Description of critical habitat of Deerberry in St. Lawrence Islands National Park of Canada

PARKS CANADA AGENCY

SPECIES AT RISK ACT

Description of critical habitat of Deerberry in St. Lawrence Islands National Park of Canada

Deerberry (Vaccinium stamineum) is a species listed on Schedule 1 to the Species at Risk Act as threatened. Deerberry is a colonial shrub that occurs naturally at three sites within St. Lawrence Islands National Park of Canada. Critical habitat for Deerberry is identified within the final Recovery Strategy for the Deerberry (Vaccinium stamineum) in Canada.

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to subsection 58(2) of the Species at Risk Act, critical habitat of Deerberry in St. Lawrence Islands National Park of Canada is described for all three naturally occurring sites (see Figures 1–3), based on individual occupancy and associated ecological community types, save and except existing anthropogenic features (e.g. roads, trails, docks, picnic shelters) and unnatural vegetation types (e.g. golf courses).

Critical habitat parcel numbers are based on the unique Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) species identification number for Deerberry (215), and parcel number. Further details regarding Deerberry critical habitat can be found at the Species at Risk Public Registry Web site.

Within the geographical boundaries presented within each of Figures 1–3, the biophysical attributes of critical habitat include the following: dry deciduous or mixed forest types; open areas that receive sunlight, with the percentage of forest canopy cover ranging from 0%–75% with less than 60% preferred; slope 0%–10%; exposed granite bedrock dominated by pitch pine or blueberry species; southeast to west aspect preferred; and within 50 m of the St. Lawrence River.

Figure 1*

biophysical attributes of critical habitat

* Figure 1. Location and extent of critical habitat Parcel 215_3 for Deerberry. Critical habitat does not include existing anthropogenic features and unnatural vegetation types. Please refer to the Species at Risk Public Registry Web site for more details on Deerberry critical habitat.

Figure 2*

biophysical attributes of critical habitat

* Figure 2. Location and extent of critical habitat Parcel 215_2 for Deerberry. Critical habitat does not include existing anthropogenic features and unnatural vegetation types. Please refer to the Species at Risk Public Registry Web site for more details on Deerberry critical habitat.

Figure 3*

biophysical attributes of critical habitat

* Figure 3. Location and extent of critical habitat Parcel 215_1 for Deerberry. Critical habitat does not include existing anthropogenic features and unnatural vegetation types. Please refer to the Species at Risk Public Registry Web site for more details on Deerberry critical habitat.

February 10, 2011

DON MARRIN
Superintendent
Eastern Ontario Field Unit
Parks Canada Agency

[9-1-o]

| Introductory Page |

Description de l'habitat essentiel de l'airelle à longues étamines dans le parc national des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent du Canada

AGENCE PARCS CANADA

LOI SUR LES ESPÈCES EN PÉRIL

Description de l’habitat essentiel de l’airelle à longues étamines dans le parc national des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent du Canada

L’airelle à longues étamines (Vaccinium stamineum) est une espèce inscrite à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril à titre d’espèce menacée. L’airelle à longues étamines est un arbuste colonial qui pousse naturellement dans trois sites au sein du parc national des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent du Canada. L’habitat essentiel de l’airelle à longues étaminesest décrit dans le programme de rétablissement de l’airelle à longues étamines (Vaccinium stamineum) au Canada.

Avis est donné, conformément au paragraphe 58(2) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, que l’habitat essentiel de l’airelle à longues étamines de chacune des trois populations naturelles du parc national des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent du Canada (voir les figures 1 à 3) est décrit en fonction de l’occupation individuelle et des communautés écologiques connexes, à l’exception de tous les éléments anthropiques existants (par exemple les routes, les sentiers, les quais, les abris de pique-nique) et les types de végétation non naturels (par exemple les terrains de golf).

Les numéros des parcelles de l’habitat essentiel sont composés du numéro d’identification spécifique utilisé par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) pour l’airelle à longues étamines (215) et du numéro de parcelle. Pour plus de détails sur l’habitat essentiel de l’airelle à longues étamines, consultez le site Web du Registre public des espèces en péril.

À l’intérieur des limites géographiques présentées dans chacune des figures 1 à 3, les attributs biophysiques de l’habitat essentiel incluent les éléments suivants : forêt décidue sèche ou forêt mixte; aires ouvertes qui reçoivent la lumière du soleil comprenant un couvert forestier de 0 % à 75 % (moins de 60 % préférable); une inclinaison de 0 % à 10 %; un substrat de granite exposé où dominent le pin rigide ou des espèces de bleuets; un versant ouest à sud-est (préférable); une distance maximale de 50 m du fleuve Saint-Laurent.

Figure 1*

les attributs biophysiques de l’habitat essentiel

* Figure 1. Emplacement et étendue de la parcelle 215_3 de l’habitat essentiel de l’airelle à longues étamines. L’habitat essentiel ne comprend pas les éléments anthropiques existants ni les types de végétation non naturels. Pour plus de détails sur l’habitat essentiel de l’airelle à longues étamines, consultez le site Web du Registre public des espèces en péril.

Figure 2*

les attributs biophysiques de l’habitat essentiel

* Figure 2. Emplacement et étendue de la parcelle 215_2 de l’habitat essentiel de l’airelle à longues étamines. L’habitat essentiel ne comprend pas les éléments anthropiques existants ni les types de végétation non naturels. Pour plus de détails sur l’habitat essentiel de l’airelle à longues étamnes, consultez le site Web du Registre public des espèces en péril.

Figure 3*

les attributs biophysiques de l’habitat essentiel

* Figure 3. Emplacement et étendue de la parcelle 215_1 de l’habitat essentiel de l’airelle à longues étamines. L’habitat essentiel ne comprend pas les éléments anthropiques existants ni les types de végétation non naturels. Pour obtenir plus de détails sur l’habitat essentiel de l’airelle à longues étamines, consultez le site Web du Registre public des espèces en péril.

Le 10 février 2011

Le directeur
Unité de gestion de l’Est de l’Ontario
Agence Parcs Canada
DON MARRIN

[9-1-o]

| Page d'introduction |