Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the False Hop Sedge (Carex lupuliformis) in Canada [Proposed]

Species at Risk Act
Recovery Strategy Series

False Hop Sedge

Image of False Hop Sedge © Matthew Wild, Environment Canada, Canadian Wildlife Service, Quebec Region

Table of Contents

Document Information

Top of Page


Document Information

Recommended citation:

Environment Canada. 2013. Recovery Strategy for the False Hop Sedge (Carex lupuliformis) in Canada [Proposed]. Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series. Environment Canada, Ottawa. v + 23 pp.

For copies of the recovery strategy or for additional information on species at risk, including COSEWIC status reports, residence descriptions, action plans and other related recovery documents, please visit the Species at Risk Public Registry.

Cover illustration: © Matthew Wild, Environment Canada, Canadian Wildlife Service, Quebec Region

Également disponible en français sous le titre :
« Programme de rétablissement du carex faux-lupulina (Carex lupuliformis) au Canada (proposition)»

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of the Environment, 2013. All rights reserved.

ISBN
Catalogue no.  

Content (excluding the illustrations) may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.

Top of Page


Preface

The federal, provincial and territorial government signatories under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk (1996) agreed to establish complementary legislation and programs that provide for effective protection of species at risk throughout Canada. Under the Species at Risk Act (SARA) (S.C. 2002, c. 29), the federal competent ministers are responsible for the preparation of recovery strategies for listed Extirpated, Endangered and Threatened species and are required to report on progress within five years.

The Minister of the Environment is the competent minister for the recovery of the False Hop Sedge and has developed this strategy, as per section 37 of SARA. It has been prepared in cooperation with the governments of Ontario (Ministry of Natural Resources) and Quebec (Ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs du Québec).

Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of the many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the directions set out in this strategy and will not be achieved by Environment Canada or any other jurisdiction alone. All Canadians are invited to join in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the False Hop Sedge and Canadian society as a whole.

This recovery strategy will be followed by one or more action plans that will provide information on recovery measures to be taken by Environment Canada and other jurisdictions and/or organizations involved in the conservation of the species. Implementation of this strategy is subject to appropriations, priorities and budgetary constraints of the participating jurisdictions and organizations.

Top of Page

Acknowledgments

This recovery strategy was revised by Vincent Carignan and Matthew Wild (Environment Canada, Canadian Wildlife Service - Quebec Region) based on a draft version by Nicole Lavoie (consulting botanist) and advice from members of the advisory committee for the recovery of False Hop Sedge in Canada [Vincent Carignan, Patricia Désilets (Ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs du Québec), Kate MacIntyre and Allen Woodliffe (Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources) and Andrée Nault (Scientific Research Division of the Montréal Biodôme)].

This recovery strategy also benefited from comments by Alain Branchaud and Karine Picard (Environment Canada, Canadian Wildlife Service - Quebec Region); Kate Hayes (formerly with Environment Canada, Canadian Wildlife Service - Ontario Region), Kathy St. Laurent, Angela Darwin, Madeline Austen, Graham Bryan, Lesley Dunn and Dalia Al-Ali (Environment Canada, Canadian Wildlife Service - Ontario Region), Marie-José Ribeyron and Tanys Uhmann (Environment Canada, Canadian Wildlife Service - National Capital Region); Jacques Labrecque, Nadia Cavallin, Jacques Cayouette, Guy Jolicoeur, and Line Couillard (Ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs du Québec); Jacinthe Letendre, Bree Walpole, Eric Snyder, and Michael J. Oldham (Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources), Stéphanie Pellerin (Institut de recherche en biologie végétale) as well as Diane Amirault-Langlais and Marjorie Mercure (formerly with Environment Canada, Canadian Wildlife Service - Quebec Region).

Top of Page

Executive Summary

False Hop Sedge (Carex lupuliformis) is an herbaceous perennial in the sedge family that grows in tufts on the margins of wetlands, including swamps, marshes, floodplains and vernal pools. The species was evaluated as endangered by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) in 2000, and listed as endangered on Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act (SARA) in 2003.

The species has a sporadic distribution in eastern North America and is at the northern limit of its range in Canada, occurring solely in the southernmost part of Ontario and Quebec. There are 20 known populations, including 12 in which naturally-occurring individuals have been detected since 2009. Transplantations have been conducted at four populations and reintroductions have taken place in two formerly extirpated populations. In 2009–2010, there were approximately 361 tufts of False Hop Sedge in Canada, half of which were the result of reintroduction or transplantation efforts. Following a severe flooding event in Quebec during the spring of 2011, only two naturally-occurring tufts remained in that province.

The main threats to False Hop Sedge have been identified as alteration of the water regime, closure of the vegetation, invasive alien plant species, recreational and landowner activities, parasites, garbage deposition and residential development. It should also be noted that a limited number of extant populations with low abundance distributed within a restricted geographic region poses a significant challenge for the long-term persistence of the species in Canada.

The recovery of False Hop Sedge is considered technically and biologically feasible.
The population and distribution objective is to maintain or, where feasible, increase the population size and the area of occupancy of False Hop Sedge in Canada. The broad strategies to be taken to address the threats to the survival and recovery of the species are presented in the section on Strategic Direction for Recovery.

The critical habitat of False Hop Sedge in Canada is partially identified in this recovery strategy. It corresponds to the suitable habitat at 13 of the 20 locations where populations of the species are found and described, including all of the populations that have benefitted from reintroduction or transplantation efforts or within which the existence of suitable habitat has been recently confirmed. A schedule of studies is proposed to complete the identification of the critical habitat at the Lambeth, Amherstburg and Galt locations in Ontario as well as at the Oka location in Quebec.

One or more action plans will be developed for False Hop Sedge within five years after the recovery strategy is posted on the Species at Risk Public Registry.

Top of Page

Summary of Recovery Feasibility

Under section 41(1) of SARA, the competent minister must determine whether the recovery of the listed wildlife species is technically and biologically feasible. On the basis of the criteria established in the draft SARA Policies (Government of Canada, 2009), recovery of False Hop Sedge is considered biologically and technically feasible, since the responses to the following statements are “yes” or “unknown”:

  1. Individuals of the wildlife species that are capable of reproduction are available now or in the foreseeable future to sustain the population or improve its abundance.

    Yes. Inventories conducted since 2005 have located new False Hop Sedge populations and seed and seedling production has recently been observed at twelve extant populations in Canada. Seedlings are currently being produced ex situ in Quebec and Ontario.

  2. Sufficient suitable habitat is available to support the species or could be made available through habitat management or restoration.

    Yes. In Ontario, suitable habitat is found at least at 7 of the 9 locations that are currently occupied by populations and more than 35 wetlands showing similarities to habitats supporting extant populations have been identified elsewhere in the province. In Quebec, nine potential wetlands have been identified along the Ottawa River and three along the Richelieu River (Bachand-Lavallée and Pellerin, 2006). These wetlands are located near extant or historical populations along a 10-km stretch of the Ottawa River and a 20-km stretch of the Richelieu River. 

  3. The primary threats to the species or its habitat (including threats outside Canada) can be avoided or mitigated.

    Yes. The threats with the highest level of concern (e.g. canopy closure, alteration of water regime) can be avoided or mitigated through recovery activities such as habitat protection and stewardship. It should also be noted that a limited number of populations (14) with low abundance (<400 individuals total) distributed within a restricted geographic region poses a significant challenge for the long-term persistence of the species.

  4. Recovery techniques exist to achieve the population and distribution objectives or can be expected to be developed within a reasonable timeframe. 

    Yes. Although habitat restoration (e.g. clearing competing vegetation) and reintroduction or transplantation of False Hop Sedge individuals have been successfully carried out in the field (Bachand-Lavallée and Pellerin, 2006, Letendre et al., 2007), the outcome of such efforts can be moderated by the fact that the species is at the northern limit of its range in Canada. In 2010, the survival of transplanted individuals ranged from 17 to 82% depending on the population, and the survival of seed-producing individuals ranged from 15 to 60% (COSEWIC, 2011).

Top of Page

Introduction

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du carex faux-lupulina (Carex lupuliformis) au Canada [Proposition]

Loi sur les espèces en péril
Série de Programmes de rétablissement

Carex faux-lupulina

Photo du Carex faux-lupulina ©  Matthew Wild, Environnement Canada, Service canadien de la faune – Région du  Québec

Table des matières

Information sur le document

Haut de la page


Information sur le document

Référence recommandée

Environnement Canada. 2013. Programme de rétablissement du carex faux-lupulina (Carex lupuliformis) au Canada [Proposition], Série de Programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, Environnement Canada, Ottawa, v + 24 pages.

Pour télécharger le présent programme de rétablissement ou pour obtenir un complément d’information sur les espèces en péril, incluant les rapports de situation du COSEPAC, les descriptions de la résidence, les plans d’action et d’autres documents connexes sur le rétablissement, veuillez consulter le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Illustration de la couverture : © Matthew Wild, Environnement Canada, Service canadien de la faune – Région du Québec

Also available in English under the title:
“Recovery strategy for the False Hop Sedge (Carex lupuliformis) in Canada [Proposed]” 

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de l’Environnement, 2013. Tous droits réservés.

ISBN
No de catalogue

Le contenu du présent document (à l’exception des illustrations) peut être utilisé sans permission, mais en prenant soin d’en indiquer la source.

Haut de la page


Préface

En vertu de l’Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril (1996), les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux signataires ont convenu d’établir une législation et des programmes complémentaires qui assureront la protection efficace des espèces en péril partout au Canada. En vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (L.C. 2002, ch. 29) (LEP), les ministres fédéraux compétents sont responsables de l’élaboration des programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces inscrites comme étant disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées et sont tenus de rendre compte des progrès réalisés dans un délai de cinq ans.
                                  
Le ministre de l’Environnement est le ministre compétent pour le rétablissement du carex faux-lupulina et a élaboré le présent programme, conformément à l’article 37 de la LEP. Ce programme a été préparé en collaboration avec les gouvernements de l’Ontario (ministère des Richesses naturelles) et du Québec (ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs).

La réussite du rétablissement de l’espèce dépendra de l’engagement et de la collaboration d’un grand nombre de parties concernées qui participeront à la mise en œuvre des recommandations formulées dans le présent programme. Cette réussite ne pourra reposer seulement sur Environnement Canada ou toute autre compétence. Tous les Canadiens et toutes les Canadiennes sont invités à appuyer le programme et à contribuer à sa mise en œuvre pour le bien du carex faux-lupulina et de l’ensemble de la société canadienne.

Le présent programme de rétablissement sera suivi d’un ou de plusieurs plans d’action qui présenteront de l’information sur les mesures de rétablissement qui doivent être prises par Environnement Canada et d’autres compétences et/ou organisations participant à la conservation de l’espèce. La mise en œuvre du présent programme est assujettie aux crédits, aux priorités et aux contraintes budgétaires des compétences et organisations participantes.

Haut de la page

Remerciements

Le présent programme de rétablissement a été révisé par Vincent Carignan et Matthew Wild (Environnement Canada, Service canadien de la faune – Région du Québec) à partir de la version préliminaire rédigée par Nicole Lavoie (botaniste conseil), à la lumière des conseils fournis par les membres du Comité aviseur pour le rétablissement du carex faux-lupulina au Canada [(Vincent Carignan, Patricia Désilets (ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs du Québec), Kate MacIntyre et Allen Woodliffe (ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario), et Andrée Nault (Division de la recherche scientifique du Biodôme de Montréal)].

Le présent programme de rétablissement a également bénéficié des observations des personnes suivantes : Alain Branchaud et Karine Picard (Environnement Canada, Service canadien de la faune - Région du Québec), Kate Hayes (anciennement d’Environnement Canada, Service canadien de la faune – Région de l’Ontario), Kathy St. Laurent, Angela Darwin, Madeline Austen, Graham Bryan, Lesley Dunn et Dalia Al-Ali (Environnement Canada, Service canadien de la faune – Région de l’Ontario), Marie-José Ribeyron et Tanys Uhmann (Environnement Canada, Service canadien de la faune – Région de la capitale nationale), Jacques Labrecque, Nadia Cavallin, Jacques Cayouette, Guy Jolicœur et Line Couillard (ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs du Québec), Jacinthe Letendre, Bree Walpole, Eric Snyder et Michael J. Oldham (ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario), Stéphanie Pellerin (Institut de recherche en biologie végétale) ainsi que Diane Amirault-Langlais et Marjorie Mercure (anciennement d’Environnement Canada, Service canadien de la faune - Région du Québec).

Haut de la page

Sommaire

Le carex faux-lupulina (Carex lupuliformis) est une plante herbacée vivace de la famille des Cypéracées qui croît en touffes en bordure de milieux humides (marécages, marais, plaines inondables, étangs printaniers). L’espèce a été évaluée comme étant en voie de disparition par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) en 2000 et inscrite à ce titre dans l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril en 2003.

L’espèce est répartie de façon sporadique dans l’est de l’Amérique du Nord et atteint la limite nord de son aire de répartition au Canada, où elle est présente seulement dans l’extrême sud de l’Ontario et du Québec. Elle compte au Canada 20 populations connues, et des individus poussant à l’état naturel ont été détectés dans 12 de ces populations depuis 2009. Des transplantations ont été réalisées dans le cas de 4 populations, et des réintroductions ont été faites dans l’habitat de 2 populations qui étaient disparues. En 2009-2010, il y avait environ 361 touffes de carex faux-lupulina au Canada, dont la moitié résultait d’une réintroduction ou d’une transplantation. À la suite d’une grave inondation survenue au Québec au printemps 2011, seulement 2 touffes poussaient encore à l’état naturel dans cette province.

Il a été établi que les principales menaces auxquelles est exposé le carex faux-lupulina sont la modification du régime hydrologique, la fermeture du couvert végétal, la présence de plantes exotiques envahissantes, les activités récréatives ou menées par les propriétaires fonciers, les parasites, le dépôt d’ordures et le développement résidentiel. Il convient d’ajouter que le petit nombre des populations existantes, leur faible effectif et leur répartition restreinte constituent des obstacles importants à la persistance à long terme de l’espèce au Canada.

Le rétablissement du carex faux-lupulina est jugé techniquement et biologiquement réalisable. L’objectif en matière de population et de répartition est de maintenir ou dans la mesure du possible accroître l’effectif et la zone d’occupation du carex faux-lupulina au Canada. Les stratégies générales à adopter contre les menaces à la survie et au rétablissement de l’espèce sont présentées dans la section « Orientation stratégique pour le rétablissement ».

L’habitat essentiel du carex faux-lupulina au Canada est partiellement désigné dans le présent programme de rétablissement. Cet habitat correspond à l’habitat convenable dans 13 des 20 localités où des populations de l’espèce se trouvent et sont décrites, y compris toutes les populations ayant bénéficié de mesures de réintroduction ou de transplantation ou au sein desquelles la présence d’habitat convenable a récemment été confirmée. Le calendrier d’études proposé vise à compléter la désignation de l’habitat essentiel aux localités de Lambeth, Amherstburg et Galt en Ontario ainsi qu’à la localité d’Oka au Québec.

Un ou plusieurs plans d’action pour le carex faux-lupulina seront élaborés à l’intérieur d’un délai de cinq ans suivant la publication du programme de rétablissement dans le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Haut de la page

Résumé du caractère réalisable du rétablissement

En vertu du paragraphe 41(1) de la LEP, le ministre compétent est tenu de déterminer si le rétablissement de l’espèce sauvage inscrite est réalisable au point de vue technique et biologique. En se fondant sur les critères fixés dans l’ébauche des Politiques de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (Gouvernement du Canada, 2009), le rétablissement du carex faux-lupulina est jugé réalisable au point de vue technique et biologique, puisque la réponse aux énoncés suivants est « oui » ou « inconnu ».

  1. Des individus de l’espèce sauvage capables de se reproduire sont disponibles maintenant ou le seront dans un avenir prévisible pour maintenir la population ou augmenter son abondance.

    Oui. Des inventaires menés depuis 2005 ont permis de repérer de nouvelles populations de carex faux-lupulina, et la production de graines et de pousses a récemment été observée chez 12 populations canadiennes existantes. Des plantules sont actuellement produites ex situ au Québec et en Ontario.

  2. De l’habitat convenable suffisant est disponible pour soutenir l’espèce, ou pourrait être rendu disponible par des activités de gestion ou de remise en état de l’habitat.

    Oui. En Ontario, de l’habitat convenable existe dans au moins 7 des 9 localités actuellement occupées par des populations, et plus de 35 milieux humides présentant des similitudes avec l’habitat abritant des populations existantes ont été repérés ailleurs dans la province. Au Québec, 9 milieux humides potentiels ont été repérés le long de la rivière des Outaouais, et 3 l’ont été le long de la rivière Richelieu (Bachand-Lavallée et Pellerin, 2006). Ces milieux humides sont situés près de populations actuelles ou historiques, sur 10 km linéaires le long de la rivière des Outaouais et 20 km linéaires le long de la rivière Richelieu.

  3. Les principales menaces pesant sur l’espèce ou son habitat (y compris les menaces à l’extérieur du Canada) peuvent être évitées ou atténuées.

    Oui. Les menaces présentant les niveaux de préoccupation les plus élevés (p. ex. fermeture du couvert végétal, modification du régime hydrologique) peuvent être évitées ou atténuées par des activités de rétablissement telles que l’intendance et la protection de l’habitat. Il convient également de noter que le nombre limité des populations (14), leur faible effectif (moins de 400 individus en tout) ainsi que leur répartition restreinte constituent des obstacles importants à la persistance à long terme de l’espèce.

  4. Des techniques de rétablissement existent pour atteindre les objectifs en matière de population et de répartition ou leur élaboration peut être prévue dans un délai raisonnable.

    Oui. Bien que la restauration de l’habitat (p. ex. élimination de la végétation concurrente) ainsi que la réintroduction ou transplantation d’individus aient été réalisées avec succès sur le terrain (Bachand-Lavallée et Pellerin, 2006; Letendre et al., 2007), il faut tenir compte du fait que l’espèce atteint au Canada la limite nord de son aire de répartition. En 2010, le taux de survie des individus transplantés variait de 17 à 82 % selon les populations, et le taux de survie des individus produisant des graines allait de 15 à 60 % (COSEPAC, 2011).

Haut de la page

Introduction