Agricultural Producers and the Emergency Protection Order

PDF version - 132 KB

What It Means for You

The Sage-Grouse is an endangered bird species that depends on the unique prairie ecosystem in Alberta and Saskatchewan. In 2012, there were estimated to be roughly 100 adults remaining in Canada. The population has declined by 98% since 1988.

The Government of Canada’s plan for successful recovery of this species includes the Emergency Protection Order, which focuses on imminent threats to the species in the wild, the Amended Recovery Strategy, which will guide recommended voluntary stewardship activities on Sage-Grouse habitat, and a joint program with the Calgary Zoo to breed and rear Sage-Grouse chicks in a safe environment to help increase the population in the wild.

The Emergency Order for the Protection of the Greater Sage-Grouse is an order made under the Species at Risk Act (SARA) that was brought into force on February 18, 2014, to address the imminent threats to the survival or recovery of the species. The Emergency Protection Order lists activities that are legally forbidden.

The Land

The critical habitat identified in the amended Recovery Strategy covers 2812 km2 of land. The area subject to the Emergency Protection Order is a subset of this same area and covers only provincial and federal Crown lands. It covers 1672 km2 of the territory identified as critical habitat in the Amended Recovery Strategy.

An amendment would be required in order to make any change to the Emergency Protection Order.

Grazing

The Emergency Protection Order does not regulate grazing. It does not in any way restrict, limit or affect grazing levels and stocking rates, even on leased lands. The Amended Recovery Strategy recommends avoiding over-grazing; it is a recommendation only.

Producers can cut hay if their provincial lease conditions for grazing allow it, as this does not kill sagebrush, native grasses or native forbs.

Lands that were not used for growing and harvesting crops between 2011-2013 cannot be converted from pasture-land to crop-land. It should be noted, however, that grazing leases are governed by provincial Acts and that cultivation of land and construction of homesteads are generally prohibited under these Acts.

When constructing a watering facility for cattle, producers must ensure that its overall footprint is less than 30 m2. Also, any pumps or other equipment used in a new watering system must not be a source of chronic noise. Chronic noise means noise in excess of 45 dB(a) and operating for 60 minutes or more in a day, for at least 10 days in a given month.

Fences

Existing fences do not need to be modified or replaced to comply with the standards outlined in Schedule 2 of the Emergency Protection Order. There is no requirement to use fence post perching deterrents or wire markers on existing fences or when repairing/ replacing existing fences, but the new dimensions should not exceed those of the existing fence.

Any new fences must meet the standards for Sage-Grouse-friendly fences found in Schedule 2 of the Emergency Protection Order. This requirement only applies outside the 100 m buffer surrounding agricultural buildings.

Buildings, Structures, Machines or Poles

Existing buildings, structures, machines or poles do not need to be removed or demolished. You can replace structures that existed on February 18, 2014 as long as the buildings, structures, machines or poles are of equal or lower height and noise level as the original buildings, structures, machines or poles.

You can also build, install or repair buildings, structures, machines or poles exceeding 1.2 m in height and producing chronic noise inside a 100 m buffer surrounding residential or agricultural buildings or structures that existed on the date of the coming into force of the Emergency Protection Order, February 18, 2014. Before you construct or install a new building, structure, machine or pole outside the 100 m buffer, please contact Environment Canada.

Noise Restrictions

The chronic noise restrictions do not apply to movable machinery like a portable water trough on a trailer or a generator. However, the seasonal noise restriction of 45 dB(a) 1.5 hours before sunset to 1.5 hours after sunrise in April and May may apply.

The chronic noise restrictions do not apply to residential and agricultural traffic or activities required in case of an emergency. Neither does it apply to a person operating a motor vehicle to or from a residential building, to or from an area where they are conducting an agricultural operation or to visit a person who is conducting an agricultural operation.

Permitting

In some cases, companies or individuals may be eligible for a permit under section 73 of SARA if they are planning to undertake activities that are prohibited by the Emergency Protection Order, provided that the activity benefits the species and is conducted by qualified persons; or if affecting the species is incidental to the carrying out of the activity. Certain pre-conditions would also need to be met. You can get more information on SARA permits by visiting the Registry.

The Emergency Protection Order includes a number of exemptions to allow residents and agricultural operators to continue their regular agricultural activities without requiring the issuance of a permit.

Implementation and Funding

In cooperation with producers, counties, provinces and other groups, we will work together to implement voluntary, results-based stewardship activities that will benefit the Sage-Grouse.

Funding for stewardship measures, such as the installation of Sage-Grouse-friendly fences, can be sought through funding programs such as the Habitat Stewardship Program (HSP). This program provides funding for projects that conserve and protect species at risk and their habitats and measures the results achieved. The HSP continues to be available to assist individuals and groups seeking to implement actions for the conservation and protection of the Greater Sage-Grouse. For more information on species at risk, actions our government is taking and opportunities for you to get involved, visit the Species at Risk Public Registry.

Environment Canada enforcement officers are responsible for enforcing the Emergency Protection Order, as required, on the applicable federal and provincial Crown lands. Environment Canada is working with stakeholders to promote compliance and will continue to be available in order to minimize the number of potential infractions.

Photo of Sage grouse, © Environment Canada

 

Photo: © Environment Canada

Les producteurs agricoles et le décret d’urgence

PDF, 125 ko (Obtenir Adobe Reader)

Ce que ce décret signifie pour vous

Le tétras des armoises est une espèce d’oiseau menacée qui dépend de l’écosystème unique des prairies de l’Alberta et de la Saskatchewan. En 2012, on estimait qu’il ne restait que 100 adultes au Canada. Les populations ont chuté de 98 % depuis 1988.

Le plan qu’entend mettre en œuvre le gouvernement du Canada pour le rétablissement de l’espèce comprend un décret de protection d’urgence, mettant l’accent sur les menaces imminentes qui pèsent sur la survie de l’espèce, le programme de rétablissement modifié, qui vise à orienter les activités d’intendance volontaires recommandées entourant l’habitat du tétras des armoises, et un programme conjoint avec le zoo de Calgary ayant pour but de reproduire et d’élever cette espèce afin d’accroître les populations à l’état sauvage.

Le Décret d’urgence visant la protection du tétras des armoises est un décret pris en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) qui est entrée en vigueur le 18 février 2014 afin de faire face aux menaces imminentes qui pèsent sur la survie ou le rétablissement de l’espèce. Le décret d’urgence contient une liste des activités qui sont légalement interdites.

Les terres

L’habitat essentiel défini dans le programme de rétablissement modifié couvre une superficie de 2 812 km2. La région visée par le décret d’urgence est une parcelle de ce même territoire et ne couvre que les terres publiques provinciales et fédérales. Elle représente 1 672 km2 du territoire défini comme habitat essentiel dans le programme de rétablissement modifié.

Le décret d’urgence ne peut être modifié qu’au moyen d’un amendement.

Pâturage

Le décret d’urgence ne réglemente pas le pâturage. Il ne restreint ni ne limite d’aucune façon le pâturage et la capacité de charge, même sur des terres louées. Le programme de rétablissement modifié recommande cependant d’éviter le surpâturage, mais il ne s’agit que d’une recommandation.   
 

Les producteurs peuvent récolter le foin si les conditions de leur bail provincial régissant le pâturage les y autorisent, car cette pratique n’élimine pas l’armoise, les herbes ou les plantes herbacées non graminoïdes indigènes.

Les terres qui étaient en jachère entre 2011 et 2013 ne peuvent être converties d’un pâturage en terre cultivable. Il faut cependant noter que les baux de pâturage sont régis par les lois provinciales et que la culture des terres et la construction de propriétés sont généralement interdites en vertu de ces lois.

En ce qui a trait aux abreuvoirs destinés au bétail, les producteurs doivent veiller à ce que leur empreinte globale ne dépasse pas 30 m2. Également, les pompes et autres équipements utilisés pour tout nouveau système d’abreuvement ne doivent pas être une source de bruit permanent. Par bruit permanent, on entend un son dépassant 45 dB(a) et se faisant entendre pendant 60 minutes ou plus par jour, pendant au moins 10 jours d’un mois donné.

Clôtures

Il n’est pas nécessaire de modifier ou de remplacer des clôtures déjà en place pour se conformer à l’annexe 2 du Décret d’urgence. Les producteurs ne sont pas tenus d’installer des dispositifs visant à décourager les oiseaux prédateurs du tétras de s’y percher ou des marqueurs de fil sur des clôtures existantes ou lorsqu’ils remplacent ou réparent des clôtures existantes, mais les dimensions de toute nouvelle clôture ne doivent pas dépasser celles des clôtures déjà en place.

Toute nouvelle clôture doit respecter les normes établies à l’annexe 2 du Décret d’urgence concernant les clôtures dans l’habitat du tétras des armoises. Cette exigence ne s’applique qu’hors de la zone tampon de 100 m entourant les bâtiments agricoles.

Bâtiments, structures, machines ou poteaux

Il n’est pas nécessaire d’enlever ou de démolir des bâtiments, structures, machines ou poteaux déjà en place. Vous pouvez remplacer les structures qui existaient avant le 18 février 2014 dans la mesure où les bâtiments, structures, machines ou poteaux sont de hauteur égale ou inférieure à celle des bâtiments, structures, machines ou poteaux d’origine.

Vous pouvez également bâtir, installer ou réparer des bâtiments, structures, machines ou poteaux dépassant 1,2 m de hauteur et produisant un bruit permanent à l’intérieur d’une zone tampon de 100 m entourant les bâtiments ou structures agricoles ou résidentiels qui étaient déjà en place avant l’entrée en vigueur du décret d’urgence, soit le 18 février 2014. Avant de construire ou d’installer de nouveaux bâtiments ou poteaux, ou de nouvelles structures ou machines hors de la zone tampon de 100 m, veuillez communiquer avec Environnement Canada.

Restrictions acoustiques

Les restrictions relatives au bruit permanent ne s’appliquent pas à la machinerie mobile, comme un abreuvoir portable ancré à une remorque ou une génératrice. Cependant, la restriction acoustique saisonnière fixée à un niveau maximal de 45 dB(a) commençant une heure et demie avant le coucher du soleil et se terminant une heure et demie après le lever du soleil, d’avril à mai, peut s’appliquer.

Les restrictions quant au bruit permanent ne s’appliquent pas au trafic ou aux activités de nature résidentielle ou agricole nécessaires en cas d’urgence, ni à l’utilisation d’un véhicule motorisé se déplaçant en direction ou en provenance d’un bâtiment résidentiel ou d’un secteur où se déroulent des activités agricoles, ou servant à rendre visite à une personne effectuant des tâches agricoles.

Permis

Dans certains cas, des entreprises ou des particuliers peuvent obtenir un permis en vertu de l’article 73 de la LEP s’ils ont l’intention d’entreprendre des activités interdites par le décret d’urgence, dans la mesure où ces activités profitent à l’espèce et sont menées par des personnes compétentes, ou ne touchent l’espèce que de façon incidente. Certaines conditions préalables devront également être observées. Visitez le Registre des espèces en péril pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Le décret d’urgence prévoit plusieurs exemptions qui permettent aux résidents et aux exploitants agricoles de poursuivre leurs activités régulières sans avoir à obtenir un permis.

Mise en œuvre et financement

En collaboration avec les producteurs, les comtés, les provinces et d’autres groupes, nous mettrons en œuvre des activités d’intendance volontaires et axées sur les résultats qui bénéficieront au tétras des armoises.

Un financement sera offert pour des mesures d’intendance, comme l’installation de clôtures respectant l’habitat des tétras des armoises, par le truchement du Programme d’intendance de l’habitat (PIH). Ce programme prévoit une aide financière pour des projets qui permettent de préserver et de protéger les espèces en péril et leur habitat, et d’évaluer les résultats obtenus. Le PIH s’adresse aux particuliers et aux groupes qui veulent mettre en place des mesures de conservation et de protection du tétras des armoises. Pour plus d’information sur les espèces en péril, les mesures que prend notre gouvernement et sur les possibilités de jouer un rôle actif, visitez le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Les agents de l’autorité d’Environnement Canada veillent à l’application du décret d’urgence sur les terres domaniales provinciales et fédérales visées. Environnement Canada travaille avec des intervenants afin de promouvoir la conformité et s’attachera à réduire le nombre d’infractions possibles.

Photo du tétras des armoises, © Environnement Canada

 

Photo : © Environnement Canada