Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Cucumber Tree (Magnolia acuminata L.)

Recovery Strategy for Recovery Strategy For

Cucumber Tree (Magnolia acuminata L.)

in Canada [Proposed]

Cucumber Tree

Photo by Donald Kirk

 May 2006

 

Recovery Strategy for

Cucumber Tree (Magnolia acuminata L.) in Canada

 

May 2006

 

Under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk (1996), the federal, provincial, and territorial governments agreed to work together on legislation, programs, and policies to protect wildlife species at risk throughout Canada.

In the spirit of cooperation of the Accord, the Government of Ontario has given permission to the Government of Canada to adopt the Recovery strategy for Cucumber Tree (Magnolia acuminata L.) in Canada under Section 44 of the Species at Risk Act (SARA). Details are provided in the addenda of this document.

Following this 60-day comment period starting in February 2007, and until the federal Minister of the Environment determines otherwise or the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources formally amends this document, this recovery strategy will be the recovery strategy of the Minister of the Environment of Canada for this species.

 


Recommended Citation

Ambrose, J. & D. Kirk.  2006.  Recovery Strategy for Cucumber Tree (Magnolia

acuminata L.) in Canada.  Prepared for the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources by the Cucumber Tree Recovery Team,   viii + 24pp. + addenda.

Additional copies: 

Additional copies can be downloaded from the SARA Public Registry (www.sararegistry.gc.ca/)

Cover photo: Donald Kirk

Également disponible en français sous le titre

« Programme de rétablissement du magnolia acuminé (Magnolia acuminata L.) au Canada [Proposition] »

Content (excluding the illustrations) may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.

Responsible Jurisdictions

Cucumber Tree occurs in the province of Ontario, and the recovery strategy was developed by the province.  The Canadian Wildlife Service - Ontario Region, on behalf of the competent minister (the Minister of the Environment), cooperated in the development of the recovery strategy

Recovery Team Members and Associated Specialists 

Donald Kirk (Chair)

Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources

John D. Ambrose

Botanical Consultant

Dave Holmes

Long Point Region Conservation Authority

Peter Kevan

University of Guelph

Richard Reader

University of Guelph

Allen Woodliffe

Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources

 

Associated Specialists

Ken Elliott

Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources

Mary Gartshore

Ecological Consultant

Dennis Joyce

Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources

 

Steve Scheers

Municipality of Norfolk County


Acknowledgements  

Members of the Recovery Team wish to acknowledge the many landowners who provided information and access to their properties during the recent mapping projects which provided current baseline population information for this recovery strategy.  Jeff Robinson of the Canadian Wildlife Service provided detailed information on a recent inventory of the Long Point population.  The Natural Heritage Information Centre in Peterborough provided copies of their current Element Occurrence records.  Melinda Thompson and Tanya Suggitt provided much technical assistance in the form of database management and GIS support.  Rebecca Hay provided valuable assistance in ensuring all internal and peer review comments were incorporated into the document.

Preface

The Cucumber Tree is under the management jurisdiction of the Ontario provincial government and Environment Canada (Canadian Wildlife Service – Ontario Region). 

The Species at Risk Act (SARA, Section 37) requires the competent Minister to prepare a recovery strategy for all listed extirpated, endangered or threatened species.  SARA Section 44(1) allows the Minister to adopt an existing plan for the species if it meets the requirements under SARA for content (Section 41).

The Cucumber Tree was listed as Endangered under SARA in June 2003.  The Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources led the development of this recovery strategy for the species in cooperation with the Canadian Wildlife Service – Ontario Region, Environment Canada.  An addenda to this document presents how responsible jurisdictions receive of this strategy. 

Executive Summary  

This Recovery Strategy outlines the objectives and strategies necessary to bring about the protection and recovery of Canadian populations of Cucumber Tree (Magnolia acuminata L.).   The Recovery Strategy is based on a review of literature, historical collections and current population data and consultation with knowledgeable individuals.  It covers the time period 2006-2011.

Cucumber Tree has a very limited distribution in Canada, occurring in only two areas of southern Ontario.  The total number of naturally occurring trees and saplings is currently 283, following recent intensive census and mapping exercises.  In addition, over 100 seedlings have been counted most of which occur in one single population.  The entire complement of trees represents 12 extant populations (i.e. aggregations of all sub-populations within 1 km) or a total of 22 separate and extant sub-populations.  Limited recruitment within their forest habitats has been observed.  The threat of landscape fragmentation and small population sizes needs to be better understood to refine recovery actions. 

The goal of this Recovery Strategy is to conserve and if necessary restore Cucumber Tree to self-sustaining populations in both regions of its native Canadian range in extreme southwestern Ontario. 

Some of the recovery approaches identified in this Recovery Strategy, beyond protecting what is there, are dependent on current and future research, to better understand the species pollination biology, seed dispersal, seedling establishment and population genetics.  The report outlines and prioritizes research programs necessary to support the implementation of the recovery actions.


Table of Contents

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Magnolia acuminé (Magnolia acuminata L.)

Programme de rétablissement du magnolia acuminé

(Magnolia acuminata L.) au Canada

[Proposition]

magnolia acuminé

Photo : Donald Kirk

Mai 2006

 

 Programme de rétablissement du magnolia acuminé

(Magnolia acuminata L.) au Canada

 

 

Mai 2006

  

 

En vertu de l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril (1996), les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ont accepté de travailler ensemble pour établir des mesures législatives, des programmes et des politiques pour assurer la protection des espèces en péril au Canada.

Dans l’esprit de collaboration de l’Accord, le gouvernement de l'Ontario a donné au gouvernement du Canada la permission d'adopter le Programme de rétablissement du magnolia acuminé (Magnolia acuminata L.) au Canada en vertu de l'article 44 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). Les détails sont disponibles dans l'addenda du présent document.

Suivant la période d'appel de commentaires de 60 jours débutant en février 2007, et jusqu'à ce que le ministre de l'Environnement en décide autrement ou que le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario modifie officiellement le présent document, le présent programme de rétablissement constituera le programme de rétablissement du ministre de l'Environnement du Canada pour cette espèce.

 

Citation recommandée

Ambrose, J., et D. Kirk, 2006. Programme de rétablissement du magnolia acuminé (Magnolia acuminata L.) au Canada. Rapport préparé pour le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario par l’Équipe de rétablissement du magnolia acuminé, viii + 27 p. + addenda.

Exemplaires supplémentaires 

Il est possible de télécharger des exemplaires de la présente publication à partir du Registre public de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (www.registrelep.gc.ca).

Photo de la couverture : Donald Kirk

Also available in English under the title:

“Recovery Strategy for Cucumber Tree (Magnolia acuminata L.) in Canada [Proposed]”

Le contenu (à l’exception des illustrations) peut être utilisé sans permission, mais en prenant soin d’indiquer la source.

 

Compétences responsables

Le magnolia acuminé est présent dans la province de l’Ontario, et le programme de rétablissement de l’espèce a été élaboré par le gouvernement de cette province. Le Service canadien de la faune, Région de l’Ontario, au nom du ministre compétent (le ministre de l’Environnement), a collaboré à l’élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement.

Membres de l’équipe de rétablissement et spécialistes associés

Donald Kirk (Président)

Ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario

John D. Ambrose

Consultant en botanique

Dave Holmes

Office de protection de la nature de la région de Long Point

Peter Kevan

University of Guelph

Richard Reader

University of Guelph

Allen Woodliffe

Ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario

Spécialistes associés 

Ken Elliott

Ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario

Mary Gartshore

Consultante en écologie

Dennis Joyce

Ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario 

Steve Scheers

Municipalité du comté de Norfolk

 

Remerciements

Les membres de l’équipe de rétablissement souhaitent remercier les nombreux propriétaires fonciers qui ont fourni des renseignements et autorisé l’accès à leurs propriétés durant les récents projets de cartographie ayant permis de recueillir de l’information de base sur la population aux fins du présent programme de rétablissement. Jeff Robinson, du Service canadien de la faune, a fourni de l’information détaillée sur un récent relevé de la population de Long Point. Le Centre d’information sur le patrimoine naturel de Peterborough a fourni des copies de ses dossiers sur les occurrences actuelles d’éléments. Melinda Thompson et Tanya Suggitt ont offert une précieuse assistance technique pour la gestion des bases de données et les systèmes d’information géographique. Rebecca Hay a apporté une aide inestimable à la préparation du présent document en veillant à l’incorporation de tous les commentaires de l’équipe et des révisions par les pairs.

Préface

La gestion du magnolia acuminé relève de la compétence du gouvernement provincial de l’Ontario et d’Environnement Canada (Service canadien de la faune, Région de l’Ontario).

Selon les dispositions de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP, article 37), le ministre compétent est tenu d’élaborer un programme de rétablissement pour toute espèce sauvage inscrite comme disparue du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacée. Le paragraphe 44(1) de la LEP autorise le ministre à adopter tout programme existant visant l’espèce dans la mesure où celui-ci répond aux exigences de la LEP en matière de contenu (article 41).

Le magnolia acuminé a été désigné « espèce en voie de disparition » en vertu de la LEP en juin 2003. Le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario a dirigé l’élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement pour cette espèce en collaboration avec le Service canadien de la faune, Région de l’Ontario, Environnement Canada. Les modalités de réception de ce programme par les compétences responsables sont présentées dans un addenda.

Sommaire

Le présent programme de rétablissement décrit les objectifs et les stratégies nécessaires à la protection et au rétablissement des populations canadiennes du magnolia acuminé (Magnolia acuminata L.). Il est fondé sur une analyse documentaire, sur des données démographiques historiques et actuelles ainsi que sur des consultations auprès de spécialistes. La période couverte par le programme s’étend de 2006 à 2011.

Au Canada, la répartition du magnolia acuminé est très restreinte, l’espèce n’étant présente que dans deux régions du sud de l’Ontario. De récents travaux intensifs d’inventaire et de cartographie ont permis d’établir à 283 le nombre total d’arbres matures et de gaulis à l’état sauvage. En outre, plus de 100 semis ont été dénombrés, la majorité d’entre eux se trouvant dans une seule population. L’ensemble des arbres forme 12 populations (une population est définie comme l’agrégation de toutes les sous-populations distantes de moins de 1 km l’une de l’autre), pour un total de 22 sous-populations distinctes. Un recrutement modéré a été observé à l’intérieur de l’habitat forestier de l’espèce. La menace posée par la fragmentation du paysage et la petite taille des populations demande à être mieux comprise pour peaufiner les mesures de rétablissement.

Le but du présent programme de rétablissement est d’assurer la conservation du magnolia acuminé et, au besoin, d’aménager l’espèce pour qu’elle forme des populations autosuffisantes dans les deux régions de son aire de répartition canadienne naturelle dans l’extrême sud-ouest de l’Ontario.

Certaines des approches de rétablissement décrites dans le présent programme vont au-delà de la protection des arbres existants et reposent sur les recherches actuelles et à venir, qui permettront de mieux comprendre la biologie de la pollinisation, la dispersion des graines, l’établissement des semis et la génétique des populations de l’espèce. Le présent document énumère et priorise les programmes de recherche qui seront nécessaires pour appuyer la mise en œuvre des mesures de rétablissement.

Table des Matières