PARKS CANADA AGENCY

SPECIES AT RISK ACT

Description of critical habitat of Woodland Caribou, Southern Mountain population, in Banff National Park of Canada, Jasper National Park of Canada, Glacier National Park of Canada and Mount Revelstoke National Park of Canada

The Southern Mountain population of the Woodland Caribou (Rangifer tarandus caribou), also known as southern mountain caribou, is listed on Schedule 1 to the Species at Risk Act as threatened. Southern mountain caribou are a medium-sized member of the deer family and are found within forested areas of the Southern Mountain National Ecological Area in Alberta and British Columbia. The Recovery Strategy for the Woodland Caribou, Southern Mountain population (Rangifer tarandus caribou) in Canada (www.sararegistry.gc.ca/document/default_e.cfm?documentID=1309) identifies critical habitat for the species in a number of areas, including four federally protected areas.

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to subsection 58(2) of the Species at Risk Act, subsection 58(1) of that Act applies 90 days after the date of publication of this notice, to the critical habitat of the Woodland Caribou, Southern Mountain population -- identified in the recovery strategy for that species that is included in the Species at Risk Public Registry -- that is located within the following protected areas: Banff National Park of Canada, Jasper National Park of Canada, Glacier National Park of Canada and Mount Revelstoke National Park of Canada, whose boundaries are described in Schedule 1 to the Canada National Parks Act.

July 16, 2014

DAVE MCDONOUGH
Field Unit Superintendent
Banff Field Unit

MELANIE KWONG
Field Unit Superintendent
Lake Louise, Yoho and Kootenay Field Unit

GREG FENTON
Field Unit Superintendent
Jasper Field Unit

NICHOLAS IRVING
Field Unit Superintendent
Mount Revelstoke and Glacier Field Unit

AGENCE PARCS CANADA

LOI SUR LES ESPÈCES EN PÉRIL

Description de l’habitat essentiel du caribou des bois, population des montagnes du Sud, dans le parc national Banff du Canada, le parc national Jasper du Canada, le parc national des Glaciers du Canada et le parc national du Mont-Revelstoke du Canada

Le caribou des bois (Rangifer tarandus caribou) de la population des montagnes du Sud, aussi connu sous le nom de caribou des montagnes du Sud, est inscrit à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril en tant qu’espèce menacée. Le caribou des montagnes du Sud est un membre de la famille des cervidés de taille moyenne qui vit dans les milieux boisés de l’aire écologique nationale des montagnes du Sud, en Alberta et en Colombie-Britannique. Le Programme de rétablissement du caribou des bois (Rangifer tarandus caribou), population des montagnes du Sud au Canada (www.registrelep.gc.ca/document/default_f.cfm?documentID=1309) décrit l’habitat essentiel de l’espèce dans plusieurs régions, dont quatre aires protégées par le gouvernement fédéral.

Avis est donné par la présente, en vertu du paragraphe 58(2) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, qu’à la fin de la période de 90 jours suivant la publication du présent avis, le paragraphe 58(1) de la Loi s’appliquera à l’habitat essentiel du caribou des bois, population des montagnes du Sud, décrit dans le programme de rétablissement de cette espèce, lequel est inscrit au Registre public des espèces en péril, et situé dans les aires protégées fédérales suivantes : parc national Banff du Canada, parc national Jasper du Canada, parc national des Glaciers du Canada et parc national du Mont-Revelstoke du Canada, dont les limites sont décrites à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada.

Le 16 juillet 2014

Le directeur
Unité de gestion de Banff
DAVE MCDONOUGH

La directrice
Unité de gestion du secteur de Lake Louise
et des parcs nationaux Yoho et Kootenay
MELANIE KWONG

Le directeur
Unité de gestion de Jasper

GREG FENTON

Le directeur
Unité de gestion des parcs nationaux

du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers
NICHOLAS IRVING