Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Seaside Centipede Lichen (Heterodermia sitchensis) in Canada (Proposed)

Seaside centipede lichen © Parks Canada Agency/Brian Reader

Seaside Centipede Lichen

September 2006

Authors
Acknowledgements
Preface
Strategic Environmental Assessment

About the Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series

What is the Species at Risk Act (SARA)?

SARA is the Act developed by the federal government as a key contribution to the common national effort to protect and conserve species at risk in Canada. SARA came into force in 2003 and one of its purposes is“to provide for the recovery of wildlife species that are extirpated, endangered or threatened as a result of human activity.”

What is recovery?

In the context of species at risk conservation, recovery is the process by which the decline of an endangered, threatened, or extirpated species is arrested or reversed and threats are removed or reduced to improve the likelihood of the species’ persistence in the wild. A species will be considered recovered when its long-term persistence in the wild has been secured.

What is a recovery strategy?

A recovery strategy is a planning document that identifies what needs to be done to arrest or reverse the decline of a species. It sets goals and objectives and identifies the main areas of activities to be undertaken. Detailed planning is done at the action plan stage.

Recovery strategy development is a commitment of all provinces and territories and of three federal agencies -- Environment Canada, Parks Canada Agency, and Fisheries and Oceans Canada -- under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk. Sections 37–46 of SARA outline both the required content and the process for developing recovery strategies published in this series.

Depending on the status of the species and when it was assessed, a recovery strategy has to be developed within one to two years after the species is added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk. Three to four years is allowed for those species that were automatically listed when SARA came into force.

What’s next?

In most cases, one or more action plans will be developed to define and guide implementation of the recovery strategy. Nevertheless, directions set in the recovery strategy are sufficient to begin involving communities, land users, and conservationists in recovery implementation. Cost-effective measures to prevent the reduction or loss of the species should not be postponed for lack of full scientific certainty.

The series

This series presents the recovery strategies prepared or adopted by the federal government under SARA. New documents will be added regularly as species get listed and as strategies are updated.

To learn more

To learn more about the Species at Risk Act and recovery initiatives, please consult the SARA Public Registry and the Web site of the Recovery Secretariat (http://www.speciesatrisk.gc.ca/recovery/).

Recommended citation:

National Recovery Team for Heterodermia sitchensis(Seaside Centipede Lichen). 2006. Recovery Strategy for Seaside Centipede Lichen (Heterodermia sitchensis), in Canada [Proposed]. Species at Risk Act Recovery Series. Parks Canada Agency, Ottawa. 18 pp.


Additional copies:

You can download additional copies from the SARA Public Registry.

Cover illustration: © Parks Canada Agency/Brian Reader

Également disponible en français sous le titre :

« Programme de rétablissement de l’hétérodermie maritime (Heterodermia sitchensis) au Canada [proposition] »

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of the Environment, 2006. All rights reserved.

ISBNTo come

Cat. no. To come

Content (excluding the illustrations) may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.

Authors

The Strategy was prepared by the National Recovery Team for Heterodermia sitchensis (Seaside Centipede Lichen):

Brian Reader, Recovery Team Chair
Species at Risk Ecologist
Coastal BC Field Unit
Parks Canada Agency
2nd Floor, 711 Broughton Street, Victoria, BC
V8W 1E2
Telephone: (250) 363-8560
FAX: (250) 363-8552
Brian.Reader@pc.gc.ca

 

Dave Fraser, Species Specialist, Species at Risk
Terrestrial Ecosystem Science Section
Ministry of Water, Land, and Air Protection
Province of British Columbia
PO Box 9338 STN PROV GOVT
Victoria, BC
V8W 9M1

John McIntosh, Conservation Biologist
Pacific Rim National Park Reserve
Parks Canada Agency
2185 Ocean Terrace
PO Box 280, Ucluelet, BC
V0R 3A0
Telephone: 250-762-7165 ext. 236
John.Mcintosh@pc.gc.ca

 

Peter Achuff, Species at Risk Botanist
Waterton Lakes National Park
Parks Canada Agency
Waterton Park, AB
T0K 2M0
Telephone: 1-403-859-5185
Peter.Achuff@pc.gc.ca

Ted Lea, Vegetation Ecologist
Terrestrial Ecosystem Science Section
Ministry of Water, Land, and Air Protection
Province of British Columbia
PO Box 9338 STN PROV GOVT
Victoria, BC
V8W 9M1

 

Trevor Goward, Lichenologist
Enlichened Consulting Ltd.

Ken Wright, Consultant/Researcher

Acknowledgements

We would like to acknowledge the significant effort of the members of the National Recovery Team for Heterodermia sitchensis (Seaside Centipede Lichen).

Preface

This Recovery Strategy addresses the recovery of the Seaside Centipede Lichen. In Canada, the species range is restricted to the west coast of Vancouver Island in British Columbia. All occurrences are on federal (Pacific Rim National Park Reserve of Canada) and provincial lands.

Under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk (1996), the federal, provincial, and territorial governments agreed to work together on legislation, programs, and policies to protect wildlife species at risk throughout Canada. The Species at Risk Act(S.C. 2002, c.29) (SARA) requires the competent minister to prepare recovery strategies for listed Extirpated, Endangered and Threatened species.

The Parks Canada Agency led the preparation of this recovery strategy with the members of the Seaside Centipede Lichen Recovery Team, and in cooperation with the Province of British Columbia, Environment Canada/Canadian Wildlife Service, Department of Fisheries and Oceans, and First Nations.

This strategy will be complemented by one action plan that will provide details regarding specific recovery measures to be taken to support conservation of the species. The Minister of the Environment will take steps to ensure that, to the extent possible, Canadians interested in or directly affected by these measures will be consulted.

Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the directions set out in this strategy. In the spirit of the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk in Canada, all Canadians are invited to join in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the species and Canadian society as a whole. The Minister will report on progress within five years.

Strategic Environmental Assessment

A strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is conducted on all SARA recovery planning documents, in accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals. The purpose of a SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally-sound decision making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits. The planning process based on national guidelines directly incorporates consideration of all environmental effects, with a particular focus on possible impacts on non-target species or habitats. The results of the SEA are incorporated directly in the strategy itself, but are also summarized below.

The Recovery Strategy for the Seaside Centipede Lichen (Heterodermia sitchensis) in Canada underwent a strategic environmental assessment (SEA) review in accordance with the 2004 Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals. Impact assessment methodology focussed on identification and assessment of actions capable of generating environmental effects. Positive and negative impacts were considered. Scope of the assessment included review and evaluation of all actions proposed in the Recovery Strategy for the Seaside Centipede Lichen in Canada. Proposals thought to have potential to generate significant environmental effects were assessed and documented in greater detail. Results of the assessment are briefly discussed here. Please consult the Strategic Environmental Assessment of the Recovery Strategy for the Seaside Centipede Lichen in Canada, for detailed environmental assessment documentation.

The Recovery Strategy identified current threats to the Seaside Centipede Lichen and its habitat. Knowledge gaps were also identified. Recovery objectives and actions clearly focus on resolving specific threats and information gaps. Actions proposed in the recovery strategy have little potential to produce significant adverse environmental effects. The majority of actions are innocuous by nature. Actions involving fieldwork (inventory, monitoring, research) have the greatest potential to generate negative environmental effects. All fieldwork impacts are avoidable or can be fully mitigated with known technology.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits. The recovery strategy and SEA therefore assessed the potential for the strategy to inadvertently produce adverse effects on other species. Results indicate likely benefits to the Seaside Centipede Lichen and other species occupying the same habitat. Recovery strategy implementation is expected to result in increased retention of coastal old-growth forest, and improved knowledge and understanding of Seaside Centipede Lichen ecology in Pacific Northwest coastal environments. An improved ecological understanding of the species is beneficial, as it will help to focus current and subsequent recovery planning actions for the species and improve the probability for successful recovery. The net environmental effect of the recovery strategy is expected to be positive to both the species and the habitat in which it exists.

Some proposals described in the recovery strategy are conceptual. It is not possible to fully evaluate the environmental effects of these initiatives at this time. As more detailed information becomes available, projects will be assessed pursuant to the provisions of the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act (CEAA). The Parks Canada Agency is a Responsible Authority under the CEAA. The Agency will not undertake any project prior to preparing an environmental assessment and deciding on a course of action to approve, not approve, or refer the project for additional EA review.

Document Information

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'hétérodermie maritime (Heterodermia sitchensis) au Canada (Proposition)

H/t/rodermie martitime © Agence Parcs Canada/Brian Reader

Hétérodermie maritime

 

Septembre 2006

Auteurs
Remerciements
Préface
Évaluation environnementale stratégique

 

La série de Programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Qu'est-ce que la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)?

La LEP est la loi fédérale qui constitue l'une des pierres d'assise de l'effort national commun de protection et de conservation des espèces en péril au Canada. Elle est en vigueur depuis 2003 et vise, entre autres, àpermettre le rétablissement des espèces qui, par suite de l'activité humaine, sont devenues des espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées.

Qu'est-ce que le rétablissement?

Dans le contexte de la conservation des espèces en péril, le rétablissement est le processus par lequel le déclin d'une espèce en voie de disparition, menacée ou disparue du pays est arrêté ou inversé et par lequel les menaces à sa survie sont éliminées ou réduites de façon à augmenter la probabilité de survie de l'espèce à l'état sauvage. Une espèce sera considérée comme rétablie lorsque sa survie à long terme à l'état sauvage aura été assurée.

Qu'est-ce qu'un programme de rétablissement?

Un programme de rétablissement est un document de planification qui identifie ce qui doit être réalisé pour arrêter ou inverser le déclin d'une espèce. Il établit des buts et des objectifs et indique les principaux champs des activités à entreprendre. La planification plus élaborée se fait à l'étape du plan d'action.

L'élaboration de programmes de rétablissement représente un engagement de toutes les provinces et de tous les territoires ainsi que de trois organismes fédéraux -- Environnement Canada, l'Agence Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada -- dans le cadre de l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril. Les articles 37 à 46 de la LEP décrivent le contenu d'un programme de rétablissement publié dans la présente série ainsi que le processus requis pour l'élaborer.

Selon le statut de l'espèce et le moment où elle a été évaluée, un programme de rétablissement doit être préparé dans un délai de un à deux ans après l'inscription de l'espèce à la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP. Pour les espèces qui ont été inscrites à la LEP lorsque celle-ci a été adoptée, le délai est de trois à quatre ans.

Et ensuite?

Dans la plupart des cas, un ou plusieurs plans d'action seront élaborés pour définir et guider la mise en oeuvre du programme de rétablissement. Cependant, les recommandations contenues dans le programme de rétablissement suffisent pour permettre la participation des collectivités, des utilisateurs des terres et des conservationnistes à la mise en oeuvre du rétablissement. Le manque de certitude scientifique ne doit pas être prétexte à retarder la prise de mesures efficientes visant à prévenir la disparition ou le déclin d'une espèce.

La série de Programmes de rétablissement

Cette série présente les programmes de rétablissement élaborés ou adoptés par le gouvernement fédéral dans le cadre de la LEP. De nouveaux documents s'ajouteront régulièrement à mesure que de nouvelles espèces seront inscrites à la Liste des espèces en péril et que les programmes de rétablissement existants seront mis à jour.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour en savoir plus sur la Loi sur les espèces en péril et les initiatives de rétablissement, veuillez consulter le Registre public de la LEP et le site Web du Secrétariat du rétablissement (http://www.especesenperil.gc.ca/recovery/).

Citation recommandée :

Équipe nationale de rétablissement de l'Heterodermia sitchensis (hétérodermie maritime). 2006. Programme de rétablissement de l'hétérodermie maritime (Heterodermia sitchensis) au Canada [proposition]. Programmes de rétablissement, Loi sur les espèces en péril. Agence Parcs Canada, Ottawa. 20 p.


Exemplaires additionnels :

Des exemplaires additionnels peuvent être téléchargés à partir du site Web du Registre de la LEP.

Photographie de la couverture: © Agence Parcs Canada/Brian Reader

Also available in English under the title:

"Recovery Strategy for the Seaside Centipede Lichen (Heterodermia sitchensis) in Canada (Proposed)".

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de l'Environnement, 2006. Tous droits réservés.

ISBN : À venir

Nº de catalogue : À venir

Le contenu du présent document (sauf les illustrations) peut être utilisé sans permission, à condition que la source en soit adéquatement mentionnée.

Auteurs

Le présent document a été rédigé par l'Équipe nationale de rétablissement de l'Heterodermia sitchensis(hétérodermie maritime) :

Brian Reader
Président de l'Équipe de rétablissement
Écologiste, Espèces en péril
Unité de gestion de la côte de C.-B.
Agence Parcs Canada
2e étage, 711, rue Broughton, Victoria C.-B.
V8W 1E2
Téléphone : 250 363-8560
Télécopieur : 250 363-8552
Brian.Reader@pc.gc.ca

 

Ted Lea, écologiste de la végétation
Terrestrial Ecosystem Science Section
Ministry of Water, Land, and Air Protection
Province de la Colombie-Britannique
C. P. 9338 STN PROV GOVT
Victoria C.-B.
V8W 9M1

John McIntosh, Conservation Biologist
Pacific Rim National Park Reserve
Parks Canada Agency
2185 Ocean Terrace
PO Box 280, Ucluelet, BC
V0R 3A0
Telephone: 250-762-7165 ext. 236
John.Mcintosh@pc.gc.ca

 

Peter Achuff, Species at Risk Botanist
Waterton Lakes National Park
Parks Canada Agency
Waterton Park, AB
T0K 2M0
Telephone: 1-403-859-5185
Peter.Achuff@pc.gc.ca

Dave Fraser, spécialiste des espèces, Espèces en péril
Terrestrial Ecosystem Science Section
Ministry of Water, Land, and Air Protection
Province de la Colombie-Britannique
C. P. 9338 STN PROV GOVT
Victoria BC
V8W 9M1

 

Trevor Goward, lichénologue
Enlichened Consulting Ltd.

Ken Wright, consultant/chercheur

Remerciements

Nous tenons à remercier le travail important réalisé par les membres de l'Équipe nationale de rétablissement de l'Heterodermia sitchensis (hétérodermie maritime).

Préface

Cette stratégie vise le rétablissement de l'hétérodermie maritime. Au Canada, l'aire de répartition de cette espèce est délimitée par la côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique. Tous les sites où l'espèce a été observée se trouvent sur des terres fédérales (réserve de parc national du Canada Pacific Rim) et provinciales.

En vertu de l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril (1996), le gouvernement fédéral et les gouvernements des provinces et territoires se sont entendus pour travailler ensemble à l'élaboration de lois, programmes et politiques visant à protéger les espèces en péril dans tout le Canada. Conformément à la Loi sur les espèces en péril (L. C. 2002, ch. 29) (LEP), le ministre compétent prépare des programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition et menacées visées par la Loi.

L'Agence Parcs Canada a dirigé la préparation de cette stratégie de rétablissement en collaboration avec les membres de l'équipe de rétablissement de l'hétérodermie maritime et avec la province de la Colombie-Britannique, Environnement Canada (Service canadien de la faune), le ministère des Pêches et des Océans et les Premières nations.

Le programme sera complété par un plan d'action qui donnera les détails des mesures de rétablissement spécifiques à appliquer pour favoriser la conservation de l'espèce. Dans la mesure du possible, la ministre de l'Environnement s'assurera que les Canadiens intéressés ou directement touchés par ces mesures soient consultés.

Le rétablissement réussi de l'espèce dépend de l'engagement et de la coopération des diverses parties responsables de la mise en œuvre des orientations du programme. Dans l'esprit de l'Accord pancanadien pour la protection des espèces en péril, tous les Canadiens sont invités appuyer et à mettre en œuvre ce programme ensemble, pour le bien de l'espèce en question et celui de la société canadienne dans son ensemble. La Ministre rendra compte des progrès accomplis dans un délai de cinq ans.

Évaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes, une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est réalisée pour tous les projets de rétablissement d'espèces en péril désignées aux termes de la LEP. Le but de cette évaluation est de garantir que les conséquences pour l'environnement des politiques, plans et programmes publics proposés seront prises en compte dès l'étape de leur élaboration, de manière à permettre une prise de décision éclairée.

Les programmes de rétablissement visent à favoriser les espèces en péril et la biodiversité en général, mais ils peuvent avoir des effets imprévus sur l'environnement. Le processus de planification, fondé sur des lignes directrices nationales, prend en compte directement tous les effets environnementaux et tout particulièrement l'impact possible sur des espèces non visées ou leur habitat. Les résultats de l'EES ont été intégrés au programme lui-même, mais ils sont également résumés ci-dessous.

Le programme de rétablissement de l'hétérodermie maritime (Heterodermia sitchensis)  au Canada a fait l'objet d'une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) conformément à la Directive du Cabinet de 2004 sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes. Cette évaluation avait pour objectif principal de déterminer et d'évaluer les mesures susceptibles d'induire des effets environnementaux. Les effets positifs et négatifs de ces mesures ont été pris en compte. Cette évaluation incluait l'examen et l'évaluation de toutes les mesures ou activités proposées dans le programme de rétablissement de l'hétérodermie maritime au Canada. Les propositions qui ont été jugées susceptibles d'engendrer des effets environnementaux importants ont été évaluées et documentées plus en détail. Les résultats de cette évaluation sont analysés brièvement ci-après. De plus amples renseignements sur la documentation relative à l'évaluation environnementale sont fournis dans l'évaluation environnementale stratégique du programme de rétablissement de l'hétérodermie maritime au Canada.

Les menaces potentielles pour l'hétérodermie maritime et son habitat sont énumérées dans le Programme de rétablissement. Les lacunes dans les connaissances y sont également passées en revue. Les objectifs et mesures de rétablissement visent principalement à atténuer les menaces et à combler les lacunes liées aux connaissances. Le risque que les mesures proposées dans le programme de rétablissement aient des effets environnementaux négatifs importants est faible. La plupart des mesures sont inoffensives. Les activités sur le terrain (l'inventaire, la surveillance, les recherches) sont plus susceptibles à induire des effets environnementaux négatifs. Les impacts des activités sur le terrain sont évitables ou peuvent être atténués efficacement à l'aide de méthodes technologiques éprouvées.

La planification du rétablissement vise à protéger une espèce en péril et la biodiversité. Cependant, on reconnaît que les stratégies peuvent produire involontairement des effets environnementaux imprévus. Le programme de rétablissement et l'EES ont donc permis d'évaluer le risque que le programme ait des effets néfastes imprévus pour les espèces non ciblées. Ces évaluations indiquent que le programme devrait avoir des retombées bénéfiques tant pour l'hétérodermie maritime que pour d'autres espèces partageant l'habitat formé par la partie haute des plages. La mise en œuvre du programme de rétablissement devrait également nous permettre d'accroître le maintien des forêts anciennes côtières et de mieux connaître et comprendre l'écologie de l'hétérodermie maritime aux environnements côtiers de la région Nord-Ouest Pacifique. Une meilleure compréhension écologique de l'espèce est favorable car elle nous aidera à mieux planifier les mesures actuelles et futures de rétablissement de l'hétérodermie maritime et, dès lors, à accroître les chances de succès du programme. Nous attendons à ce que l'incidence environnementale nette du programme de rétablissement sur l'espèce t son habitat soit positive.

Certaines propositions du programme de rétablissement sont conceptuelles. À ce moment, il est impossible de mener une évaluation complète des effets environnementaux de ces initiatives. À mesure que des renseignements plus détaillés deviendront accessibles, les projets seront évalués conformément aux dispositions de la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale (LCEE). L'Agence Parcs Canada est une autorité responsable en vertu de la LCEE. Il compte s'abstenir d'entreprendre quelque projet que ce soit avant d'avoir décidé, à la lumière des résultats d'une évaluation environnementale, s'il y a lieu de l'approuver, de le rejeter ou de le soumettre à une évaluation plus approfondie.

Information sur le document