Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Consultation Workbook on the addition of the Atlantic salmon (Lake Ontario population), Rainbow mussel, Mapleleaf mussel (Saskatchewan-Nelson population) and Mapleleaf mussel (Great Lakes-Western St. Lawrence population) to the SARA List

poissoncoquillage1coquillage

December 2006

Please send your comments on this consultation to Fisheries & Oceans Canada, Central and Arctic Region at:

    fwisar@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Or by regular mail comments should be sent to the following address:

Central and Arctic Region

SARA Coordinator

Freshwater Institute

Fisheries & Oceans Canada

501 University Avenue

Winnipeg, Manitoba

R3T 2N6  

To request additional copies of the workbook, please call 1-866-538-1609.

For more information on the Species at Risk Act, please visit the Public Registry at

     http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca

For more information on species at risk, please visit the Fisheries & Oceans Canada aquatic Species at Risk website:

    http://www.aquaticspeciesatrisk.gc.ca

or

Environment Canada’s Species at Risk website:

     www.speciesatrisk.gc.ca

Information on species at risk is also available on the website of the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC):

     www.cosewic.gc.ca

Credits:

Atlantic salmon – U.S. Fish and Wildlife Services

Rainbow  mussel– Philip McColl, Graphics Arts Section, National Water Research Institute

Mapleleaf mussel- Philip McColl, Graphics Arts Section, National Water Research Institute

Introduction

The Species at Risk Act (SARA) was proclaimed on June 5, 2003, by the Government of Canada. SARA provides a framework for actions across Canada to promote the survival of wildlife species and the protection of our natural heritage. It sets out how to decide which species are a priority for action and what to do to protect a species. It identifies ways governments, organizations and individuals can work together, and it establishes penalties for failures to obey the law.

Two federal Ministers are responsible for the administration of SARA. The Minister of Fisheries and Oceans is the competent Minister for aquatic species. The Minister of the Environment is the competent Minister for all other species at risk, including those found in national parks, national historic sites and other protected heritage areas. The Minister of the Environment is also responsible for the overall administration of the Act.

The Act protects the plants and animals included on a list within SARA (Schedule 1).  Schedule 1 is also referred to as the List of Wildlife Species at Risk and will be referred to as the SARA List in the rest of this workbook. Candidate species are proposed for addition to the SARA List as a result of the work of the scientists and conservationists who are members of the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC). They conduct scientific assessments of the status of species. Community and Aboriginal traditional knowledge are also included in species assessments when available. The Government then decides which species are added to the SARA List as such action could have economic or social implications.

233 species were included on the SARA List of the Act when Parliament passed SARA in December 2002. COSEWIC had already assessed these species as “at risk” using new updated assessment criteria and current information. When the Act came into force in June 2003, these species were on the initial SARA List.

Since then, COSEWIC has identified more species that are at risk. The Minister of Environment is now considering recommending those species for addition to the SARA List. As part of that process, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans is currently carrying out public consultations on the Atlantic salmon (Lake Ontario population), Rainbow mussel, and Mapleleaf mussel (Great Lakes-Western St. Lawrence population) in Ontario and the Mapleleaf mussel (Saskatchewan-Nelson population) in Manitoba. The purpose of this consultation workbook is to invite Canadians to let us know whether these populations should be added to the SARA List as a species of Special Concern.

Table of Contents

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Guide de consultation sur l’ajout du saumon atlantique (population du lac Ontario), de la villeuse irisée, de la mulette feuille d’érable (population de la Saskatchewan-Nelson) et de la mulette feuille d’érable (population des Grands Lacs et de l’ouest du Saint-Laurent) à la liste de la LEP

poissoncoquillagecoquillage

décembre 2006

Veuillez faire parvenir vos commentaires sur cette consultation au bureau de la Région du Centre et de l’Arctique de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) à l’adresse de courriel suivante :

 fwisar@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

ou par courrier régulier à l’adresse postale suivante :

Région du Centre et de l’Arctique

Coordonnateur de la LEP

Institut des eaux douces

Pêche et Océans Canada

501 University Avenue

Winnipeg, Manitoba

R3T 2N6

Pour obtenir d’autres exemplaires du guide de consultation, composez le 1-866-538-1609.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la Loi sur les espèces en péril, consultez le Registre public à l’adresse suivante : http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les espèces en péril, consultez le site Web des espèces en péril de Pêches et Océans Canada à l’adresse suivante :

 http://www.aquaticspeciesatrisk.gc.ca

ou

le site Web des espèces en péril d’Environnement Canada à l’adresse suivante :

 www.speciesatrisk.gc.ca

De l’information sur les espèces en péril est également disponible sur le site Web du Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) :

 www.cosewic.gc.ca

Références photographiques :

Saumon atlantique – U.S. Fish and Wildlife Services

Villeuse irisée – Philip McColl, Section des arts graphiques, Institut national de recherche sur les eaux

Mulette feuille d’érable – Philip McColl,Section des arts graphiques, Institut national de recherche sur les eaux

Introduction

Le 5 juin 2003, le gouvernement du Canada procédait à l’adoption de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). Cette loi fournit un cadre pour la prise de mesures qui assureront la survie des espèces sauvages à l’échelle du pays et protégeront notre patrimoine naturel. La LEP définit les critères à utiliser pour déterminer quelles espèces doivent rapidement faire l’objet de mesures et quels moyens mettre en œuvre pour les protéger. Elle définit également la collaboration entre les gouvernements, les organismes et les individus et prévoit des sanctions contre les contrevenants.

Deux ministères fédéraux sont responsables de l’administration de la LEP. Le ministère des Pêches et des Océans est responsable des espèces aquatiques en péril. Le ministère de l’Environnement est responsable quant à lui de toutes les autres espèces en péril, y compris celles qui se trouvent dans les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux ou dans d’autres aires patrimoniales protégées. Le ministre de l’Environnement assume aussi la responsabilité de l’administration générale de la LEP.

La Loi assure la protection des espèces végétales et animales inscrites sur une liste figurant dans la LEP (Annexe 1). L’annexe 1, également appelée « Liste des espèces sauvages en péril », sera désignée sous le nom de « liste de la LEP » dans le reste du présent guide de consultation. L’ajout d’espèces candidates à la liste de la LEP est proposé à la suite de travaux effectués par des scientifiques et des agents de protection de la nature qui sont membres du Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC). Des évaluations scientifiques de la situation de ces espèces sont réalisées. Les connaissances traditionnelles autochtones et les connaissances des communautés sont également incluses dans les évaluations des espèces lorsqu’elles sont disponibles. Le gouvernement décide ensuite des espèces qui seront ajoutées à la liste de la LEP, car une telle mesure peut avoir des conséquences économiques ou sociales.

Deux-cent-trente-trois espèces figuraient sur la liste de la LEP lorsque le Parlement a adopté la LEP en décembre 2002. Le COSEPAC avait déjà établi que ces espèces étaient « en péril » en s’appuyant sur de nouveaux critères d’évaluation et sur des renseignements à jour. Quand la Loi est entrée en vigueur en juin 2003, ces espèces figuraient déjà sur la liste initiale de la LEP.

Depuis, le COSEPAC a identifié d’autres espèces en péril. Le ministre de l’Environnement envisage maintenant de recommander l’ajout de ces espèces à la liste de la LEP. Dans le cadre de ce processus, le ministre des Pêches et des Océans mène présentement des consultations publiques sur le saumon atlantique (population du lac Ontario), de la villeuse irisée, de la mulette feuille d’érable (population de la Saskatchewan-Nelson) et de la mulette feuille d’érable (population des Grands Lacs et de l’ouest du Saint-Laurent). Le but du présent guide de consultation est d’inviter les Canadiens à exprimer leur opinion sur l’ajout du saumon atlantique (population du lac Ontario), de la villeuse irisée, de la mulette feuille d’érable (population de la Saskatchewan-Nelson) et de la mulette feuille d’érable (population des Grands Lacs et de l’ouest du Saint-Laurent) à la liste de la LEP en tant qu’espèce préoccupante.

Table des Matières