Description of Slender Mouse-ear-cress critical habitat in the Canadian Forces Base Suffield National Wildlife Area and Prairie National Wildlife Area (unit number 20)

The Slender Mouse-ear-cress (Halimolobos virgata) is a biennial plant listed on Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act. In Canada, the Slender Mouse-ear-cress is found in southeastern Alberta and southwestern Saskatchewan on sandy to loamy soils ranging in moisture from dry to vernally moist, in short to mixed-grass prairie on terrain that is flat to very gently undulating. It is often found in low depressions or at the base of slopes and sand dune edges in areas that have been lightly disturbed by grazing.

The Recovery Strategy for the Slender Mouse-ear-cress (Halimolobos virgata) in Canada identifies critical habitat for the species in a number of areas, including federally protected areas.

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to subsection 58(2) of the Species at Risk Act, subsection 58(1) of that Act applies, 90 days after publication of this notice, to the critical habitat of the Slender Mouse-ear-cress, as identified in the recovery strategy for that species that is included in the Species at Risk Public Registry, within the following federally protected areas: Canadian Forces Base Suffield National Wildlife Area and Prairie National Wildlife Area (unit number 20), the boundaries of which are described in Schedule I of the Wildlife Area Regulations made pursuant to the Canada Wildlife Act.

Interested parties are invited to contact Environment Canada to request clarification regarding the location, biophysical attributes and protection of this species’ critical habitat. However, some details may be withheld to protect the species and its critical habitat.

June 19, 2015

SARAH COSGROVE
Acting Director
Species at Risk Management
Canadian Wildlife Service

Description de l’habitat essentiel de l’halimolobos mince dans la réserve nationale de faune de la base des Forces canadiennes Suffield et la réserve nationale de faune des Prairies (partie numéro 20)

L’halimolobos mince (Halimolobos virgata) est une plante bisannuelle inscrite à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Au Canada, l’halimobolos mince est répartie au sud-est de l’Alberta et au sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan et pousse dans des prairies d’herbe courte ou mi-longue, où le sol est sablonneux ou loameux, le relief plat ou légèrement ondulé et le terrain sec pouvant devenir humide au printemps. Généralement, cette plante pousse dans les zones peu perturbées par le pâturage dans les faibles dépressions ou au bas des pentes et sur la crête de petites dunes.

Le Programme de rétablissement de l’halimolobos mince (Halimolobos virgata) au Canada désigne l’habitat essentiel de l’espèce dans un certain nombre de lieux, notamment dans des aires protégées fédérales.

Avis est donné par la présente que, conformément au paragraphe 58(2) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, le paragraphe 58(1) de cette loi s’appliquera, 90 jours après la publication du présent avis, à l’habitat essentiel de l’halimolobos mince désigné dans le programme de rétablissement de cette espèce -- lequel document est affiché dans le Registre public des espèces en péril -- et situé dans les aires protégées fédérales suivantes : la réserve nationale de faune de la base des Forces canadiennes Suffield et la réserve nationale de faune des Prairies (partie numéro 20), lesquelles sont décrites à l’annexe I du Règlement sur les réserves d’espèces sauvages en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces sauvages du Canada.

Les parties intéressées qui désirent obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’emplacement, les caractéristiques biophysiques et la protection de l’habitat essentiel de cette espèce sont invitées à communiquer avec Environnement Canada. Cependant, certaines demandes d’information pourraient être refusées afin de protéger l’espèce et son habitat essentiel.

Le 19 juin 2015

La directrice intérimaire
Gestion des espèces en péril
Service canadien de la faune
SARAH COSGROVE