Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Deerberry (Vaccinium stamineum) in Canada

Species at Risk Act recovery strategy series, recovery strategy for the Deerberry (Vaccinium stamineum) in Canada.

Species at Risk Act
Recovery strategy series
Adopted under Section 44 of SARA

Deerberry

November 2010

About the Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series

What is the Species at Risk Act (SARA)?

SARA is the Act developed by the federal government as a key contribution to the common national effort to protect and conserve species at risk in Canada. SARA came into force in 2003 and one of its purposes is "to provide for the recovery of wildlife species that are extirpated, endangered or threatened as a result of human activity".

What is recovery?

In the context of species at risk conservation, recovery is the process by which the decline of an Endangered, Threatened or Extirpated species is arrested or reversed and threats are removed or reduced to improve the likelihood of the species' persistence in the wild. A species will be considered recovered when its long-term persistence in the wild has been secured.

What is a recovery strategy?

A recovery strategy is a planning document that identifies what needs to be done to arrest or reverse the decline of a species. It sets goals and objectives and identifies the main areas of activities to be undertaken. Detailed planning is done at the action plan stage.

Recovery strategy development is a commitment of all provinces and territories and of the three federal agencies - Environment Canada, Parks Canada Agency and Fisheries and Oceans Canada - under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk. Sections 37–46 of SARA outline both the required content and the process for developing recovery strategies published in this series.

Depending on the status of the species and when it was assessed, a recovery strategy has to be developed within one to two years after the species is added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk. Three to four years is allowed for those species that were automatically listed when SARA came into force.

What's next?

In most cases, one or more action plans will be developed to define and guide implementation of the recovery strategy. Nevertheless, directions set in the recovery strategy are sufficient to begin involving communities, land users and conservationists in recovery implementation. Cost-effective measures to prevent the reduction or loss of the species should not be postponed for lack of full scientific certainty.

The series

This series presents the recovery strategies prepared or adopted by the federal government under SARA. New documents will be added regularly as species get listed and as strategies are updated.

To learn more

To learn more about the Species at Risk Act and recovery initiatives, please consult the SARA Public Registry.


Recovery strategy for the Deerberry (Vaccinium stamineum) in Canada

November 2010

Under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk (1996), the federal, provincial, and territorial governments agreed to work together on legislation, programs, and policies to protect wildlife species at risk throughout Canada.

In the spirit of cooperation of the Accord, the Government of Ontario has provided the Recovery Strategy for Deerberry (Vaccinium stamineum) in Ontario to the Government of Canada. The federal Minister of the Environment as the competent minister under SARA incorporates the provincial recovery strategy, in part, into the federal strategy, pursuant to section 44(2) of the Species at Risk Act, with exceptions and modifications as detailed within the body of this document.

The finalized recovery strategy, once included in the Species at Risk Public Registry, will be the SARA recovery strategy for this species.

The federal Minister of the Environment's recovery strategy for Deerberry consists of two parts:

  1. The federal text which completes the proposed recovery strategy in terms of meeting the requirements of subsection 41(1) of SARA.
  2. Recovery Strategy for Deerberry (Vaccinium stamineum) in Ontario, prepared by the National Deerberry Recovery Team for the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources (attached as Appendix III).

Recommended citation:

Parks Canada Agency. 2010. Recovery Strategy for Deerberry (Vaccinium stamineum) in Canada [Final Version]. Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series. Parks Canada Agency. Ottawa. iv+ 15 pp.

Additional copies:

Additional copies can be downloaded from the SARA Public Registry.

Cover illustration:

St. Lawrence Islands National Park

Également disponible en français sous le titre « Programme de rétablissement pour l'airelle à longues étamines (Vaccinium stamineum) au Canada »

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of the Environment, 2010. All rights reserved.
ISBN: 978-1-100-17293-4
Catalogue no.: En3-4/82-2010E-PDF

Content (excluding the illustrations) may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.

Recommendation and Approval Statement

Recovery Strategy for the Deerberry (Vaccinium stamineum ) in Canada

Recommended by and Approved by signatures from November 9th 2010.

Declaration

Under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk (1996), the federal, provincial and territorial governments agreed to work together on legislation, programs and policies to protect wildlife species at risk throughout Canada. The Species at Risk Act (S.C. 2002, c.29) (SARA) requires that federal competent ministers prepare recovery strategies for listed Extirpated, Endangered and Threatened species.

The Minister of the Environment as the competent minister under SARA presents this document as the recovery strategy for Deerberry as required under SARA. It has been prepared in cooperation with the jurisdictions responsible for the species. The Minister invites other jurisdictions and organizations that may be involved in recovering the species to use this recovery strategy as advice to guide their actions.

The goals, objectives and recovery approaches identified in the strategy are based on the best existing knowledge and are subject to modifications resulting from new findings and revised objectives.

This recovery strategy will be the basis for one or more action plans that will provide further details regarding measures to be taken to support protection and recovery of the species. Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the actions identified in this strategy. In the spirit of the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk, all Canadians are invited to join in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the species and of Canadian society as a whole. The Minister of the Environment will report on progress within five years.

Acknowledgments

The Parks Canada Agency would like to acknowledge the work of Josh Van Wieren (St. Lawrence Islands National Park Ecologist) for writing this report, Greg Saunders (St. Lawrence Islands National Park Ecosystem Data Technician) for the Geographic Information System (GIS) support and map design, and Shaun Thompson, Briar Howes, Kara Vlasman, Kent Prior, Michele Rodrick, Kim Borg, Gary Allen for their review and input.

Strategic environmental assessment statement

A strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is conducted on all Species at Risk Act recovery strategies, in accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2004). The purpose of a SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally sound decision-making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond their intended benefits. Environmental effects, including impacts to non-target species and the environment, were considered during recovery planning. The SEA is incorporated directly into the strategy and also summarized below.

Recovery actions identified in the Recovery Strategy are expected to positively affect or have no significant adverse environmental impacts on the community in which Deerberry resides. Most of the recovery actions involve stewardship, outreach, collaboration, monitoring, research or management planning. These actions will not only improve the state of knowledge for Deerberry and the ecosystems in which it is found, but will also promote landowner stewardship and collaboration among conservation partners in Canada and the United States. Monitoring the results of different recovery approaches will provide insights into the health of Deerberry and the overall health of the broader ecological community. Recovery approaches that are targeted to meet the four recovery objectives will involve physical disturbances resulting in environmental impacts (e.g.: studying the effect of fire on Deerberry propagation, small-scale removal of flora). The impacts of each of these approaches were considered in the drafting of the recovery strategy and mitigations were identified where necessary. Most of these actions will focus on mitigating known stresses to Deerberry and will have positive environmental impacts on other species and the ecological community.

Residence

SARA defines residence as: a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or hibernating [Subsection 2(1)].

Residence descriptions, or the rationale for why the residence concept does not apply to a given species, are posted on the SARA public registry.

Preface

This Recovery Strategy addresses the recovery of Deerberry. In Canada, this species is found only in Ontario: in the Niagara Region and the St. Lawrence Thousand Islands area.

The Parks Canada Agency, the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, and Environment Canada worked in cooperation to develop the federal Recovery Strategy for Deerberry. The proposed federal recovery strategy meets SARA requirements in terms of content and process (Sections 39-41) and fulfills commitments of all jurisdictions for recovery planning under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk (1996) in Canada.

Recovery feasibility summary

The recovery of Deerberry in Canada is considered feasible based on the criteria set outlined by the Government of Canada (2009):

  1. Individuals of the wildlife species that are capable of reproduction are available now or in the foreseeable future to sustain the population or improve its abundance.
    Unknown. Individuals capable of reproduction are currently available and these individuals contain a diverse genetic pool to support long-term persistence. Although seeds have been taken from plants and successfully propagated in a greenhouse, very little reproduction has been noted in wild Canadian Deerberry populations.

  2. Sufficient suitable habitat is available to support the species or could be made available through habitat management or restoration.
    Yes. There is currently enough habitat in both the Thousand Islands Region and the Niagara Region to support Deerberry recovery. Much of the available habitat or potential habitat would benefit from restoration efforts (such as prescribed burns or canopy thinning) to promote more suitable light and moisture conditions.

  3. The primary threats to the species or its habitat (including threats outside Canada) can be avoided or mitigated.
    Yes. All significant threats to both the species and its habitat can be avoided and / or mitigated.

  4. Recovery techniques exist to achieve the population and distribution objectives or can be expected to be developed within a reasonable timeframe.
    Unknown. Recovery techniques are currently being used and refined. Considerable work still needs to be completed to better understand certain recovery techniques (e.g. propagation and prescribed burning techniques); however, previous and ongoing work suggests that these recovery techniques will likely prove to be effective.

Introduction

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l’airelle à longues étamines (Vaccinium stamineum) au Canada

Loi sur les espèces en péril – Série des programmes de rétablissement, Programme de rétablissement du Chat-fou du Nord (Noturus stigmosus) au Canada.

Loi sur les espèces en péril
Série des programmes de rétablissement
Adoptée en vertu de l’article 44 de la LEP

Airelle à longues étamines

Novembre 2010

La série des Programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Qu'est-ce que la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)?

La LEP est la loi fédérale qui constitue l'une des pierres d'assise de l'effort national commun de protection et de conservation des espèces en péril au Canada. Elle est en vigueur depuis 2003 et vise, entre autres, « à permettre le rétablissement des espèces sauvages qui, par suite de l'activité humaine, sont devenues des espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées. »

Qu'est-ce que le rétablissement?

Dans le contexte de la conservation des espèces en péril, le rétablissement est le processus par lequel le déclin d'une espèce en voie de disparition, menacée ou disparue du pays est arrêté ou inversé et par lequel les menaces à sa survie sont éliminées ou réduites de façon à augmenter la probabilité de survie de l'espèce à l'état sauvage. Une espèce sera considérée comme rétablie lorsque sa survie à long terme à l'état sauvage aura été assurée.

Qu'est-ce qu'un programme de rétablissement?

Un programme de rétablissement est un document de planification qui détermine ce qui doit être réalisé pour arrêter ou inverser le déclin d'une espèce. Il établit des buts et des objectifs et indique les principaux champs des activités à entreprendre. La planification plus élaborée se fait à l'étape du plan d'action.

L'élaboration de programmes de rétablissement représente un engagement de toutes les provinces et de tous les territoires ainsi que de trois organismes fédéraux - Environnement Canada, l'Agence Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada - dans le cadre de l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril. Les articles 37 à 46 de la LEP décrivent le contenu d'un programme de rétablissement publié dans la présente série ainsi que le processus requis pour l'élaborer.

Selon le statut de l'espèce et le moment où elle a été évaluée, un programme de rétablissement doit être préparé dans un délai de un à deux ans après l'inscription de l'espèce à la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP. Pour les espèces qui ont été inscrites à la LEP lorsque celle ci a été adoptée, le délai est de trois à quatre ans.

Prochaines étapes?

Dans la plupart des cas, on élaborera un ou plusieurs plans d'action visant à préciser et à orienter la mise en œuvre du programme de rétablissement. Cependant, les orientations établies dans le programme de rétablissement suffisent pour commencer à solliciter la participation des collectivités, des défenseurs de l'environnement et des utilisateurs des terres à sa mise en œuvre. En outre, l'absence de certitude scientifique ne saurait justifier le report de mesures efficientes visant à prévenir la disparition ou le déclin de l'espèce.

La série

La présente série réunit les programmes de rétablissement préparés ou adoptés par le gouvernement fédéral conformément à la LEP. Elle s'accroîtra régulièrement avec l'inscription de nouvelles espèces et avec la mise à jour des programmes.

Pour en savoir davantage

Pour en savoir plus sur la Loi sur les espèces en péril et les initiatives de rétablissement, veuillez consulter le Registre public des espèces en péril.


Programme de rétablissement de l'airelle à longues étamines (Vaccinium stamineum) au Canada, [Version finale].

Novembre 2010

En ratifiant l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril (1996), les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ont convenu de collaborer à l'élaboration de lois, de programmes et de politiques en vue de protéger les espèces sauvages en péril partout au Canada.

Dans l'esprit de coopération de l'Accord, le gouvernement de l'Ontario a transmis au gouvernement du Canada le Programme de rétablissement de l'airelle à longues étamines (Vaccinium stamineum) en Ontario. Le ministre fédéral de l'Environnement, à titre de ministre responsable en vertu de la LEP, intègre le programme de rétablissement provincial, en partie, dans le programme de rétablissement fédéral conformément au paragraphe 44(2) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, avec les exceptions ou modifications spécifiées dans le présent document.

Une fois inscrite au Registre public des espèces en péril, cette version définitive du programme de rétablissement deviendra le programme de rétablissement pour cette espèce en vertu de la LEP.

Le programme de rétablissement du ministre de l'Environnement du Canada pour l'airelle à longues étamines se divise en deux parties:

  1. le supplément fédéral au programme de rétablissement proposé visant à répondre aux exigences du paragraphe 41(1) de la LEP;
  2. le Programme de rétablissement de l'airelle à longues étamines (Vaccinium stamineum) en Ontario, préparée par l'équipe du rétablissement de l'airelle à longues étamines pour le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario (Annexe III).

Citation recommandée

Agence Parcs Canada. 2010. Programme de rétablissement de l'airelle à longues étamines (Vaccinium stamineum) au Canada [version finale]. Série des programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, Agence Parcs Canada, Ottawa, iv + 15 p.

Exemplaires supplémentaires

Il est possible de télécharger des exemplaires de la présente publication à partir du Registre public des espèces en péril.

Photographie de la page couverture :

Parc national des Îles du Saint Laurent

Also available in English under the title « Recovery Strategy for Deerberry (Vaccinium stamineum) in Canada »

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de l'Environnement, 2010. Tous droits réservés.
ISBN : 978-1-100-96061-6
No de catalogue : En3-4/82-2010F-PDF

Le contenu du présent document (à l'exception des illustrations) peut être utilisé sans permission, mais en prenant soin d'indiquer la source.

Énoncé de recommandation et d’approbation

Programme de rétablissement de l’airelle à longues étamines (Vaccinium stamineum) au Canada

Images des signatures recommandé par et approuvé par du 9 novembre 2010.

Déclaration

En ratifiant l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril (1996), les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ont convenu de collaborer à l'élaboration de lois, de programmes et de politiques en vue de protéger les espèces sauvages en péril à l'échelle du Canada. Selon la Loi sur les espèces en péril (L.C. 2002, chap. 29), les ministres fédéraux compétents doivent préparer des programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces désignées disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées.

Le ministre de l'Environnement, qui est le ministre responsable selon la Loi sur les espèces en péril, présente ici le programme de rétablissement de l'airelle à longues étamines, conformément aux dispositions de la LEP. Ce programme a été rédigé en collaboration avec les autorités responsables de l'espèce. Le ministre invite les autres autorités et organisations qui peuvent être concernées par le rétablissement de l'espèce à utiliser ce programme pour orienter leurs initiatives.

Les buts, approches et objectifs énoncés dans le programme sont fondés sur les meilleures connaissances actuelles et sont sujets à modification en raison de nouvelles découvertes ou d'une révision des objectifs.

Le présent programme de rétablissement sera complété par un ou plusieurs plans d'action qui renfermeront plus de détails sur les mesures à prendre pour favoriser la protection et le rétablissement de l'espèce. Pour que les mesures de rétablissement produisent les résultats voulus, il faut pouvoir compter sur l'engagement et la coopération d'un grand nombre d'intervenants qui participeront à la mise en œuvre des mesures définies dans le programme. Dans l'esprit de l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril, toute la population canadienne est invitée à accorder son appui et à participer à l'exécution du programme, qui profitera à l'espèce aussi bien qu'à la société canadienne dans son ensemble. Le ministre de l'Environnement rendra compte des progrès accomplis d'ici cinq ans.

Remerciements

L'Agence Parcs Canada tient à remercier Josh Van Wieren (écologiste, parc national des Îles du Saint Laurent) pour la rédaction du rapport, Greg Saunders (technicien de données sur les écosystèmes, parc national des Îles du Saint Laurent) pour la conception des cartes et son aide relativement au SIG ainsi que Shaun Thompson, Briar Howes, Kara Vlasman, Kent Prior, Michele Rodrick, Kim Borg et Gary Allen pour leurs critiques et leurs commentaires.

Évaluation environnementale stratégique

Une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est effectuée dans le cadre de tous les programmes de rétablissement élaborés en vertu de la LEP, conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes (2004). L'objet de l'EES est d'incorporer les considérations environnementales à l'élaboration des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes publics pour appuyer la prise de décisions éclairées du point de vue de l'environnement.

La planification du rétablissement a pour objectif de bénéficier aux espèces en péril et à la biodiversité en général. Il est cependant connu que tout programme de rétablissement peut également s'accompagner d'effets environnementaux qui dépassent les objectifs fixés. Les effets environnementaux, notamment les conséquences éventuelles sur des espèces non ciblées ou sur l'environnement, ont été pris en compte durant la planification du rétablissement. L'EES est incorporée au présent programme et est résumée ci dessous.

Les mesures de rétablissement indiquées dans le présent programme devraient avoir une incidence nulle ou positive sur la communauté écologique où on trouve l'airelle à longues étamines. La plupart d'entre elles touchent l'intendance, la diffusion externe, la collaboration, la surveillance, la recherche ou la planification de gestion. Ces mesures permettront non seulement d'améliorer l'état des connaissances sur l'airelle à longues étamines et les écosystèmes où on la trouve, mais favorisera aussi l'intendance par les propriétaires fonciers et la collaboration entre les partenaires de la conservation au Canada et aux États Unis. La surveillance des résultats des différentes méthodes de rétablissement donnera un aperçu de la santé des populations d'airelle à longues étamines et de la grande communauté écologique qui les abrite. Les méthodes de rétablissement conçues de façon à respecter les quatre objectifs de rétablissement portent sur les perturbations physiques qui entraînent des effets sur l'environnement (p. ex. : effet du feu sur la propagation de l'airelle à longues étamines, destruction de la flore à petite échelle). Les conséquences de chacune de ces méthodes ont été prises en considération lors de la rédaction du programme de rétablissement, et des mesures d'atténuation ont été établies, au besoin. La plupart de ces mesures visent principalement à atténuer les sources de stress connues de l'airelle à longues étamines; elles auront des effets positifs sur l'environnement, les autres espèces et la communauté écologique.

Résidence

La LEP définit ainsi le terme « résidence » : Gîte - terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable - occupé habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l'élevage, les haltes migratoires, l'hivernage, l'alimentation ou l'hibernation [par. 2(1)].

Les descriptions de résidences et les motifs justifiant l'inapplicabilité du concept de résidence à une espèce donnée sont affichés dans le Registre public de Registre public des espèces en péril.

Préface

Le présent programme porte sur le rétablissement de l'airelle à longues étamines. Au Canada, on ne trouve cette espèce qu'en Ontario, dans les régions de Niagara et des Mille Îles. L'Agence Parcs Canada, le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario et Environnement Canada ont collaboré à l'élaboration du Programme fédéral de rétablissement de l'airelle à longues étamines. Le projet de programme de rétablissement satisfait aux exigences de la LEP en matière de contenu et de processus (articles 39 à 41) et permet à toutes les autorités de respecter leurs engagements à l'égard du rétablissement conformément à l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril au Canada.

Faisabilité du rétablissement

Le rétablissement de l'airelle à longues étamines au Canada est jugé faisable en fonction des critères établis par le gouvernement du Canada (2009).

  1. On trouve actuellement et on trouvera dans un proche avenir des individus reproducteurs de l'espèce sauvage permettant de maintenir la population et d'augmenter les effectifs.
    Inconnu. Des individus reproducteurs sont actuellement présents, et leur diversité génétique est suffisante pour assurer la pérennité de l'espèce. Bien que des graines aient été prélevées et multipliées avec succès dans une serre, le taux de reproduction observé dans les populations sauvages d'airelle à longues étamines au Canada est très faible.

  2. L'espèce dispose d'un habitat convenable suffisant ou un tel habitat pourrait être mis en place grâce à des mesures de gestion ou de restauration de l'habitat.
    Oui. Actuellement, les régions de Niagara et des Mille-Îles offrent chacune un habitat suffisant pour favoriser le rétablissement de l'airelle à longues étamines. Une grande partie de l'habitat disponible ou potentiel bénéficierait d'efforts de restauration (p. ex. brûlage dirigé ou éclaircissement du couvert forestier) de manière à ce que les taux de luminosité et d'humidité soient plus propices à la survie de l'espèce.

  3. Les menaces importantes auxquelles fait face l'espèce ou son habitat (y compris à l'extérieur du Canada) peuvent être évitées ou atténuées.
    Oui. Toutes les menaces importantes auxquelles fait face l'espèce ou son habitat peuvent être évitées ou atténuées.

  4. Il existe des techniques de rétablissement permettant d'atteindre les objectifs relatifs à la population et à l'aire de répartition ou celles-ci peuvent être élaborées dans un délai raisonnable.
    Inconnu. On utilise actuellement des techniques de rétablissement qu'on s'efforce de perfectionner. Des travaux supplémentaires sont nécessaires afin de mieux comprendre certaines techniques de rétablissement (p. ex. multiplication et brûlage dirigé); cependant, les travaux en cours et les travaux antérieurs permettent de penser que ces techniques sont susceptibles d'être efficaces.

Introduction