Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Consultation Workbook on the addition of a species to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk - Bigmouth Buffalo, Saskatchewan-Nelson River Population

Species at Risk Act

Consultation Workbook on the addition of a species to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk

The Bigmouth Buffalo - Saskatchewan-Nelson River Population

November 2009

Aussi disponible en français

Introduction

Why are we asking for your feedback on the Bigmouth Buffalo?

The purpose of this workbook is to invite all Canadians to share their views on whether the Bigmouth Buffalo’s Saskatchewan and Nelson River population should be added as a species of “Special Concern” to the List under the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA).

The Workbook summary

This workbook is broken down into three parts.

Part 1 provides general background information on the federal Species at Risk Act, and explains how a species is added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk, and what happens once that occurs.

Part 2 provides information about the Bigmouth Buffalo in Canada, and outlines its current “at risk” status.

Part 3 (detachable) consists of a questionnaire for you to complete and send to the federal government. It is intended to assist you in stating your concerns and advice.
This workbook can also be downloaded by visiting: www.registrelep-sararegistry.gc.ca/default_e.cfm.

Your view is important to us!

Your view on whether the status of the Bigmouth Buffalo’s Saskatchewan-Nelson River population should be added as a species of “special concern” on the SARA List of Wildlife Species at Risk is important to this consultation process. Your opinions will be carefully considered.

Part 1: The Species at Risk Act

The Species at Risk Act (SARA) became law on June 5, 2003. This federal legislation helps prevent Canada’s wildlife species from becoming extinct. The Act sets out how the federal government will decide which species are in greatest need of protection and what it will do to protect those species. It identifies how governments, organizations and individuals can work together to protect plants and animals (including aquatic species), and it establishes penalties for failing to obey the Act.

Plants and animals protected under the Act are included in the SARA “List of Wildlife Species at Risk”. This inventory of protected species will be called “the SARA List” in the rest of this consultation workbook.

Who determines if a species is “at risk”?

The federal government will consider adding a species to the SARA List only if the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) considers a species is ‘at risk’ and recommends legal protection. COSEWIC is a legally recognized group of independent experts who use science and traditional knowledge to determine which species need added protection. These recommendations are formally presented to the federal government.

As part of the recommendations, COSEWIC places the species it considers to be “at risk” into one of five categories:

  • Extinct – A wildlife species that no longer exists.

  • Extirpated – A wildlife species that is no longer found in the wild in Canada but may be found elsewhere.

  • Endangered – A wildlife species that will likely soon become Extirpated or Extinct.

  • Threatened – A wildlife species likely to become Endangered if nothing is done to help protect it.

  • Special Concern – A wildlife species that may become Threatened or Endangered if nothing is done to help protect it.

Once the COSEWIC recommendations are received, the federal government Cabinet must decide if it will support, reject or send recommendations back to COSEWIC for further considerations. As part of the Cabinet’s consideration process, it must consider the views of Canadians, as well as the economic and social implications of protecting a species under SARA.

What happens once a species or population is added to the SARA List?

The amount of protection that SARA provides depends on its status in the above five “at risk” categories.

It is illegal to kill, harm, harass, possess, collect, buy, sell or trade an Extirpated, Endangered or Threatened species. It is also generally illegal to damage or destroy the places these species live. These prohibitions do not apply to species of Special Concern.

The Species at Risk Act is a federal piece of legislation. The responsible ministers are the Minister of the Environment, who is responsible for animals and plants found on federal lands, and the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, who is responsible aquatic animals. Under special circumstances, the Ministers may make exceptions to the above prohibitions. For example, a responsible minister can issue a permit that would allow a qualified scientist to carry out a research project that would likely benefit a listed species, but may require the collection of specimens, or a physical relocation from its current habitat. Exceptions can only be made if the minister is assured that the survival or recovery of the species will not be jeopardized.

Public Consultation

When deciding whether to add a species to the SARA List, the federal government must consider potential social and economic benefits and costs. It must also consider the potential consequences of not adding the species. To do this, government representatives meet with various organizations and members of the public who have a direct interest in the species or who wish to provide comments. This may include landowners, aboriginal groups, land users, wildlife management boards, non-government environmental organizations and industry. This consultation workbook provides another option to allow Canadians to provide their views to government.

Following the consultation period, the government carefully considers all comments it receives. Following this final consideration, the government must decide whether to add the species to the SARA List. Its decision is published in the Canada Gazette, Part II and on the SARA Public Registry.

Recovery strategies and management plans

If a wildlife species is added to the SARA List as an Extirpated, Endangered or Threatened species, the federal government must prepare a strategy for its recovery. The recovery strategy outlines known threats to the species, identifies the habitat it needs to survive, and highlights gaps in knowledge. It also sets a goal for the species’ recovery.

A recovery strategy must be completed within one year of a species being listed as Endangered, and within two years if it is Threatened or Extirpated.

If a wildlife species is considered Special Concern, the federal government must prepare a management plan within three years of the species being added to the SARA List. The management plan identifies conservation measures aimed at protecting the species and its habitat.

The recovery strategies and management plans are prepared in cooperation with directly affected groups, including wildlife management boards, Aboriginal organizations and provincial or territorial governments responsible for managing the species. Using public notices, letters and meetings, every effort is made towards consulting individuals, organizations and communities who may be directly affected by these strategies and plans.

When complete, the recovery strategy or management plan is posted on the online SARA Public Registry website, which provides information and documents about species at risk in Canada. Once posted, the public has 60 days to let the federal government hear its views. The government then has 30 days to consider any comments received, make any changes to the proposed recovery strategy or management plan, and post a final copy in the Public Registry.

Action Plans

After the final posting of the recovery strategy, one or more Action Plans are prepared. Action Plans identify ways to reduce threats to the species and protect its critical habitat, as well as other activities to be undertaken to support the recovery strategy. Action plans are prepared in cooperation with directly affected groups, including wildlife management boards, Aboriginal organizations and provincial or territorial governments responsible for managing the species. Using public notices, letters and meetings, every effort is made towards consulting individuals, organizations and communities who may be directly affected by these plans.

When the proposed action plan is completed, it is posted on the Public Registry for 60 days to allow the federal government to hear views of Canadians. After the 60 days, the government has 30 days to consider any comments received, make any changes to the action plan and post a final copy in the Public Registry.

For more information

Visit the SARA Public Registry (www.registrelep-sararegistry.gc.ca) for more information on the Species at Risk Act and the various species that receive federal protection.

Additional information can be found on the Fisheries and Oceans Canada Species at Risk website (www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/species-especes/) and on the website of the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) (www.cosewic.gc.ca).

Part 2: The Bigmouth Buffalo

This section is based on excerpts from:

COSEWIC 2009 assessment and status report on the Bigmouth Buffalo Ictiobus cyprinellus, Great Lakes – Upper St. Lawrence populations and Saskatchewan-Nelson River populations, in Canada. Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Ottawa. vii + 40 pp (www.registrelep-sararegistry.gc.ca/sar/assessment/status_e.cfm).

Current COSEWIC designation

This species was considered a single unit and designated by COSEWIC as “Special Concern” in April 1989. It was split into two populations in April 2008: the Great Lakes-Upper St. Lawrence population; and the Saskatchewan-Nelson River population.

Great Lakes-Upper St. Lawrence population
2008: Designated by COSEWIC as “Not at Risk”.

Saskatchewan-Nelson River population
2009: Designated by COSEWIC as “Special Concern”.

Current SARA Listing status

The Bigmouth Buffalo’s Saskatchewan-Nelson River population is not currently included on the SARA List of Wildlife Species at Risk.

As a result of COSEWIC’s assessment of the Bigmouth Buffalo’s Saskatchewan-Nelson River population in 2009, the Government of Canada is presently considering whether to add this species to the SARA List of Wildlife Species at Risk as a species of “Special Concern”.

Species description

A large freshwater fish, the Bigmouth Buffalo (Ictiobus cyprinellus) is a member of the sucker family, Catostomidae. It is one of 18 (possibly 19) sucker species found in Canada.

The body is large, deep, and laterally compressed. The mouth, as suggested by its name, is larger than those of most fish. Bigmouth Buffalo can be distinguished from most other suckers by its long, curved dorsal fin. Colour can vary with the level of mixing in the water: from a pale and yellow colour in turbid waters, to an olive-blue in very clear waters.

The Bigmouth Buffalo can attain a maximum length of 914 mm and can weigh as much as 36 kg.

Its lifespan is estimated to be more than 20 years.

Where are Bigmouth Buffalo Found found?

The Bigmouth Buffalo is found in the deeper pools of medium- to large-sized rivers, and in slower waters. Areas it frequents include ox-bows, bayous and flood plain lakes, sloughs, shallow lakes and impoundment areas. (Becker 1983; Pfleiger 1975; Trautman 1981).

The Bigmouth Buffalo prefers warm, turbid, nutrient-rich waters. It is usually found in schools near the middle of the water column or near the bottom (Pfleiger 1975; Trautman 1981). It also appears to have a high tolerance for low oxygen levels (Gould and Irwin 1962) and mild salinity levels (Minckley et al. 1970).

Spring flooding is an important factor in successful reproduction, as it triggers spawning activity and provides access to spawning areas with thick vegetation, such as marshes and backwaters (Johnson 1963). The eggs become attached to the vegetation and hatch about two weeks later (Becker 1983).

The distribution of the Bigmouth Buffalo is limited to central areas of North America, where it is found in the Mississippi drainage from the Gulf of Mexico northward to Minnesota and North Dakota, including the Missouri and Ohio rivers. In the Great Lakes basin, it has been reported in Lake Erie, Lake St. Clair, the Bay of Quinte, Hamilton Harbour and in several rivers, including the Grand, the Sydenham, the Thames, the Welland, and the Ausable.

Within the Hudson Bay basin, the Bigmouth Buffalo has been reported in the Red and Assiniboine rivers, as well as the south basin of Lake Winnipeg and Lake Manitoba (likely entering through the Assiniboine River floodway). This species is relatively abundant in the Qu’Appelle Lakes in Saskatchewan and has been reported in the North Saskatchewan River at Prince Albert.

How many Bigmouth Buffalo exist?

No studies on the population size of the Bigmouth Buffalo in Canada have been conducted, so it is difficult to determine numbers and population trends. However, based on the existing limited information, it appears that the population size is low.

Threats to the Bigmouth Buffalo

Loss of habitat, along with the reduced quality of, and access to, spawning habitat due to water management practises (particularly the regulation of water levels and channelization) are likely to be the most important factors for the reduced population size of Bigmouth Buffalo in the Qu’Appelle River basin. Bigmouth Buffalo eggs do not hatch, or hatch less successfully in areas where waters are too turbid, which is the results of high levels of sand, silt and materials entering the river or lake. Commercial fishing may have also added to the reduction in populations in the past.

What will happen if the Bigmouth Buffalo is added as a species of
“Special Concern” to the SARA List?

Once legally listed under SARA as “Special Concern”, the federal government is required to prepare a Management Plan within three years of the listing date.

The Management Plan will include conservation measures that could apply to more than just the species of concern, and will require the cooperation and feedback of other levels of government, wildlife management boards, Aboriginal organizations, and other persons and organizations likely able to assist on the plan’s development and implementation.

Part 3: Let Us Know What You Think

The following questionnaire invites you to reflect on the implications of adding the Saskatchewan-Nelson River population of the Bigmouth Buffalo as a species of “Special Concern” to the SARA List.

Your answers and comments will tell us what you think about the protection and recovery of this unique species, and especially about the possible effects of the decision to change its status on the SARA List.

If you wish to keep the other sections of this workbook, please feel free to detach them and return only the questionnaire.

Return the completed questionnaire or your comments by mail, fax or E-mail to the following address:

SARA Coordinator
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
501 University Crescent
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2N6

Email: fwisar@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Fax: 204 983-5192
Telephone: 204 984-0599
Toll-Free: 1-866-538-1609

Alternately, you can provide your views by visiting the Public Registry (www.registrelep-sararegistry.gc.ca) and posting your comments.

Please submit your comments by January 15, 2010

 


Please submit your comments on the Bigmouth Buffalo by mail, fax or e-mail to:

SARA Coordinator
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
501 University Crescent
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2N6

Email: fwisar@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Fax: 204 983-5192
Telephone: 204 984-0599

| Introductory Page |

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Guide de consultation sur l'ajout proposé d'une espèce à la liste des espèces en péril - Le buffalo à grande bouche - Population des rivières Saskatchewan et Nelson

Loi sur les espèces en péril

Guide de consultation sur l’ajout proposé d’une espèce à la liste des espèces en péril

Le buffalo à grande bouche - Population des rivières Saskatchewan et Nelson

Novembre 2009

Also available in English

Introduction

Pourquoi demandons-nous votre opinion sur le buffalo à grande bouche?

Le but de ce guide est d’inviter toute la population canadienne à partager son opinion à savoir si le buffalo à grande bouche devrait ajouter comme « préoccupante » en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP).

Le résumé du guide

Le guide est divisé en trois parties, comme suit :

La partie 1 donne des renseignements de base sur la Loi sur les espèces en péril et explique le processus d’inscription d’une espèce à la Liste des espèces en péril, ainsi que ce qui se produit lorsque cela a été fait.

La partie 2 contient des renseignements sur le buffalo à grande bouche retrouvé au Canada et décrit son statut de risque actuel.

La partie 3 (détachable) comporte un questionnaire à remplir et à retourner au gouvernement fédéral. Il peut vous aider à formuler vos commentaires et vos préoccupations.
Il est possible de télécharger ce guide de consultation à l’adresse suivante : www.sararegistry.gc.ca/default_e.cfm

Votre opinion est importante pour nous!

Votre opinion sur le buffalo à grande bouche revêt une importance cruciale dans ce processus de consultation. Elle sera examinée attentivement et prise en considération.

Partie 1 : La Loi sur les espèces en péril

La Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) est passée en loi le 5 juin 2003. Cette loi fédérale vise à empêcher la disparition d’espèces de faune et de flore sauvages du Canada. La LEP établit comment le gouvernement fédéral doit décider quelles espèces ont le plus besoin de protection et ce qu’il doit faire pour les protéger. Elle détermine comment les gouvernements, les organisations et les particuliers peuvent unir leurs efforts pour protéger les plantes et les animaux sauvages (y compris les espèces aquatiques) et établit des peines pour avoir enfreint la Loi.

Les plantes et les animaux protégés en vertu de la LEP sont inscrits à la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP. Cet inventaire d’espèces protégées est appelé la Liste de la LEP dans le reste du guide de consultation.

Qui détermine si une espèce est en péril?

Le gouvernement fédéral ne considère l’ajout d’une espèce à la Liste de la LEP que si le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) considère cette espèce comme étant en péril et recommande sa protection légale. Le COSEPAC est un groupe de spécialistes indépendants reconnu par la loi qui se sert de renseignements scientifiques et de connaissances traditionnelles pour déterminer quelles espèces requièrent une protection spéciale. Ses recommandations sont officiellement présentées au gouvernement fédéral.

Au chapitre des ses recommandations, le COSEPAC désigne les espèces considérées en péril dans une des cinq catégories de risque suivantes :

  • Disparue – espèce sauvage qui n’existe plus.

  • Disparue du pays – espèce sauvage qu’on ne trouve plus à l’état sauvage au Canada, mais qu’on trouve ailleurs.

  • En voie de disparition – espèce sauvage exposée à une disparition de la planète ou à une disparition du pays imminente.

  • Menacée – espèce sauvage susceptible de devenir en voie de disparition si rien n’est fait pour contrer les facteurs menaçant de la faire disparaître.

  • Préoccupante – espèce sauvage qui peut devenir menacée ou en voie de disparition en raison de l’effet cumulatif de ses caractéristiques biologiques et des menaces reconnues qui pèsent sur elle.

Après que le COSEPAC ait présenté ses recommandations au gouvernement fédéral, le Cabinet doit décider s’il les appuiera, les rejettera ou les renverra au COSEPAC pour être approfondies. Le Cabinet, au titre du processus de considération, doit tenir compte des expressions d’opinion de la population canadienne ainsi que des répercussions économiques et sociales de la protection d’une espèce en vertu de la LEP.

Qu’advient-il lorsqu’une espèce ou une population est inscrite à la Liste de la LEP?

Le niveau de protection que la LEP accorde dépend de son statut selon les cinq catégories de risque ci‑dessus.

Il est interdit de tuer un individu d’une espèce sauvage inscrite comme espèce disparue du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacée, lui nuire, le harceler, le capturer, le prendre, le posséder, le collectionner, l’acheter, le vendre ou l’échanger. En général, il est également interdit d’endommager ou de détruire les endroits où cette espèce vit. Ces interdictions ne s’appliquent pas aux espèces préoccupantes.

La Loi sur les espèces en péril est une loi fédérale. Deux ministères fédéraux sont responsables de l’administration de la LEP. Le ministre de l’Environnement est responsable des animaux et des plantes qui se trouvent sur les terres fédérales, et le ministre des Pêches et des Océans, des animaux aquatiques. Dans des circonstances spéciales, les ministres peuvent faire des exceptions aux interdictions susmentionnées. Par exemple, un ministre responsable peut délivrer un permis permettant à un scientifique compétent de mener un projet de recherche qui profitera à une espèce inscrite, mais qui peut nécessiter le prélèvement de spécimens ou le déplacement physique de son habitat actuel. Une exception ne peut être faite que si le ministre est convaincu que la survie ou le rétablissement de l’espèce ne risque pas d’être compromis.

Consultation publique

Lorsqu’il décide si une espèce doit être inscrite ou non à la Liste de la LEP, le gouvernement fédéral doit tenir compte des répercussions potentielles au niveau social et économique, ainsi que les coûts. Il doit aussi considérer les conséquences potentielles de ne pas l’inscrire. Pour ce faire, des représentants du gouvernement rencontrent diverses organisations et des membres du public qui ont un intérêt direct dans l’espèce en question ou qui désirent présenter des commentaires. Ce pourrait être des propriétaires fonciers, des groupes autochtones, des utilisateurs des terres, des conseils de gestion de la faune, des organisations environnementalistes non gouvernementales et l’industrie. Ce guide de consultation constitue une autre option permettant à la population canadienne de faire connaître son opinion au gouvernement.

À la suite de la période de consultation, le gouvernement tient soigneusement compte de toutes les expressions d’opinion reçues. Il doit ensuite décider si l’espèce sera inscrite ou non à la Liste de la LEP. Sa décision est publiée dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie II, et dans le registre public de la LEP.

Programmes de rétablissement et plans de gestion

Si une espèce de faune ou de flore sauvage est inscrite à la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP comme étant disparue du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacée, le gouvernement fédéral doit préparer un programme pour son rétablissement. Le programme de rétablissement identifie les menaces connues qui pèsent sur l’espèce en question, désigne l’habitat dont elle a besoin pour sa survie et attire l’attention sur les lacunes dans les connaissances. Il précise également un objectif pour le rétablissement de l’espèce.

Un programme de rétablissement doit être préparé moins d’un an après l’inscription d’une espèce comme étant en voie de disparition et moins de deux ans après l’inscription d’une espèce comme étant menacée ou disparue du pays.

Si une espèce de faune ou de flore sauvage est considérée comme préoccupante, le gouvernement fédéral doit préparer un plan de gestion moins de trois ans après l’inscription de l’espèce sur la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP. Le plan de gestion précise les mesures de conservation visant à protéger l’espèce et son habitat.

Les programmes de rétablissement et les plans de gestion visant ces espèces sont préparés en collaboration avec les groupes directement concernés, y compris les conseils de gestion des ressources fauniques, les organisations autochtones, ainsi que les instances provinciales ou territoriales responsables de la gestion de l’espèce en question. Par le biais d’avis publics, de lettres et de réunions, tous les efforts sont faits pour consulter les individus, les organisations et les collectivités qui peuvent être directement touchés par ces programmes et plans.

Une fois prêt, le programme de rétablissement ou le plan de gestion visant une espèce est affiché en ligne sur le site Web du Registre public de la LEP, qui contient des renseignements et des documents au sujet des espèces en péril au Canada. Une fois le programme ou plan affiché, le public a 60 jours pour faire connaître son opinion au gouvernement fédéral. Le gouvernement a alors 30 jours pour étudier les commentaires reçus, apporter des changements au programme de rétablissement ou au plan de gestion proposé et afficher une version finale sur le Registre public.

Plans d’action

Après l’affichage définitif du programme de rétablissement, un plan d’action ou plus sont préparés. Un plan d’action établit des moyens de réduire les menaces auxquelles l’espèce est exposée et de protéger son habitat essentiel, ainsi que d’autres activités à entreprendre en appui du programme de rétablissement. Le plan d’action est préparé en collaboration avec les groupes directement touchés, y compris les conseils de gestion de la faune, les organisations autochtones et les instances provinciales ou territoriales responsables de la gestion de l’espèce. Par le biais d’avis publics, de lettres et de réunions, tous les efforts sont faits pour consulter les individus, les organisations et les collectivités qui peuvent être directement touchés par ce plan.

Lorsque le plan d’action proposé est prêt, il est affiché sur le Registre public pendant 60 jours afin de permettre au gouvernement fédéral de connaître l’opinion de la population canadienne. Après cette période, le gouvernement a 30 jours pour étudier les commentaires reçus, apporter des changements au plan d’action et en afficher la version finale sur le Registre public.

Pour plus d’information

Pour plus d’information sur la Loi sur les espèces en péril et les diverses espèces protégées par le gouvernement fédéral, veuillez consulter le site Web du Registre public (http://www.registrelep-sararegistry.gc.ca).

D’autres informations se trouvent sur le site Web des espèces en péril de Pêches et Océans Canada (www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/species-especes/) et sur le site Web du Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) (www.cosewic.gc.ca).

Partie 2 : Le buffalo à grande bouche

Cette partie est tirée du document suivant :

COSEPAC. 2009. Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le buffalo à grande bouche (Ictiobus cyprinellus), populations des Grands Lacs et du haut Saint-Laurent et populations de la rivière Saskatchewan – de la rivière Nelson, au Canada. Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada. Ottawa. vii + 45 p. (www.registrelep-sararegistry.gc.ca/sar/assessment/status_e.cfm).

Désignation par le COSEPAC

L’espèce a été considérée comme une seule unité et a été désignée « préoccupante » par le COSEPAC en avril 1989. Elle a été divisée en deux populations en avril 2008, soit la population des Grands Lacs et du haut Saint‑Laurent et la population des rivières Saskatchewan et Nelson.

Population des Grands Lacs et du haut Saint‑Laurent
2008 : désignée « non en péril » par le COSEPAC

Population des rivières Saskatchewan et Nelson
2009 : désignée « préoccupante » par le COSEPAC

Statut actuel sur la liste des espèces en péril de la LEP

La population de buffalo à grande bouche des rivières Saskatchewan et Nelson n’est pas inscrite à la liste des espèces en péril de la LEP.

Par suite de l’évaluation de la population de buffalo à grande bouche des rivières Saskatchewan et Nelson par le COSEPAC en 2009, le gouvernement du Canada considère d’ajouter cette espèce comme « espèce préoccupante » à la liste des espèces en péril de la LEP.

Description de l’espèce

Le buffalo à grande bouche (Ictiobus cyprinellus) est un grand poisson d’eau qui peut atteindre une longueur et un poids maximums de 914 mm et de 36 kg respectivement, et certains individus peuvent dépasser l’âge de 20 ans. Il fait partie de la famille des Catostomidés. Il est l’une des 18 (peut-être 19) espèces de meuniers trouvées au Canada.

Le corps est épais et robuste, comprimé latéralement. La bouche, comme son nom l’indique, est très grande. Le buffalo à grande bouche se distingue de la plupart des autres meuniers par sa longue nageoire dorsale falciforme. La couleur du corps peut varier en fonction de la turbidité : elle est pâle et jaunâtre dans les eaux turbides, et plutôt bleu-olive dans les eaux très claires.

Où trouve-t-on le buffalo à grande bouche?

Le buffalo à grande bouche se trouve dans les bassins profonds de rivières de moyenne et de grande taille, dans les eaux plus lentes; il fréquente les méandres et les plaines inondables, les marécages, les lacs en croissant et les lacs peu profonds (Becker, 1983; Pfleiger, 1975; Trautman, 1981).

Ce poisson préfère des eaux chaudes, turbides et riches en éléments nutritifs. Il forme généralement des bancs à mi‑profondeur ou près du fond (Pfleiger, 1975; Trautman, 1981). Le buffalo à grande bouche semble également pouvoir tolérer de faibles tensions en oxygène (Gould et Irwin, 1962) et une légère salinité (Minckley et coll., 1970).

Les inondations de printemps jouent un rôle important dans le succès de la fraie. Elles activent l’activité de fraie et donnent accès à des lieux de fraie tapissés de végétation épaisse, comme les zones marécageuses et les bras morts (Johnson, 1963). Les œufs sont déposés dans la végétation et éclosent environ deux semaines plus tard (Becker, 1983).

L’aire de répartition du buffalo à grande bouche se limite au centre de l’Amérique du Nord. Il est réparti dans les bassins du Mississippi à partir du golfe du Mexique vers le nord, jusqu’au Minnesota et au Dakota du Nord, y compris les rivières Missouri et Ohio. Dans le bassin des Grands Lacs, il est présent dans les lacs Érié et Sainte-Claire, la baie de Quinte, le port de Hamilton et plusieurs rivières (Grand, Sydenham, Thames, Welland et Ausable).

Dans le bassin de la baie d’Hudson, le buffalo à grande bouche a été signalé dans les bassins hydrographiques des rivières Rouge et Assiniboine, ainsi que dans le bassin sud du lac Winnipeg et le lac Manitoba (y pénétrant probablement par le canal de dérivation de la rivière Assiniboine). Le buffalo à grande bouche est relativement abondant dans les lacs Qu’Appelle, en Saskatchewan, et a été signalé dans la rivière Saskatchewan Nord, à Prince Albert.

Combien y a-t-il de buffalos à grande bouche?

Il n’y a pas eu d’études sur la taille des populations au Canada. Par conséquent, il est difficile d’évaluer la taille et les tendances des populations. Toutefois, d’après les renseignements limités disponibles, il semble que la taille des populations soit faible.

Les menaces auxquelles fait face le buffalo à grande bouche

L’élimination de parcelles d’habitat de fraie, la réduction de la qualité de l’eau dans les frayères et l’inaccessibilité de celles-ci résultant des pratiques de gestion de l’eau (en particulier les barrages, la régularisation des niveaux d’eau et la canalisation) constituent probablement les facteurs qui ont le plus contribué à la réduction des populations du buffalo à grande bouche. Les œufs n’éclosent pas ou éclosent en moins grand nombre dans les frayères où l’eau est trop turbide par suite de l’entrée, dans le lac ou la rivière, de grandes quantités de sable, de limon et de matériel végétal. La pêche commerciale peut aussi avoir exacerbé le problème en Saskatchewan dans les dernières années.

Qu’arrivera-t-il si le buffalo à grande bouche est ajouté à la liste des espèces préoccupantes de la LEP?

Si le buffalo à grande bouche est inscrit à la liste des espèces préoccupantes de la LEP, le gouvernement fédéral est tenu de préparer un plan de gestion de l’espèce dans les trois ans suivant son inscription.

Le plan de gestion comprendra des mesures de conservation qui pourraient s’appliquer à des espèces autres que l’espèce visée. Il nécessitera la coopération et la rétroaction d’autres ordres de gouvernement, de conseils de gestion de la faune, d’organisations autochtones et d’autres individus et organisations qui pourraient aider à son élaboration et à sa mise en œuvre.

Partie 3 : Nous souhaitons connaître votre opinion

Le questionnaire qui suit vous invite à réfléchir à ce qu’implique l’action d’ajouter le buffalo à grande bouche (population des rivières Saskatchewan et Nelson) à la liste des espèces préoccupantes de la LEP.

Vos réponses et commentaires nous permettront de connaître votre point de vue sur la protection et le rétablissement de cette espèce unique, et plus particulièrement sur les effets que peut avoir la décision de changer son statut sur la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP.

Si vous souhaitez conserver les autres parties du guide, n’hésitez pas à les détacher et à ne nous retourner que le questionnaire.

Faites parvenir ce questionnaire rempli ou vos commentaires par la poste, par télécopieur ou par courriel à l’adresse suivante :

Coordonnateur de la LEP
Pêches et Océans Canada
501, University Crescent
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3T 2N6

Courriel : fwisar@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Télécopieur : 204-983-5192
Téléphone : 204-984-0599 ou 1-866-538-1609 (sans frais)

Ou bien vous pouvez présenter votre opinion en allant au Registre public des espèces en péril (www.registrelep-sararegistry.gc.ca/default_f.cfm) et en soumettant vos commentaires.

La date limite pour faire parvenir vos commentaires est le 15 janvier 2010

 


Faites parvenir vos commentaires au sujet du buffalo à grande bouche par la poste, par télécopieur ou par courriel à l’adresse suivante :

Coordonnateur de la LEP
Pêches et Océans Canada
501, University Crescent
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3T 2N6

Courriel : fwisar@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Télécopieur : 204-983-5192
Téléphone : 204-984-0599 ou 1-866-538-1609 (sans frais)

| Page d'introduction |