Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Greater Sage-Grouse (Centrocercus urophasianus urophasianus) in Canada

Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series Recovery Strategy for the Greater Sage-Grouse (Centrocercus urophasianus urophasianus) in Canada Greater Sage-Grouse (January 2008).

Species at Risk Act
Recovery Strategy Series

Greater Sage-Grouse

January 2008

 

About the Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series

What is the Species at Risk Act (SARA)?

SARA is the Act developed by the federal government as a key contribution to the common national effort to protect and conserve species at risk in Canada. SARA came into force in 2003 and one of its purposes is “to provide for the recovery of wildlife species that are extirpated, endangered or threatened as a result of human activity.”

What is recovery?

In the context of species at risk conservation, recovery is the process by which the decline of an endangered, threatened or extirpated species is arrested or reversed, and threats are removed or reduced to improve the likelihood of the species' persistence in the wild. A species will be considered recovered when its long-term persistence in the wild has been secured.

What is a recovery strategy?

A recovery strategy is a planning document that identifies what needs to be done to arrest or reverse the decline of a species. It sets goals and objectives and identifies the main areas of activities to be undertaken. Detailed planning is done at the action plan stage.

Recovery strategy development is a commitment of all provinces and territories and of three federal agencies -- Environment Canada, Parks Canada Agency and Fisheries and Oceans Canada -- under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk. Sections 37–46 of SARA spell out both the required content and the process for developing recovery strategies published in this series.

Depending on the status of the species and when it was assessed, a recovery strategy has to be developed within one to two years after the species is added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk. Three to four years is allowed for those species that were automatically listed when SARA came into force.

What's next?

In most cases, one or more action plans will be developed to define and guide implementation of the recovery strategy. Nevertheless, directions set in the recovery strategy are sufficient to begin involving communities, land users, and conservationists in recovery implementation. Cost-effective measures to prevent the reduction or loss of the species should not be postponed for lack of full scientific certainty.

The series

This series presents the recovery strategies prepared or adopted by the federal government under SARA. New documents will be added regularly as species get listed and as strategies are updated.

To learn more

To learn more about the Species at Risk Act and recovery initiatives, please consult the SARA Public Registry.

 

Recovery strategy for the greater sage-grouse (Centrocercus urophasianus urophasianus) in Canada

January 2008

Recommended citation:

Lungle, K. and S. Pruss. 2008. Recovery Strategy for the Greater Sage-Grouse (Centrocercus urophasianus urophasianus) in Canada. In Species at Risk Act recovery strategy series. Parks Canada Agency. Ottawa. vii + 43 pp.

Additional copies:

You can download additional copies from the SARA Public Registry.

Cover illustration photo credit:

Source: Public Domain; photo: Fish & Wildlife Service

Également disponible en français sous le titre « Programme de rétablissement du Tétras des armoises (Centrocercus urophasianus urophasianus) au Canada ».

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Environment, 2008. All rights reserved.

ISBN 978-0662-47559-0
Cat. No. En3-4/53-2008E-PDF

Content may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.

Declaration

Under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk (1996), the federal, provincial, and territorial governments agreed to work together on legislation, programs, and policies to protect wildlife species at risk throughout Canada. The Species at Risk Act (S.C. 2002, c.29) (SARA) requires that federal competent ministers prepare recovery strategies for listed Extirpated, Endangered and Threatened species.

The Minister of the Environment presents this document as the recovery strategy for the Greater Sage-Grouse, urophasianus subspecies as required under SARA. It has been prepared in cooperation with the jurisdictions responsible for the species, as described in the Preface. The Minister invites other jurisdictions and organizations that may be involved in recovering Greater Sage-Grouse to use this recovery strategy as advice to guide their actions.

The goals, objectives and recovery approaches identified in the strategy are based on the best existing knowledge and are subject to modifications resulting from new findings and revised objectives.

This recovery strategy will be the basis for one or more action plans that will provide further details regarding measures to be taken to support protection and recovery of the Greater Sage-Grouse, urophasianus subspecies. Success in the recovery of this Greater Sage-Grouse depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the actions identified in this strategy. In the spirit of the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk, all Canadians are invited to join in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the species and of Canadian society as a whole. The Minister of the Environment will report on progress within five years.

Authors

Ken Lungle, Perdix Professionals, Edmonton, Alberta
Shelley Pruss, Parks Canada Agency

Acknowledgments

A document of this nature requires the dedication and commitment of many organizations and individuals. The authors are especially indebted to Pat Fargey and Joanne Tuckwell of Parks Canada for guidance, information and many interesting discussions relevant to recovery planning. Special thanks are also extended to Dale Eslinger and Joel Nicholson of Alberta Sustainable Resource Development and Sue McAdam of Saskatchewan Environment for valuable information and insight into Greater Sage-Grouse conservation initiatives in the two provinces. Above all, the energy and the wisdom of the people from government, academia, and private agencies that participated at a recovery strategy development workshop (see Appendix A) and reviewed drafts of the document are greatly appreciated.

Strategic environmental assessment statement

In accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals, a strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is conducted on all Species at Risk Act (SARA) recovery strategies. The purpose of a SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally sound decision making. Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits. The results of the SEA (Forrestall 2006) are summarized below.

This Greater Sage-Grouse recovery strategy will clearly benefit the environment by promoting the recovery of the Greater Sage-Grouse (Centrocercus urophasianus urophasianus). Species that will benefit from protection of the shrinking sagebrush ecosystems include the endangered Sage Thrasher (Oreoscoptes montanus) and Burrowing Owl (Speotyto cunicularia), the threatened Loggerhead Shrike (Lanius ludovicianus excubitorides) and Mormon metalmark butterfly (Apodemia mormo), and the Long-billed Curlew (Numenius americanus), listed as special concern. This recovery strategy will also have a positive effect on native culture by promoting the recovery of the Greater Sage-Grouse, a living part of native culture. However, three situations were identified where there is the potential for negative effects.

First, it was determined that a strategy researching the use of fire as a tool to stimulate and revitalize sagebrush communities could lead to activities involving the controlled burning of prairie habitat. This could potentially have a negative impact on other species directly or through disturbance or destruction of their habitat and/or residences. Being aware of other species at risk in the specific area and following best fire management practices would reduce or eliminate any potential negative effects on other species. Any prescribed burning within a national park would require a more detailed environmental assessment under CEAA.

Second, investigations into the impacts of human created water control structures on natural hydrology and the resulting effects on sagebrush could lead to actions involving the alteration of hydrology. Altering the hydrology of an area could have potential negative effects on other plant and animal species directly or through disturbance or destruction of their habitat and/or residences. Any alterations to hydrology should take into account effects on non-target species and may require a more detailed environmental assessment under CEAA.

Third, strategies relating to the protection or increase of silver sagebrush habitat would have a positive effect on all species that share the same habitat as the Greater Sage-Grouse, as discussed above. However, increasing available sagebrush habitat for the Greater Sage-Grouse could potentially have a negative impact on the Mountain Plover (Charadrius montanus), which requires short vegetation and bare ground. However, the Mountain Plover is a species listed under the SARA and therefore requires a recovery strategy that will address monitoring, research and threats, which may include impacts as a result of increasing sagebrush habitat.

The SEA concluded that this recovery strategy will have many positive effects and not cause any important negative effects, as long as the mitigation measures recommended are implemented. This includes any further assessments of actions identified as a result of research conducted in this recovery strategy, such as burning or altering hydrology within a national park.

Residence

SARA defines residence as: “a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or hibernating” [SARA S2(1)].

Residence descriptions, or the rationale for why the residence concept does not apply to a given species, are posted on the SARA public registry.

Sage-Grouse residences are protected from damage or destruction under the SARA. The species experts involved in the recovery of Sage-Grouse consider nests to be residences.

Preface

This Recovery Strategy addresses the recovery of the Greater Sage-Grouse, urophasianus subspecies. In Canada, this species can be found in southeastern Alberta and southwestern Saskatchewan.

This recovery strategy for the Sage-Grouse was developed by the authors for the Parks Canada Agency on behalf of the competent minister (the Minister of the Environment). It was developed in cooperation with a Sage-Grouse working group that met in February 2006. Members of that working group consisted of representatives from provincial government wildlife and land management agencies, land managers, conservation organizations, industry, academia, Parks Canada, Environment Canada, and Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (Appendix A).

A Greater Sage-Grouse recovery team was established in 1997 by Alberta and Saskatchewan. In 2001, a Canadian Greater Sage-Grouse recovery strategy was produced (Canadian Sage-Grouse Recovery Team 2001) that reviewed Greater Sage-Grouse background and status, established recovery goals and objectives, and provided strategies for population recovery. This recovery strategy updates the one developed in 2001 by Alberta and Saskatchewan and will be the first recovery strategy for the Greater Sage-Grouse, urophasianus subspecies under the Species at Risk Act.

Executive summary

The Greater Sage-Grouse, Centrocercus urophasianus urophasianus is the largest of the North American indigenous grouse species and is a sagebrush obligate within the sagebrush range of southeastern Alberta, southwestern Saskatchewan, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Idaho, Wyoming, Colorado, Utah, Washington, Oregon, California, and Nevada. This report deals with the C. u. urophasianus population that occupies habitat in southeastern Alberta and southwestern Saskatchewan at the northern fringe of the North American Greater Sage-Grouse range. In the U.S., C. urophasianus phaios was considered the western subspecies and C. urophasianus urophasianus the eastern subspecies, however using genetic and ecological data (Benedict et al. 2003), the Fish and Wildlife Service decided that the two Sage-Grouse subspecies would be considered one species (Centrocercus urophasianus) across its range. In Canada, the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) and SARA still list the scientific name as Centrocercus urophasianus urophasianus and the common name as Greater Sage-Grouse, urophasianus subspecies.

Greater Sage-Grouse (hereafter known as Sage-Grouse) are dependent on sagebrush for food and shelter, thus the silver sagebrush-grassland communities of the native Canadian prairie provide necessary habitat. Currently, Sage-Grouse inhabit approximately 6000 km2 of sagebrush range in the two provinces. Both the range and size of Sage-Grouse populations have declined considerably in all parts of their North American range.

Threats to Sage-Grouse populations in prairie Canada include habitat loss and degradation (agriculture and industry), habitat fragmentation (agriculture, industry, utility, and transportation infrastructure), predation (low annual recruitment), altered landscape hydrology (altered food and habitat resources), diseases, direct mortality factors, and climate fluctuation (compounding effects). Recovery of Sage-Grouse populations is considered to be feasible because: a) the population currently remains unchanged at low levels with sufficient numbers of birds and active leks to produce offspring for population growth; b) there currently exists ‘source’ habitat that yields positive net production, and sub-optimal habitat that yields poorer recruitment but could be improved to produce net population gains; and c) mitigation and manipulation of land uses can minimize or eliminate threats to the birds and their habitat. Initiatives identified within this strategy will test and refine unproven techniques for development of landscape-scale best management practices for optimal Sage-Grouse production and maintenance.

The following goals focus on the elimination of further losses to population numbers and habitat, while striving to improve availability of quality habitat for population increases via short and long-term targets:

  • No loss of active Sage-Grouse leks or Sage-Grouse population numbers in any portion of the current Sage-Grouse range in Alberta and Saskatchewan,

  • By 2012, improve Sage-Grouse population status and productivity within Alberta and Saskatchewan so that all populations within the current range show a positive trend in the number of strutting males at leks and the number of active leks for the period 2000 to 2012, and,

  • By 2026, achieve a stable or increasing Sage-Grouse population with:
    1. ≥ 365 strutting males at leks in Alberta and ≥ 500 strutting males at leks in Saskatchewan, and
    2. ≥ 16 active leks in Alberta and ≥ 30 active leks in Saskatchewan.

Objectives include the following: monitoring populations to measure progress towards goals; ensuring habitat connectivity to preserve gene flow; determining causative factors for population declines and best management practices to enable recovery; identifying, protecting and enhancing key habitat; and integrating Sage-Grouse conservation activities with broader prairie grassland landscape-scale management and conservation initiatives. Comprehensive critical habitat for Sage-Grouse has not been identified in this document but a schedule of studies to identify partial critical habitat has been included.

Introduction

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du Tétras des armoises (Centrocercus urophasianus urophasianus) au Canada

Loi sur les espèces en péril - Programme de rétablissement du Tétras des armoises (Centrocercus urophasianus urophasianus) au Canada (Janvier 2008).

Loi sur les espèces en péril
Programmes de rétablissement

Tétras des armoises

Janvier 2008

 

Les Programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril – Quelques mots sur la collection

Qu'est-ce que la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)?

La LEP est une contribution majeure du gouvernement fédéral à l'effort national de protection et de conservation des espèces en péril au Canada. Cette loi entrée en vigueur en 2003 a notamment pour but de « permettre le rétablissement des espèces qui, par suite de l'activité humaine, sont devenues des espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées ».

Qu'est-ce que le rétablissement?

Dans le contexte de la conservation des espèces en péril, le rétablissement est l'ensemble des mesures visant à arrêter ou inverser le déclin d'une espèce en voie de disparition, menacée ou disparue du pays et à atténuer ou supprimer les menaces pesant sur elle, de manière à améliorer ses chances de survie dans la nature. L'espèce est considérée comme rétablie lorsque son maintien à long terme dans la nature a été assuré.

Qu'est-ce qu'un programme de rétablissement?

Le programme de rétablissement d'une espèce est un document de planification énonçant ce qui doit être fait pour arrêter ou inverser son déclin. Il définit les buts et objectifs du rétablissement et précise les grands types de mesures à prendre. La planification détaillée se fait à l'étape du plan d'action.

Dans le cadre de l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril, les provinces et territoires du Canada ainsi que les trois organismes fédéraux qui doivent appliquer la LEP (Environnement Canada, Agence Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada) se sont engagés à élaborer des programmes de rétablissement. Les articles 37 à 46 de la LEP énumèrent les éléments que doivent contenir les programmes de rétablissement publiés dans la présente collection et définissent le processus d'élaboration de ces programmes.

Le programme de rétablissement doit être élaboré dans un délai de un ou deux ans après l'inscription de l'espèce sur la liste des espèces sauvages en péril, selon le statut qui lui est attribué et la date de l'évaluation. Un délai de trois ou quatre ans est autorisé pour les espèces inscrites au moment de l'entrée en vigueur de la LEP.

Prochaines étapes

Dans la plupart des cas, on procédera à l'élaboration d'un ou de plusieurs plans d'action visant à préciser et orienter la mise en œuvre du programme de rétablissement. Cependant, les orientations fixées dans le programme de rétablissement sont suffisantes pour qu'on puisse commencer à obtenir la participation des collectivités, des conservationnistes ainsi que des utilisateurs des terres et des eaux aux activités de rétablissement. En outre, l'absence de certitude scientifique absolue ne saurait justifier le report de mesures efficientes visant à prévenir la disparition ou le déclin de l'espèce.

La collection

La présente collection réunit les programmes de rétablissement préparés ou adoptés par le gouvernement fédéral conformément à la LEP. La collection s’accroîtra régulièrement avec l’inscription de nouvelles espèces et avec la mise à jour des programmes déjà publiés.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) et sur les initiatives de rétablissement, consulter le Registre public de la LEP.

 

Programme de rétablissement du Tétras des armoises (Centrocercus urophasianus urophasianus) au Canada

Janvier 2008

Citation recommandée :

Lungle, K., et S. Pruss. 2008. Programme de rétablissement du Tétras des armoises (Centrocercus urophasianus urophasianus) au Canada. Collection des Programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, Agence Parcs Canada, Ottawa. vii + 44 p.

Exemplaires supplémentaires :

Vous pouvez télécharger des exemplaires de la présente publication à partir du Registre public de la Loi sur les espèces en péril.

Photo de la couverture :

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service (domaine public)

Also available in English under the title “Recovery Strategy for the Greater Sage-Grouse (Centrocercus urophasianus urophasianus) in Canada”.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de l'Environnement, 2008. Tous droits réservés.

ISBN 978-0-662-07891-3
Cat. No. En3-4/53-2008F-PDF

Le contenu du présent document peut être utilisé sans permission, à condition que la source en soit bien indiquée.

Déclaration

Aux termes de l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril (1996), les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ont convenu de travailler ensemble aux règlements, programmes et politiques visant à protéger les espèces sauvages en péril à l'échelle du Canada. En vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (L.C. 2002, ch. 29) (LEP), les ministres fédéraux compétents sont tenus d'élaborer des programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces désignées menacées, en voie de disparition ou disparues au Canada.

Conformément aux dispositions de la LEP, le ministre de l'Environnement propose le programme de rétablissement du Tétras des armoises de la sous-espèce urophasianus décrit dans le présent document. Ce document a été préparé en collaboration avec les autorités compétentes responsables de l'espèce, énumérées dans la préface. Le ministre invite les autres autorités compétentes et organisations susceptibles de participer au rétablissement du Tétras des armoises à suivre les recommandations formulées dans le présent programme de rétablissement.

Les buts, objectifs et approches de rétablissement présentés dans le programme sont fondés sur les meilleures données disponibles et pourraient être modifiés à la lumière de nouveaux résultats et d'objectifs révisés.

Le présent programme de rétablissement servira de fondement à un ou à plusieurs plans d'action énonçant les mesures requises pour assurer la protection et le rétablissement du Tétras des armoises de la sous-espèce urophasianus. La réussite du rétablissement du Tétras des armoises dépendra de l'engagement et de la collaboration des nombreuses parties invitées à participer à la mise en œuvre des mesures formulées dans le présent programme. Dans l'esprit de l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril, tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes sont invités à appuyer le programme et à contribuer à sa mise en œuvre dans l'intérêt de l'espèce et de l'ensemble de la société canadienne. Le ministre de l'Environnement rendra compte des progrès réalisés d'ici cinq ans.

Auteurs

Ken Lungle, Perdix Professionals, Edmonton (Alberta)
Shelley Pruss, Agence Parcs Canada

Remerciements

Un document de cette nature nécessite l'engagement et le dévouement de beaucoup de personnes et d'organisations. Les auteurs sont particulièrement reconnaissants à Pat Fargey et à Joanne Tuckwell, de Parcs Canada, pour leurs conseils, les renseignements qu'ils ont fournis et les nombreuses discussions intéressantes sur la planification du rétablissement. Nous remercions également Dale Eslinger et Joel Nicholson, d'Alberta Sustainable Resource Development, et Sue McAdam, de Saskatchewan Environment, de nous avoir fourni des renseignements utiles sur les initiatives de conservation du Tétras des armoises dans les deux provinces. Nous apprécions beaucoup l'énergie et la sagesse des personnes de gouvernements, du milieu universitaire et d'organismes privés qui ont participé à l'atelier d'élaboration du programme de rétablissement (voir l'annexe A) et ont examiné et commenté les ébauches du présent document.

Évaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes (2004), une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) doit être réalisée pour tous les programmes de rétablissement assujettis à la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). Cette évaluation vise à garantir que les incidences environnementales des politiques, des plans et des programmes publics proposés seront prises en compte dès le début des travaux d'élaboration, de manière à permettre la prise de décisions éclairées et respectueuses de l'environnement. Les programmes de rétablissement favorisent les espèces en péril et la biodiversité en général, mais ils peuvent aussi avoir des effets imprévus sur l'environnement. Le contenu du rapport d'EES (Forrestall, 2006) est résumé ci-dessous.

Les programmes de rétablissement visent à favoriser les espèces en péril et la biodiversité en général, mais ils peuvent aussi avoir des effets environnementaux imprévus. Ces effets, y compris les impacts sur des espèces non visées et sur l'environnement, ont été pris en compte dans la planification du rétablissement. L'EES est intégrée directement dans la stratégie et résumée ci-dessous.

Il est évident qu'en favorisant le rétablissement du Tétras des armoises (Centrocercus urophasianus urophasianus), ce programme de rétablissement sera bénéfique pour l'environnement. La protection des écosystèmes d'armoises broussailleuses qui s'amenuisent profitera notamment au Moqueur des armoises (Oreoscoptes montanus) et à la Chevêche des terriers (Speotyto cunicularia), deux espèces en voie de disparition, à la Pie-grièche migratrice de la sous-espèce excubitorides (Lanius ludovicianus excubitorides) et au mormon (Apodemia mormo), deux espèces menacées, et au Courlis à long bec (Numenius americanus), une espèce préoccupante. Le programme aura aussi un effet favorable sur la culture autochtone, dont le Tétras des armoises fait partie. Par contre, on a identifié trois situations dans lesquelles le programme pourrait avoir des effets défavorables.

Premièrement, il a été déterminé qu'une stratégie de recherche sur l'utilisation du feu pour stimuler et revitaliser les communautés associées aux armoises pourrait déboucher sur des activités de brûlage dirigé d'habitats de prairie. Ces activités pourraient nuire à d'autres espèces directement ou en perturbant ou détruisant leur habitat et/ou leur résidence. En tenant compte des autres espèces en péril présentes et en appliquant de bonnes pratiques de gestion du feu, on pourrait réduire ou éliminer les éventuels effets néfastes sur les autres espèces. Tout brûlage dirigé dans un parc national nécessiterait d'abord une évaluation environnementale détaillée en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale (LCEE).

Deuxièmement, des recherches concernant les effets d'ouvrages de régularisation des eaux sur l'hydrologie naturelle et leurs conséquences pour l'armoise pourraient déboucher sur des mesures influant sur l'hydrologie. La modification de l'hydrologie d'une région pourrait nuire à d'autres espèces végétales et animales soit directement soit en perturbant ou en détruisant leurs habitats ou résidence. Les modifications à l'hydrologie devraient prendre en compte les effets sur des espèces non ciblées et pourraient nécessiter une évaluation environnementale détaillée en vertu de la LCEE.

Troisièmement, comme on l'a indiqué plus haut, les stratégies de protection ou d'expansion de l'habitat de l'armoise argentée favoriseraient toutes les espèces qui ont le même habitat que le Tétras des armoises. Par contre, l'expansion de l'habitat d'armoise du Tétras des armoises pourrait nuire au Pluvier montagnard (Charadrius montanus) qui exige une végétation basse et du sol nu. Toutefois, comme le Pluvier montagnard est une espèce inscrite à la liste de la LEP, il doit faire l'objet d'un programme de rétablissement qui vise le suivi, la recherche et les menaces qui pèsent sur lui, lesquelles pourraient comprendre les impacts de l'expansion de l'habitat d'armoise.

L'EES a conclu que le programme de rétablissement aura de nombreux effets bénéfiques et qu'il ne causera pas d'effets nuisibles importants, à condition que l'on mette en œuvre les mesures d'atténuation recommandées. Il s'agit ici de toute autre évaluation des mesures proposées (par exemple, le brûlage dirigé ou la modification de l'hydrologie dans un parc national) découlant des recherches qui seront effectuées dans le cadre du programme de rétablissement.

Résidence

La LEP définit la résidence comme suit : « gîte – terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable – occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l'élevage, les haltes migratoires, l'hivernage, l'alimentation ou l'hibernation » [LEP, paragraphe 2(1)].

Les descriptions de résidence ou les raisons pour lesquelles le concept de résidence ne s'applique pas à une espèce donnée sont publiées dans le Registre public de la LEP.

En vertu de la LEP, les résidences du Tétras des armoises sont protégées contre les dommages ou la destruction. Les experts de l'espèce qui travaillent à son rétablissement considèrent que les nids constituent des résidences de l'espèce.

Avant-propos

La présente stratégie de rétablissement concerne le Tétras des armoises de la sous-espèce urophasianus, qui est présent au Canada dans le sud-est de l'Alberta et le sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan.

La stratégie de rétablissement du Tétras des armoises a été élaborée par les auteurs pour l'Agence Parcs Canada, au nom du ministre compétent, soit le ministre de l'Environnement. Son développement repose sur une collaboration avec un groupe de travail sur le Tétras des armoises, qui s'est réuni en février 2006. Ce groupe de travail était composé de représentants d'organismes provinciaux de gestion de la faune et des terres, d'organismes de conservation, de l'industrie, du milieu universitaire, de Parcs Canada, d'Environnement Canada et d'Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (annexe A).

Une équipe de rétablissement du Tétras des armoises avait été mise sur pied en 1997 par l'Alberta et la Saskatchewan. En 2001, une stratégie canadienne de rétablissement du Tétras des armoises a été produite (Canadian Sage-Grouse Recovery Team, 2001), qui a passé en revue le contexte et la situation de l'espèce, a établi des buts et des objectifs de rétablissement et a présenté des stratégies pour le rétablissement des populations. Ce programme de rétablissement, qui constitue une mise à jour de celui élaboré en 2001 par l'Alberta et la Saskatchewan, sera le premier programme de rétablissement du Tétras des armoises lancé en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril.

Résumé

Le Tétras des armoises (Centrocercus urophasianus urophasianus) est le plus grand Tétras indigène de l'Amérique du Nord. Cet oiseau ne vit qu'en association avec les armoises arbustives, dans l'aire de répartition de ces plantes, dans le sud-est de l'Alberta, le sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan ainsi que les États du Montana, du Dakota du Nord, du Dakota du Sud, d'Idaho, du Wyoming, du Colorado, d'Utah, de Washington, d'Oregon, de Californie et du Nevada. Le présent rapport porte sur la population du C. u. urophasianus qui occupe des habitats favorables dans le sud-est de l'Alberta et le sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan, à la limite nord de son aire de répartition en Amérique du Nord. Aux États Unis, on considérait le C. urophasianus phaios comme la sous-espèce occidentale et le C. urophasianus urophasianus comme la sous-espèce orientale, mais l'U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, se fondant sur des données génétiques et écologiques (Benedict et al., 2003), a décidé de considérer les deux sous-espèces de Tétras des armoises comme une seule espèce (Centrocercus urophasianus) dans toute son aire de répartition. Au Canada, le nom scientifique Centrocercus urophasianus urophasianus et le nom commun « Tétras des armoises de la sous-espèce urophasianus » figurent encore aux listes du COSEPAC et de la LEP.

Le Tétras des armoises dépend de l'armoise pour se nourrir et s'abriter. Les communautés de prairie dominées par l'armoise argentée dans les prairies canadiennes lui offrent donc l'habitat dont il a besoin. Le Tétras des armoises occupe actuellement environ 6 000 km2 en Alberta et en Saskatchewan. L'aire de répartition et la taille des populations de Tétras des armoises ont diminué considérablement dans toutes les parties de son aire de répartition en Amérique du Nord.

Les menaces qui pèsent sur les populations de Tétras des armoises dans les prairies canadiennes comprennent la perte et la dégradation de l'habitat (attribuables à l'agriculture et à l'industrie), la fragmentation de l'habitat (attribuable à l'agriculture, à l'industrie ainsi qu'aux infrastructures de services publics et de transport), la prédation (faible recrutement annuel), les modifications de l'hydrologie (altération des ressources en nourriture et en habitat), les maladies, les facteurs de mortalité directe et les fluctuations climatiques (effets aggravants). Le rétablissement des populations de Tétras des armoises est considéré faisable pour les raisons suivantes : a) la population est actuellement faible mais stable, et il reste suffisamment de Tétras des armoises et de leks utilisés pour permettre une croissance de la population; b) il existe actuellement de l'habitat « source » qui permet une production nette positive et de l'habitat sous optimal où le recrutement est plus faible, mais qui pourrait être amélioré pour produire des hausses nettes de la population; c) l'atténuation des effets nuisibles et la modification de l'utilisation des terres peuvent réduire ou éliminer les menaces pesant sur l'espèce et son habitat. Les initiatives établies dans le cadre de ce programme permettront de mettre à l'essai et d'améliorer des techniques non éprouvées pour l'élaboration de bonnes pratiques d'aménagement du territoire qui optimisent la production et le maintien du Tétras des armoises.

Les objectifs suivants visent surtout à éviter d'autres réductions de la population et d'autres pertes d'habitat tout en améliorant la disponibilité d'habitats de qualité afin d'accroître la population de façon à atteindre des cibles à court et à long terme :

  • Éviter toute perte de leks utilisés par le Tétras des armoises et toute baisse des populations de l'espèce dans son aire de répartition actuelle en Alberta et en Saskatchewan.

  • D'ici 2012, améliorer la situation et la productivité des populations de Tétras des armoises en Alberta et en Saskatchewan de façon à ce que, sur l'aire de répartition actuelle, le nombre de mâles en parade sur les leks et le nombre de leks utilisés augmentent pour toutes ces populations durant la période 2000-2012.

  • D'ici 2026, faire en sorte que la population de Tétras des armoises soit stable ou en hausse et ait atteint les niveaux suivants :
    1. au moins 365 mâles en parade sur des leks en Alberta et au moins 500 mâles en parade sur des leks en Saskatchewan;
    2. au moins 16 leks utilisés en Alberta et au moins 30 leks utilisés en Saskatchewan.

Les objectifs du programme sont les suivants : réaliser un suivi des populations pour mesurer les progrès accomplis par rapport aux cibles; assurer la connectivité de l'habitat pour préserver les flux génétiques; déterminer les causes des déclins des populations et les bonnes pratiques de gestion pour permettre le rétablissement de l'espèce; relever, protéger et améliorer les habitats essentiels; intégrer les activités de conservation du Tétras des armoises aux initiatives générales d'aménagement et de conservation des prairies à l'échelle du paysage. Le présent document ne fournit pas une désignation complète de l'habitat essentiel du Tétras des armoises, mais il comprend un calendrier d'études visant à permettre une désignation partielle de cet habitat.

Introduction