Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Gold-edged Gem (Schinia avemensis) in Canada – 2014

Species at Risk Act
Recovery Strategy Series

Gold-edged Gem (Schinia avemensis)

Photo of Gold-edged Gem (Schinia avemensis).

Table of Contents

Document Information

Top of Page


Document Information

Recovery Strategy for the Gold-edged Gem (Schinia avemensis) in Canada – 2014.

Cover page of the publication: Recovery Strategy for the Gold-edged Gem (Schinia avemensis) in Canada – 2014

Recommended citation:

Environment Canada. 2014. Recovery Strategy for the Gold-edged Gem (Schinia avemensis) in Canada. Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series. Environment Canada, Ottawa. iv + 31 pp.

For copies of the recovery strategy, or for additional information on species at risk, including COSEWIC Status Reports, residence descriptions, action plans, and other related recovery documents, please visit the Species at Risk (SAR) Public Registry.

Cover illustration: Gold-edged Gem on Skeletonweed (Helen Trefry – Environment Canada, Canadian Wildlife Services)

Également disponible en français sous le titre
« Programme de rétablissement de l’héliotin d’Aweme (Schinia avemensis) au Canada »

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of the Environment, 2014. All rights reserved.
ISBN: 978-1-100-23325-3
Catalogue no.: En3-4/179-2014E-PDF

Content (excluding the illustrations) may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.

Top of Page


Preface

The federal, provincial, and territorial government signatories under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk (1996) agreed to establish complementary legislation and programs that provide for effective protection of species at risk throughout Canada. Under the Species at Risk Act (S.C. 2002, c.29) (SARA), the federal competent ministers are responsible for the preparation of recovery strategies for listed Extirpated, Endangered, and Threatened species and are required to report on progress within five years.

The Minister of Environment is the competent minister for the recovery of the Gold-edged Gem and has prepared this strategy, as per section 37 of SARA. It has been prepared in cooperation with the Provinces of Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba, the Department of National Defence, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada and Carry the Kettle Nakoda First Nation.

Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the directions set out in this strategy and will not be achieved by Environment Canada, or any other jurisdiction alone. All Canadians are invited to join in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the Gold-edged Gem and Canadian society as a whole.

This recovery strategy will be followed by one or more action plans that will provide information on recovery measures to be taken by Environment Canada and other jurisdictions and/or organizations involved in the conservation of the species. Implementation of this strategy is subject to appropriations, priorities, and budgetary constraints of the participating jurisdictions and organizations.

Top of Page

Acknowledgments

This document was written by Medea Curteanu, Environment Canada. Gary Anweiler provided extensive Gold-edged Gem information and data, and graciously reviewed various drafts of this document. The cover photo of Schinia avemensis was generously provided by Helen Trefry, Environment Canada. Marie-Christine Bélair, Robin Bloom, Dave Duncan, Wendy Dunford, Marie-Josée Ribeyron, Mark Wayland and Sharilyn Westworth (Environment Canada); Jeanette Pepper (Saskatchewan Ministry of the Environment); Chris Nykoluk, Brant Kirychuk, Natasha Wilkie, Heather Wiebe, Bret Ward, Melanie Dubois and Rick Ashton (Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada); Dean Nernberg (Department of National Defence); and Richard Quinlan (Alberta Sustainable Resource Development) reviewed the document and provided valuable comments. Gillian Turney and Gary Weiss, Environment Canada, helped prepare early versions of the distribution and critical habitat maps.

Top of Page

Executive Summary

  • The Gold-edged Gem is a small inconspicuous day-flying flower moth endemic to North America. Globally, the species is considered rare and has a restricted distribution; only twelve element occurrences[1] (hereafter called “occurrences”) are known to exist in Canada and the United States. The nine occurrences known to exist within Canada are small and fragmented with a limited range; the species was listed as Endangered under the Species at Risk Act in 2007.
  • The Gold-edged Gem has specialized habitat requirements. The moth inhabits remnant patches of active sand dunes or blowouts where colonies of Prairie Sunflowers, its only known larval host plant, exist. The flight and mating period of the Gold-edged Gem is short and coincides with the blooming of Prairie Sunflowers. To date, efforts to survey Gold-edged Gem suitable habitat have been limited in Canada. Thus, little distribution and biological data are available.
  • The primary threat to Gold-edged Gem recovery is habitat loss due to the progressive stabilization of active sand dunes across its range. Other threats to the species include elimination of host and nectar plants by invasive species, trampling of host and nectar plants, oil and gas development, ungulate herbivory, pest control, military activities and stochastic events.
  • Recovery of the Gold-edged Gem is determined biologically and technically feasible. The population and distribution objectives for the Gold-edged Gem are to maintain or increase the distribution of all known occurrences in the Canadian range of the species, and any additional occurrence(s) discovered in Canada in the future. Recovery planning will be carried out through four broad strategies: inventory and monitoring, habitat management and stewardship, outreach and communication, and research.
  • Critical habitat identified in this recovery strategy encompasses all nine occurrences known to exist in Canada and is considered sufficient to achieve the population and distributions objectives, at this time. Critical habitat for the Gold-edged Gem is identified within or adjacent to 23 quarter sections in Alberta, 18 quarter-sections in Saskatchewan, and 7 quarter-sections in Manitoba. Additional critical habitat may be identified across the range of the species as more information becomes available. Within these quarter-sections, critical habitat is identified as the active open sand dunes and/or blowouts, encompassing the area from the crest of the dune to the edge where native vegetation grows and the dune is stabilized.
  • One or more action plans for the Gold-edged Gem will be completed by 2018.

Top of Page

Recovery Feasibility Summary

Under the Species at Risk Act (Section 40), the competent minister is required to determine whether the recovery of the listed species is technically and biologically feasible. Based on the following criteria outlined by the Government of Canada (2009) for recovering species at risk, recovery of the Gold-edged Gem is considered biologically and technically feasible:

1. Individuals of the wildlife species that are capable of reproduction are available now or in the foreseeable future to sustain the population or improve its abundance.

Yes.  Although the species abundance may fluctuate with populations of its only known larval host plant, adult Gold-edged Gems have been observed within 9 sand hills in Canada and have been observed mating in some occurrences. Under similar conditions, individuals are likely to continue to reproduce and persist at these occurrences. Further surveys of suitable habitat may result in the discovery of additional occurrences. Securing and enhancing additional nearby habitat may increase population abundance and growth rate.

2. Sufficient suitable habitat is available to support the species or could be made available through habitat management or restoration.

Yes.  Although it appears to be small, fragmented, and progressively declining, suitable Gold-edged Gem habitat is presently available where the species has been observed as well as elsewhere in its Canadian range. Additional surveys may uncover more suitable habitat in sand hills that have not been surveyed yet. Several habitat management practices have the potential to maintain and enhance Gold-edged Gem habitat.

3. The primary threats to the species or its habitat (including threats outside Canada) can be avoided or mitigated.

Yes.  The main threat to Gold-edged Gem recovery is habitat loss as a result of active sand dune stabilization. Other threats to the species include elimination of host and nectar plants by invasive species, trampling of host and nectar plants, oil and gas development, ungulate herbivory, pest control, military activities and stochastic events. Threats can be reduced or eliminated through stewardship, beneficial management practices, protection of critical habitat and raising awareness of the species requirements and threats among land users.

4. Recovery techniques exist to achieve the population and distribution objectives or can be expected to be developed within a reasonable timeframe.

Yes.  Raising awareness of the species requirements and threats among the public and beneficial management practices such as prescribed burning, control of invasive species and vegetation encroachment, and suitable grazing should contribute to reduce or eliminate the most prevalent threats of sand dune stabilization, trampling of host and nectar plants, elimination of host and nectar plants by invasive species, and oil and gas development impacts in targeted occurrences. These techniques should aid in achieving the population and distributions objectives.

Top of Page

1. COSEWIC Species Assessement Information

Date of Assessment: April 2006

Common Name (population): Gold-edged Gem

Scientific Name: Schinia avemensis

COSEWIC Status: Endangered

Reason for designation: This moth is a habitat specialist that needs active dunes or blow-outs with populations of its sole larval host plant. It is known from only two small populations in Canada and two in United States. Large-scale decline in active dune habitat over the past 100 years has likely resulted in a corresponding reduction in the moth. Only very small, scattered, isolated patches of suitable habitat, totaling approximately 6 km², remain. They are threatened by habitat loss in the form of stabilization of active dunes by both native and introduced vegetation and by overgrazing of its larval host plant, which severely impacts small isolated populations of the moth. The closest population of the moth in the United States is about 1,200 km to the south in Colorado, so immigration of individuals into the Canadian population is not possible.

Canadian Occurrence: AB, SK, MB

COSEWIC Status History: Designated Endangered in April 2006.

COSEWIC = Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada

Top of Page

2. Species Status Information

The Gold-edged Gem (Schinia avemensis) is globally ranked as imperilled (G2) and nationally ranked as critically imperilled (N1) in Canada (NatureServe 2011). The species occurs in Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba where it is also ranked as critically imperilled (S1). The percentage of the Gold-edged Gem’sglobal distribution and abundance found in Canada is currently unknown. The Gold-edged Gem has been listed as Endangered under Schedule 1 of the federal Species at Risk Act since 2007 and was listed by the province of Manitoba under its Endangered Species Act as Endangered in 2012. In the United States, the moth is unranked nationally (NNR) and in Colorado (SNR), the only state where the species is known to occur (NatureServe 2011).

Top of Page


1 An area of land and/or water in which a species or natural community is, or was, present and has practical conservation value (NatureServe, 2011).

Introduction

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l’héliotin d’Aweme (Schinia avemensis) au Canada – 2014

Loi sur les espèces en péril
Série de Programmes de rétablissement

Héliotin d'Aweme (Schinia avemensis)

Photo de l'héliotin d'Aweme (Schinia avemensis).

Table des matières

Information sur le document

Haut de la page


Information sur le document

Programme de rétablissement de l’héliotin d’Aweme (Schinia avemensis) au Canada – 2014.

ouverture de la publication : Programme de rétablissement de l'héliotin d'Aweme (Schinia avemensis) au Canada – 2014.

Référence recommandée :

Environnement Canada. 2014. Programme de rétablissement de l'héliotin d'Aweme (Schinia avemensis) au Canada, Série de Programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, Environnement Canada, Ottawa, v + 34 p.

Pour télécharger le présent programme de rétablissement ou pour obtenir un complément d'information sur les espèces en péril, incluant les rapports de situation du COSEPAC, les descriptions de la résidence, les plans d'action et d'autres documents connexes sur le rétablissement, veuillez consulter le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Illustration de la couverture : Héliotin d'Aweme sur une herbe squelette (Helen Trefry – Environnement Canada, Service canadien de la faune)

Also available in English under the title
« Recovery Strategy for the Gold-edged Gem (Schinia avemensis) in Canada »

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de l'Environnement, 2014. Tous droits réservés.
ISBN : 978-0-660-21872-4
No de catalogue : En3-4/179-2014F-PDF

Le contenu du présent document (à l'exception des illustrations) peut être utilisé sans permission, mais en prenant soin d'indiquer la source.

Haut de la page


Préface

En vertu de l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril (1996), les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux signataires ont convenu d'établir une législation et des programmes complémentaires qui assureront la protection efficace des espèces en péril partout au Canada. En vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (L.C. 2002, ch. 29) (LEP), les ministres fédéraux compétents sont responsables de l'élaboration des programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces inscrites comme étant disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées et sont tenus de rendre compte des progrès réalisés d'ici cinq ans.

Le ministre de l'Environnement est le ministre compétent pour le rétablissement de l'héliotin d'Aweme et a élaboré le présent programme, conformément à l'article 37 de la LEP. Ce programme a été préparé en collaboration avec les gouvernements de l'Alberta, de la Saskatchewan et du Manitoba, le ministère de la Défense nationale, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada et la Première nation Nakoda Carry the Kettle.

La réussite du rétablissement de l'espèce dépendra de l'engagement et de la collaboration d'un grand nombre de parties concernées qui participeront à la mise en œuvre des recommandations formulées dans le présent programme. Cette réussite ne pourra reposer seulement sur Environnement Canada ou sur toute autre compétence. Tous les Canadiens et toutes les Canadiennes sont invités à appuyer le programme et à contribuer à sa mise en œuvre pour le bien de l'héliotin d'Aweme et de l'ensemble de la société canadienne.

Le présent programme de rétablissement sera suivi d'un ou de plusieurs plans d'action qui présenteront de l'information sur les mesures de rétablissement devant être prises par Environnement Canada et d'autres compétences et/ou organisations participant à la conservation de l'espèce. La mise en œuvre du présent programme est assujettie aux crédits, aux priorités et aux contraintes budgétaires des autorités compétentes et organisations participantes.

Haut de la page

Remerciements

Le présent document a été rédigé par Medea Curteanu (Environnement Canada). Gary Anweiler a fourni des renseignements et des données détaillés sur l'héliotin d'Aweme et a aimablement accepté de réviser les diverses ébauches de ce document. La photo de couverture illustrant un Schinia avemensis a été généreusement fournie par Helen Trefry (Environnement Canada). Marie-Christine Bélair, Robin Bloom, Dave Duncan, Wendy Dunford, Marie-Josée Ribeyron, Mark Wayland et Sharilyn Westworth (Environnement Canada), Jeanette Pepper (ministère de l'Environnement de la Saskatchewan), Chris Nykoluk, Brant Kirychuk, Natasha Wilkie, Heather Wiebe, Bret Ward, Melanie Dubois et Rick Ashton (Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada), Dean Nernberg (ministère de la Défense nationale), et Richard Quinlan (ministère du Développement durable des ressources de l'Alberta) ont examiné le document et ont formulé des commentaires précieux. Gillian Turney et Gary Weiss (Environnement Canada) ont aidé à préparer les premières versions des cartes de la répartition et de l'habitat essentiel.

Haut de la page

Sommaire

  • L'héliotin d'Aweme est un petit papillon nocturne actif le jour et discret qui est endémique à l'Amérique du Nord. De manière générale, l'espèce est considérée comme étant rare et sa répartition est restreinte; seulement douze occurrences d'éléments[1](ci-après appelées « occurrences ») sont connues au Canada et aux États-Unis. Les neuf occurrences présentes au Canada sont petites et fragmentées, et la zone d’occurrence est limitée; l'espèce a été inscrite comme espèce en voie de disparition en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril en 2007.
  • L'héliotin d'Aweme a des besoins spécialisés en matière d'habitat. Le papillon nocturne occupe des parcelles restantes de dunes actives ou de creux de déflation, là où on trouve des colonies d'hélianthes des prairies, l’unique plante hôte connue des chenilles. La période de vol et d'accouplement de l'héliotin d'Aweme est courte et coïncide avec la floraison de l’hélianthe des prairies. À ce jour, les activités visant à étudier l'habitat convenable de l'héliotin d'Aweme ont été limitées au Canada. Par conséquent, il existe peu de données sur la biologie et sur la répartition de l’espèce.
  • La perte d'habitat due à la stabilisation progressive des dunes actives dans toute l’aire de répartition est la principale menace au rétablissement de l'héliotin d'Aweme. L'élimination des plantes hôtes et nectarifères par les espèces envahissantes, le piétinement des plantes hôtes et nectarifères, l'exploitation pétrolière et gazière, l’herbivorie par les ruminants, la lutte contre les organismes nuisibles, les activités militaires et les phénomènes stochastiques sont d’autres menaces pesant sur l’espèce.
  • Le rétablissement de l'héliotin d'Aweme est jugé réalisable sur le plan biologique et technique. Les objectifs en matière de population et de répartition pour l'héliotin d'Aweme sont de maintenir ou d'accroître la répartition de toutes les occurrences connues dans l'aire de répartition canadienne de l'espèce, ainsi que toute autre occurrence qui serait découverte au Canada. La planification du rétablissement sera exécutée par le biais de quatre stratégies générales : inventaire et suivi, gestion de l'habitat et intendance, sensibilisation et communication, recherche.
  • L'habitat essentiel désigné dans le présent programme de rétablissement englobe les neuf occurrences connues au Canada; il est par ailleurs jugé suffisant, pour le moment, pour atteindre les objectifs en matière de population et de répartition. L'habitat essentiel désigné pour l'héliotin d'Aweme est situé au sein ou au voisinage immédiat de 23 quarts de section en Alberta, 18 quarts de section en Saskatchewan et 7 quarts de section au Manitoba. De l’habitat essentiel additionnel pourra être désigné dans l'aire de répartition de l'espèce à mesure que de plus amples renseignements deviennent disponibles. Au sein de ces quarts de section, l'habitat essentiel est désigné comme étant les dunes actives dégagées et/ou les creux de déflation, englobant la zone allant de la crête de la dune à la limite de la végétation indigène et de la dune stabilisée.
  • Au moins un plan d'action concernant l'héliotin d'Aweme sera achevé d'ici 2018.

Haut de la page

Résumé du caractère réalisable du rétablissement

En vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (article 40), le ministre compétent est tenu de vérifier si le rétablissement de l’espèce sauvage inscrite est réalisable au point de vue technique et biologique. D'après les critères suivants présentés par le gouvernement du Canada (2009) pour le rétablissement des espèces en péril, le rétablissement de l'héliotin d'Aweme est jugé réalisable au point de vue biologique et technique.

1. Des individus de l'espèce sauvage capables de se reproduire sont disponibles maintenant ou le seront dans un avenir prévisible pour maintenir la population ou augmenter son abondance.

Oui. Bien que l'abondance de l'espèce puisse fluctuer en fonction des populations de la seule plante hôte connue pour la chenille, l'héliotin d'Aweme adulte a pu être observé dans neuf dunes au Canada et des accouplements ont été observés dans certaines occurrences. Dans des conditions semblables, les individus sont susceptibles de subsister et de continuer à se reproduire dans ces occurrences. D'autres relevés de l’habitat convenable pourraient révéler de nouvelles occurrences. Le fait de préserver et de mettre en valeur l'habitat supplémentaire situé à proximité peut accroître l'abondance et le taux de croissance de la population.

2. De l'habitat convenable suffisant est disponible pour soutenir l'espèce, ou pourrait être rendu disponible par des activités de gestion ou de remise en état de l'habitat.

Oui. Bien qu'il semble être petit et fragmenté, et qu'il semble diminuer progressivement, l'habitat convenable de l'héliotin d'Aweme est actuellement disponible là où l'espèce a été observée et à d'autres endroits dans son aire de répartition canadienne. D'autres relevés dans les dunes qui n'en ont jamais fait l'objet pourraient révéler des superficies supplémentaires d’habitat convenable. Plusieurs pratiques de gestion de l'habitat ont le potentiel de maintenir et de mettre en valeur l'habitat de l'héliotin d'Aweme.

3. Les principales menaces pesant sur l'espèce ou son habitat (y compris les menaces à l'extérieur du Canada) peuvent être évitées ou atténuées.

Oui. La perte d'habitat due à la stabilisation des dunes actives est la principale menace qui pèse sur l'héliotin d'Aweme. L’élimination des plantes hôtes et nectarifères par les espèces envahissantes, le piétinement des plantes hôtes et nectarifères, l'exploitation pétrolière et gazière, l’herbivorie par les ruminants, la lutte antiparasitaire, les activités militaires et les phénomènes stochastiques sont d’autres menaces qui pèsent sur l’espèce. Les menaces peuvent être atténuées ou éliminées par des mesures d'intendance, des pratiques de gestion bénéfiques, la protection de l'habitat essentiel et une sensibilisation accrue des utilisateurs des terres aux besoins de l'espèce et aux menaces qui pèsent sur elle.

4. Des techniques de rétablissement existent pour atteindre les objectifs en matière de population et de répartition ou leur élaboration peut être prévue dans un délai raisonnable.

Oui. Une sensibilisation accrue du public aux besoins de l'espèce et aux menaces qui pèsent sur elle, aux pratiques de gestion bénéfiques, telles que le brûlage dirigé, le contrôle des espèces envahissantes et de l'empiétement de la végétation ainsi que les régimes de pâturage adéquats, devraient contribuer à réduire ou à éliminer les menaces les plus importantes liées à la stabilisation des dunes, au piétinement des plantes hôtes et nectarifères, à la supplantation des plantes hôtes et nectarifères par les espèces envahissantes et aux répercussions de l'exploitation pétrolière et gazière dans les occurrences ciblées. Ces techniques devraient aider à atteindre les objectifs en matière de population et de répartition.

Haut de la page

1. Évaluation de l'espèce par le COSEPAC

Date de l'évaluation : avril 2006

Nom commun (population) : héliotin d'Aweme

Nom scientifique : Schinia avemensis

Statut selon le COSEPAC : Espèce en voie de disparition

Justification de la désignation : Ce papillon nocturne est un spécialiste de l'habitat qui requiert des dunes actives ou des creux de déflation avec des populations de sa seule plante hôte des chenilles. Il a été observé dans seulement deux petites populations au Canada et deux populations aux États-Unis. Un déclin à grande échelle de l'habitat de dunes actives au cours des 100 dernières années a probablement résulté en une diminution correspondante du nombre de papillons. Il ne reste que de très petites parcelles éparses et isolées d'habitat convenable, totalisant environ 6 km². Ces papillons sont menacés par la perte d'habitat découlant de la stabilisation des dunes actives par des végétaux indigènes et introduits ainsi que par le surpâturage de la plante hôte des chenilles, qui entraîne des impacts importants pour les petites populations isolées du papillon. La population la plus proche du papillon aux États-Unis est située à environ 1 200 km au sud, au Colorado; l'immigration d'individus vers la population du Canada n'est donc pas possible.

Présence au Canada : Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba

Historique du statut selon le COSEPAC : Espèce désignée « en voie de disparition » en avril 2006.

COSEPAC = Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada

Haut de la page

2. Information sur la situation de l'espèce

L'héliotin d'Aweme (Schinia avemensis) est classé à l'échelle mondiale comme une espèce en péril (G2) et comme une espèce gravement en péril à l'échelle nationale (N1) au Canada (NatureServe, 2011). L'espèce est présente en Alberta, en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba où elle est également classée comme gravement en péril (S1). À l'heure actuelle, on ne sait pas quel pourcentage de la répartition et de l'abondance mondiales de l’espèce se trouve Canada. L'héliotin d'Aweme est inscrit comme espèce en voie de disparition en vertu de l'annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril du Canada depuis 2007; en 2012, il a été inscrit comme espèce en voie de disparition au Manitoba en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en voie de disparition provinciale. Aux États-Unis, le papillon nocturne est non classé à l'échelle nationale (NNR) et au Colorado (SNR), le seul état où l'espèce est présente (NatureServe, 2011).

Haut de la page


1 Étendue de terre et/ou d'eau dans laquelle une espèce ou une communauté naturelle est, ou a été, présente et qui a une valeur de conservation concrète (NatureServe, 2011).

Introduction