement Canada considérait que l’habitat essentiel de l’espèce ne pouvait pas être désigné. Le programme de rétablissement indiquait que bien que plusieurs caractéristiques et critères avaient été décrits pour aider à désigner l’habitat essentiel, il n’y avait pas suffisamment de connaissances sur des sites précis satisfaisant à ces critères. Le programme de rétablissement prévoyait que la désignation de sites d’habitats essentiels se ferait dans des plans d’action subséquents.

Le 4 décembre 2006, le Sierra Legal Defence Fund a déposé une demande d’examen judiciaire au nom de plusieurs organismes non gouvernementaux de l’environnement, dont Nature Canada et la Fondation David Suzuki. La demande alléguait que le programme de rétablissement ne respectait pas les exigences de la LEP parce qu’il ne parvenait pas à désigner l’habitat essentiel du Pluvier siffleur – même si la LEP spécifie que la désignation doit être faite « dans la mesure du possible ».

Le 16 mars 2007, Environnement Canada a publié un addenda à son programme de rétablissement qui modifiait le programme en désignant certains habitats essentiels pour le Pluvier siffleur et en expliquant clairement quelle information était en suspens et pourquoi.

Le 7 août 2007, la demande d’examen judiciaire a été rejetée par le tribunal parce que les demandeurs n’avaient pas répondu à un Avis d’examen de l’état de l’instance.

Consultations et calendrier

Le cas du Pluvier siffleur illustre les défis qui peuvent se présenter lorsqu’il s’agit de respecter l’échéancier d’affichage des programmes de rétablissement proposés ainsi que les exigences en matière de collaboration et de consultation définis à l’article 39. Ces défis comprennent l’élaboration de critères pertinents pour désigner spatialement l’habitat essentiel, rassembler et trier les données afin de déterminer les unités qui respectent les critères définis, collaborer avec diverses compétences, déterminer la propriété foncière et les personnes-ressources, communiquer avec les propriétaires fonciers et organiser et tenir des réunions de consultation. Dans le cas du Pluvier siffleur de la sous-espèce circumcinctus, le programme de rétablissement a été affiché dans les délais prescrits sans que l’habitat essentiel n’ait été désigné puisqu’il était impossible de relever ces défis tout en respectant l’échéancier.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Les critères particuliers pour définir ces aires étaient les suivants : « Les quarts de section (ou unités comparables) pour l’habitat essentiel sont ceux dont l’utilisation a été documentée par ≥ 2 couples de Pluviers siffleurs (ou ≥ 2 nids ou ≥ 4 adultes) au cours de ≥ 2 saisons de reproduction sur une période fluctuante de 15 années. »

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page1