Description of residence for the Ross’s Gull (Rhodostethia rosea) in Canada

Section 33 of the Species at Risk Act (SARA) prohibits damaging or destroying the residence of a listed threatened, endangered, or extirpated species. SARA defines residence as: “a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or hibernating” [s.2(1)].

The prohibition comes into effect in different ways depending on the jurisdiction responsible for the species. As a migratory bird protected under the Migratory Bird Convention Act, the Ross’s Gull is under federal jurisdiction. This means the residence prohibition is in effect on all lands on which the species occurs immediately upon its addition to the legal list of species at risk. 

The following description of residence for the Ross’s Gull (Rhodostethia rosea) was created for the purposes of increasing public awareness and aiding enforcement of the above prohibition. Ross’s Gulls are known to have one type of residence - the nest.

Species information

Common name - Ross’s Gull

Scientific name - Rhodostethia rosea

Current COSEWIC status & year of designation - Threatened (2001)

Occurrence in Canada - Manitoba and Nunavut (Figure 1).

Rationale for designation - Very small population with low productivity1.

Figure 1. Known Ross’s Gull (Rhodostethia rosea) breeding locations in Canada

Known Ross’s Gull (Rhodostethia rosea) breeding locations in Canada (See long description below)
Long description of figure 1

In Canada, there are four known nesting areas: Prince Charles Island, Nunavut; Cheyne Islands, Nunavut; an unnamed island in Penny Strait, Nunavut; and Churchill, Manitoba. Occasional sightings of Ross's Gulls are also made south of the breeding grounds in British Columbia, Ontario, Nova Scotia, and Newfoundland and Labrador (Macey 1981).

1) The nest

Physical appearance and context

Any site used by a Ross’s Gull for nesting is considered a residence. Ross’s Gulls mainly breed in the Old World Arctic, but a few breeding locations are known in Canada1. Ross’s Gulls are known to breed in varied habitats. The most common breeding habitat is marshy wetland in subarctic and boreal tundra2. However, they are also known to use high arctic tundra and gravel reefs3, 4. The breeding habitat around Churchill is wet tundra with small pools, hummocks supporting grasses, lichens and dwarf willows (Salix sp.), and lower areas with grasses and sedges1,3. On Prince Charles Island, Nunavut, the gulls nested in an area of poorly vegetated, dry tundra and gravel, surrounded by a network of medium-sized lakes4. At much higher latitudes on the Cheyne Islands, Nunavut, the gulls have been found nesting on reefs1 (small, low gravel islands supporting freshwater ponds and with prominent vegetation, mostly mosses). The only nesting requirement seems to be the presence of open water, such as lakes, ponds, or open leads in the pack ice3. Also, nests are often located in areas near Arctic Tern (Sterna paradisaea) colonies3.

Ross’s Gull nests can be a depression in the ground (a ‘scrape’), moss cup, or located in sedge tussocks3. Nests are approximately 10-15 cm in diameter and are lined with vegetation, such as dry grass, sedge, moss, willow or birch leaves, or seaweed3. The eggs are olive with faint reddish-brown markings5, and are approximately 30 x 43-46 mm4. Clutch size is generally three, but may contain one or two eggs. Nests are incubated by both parents3, for 21-22 days5, and chicks fledge at 20+ days after hatch5. In Canada, chicks hatch approximately mid-July3.

Function

The function of the nest residence is to provide protection, shelter, and the required conditions for egg laying, incubation, and hatching, as well as the post-hatch rearing of young.

Damage or destruction of the residence

Any activity that destroys the function of nest would constitute damage or destruction of the residence. This would include, but is not limited to, preventing access to the nest, moving, taking or otherwise disturbing the eggs, destroying the nest, or changes to the microclimate of the nest. Ross’s Gulls are known to be disrupted by the presence of bird-watchers, photographers or tourists, and may have lower breeding success if disturbed. There is one known incident of a nest being abandoned because of a photographer beside the nest1. Approaching nests closer than 50 m is undesirable1, and should be avoided.

Period and frequency of occupancy

The nest should remain protected as a residence from the time of construction until the chicks fledge. This will typically occur between early June and early September each year.

Additional information

For more information on the Ross’s Gull.

For more information on SARA.

References

1 Alvo, R., D. McRae, S. Holohan, and G. Divoky. 1996. Updated Status Report on the Ross’s Gull, Rhodostethia rosea, in Canada. Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. 12 pp.

2 Blomqvist, S. and M. Elander. 1981. Sabine’s Gull (Xema sabini), Ross’s Gull (Rhodostethia rosea) and Ivory Gull (Pagophila eburnean). Gulls in the Arctic: A review. Arctic 34:122-132.

3 Macey, A. 1981. Status Report on the Ross’s Gull, Rhodostethia rosea, in Canada. Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. 24 pp.

4 Bechet, A., J. L. Martin, P. Meister, and C. Rabouam. 2000. Second breeding site for Ross’s gull in Nunavut, Canada. Arctic 53:234-236.

5 Ehrlich, P., D. Dobkin, and D. Wheye. 1988. The Birders Handbook: A Field Guide to the Natural History of North American Birds. New York: Simon and Schuster Inc.

Description de la résidence de la mouette rosée (Rhodostethia rosea) au Canada

L'article 33 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril(LEP) interdit d'endommager ou de détruire la résidence d’une espèce inscrite comme menacée, en voie de disparition ou disparue du pays. La LEP définit la résidence comme suit : « Gîte -- terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable -- occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l'élevage, les haltes migratoires, l'hivernage, l'alimentation ou l'hibernation » [paragraphe 2(1)].

L'interdiction relative à la résidence prend effet de différentes façons, selon la compétence responsable de l’espèce. Étant un oiseau migrateur protégé par la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs(LCOM), le Mouette rosée relève de la compétence fédérale. Cela signifie que les interdictions relatives à la résidence sont en vigueur sur tout le territoire canadien dès que l’espèce est ajoutée à la liste officielle des espèces en péril. 

La description ci-après de la résidence de la Mouette rosée (Rhodostethia rosea) a été produite afin d’accroître la sensibilisation publique et d’aider à l'application de l'interdiction mentionnée précédemment. On sait que les Mouettes rosées ont une résidence : leur nid.

Information sur l'espèce :

Nom commun -- Mouette rosée

Nom scientifique -- Rhodostethia rosea

Statut COSEPAC actuel et année de désignation -- Menacée (2001)

Présence au Canada-- Manitoba et Nunavut (figure 1).

Justification de la désignation -- Très petite population à faible productivité1

Lieux de reproduction connus de la Mouette rosée

Figure 1. Lieux de reproduction connus de la Mouette rosée (Rhodostethia rosea) au Canada.

1) Le nid

Aspect physique et contexte

Tout endroit utilisé par une Mouette rosée pour la nidification est considéré comme une résidence. Les Mouettes rosées se reproduisent principalement dans le paléartique, mais il y a quelques lieux de reproduction connus au Canada1. On sait que les Mouettes rosées se reproduisent dans des habitats variés. L'habitat de reproduction le plus commun se trouve sur des terres humides marécageuses dans la toundra subarctique et boréale2. Elles sont également observées dans la toundra de l'Extrême-Arctique et de récifs de gravier3, 4. L'habitat de reproduction autour de Churchill est une toundra humide avec de petites mares, des monticules ouvertes d’herbes, de lichens et de saules herbacés (Salix sp.), et des terres plus basses recouvertes d’herbes et de carex praticola1, 3. Sur l'île Prince-Charles au Nunavut, les mouettes nidifient dans une zone de toundra sèche et de gravier avec peu de végétation, entourée par un réseau de lacs de taille moyenne4. À des latitudes beaucoup plus élevées dans les îles Cheyne au Nunavut, on a observé des mouettes nidifiant sur des récifs1 (petites îles de gravier basses où on trouve des bassins d'eau douce avec une végétation importante, composée surtout de mousses). La seule condition de nidification semble être la présence de plans d'eau, tels que des lacs, des bassins ou des chenaux dans la glace3. Par ailleurs, les nids sont souvent situés dans des zones proches des colonies de Sternes arctiques (Sterna paradisaea)3.

Les nids des Mouettes rosées peuvent être une dépression dans la terre (une coupe), une coupe de mousse ou être situés dans des buttes de carex praticola3. Les nids, mesurant environ 10 à 15 cm de diamètre, sont faits de végétation : herbes sèches, carex praticola, mousse, feuilles de saule ou de bouleau, varech3. Les œufs sont de couleur olive avec de légères taches rouge brun5 et mesurent environ 30 x 43 à 46 mm4. La couvée compte généralement trois oeufs, mais peut ne comprendre qu’un ou deux œufs. Les deux parents couvent3 pendant 21 à 22 jours5, et les oisillons quittent le nid 20 jours environ après l’éclosion des oeufs5. Au Canada, les œufs éclosent vers la mi-juillet3.

Fonction

La fonction du nid résidence est d’offrir abri, protection et les conditions propices à la ponte, à l’incubation et à l’éclosion.

Endommagement et destruction de la résidence

Toute activité qui détruit la fonction du nid constituerait un acte d’endommagement ou de destruction de la résidence, ce qui comprendrait, entre autres, empêcher l'accès au nid, déplacer, prendre ou déranger autrement les œufs, détruire le nid, ou en modifier le microclimat. On sait que les Mouettes rosées sont perturbées par la présence d’ornithologues amateurs, de photographes ou de touristes et, une fois dérangées, elles peuvent ne pas se reproduire. Il y a un cas connu de nid abandonné à cause de la présence proche d'un photographe1. Il n’est pas souhaitable d’approcher les nids à moins de 50 m1 et une telle action est à éviter.

Période et fréquence d'occupation

Le nid résidence devrait être protégé depuis sa construction jusqu'à l'envol des oisillons, soit une période typique allant du début juin jusqu’au début septembre chaque année.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour obtenir d’autres renseignements sur la Mouette rosée.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la LEP.

Bibliographie

1Alvo, R., D. McRae, S. Holohan et G. Divoky. 1996. Update Status Report on the Ross’s Gull, Rhodostethia rosea, in Canada, Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada, 12 pages.

2Blomqvist, S. et M. Elander.1981. Sabine’s Gull (Xema sabini), Ross’s Gull (Rhodostethia rosea) and Ivory Gull (Pagophila eburnean), Gulls in the Arctic: A review, Arctic 34:122-132.

3 Macey, A. 1981. Status Report on the Ross’s Gull, Rhodostethia rosea, in Canada, Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada, 24 pages.

4 Bechet, A., J. L. Martin, P. Meister et C. Rabouam. 2000. Second breeding site for Ross’s gull in Nunavut, Canada, Arctic 53:234-236.

5Ehrlich, P., D. Dobkin et D. Wheye. 1988. The Birders Handbook: A Field Guide to the Natural History of North American Birds, New York: Simon and Schuster Inc.