Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Paxton Lake, Enos Lake, and Vananda Creek Stickleback Species Pairs (Gasterosteus spp.) in Canada [Proposed]

Stickleback species pair from Paxton Lake, British Columbia. Gravid benthic top, gravid limnetic bottom. Photo by Todd Hatfield.

Stickleback Species Pairs

October 2006


Declaration
Responsible Jurisdictions
Authors
Acknolwedgements
Strategic Environmental Assessment
Residence
Preface

 

About the Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series

What is the Species at Risk Act (SARA)?

SARA is the Act developed by the federal government as a key contribution to the common national effort to protect and conserve species at risk in Canada. SARA came into force in 2003 and one of its purposes is“to provide for the recovery of wildlife species that are extirpated, endangered or threatened as a result of human activity.”

What is recovery?

In the context of species at risk conservation, recovery is the process by which the decline of an endangered, threatened, or extirpated species is arrested or reversed and threats are removed or reduced to improve the likelihood of the species’ persistence in the wild. A species will be considered recovered when its long-term persistence in the wild has been secured.

What is a recovery strategy?

A recovery strategy is a planning document that identifies what needs to be done to arrest or reverse the decline of a species. It sets goals and objectives and identifies the main areas of activities to be undertaken. Detailed planning is done at the action plan stage.

Recovery strategy development is a commitment of all provinces and territories and of three federal agencies -- Environment Canada, Parks Canada Agency, and Fisheries and Oceans Canada -- under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk. Sections 37–46 of SARA outline both the required content and the process for developing recovery strategies published in this series.

Depending on the status of the species and when it was assessed, a recovery strategy has to be developed within one to two years after the species is added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk. Three to four years is allowed for those species that were automatically listed when SARA came into force.

What’s next?

In most cases, one or more action plans will be developed to define and guide implementation of the recovery strategy. Nevertheless, directions set in the recovery strategy are sufficient to begin involving communities, land users, and conservationists in recovery implementation. Cost-effective measures to prevent the reduction or loss of the species should not be postponed for lack of full scientific certainty.

The series

This series presents the recovery strategies prepared or adopted by the federal government under SARA. New documents will be added regularly as species get listed and as strategies are updated.

To learn more

To learn more about the Species at Risk Act and recovery initiatives, please consult the SARA Public Registry and the Web site of the Recovery Secretariat (http://www.speciesatrisk.gc.ca/recovery/).

Recommended citation:

National Recovery Team for Stickleback Species Pairs. 2006. Recovery Strategy for Paxton Lake, Enos Lake, and Vananda Creek Stickleback Species Pairs (Gasterosteus spp.) in Canada [Proposed]. In Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series. Ottawa: Fisheries and Oceans Canada. 31 pp.


Additional copies:

You can download additional copies from the SARA Public Registry.

Cover illustration: Stickleback species pair from Paxton Lake, British Columbia. Gravid benthic top, gravid limnetic bottom. Photo by Todd Hatfield.

Également disponible en français sous le titre :

« Programme de rétablissement pour les épinoches du lac Paxton, du lac Enos et du ruisseau Vananda (Gasterosteusspp.) au Canada [projet] »

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, 2006. All rights reserved.

ISBN To come

Cat. no. To come

Content (excluding illustrations) may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.

Declaration

This proposed recovery strategy for stickleback species pairs has been prepared in cooperation with the jurisdictions described in the Preface. Fisheries and Oceans Canada has reviewed and accepts this document as its recovery strategy for the stickleback species pairs as required by the Species at Risk Act.

Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the directions set out in this strategy and will not be achieved by Fisheries and Oceans Canada or any other jurisdiction alone. In the spirit of the National Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans invites all Canadians to join Fisheries and Oceans Canada in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the stickleback species pairs and Canadian society as a whole. Fisheries and Oceans Canada will support implementation of this strategy to the extent possible, given available resources and its overall responsibility for species at risk conservation. The Minister will report on progress within five years.

This strategy will be complemented by one or more action plans that will provide details on specific recovery measures to be taken to support conservation of the species. The Minister will take steps to ensure that, to the extent possible, Canadians interested in or affected by these measures will be consulted.

Responsible Jurisdictions

The responsible jurisdiction for stickleback species pairs under the Species at Risk Act (SARA) is Fisheries and Oceans Canada. The Province of British Columbia also collaborated in the development of this recovery strategy.

Authors

DFO and the Province of British Columbia cooperated in the development of this recovery strategy. A recovery team was assembled to provide science-based recommendations to government with respect to the recovery of the stickleback species pairs. Members of the Stickleback Species Pairs Recovery Team are listed below:

  • Jordan Rosenfeld, MWLAP, (co-chair)
  • Dan Sneep, DFO, (co-chair)
  • Todd Hatfield, Solander Ecological Research, (coordinator)
  • Don McPhail, UBC
  • John Richardson, UBC
  • Dolph Schluter, UBC
  • Eric Taylor, UBC
  • Paul Wood, UBC

Acknowledgements

Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the Province of BC are grateful to the technical experts involved in drafting this strategy, for their time and effort in attending meetings and reviewing the document. Development of this strategy was partially funded by the Habitat Conservation Trust Fund of British Columbia.

Strategic Environmental Assessment

A strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is conducted on all SARA recovery planning documents, in accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals. The purpose of a SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally-sound decision making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits. The recovery planning process based on national guidelines directly incorporates consideration of all environmental effects, with a particular focus on possible impacts on non-target species or habitats. The results of the SEA are incorporated directly in the strategy itself, but are also summarized below.

This recovery strategy will clearly benefit the environment by promoting the recovery of stickleback species pairs. The potential for the strategy to inadvertently lead to adverse effects on other species was considered. The SEA concluded that this strategy will clearly benefit the environment and will not entail any significant adverse effects. Refer to the following sections of the document in particular: Description of the Species – General Biology, Ecological Role; Recommended Approach/Scale for Recovery; and Potential Management Impacts for Other Species.

Residence

SARA defines residence as:

"a dwelling -place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or hibernating" [SARA S2(1)].

Residence descriptions, or the rationale for why the residence concept does not apply to a given species, are posted on the SARA public registry.

Preface

Stickleback species pairs are freshwater fish and are under the jurisdiction of the federal government. The Species at Risk Act (SARA, Section 37) requires the competent minister to prepare recovery strategies for listed extirpated, endangered or threatened species. Paxton Lake and Vananda Creek Stickleback species pairs were listed as endangered under SARA in June 2003, while Enos Lake Stickleback species pairs were listed as endangered under SARA in January 2005. Fisheries and Oceans Canada – Pacific Region, co-led the development of this recovery strategy. The proposed strategy meets SARA requirements in terms of content and process (Sections 39-41). It was developed in cooperation or consultation with:

  • British Columbia Ministry of Environment
Document Information

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement des épinoches du lac Paxton, du lac Enos et du ruisseau Vananda (Gasterosteus spp.) au Canada [Projet]

Paire d'espèces d'épinoches du lac Paxton, Colombie-Britannique. En haut : épichoche benthique gravide; en bas : épinoche limnétique gravide. Photo par Todd Hatfield.


Épinoches benthique et limnétique

October 2006

 

Déclaration
Compétences responsables
Auteurs
Remerciements
Évaluation environnementale stratégique
Résidence
Préface

 

La série de Programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Qu'est-ce que la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)?

La LEP est la loi fédérale qui constitue l'une des pierres d'assise de l'effort national commun de protection et de conservation des espèces en péril au Canada. Elle est en vigueur depuis 2003 et vise, entre autres, àpermettre le rétablissement des espèces qui, par suite de l'activité humaine, sont devenues des espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées.

Qu'est-ce que le rétablissement?

Dans le contexte de la conservation des espèces en péril, le rétablissement est le processus par lequel le déclin d'une espèce en voie de disparition, menacée ou disparue du pays est arrêté ou inversé et par lequel les menaces à sa survie sont éliminées ou réduites de façon à augmenter la probabilité de survie de l'espèce à l'état sauvage. Une espèce sera considérée comme rétablie lorsque sa survie à long terme à l'état sauvage aura été assurée.

Qu'est-ce qu'un programme de rétablissement?

Un programme de rétablissement est un document de planification qui identifie ce qui doit être réalisé pour arrêter ou inverser le déclin d'une espèce. Il établit des buts et des objectifs et indique les principaux champs des activités à entreprendre. La planification plus élaborée se fait à l'étape du plan d'action.

L'élaboration de programmes de rétablissement représente un engagement de toutes les provinces et de tous les territoires ainsi que de trois organismes fédéraux -- Environnement Canada, l'Agence Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada -- dans le cadre de l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril. Les articles 37 à 46 de la LEP décrivent le contenu d'un programme de rétablissement publié dans la présente série ainsi que le processus requis pour l'élaborer.

Selon le statut de l'espèce et le moment où elle a été évaluée, un programme de rétablissement doit être préparé dans un délai de un à deux ans après l'inscription de l'espèce à la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP. Pour les espèces qui ont été inscrites à la LEP lorsque celle-ci a été adoptée, le délai est de trois à quatre ans.

Et ensuite?

Dans la plupart des cas, un ou plusieurs plans d'action seront élaborés pour définir et guider la mise en oeuvre du programme de rétablissement. Cependant, les recommandations contenues dans le programme de rétablissement suffisent pour permettre la participation des collectivités, des utilisateurs des terres et des conservationnistes à la mise en oeuvre du rétablissement. Le manque de certitude scientifique ne doit pas être prétexte à retarder la prise de mesures efficientes visant à prévenir la disparition ou le déclin d'une espèce.

La série de Programmes de rétablissement

Cette série présente les programmes de rétablissement élaborés ou adoptés par le gouvernement fédéral dans le cadre de la LEP. De nouveaux documents s'ajouteront régulièrement à mesure que de nouvelles espèces seront inscrites à la Liste des espèces en péril et que les programmes de rétablissement existants seront mis à jour.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour en savoir plus sur la Loi sur les espèces en péril et les initiatives de rétablissement, veuillez consulter le Registre public de la LEP et le site Web du Secrétariat du rétablissement (http://www.especesenperil.gc.ca/recovery/).

Référence recommandée :

Équipe nationale de rétablissement des paires d'espèces d'épinoches. 2006. Programme de rétablissement des épinoches du lac Paxton, du lac Enos et du ruisseau Vananda (Gasterosteus spp.) au Canada [Projet]. Série de Programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Pêches et Océans Canada, Ottawa,  vi + 37 pp.


Exemplaires supplémentaires

Des exemplaires supplémentaires peuvent être téléchargés à partir du site Web du Registre public de la LEP.

Illustration de la couverture: Paire d'espèces d'épinoches du lac Paxton, Colombie-Britannique. En haut : épichoche benthique gravide; en bas : épinoche limnétique gravide. Photo par Todd Hatfield.

Also available in English under the title:

« Recovery Strategy for Paxton Lake, Enos Lake, and Vananda Creek Stickleback Species Pairs(Gasterosteus spp.) in Canada »

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre des Pêches et des Océans, 2006. Tous droits réservés.

ISBN : À venir

Numéro de catalogue : À venir

Le contenu (à l'exception des illustrations) peut être utilisé sans permission, mais en prenant soin d'indiquer la source.

Déclaration

Le présent programme de rétablissement des paires d'espèces d'épinoches a été élaboré en collaboration avec les autorités décrites dans la préface. Pêches et Océans Canada a examiné le présent document et l'accepte comme son programme de rétablissement pour les paires d'espèces d'épinoches, comme le prévoit la Loi sur les espèces en péril.

La réussite du rétablissement de ces espèces dépendra de l'engagement et de la collaboration d'un grand nombre de parties qui participent à la mise en œuvre des orientations formulées dans le présent programme. Cette réussite ne pourra reposer sur Pêches et Océans Canada ou sur une autre autorité seulement. Dans l'esprit de l'Accord national pour la protection des espèces en péril, le ministre des Pêches et des Océans invite tous les Canadiens à se joindre à Pêches et Océans Canada pour appuyer le présent programme et le mettre en œuvre au profit des paires d'espèces d'épinoches et de l'ensemble de la société canadienne. Pêches et Océans Canada s'appliquera à soutenir autant que possible l'exécution de ce programme, selon les ressources disponibles et compte tenu de sa responsabilité générale à l'égard de la conservation des espèces en péril. Le ministre rendra compte des progrès réalisés d'ici cinq ans.

Un ou plusieurs plans d'action détaillant les mesures de rétablissement qu'il faudra prendre pour appuyer la conservation de ces espèces viendront s'ajouter au présent programme. Le Ministre mettra en œuvre des moyens pour s'assurer, dans la mesure du possible, que les Canadiens intéressés à ces mesures ou touchés par celles-ci soient consultés.

Compétences responsables

L'autorité responsable des paires d'espèces d'épinoches en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) est Pêches et Océans Canada. La province de la Colombie-Britannique a également collaboré à l'élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement.

Auteurs

Le MPO et la province de la Colombie-Britannique ont collaboré à l'élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement. Une équipe de rétablissement a été constituée et chargée de fournir au gouvernement des recommandations scientifiquement fondées sur le rétablissement des paires d'espèces d'épinoches. Voici la liste des membres de l'équipe de rétablissement des paires d'espèces d'espèces d'épinoches :

  • Jordan Rosenfeld, ministère de la Protection des eaux, des terres et de l'air (co-présidente)
  • Dan Sneep, MPO, (co-président)
  • Todd Hatfield, Solander Ecological Research, (coordonnateur)
  • Don McPhail, UBC
  • John Richardson, UBC
  • Dolph Schluter, UBC
  • Eric Taylor, UBC
  • Paul Wood, UBC

Remerciements

Pêches et Océans Canada et la province de la C.-B. tiennent à remercier les spécialistes techniques qui ont consacré temps et efforts à l'élaboration du présent programme en assistant aux réunions et en examinant le document. L'élaboration du présent programme a été partiellement financée par le Habitat Conservation Trust Fund de la Colombie-Britannique.

Évaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes, une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) doit figurer dans tous les documents de planification du rétablissement produits en vertu de la LEP. L'objet de l'EES est d'intégrer les considérations environnementales à l'élaboration des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes publics afin de soutenir la prise de décisions éclairées sur le plan environnemental.

La planification du rétablissement profitera aux espèces en péril et à la biodiversité en général. Il est toutefois reconnu que des programmes peuvent produire, sans que cela ne soit voulu, des effets environnementaux négatifs qui dépassent les avantages prévus. Le processus de planification fondé sur des lignes directrices nationales tient directement compte de tous les effets environnementaux, notamment des impacts possibles sur les espèces ou les habitats non ciblés. Les résultats de l'EES sont directement inclus au présent programme et ils sont également résumés ci-après.

Le présent programme de rétablissment aura des avantages certains pour l'environnement en favorisant le rétablissement des paires d'espèces d'épinoches. On a envisagé la possibilité que le programme produise des effets négatifs non prévus sur d'autres espèces. Toutefois, l'EES a permis de conclure qu'il est clair que le présent programme sera bénéfique pour l'environnement et n'entraînera pas d'effets négatifs importants. Veuillez consulter en particulier les sections suivantes du présent document : Description des espèces – Biologie générale, Rôle écologique; Approche recommandée/portée du rétablissement; Impacts potentiels de la gestion sur d'autres espèces.

Résidence

La LEP définit la résidence comme suit :

« Gîte -- terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable --occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l'élevage, les haltes migratoires, l'hivernage,l'alimentation ou l'hibernation » [Paragraphe 2(1)].

Les descriptions de la résidence ou les raisons pour lesquelles le concept de résidence ne s'applique pas à une espèce donnée sont publiées dans le Registre public de la LEP.

Préface

Les paires d'espèces d'épinoches sont des poissons d'eau douce et relèvent de la compétence du gouvernement fédéral. Conformément à la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP, article 37), le ministre compétent doit préparer des programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces qui ont été désignées comme étant disparues du pays, menacées ou en voie de disparition. Les paires d'espèces d'épinoches du lac Paxton et du ruisseau Vananda ont été désignées en tant qu'espèces en voie de disparition en vertu de la LEP en juin 2003, tandis que la paire d'espèces d'épinoches du lac Enos a été désignée à ce titre en janvier 2005. Pêches et Océans Canada – région du Pacifique, a collaboré à l'élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement. Celui-ci satisfait aux exigences de la LEP quant au contenu et au processus (articles 39 à 41). Il a été préparé soit en collaboration, soit en consultation avec :

  • le ministère de l'Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique.
Information sur le document